Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies. Auto Darkening Yes, Adjustable Fit Yes, Product Type Welding helmet, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Variable Shades 9-13, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Sensitivity No, ANSI Approved Yes, Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Low Battery Indicator No, Power Supply Solar. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.762 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(501 Reviews) 501
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (501 reviews)
5 stars
406
4 stars
81
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
4
494 of 501(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 21 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT DEAL

,
May 1, 2014
By kingkong0315
from TX
"WAS A LITTLE LEARY OF THIS HOOD DUE TO PRICE...APPEARED TO BE TO GOOD TO BE TRUE...BUT I TOOK A CHANCE....AFTER USING THE WELDING HOOD I COULD NOT TELL THE DIFF FROM THE NEW HOOD TO MY OLDER AND 4 TIMES FOR EXPENSIVE ONE... LOVE IT"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchased with Hobart Handler 140

,
March 18, 2014
By pmgunner
from Central Pa.
"Instantly darkens and stays in place on head. Highly recommend especially for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

better than expected for the price!!

,
February 5, 2014
By hfdpyle
from Houston, tx
"I gifted this helmet to my father in law, who has been a jack of all trades for all his life. He has really raved about this helmet from the comfort to the instant darkening. He says there is even room for him to wear his prescription glasses while wearing his helmet. I feel pretty good about his Christmas gift this year."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

,
February 5, 2014
By hotdawgnbrain
from alabama
"Great product for the price. I own two of them and they work well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good entry level welding helmet!

,
February 4, 2014
By Flakebuster
from Atlanta, GA
"I purchased two of these for my dad and one of my brothers as a Christmas gift this year so they wouldn't have to borrow mine anymore. Out of the box they are decent quality similar to the other china welding helmets. The shade adjustment is nice for various welding jobs, over all they are nice and work well. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for an affordable auto darkening helmet."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding helmet

,
February 4, 2014
By GP24
from Anacortes, WA
"Love this helmet, very easy to use, reliable and light weight"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
February 4, 2014
By Jeff52
from Wisconsin
"Very nice product. Works so well I bought my brother one!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Nice Product Nice Price "

,
February 4, 2014
By pwc77
from MA
"I like that the helmet has replacement parts for it ,because we all know how things can break ,the function is what speaks for itself ,works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
February 4, 2014
By Pltmann
from Iowa
"Works great. Should of gotten this along time ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for light use

,
February 4, 2014
By Frank05
from Kentucky
"Auto Darkening helmets are great. This one does the trick for light use. If you weld weekly Im not sure if this is built to last for you. I only weld every once and a while and this mask works great. I can see what welding without flipping the mask. For the price, you cant beat this mask."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap and dependable.

,
February 4, 2014
By Farmer36
from McBain, Mi
"Very good product. It has been used and abused on our farm and is still going. The helmet stays charged with minimal exposure to sun. I have only had a couple times where I had to set it out side the shop and let it sit in the sun. Works very well!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
February 4, 2014
By HE275
from Shelby, MI
"I bought this helmet for a welding class I had in college. It has held up great, I am a heavy equipment mechanic and this helmet has fallen off machines 8 plus feet and I pick it up and still works great. It's very durable and a great helmet for anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The way to go!

,
February 4, 2014
By pjn270
from Lyman, Maine
"I bought this helmet and used it the other day. As someone who has used the old fashioned drop-front type of helmet that you can only see through when welding, I was amazed at how easy it is to weld with this. The ability to see your electrode placement before you strike an arc makes welding easier and is worth much more than the price of the helmet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 4, 2014
By BSch
from TX
"Helmet worked great. Great product for the money. Worked as advertised, I need to buy another one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
February 4, 2014
By david14
from Dallas, TX
"This is a good product for the money. I initially purchased for my use, but son have been using at school for FFA farm shop and welding class. Has held up well to being tossed in trunk or back of truck. I would highly recommend for a do it your selfer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

,
February 4, 2014
By Neemdream
from Lynchburg, VA
"This is lightweight so comfortable to wear and the response time of the lens is adequate. What is really nice is the cost to replace the lens and the availability of replacement materials having a Northern Tool store in town. For the price, this is a great helmet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works better than I had hoped!

,
February 4, 2014
By StangShane
from St. Louis, Mo
"I bought this after I got a welder over Christmas. I was used to a standard helmet (not auto-darkening) and learned to deal with never being able to see what I was working on. This was the first auto-darkening helmet I've used, and I will never go back. I've even loaned it to my dad to use at his work, and he has since bought one too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

,
February 4, 2014
By ArmyScout
from Fort Benning, GA
"I looked at a lot of helmets to use with my new northern tool
110v welder and helmets can range into several hundred dollars figured for the price I would give this a try and upgrade if I wasn't satisfied, I must tell you I was very satisfied and the auto darkening response time is very quick the affordable price is just a huge plus on top of a quality product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Helmet

,
February 4, 2014
By Zman42
from Montana
"This is a very good welding helmet. Light weight, easy sizing mechanism, holds up when lifted, over all just a real bargain!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great helmet

,
February 4, 2014
By olllotj
from Western NY
"The helmet works like it should, it's pretty comfortable. The decals come off easily, they weren't my thing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.