Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939

FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939

Item# 213500
This Generac GP5500 Portable Generator features a powerful 389cc engine and 6.8-gallon fuel tank for powerful performance and excellent run time. Not for sale in California. Fuel Type Gasoline, Run Time 10 hrs. at 50, Rated Watts 5,500, Start Type Recoil, Engine Displacement cc 389, Receptacles qty. 5, Engine Generac OHV, Dimensions L x W x H in. 28 3/4 x 26 3/4 x 25, Fuel Capacity gal. 6.8, Surge Watts 6,875, Low Oil Shutdown Yes. Four 20 Amp 120V receptacles, one 30 Amp 120/240V locking plug receptacle Hardened steel tube cradle with folding, lockable handles Low tone muffler Circuit breaker protected and covered outlets Rolls on 9.5in. solid wheels
Average Customer Rating:
4.806 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(377 Reviews) 377
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (377 reviews)
5 stars
311
4 stars
59
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
0
373 of 376(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 4, 2014
By MSM50
from Ohio
"I use this to run my home during outages and it does a great job.Runs most of the house .I would tell my friends to get this."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but Extremely Loud

,
July 29, 2013
By Cheesewagon
from Phila Pa
"I purchased this gen around a year ago. Have put about 2100 hrs (is it true the average Gen only last on average around 2000hrs?) on it building a food truck (not posting a review of I Just got it and it looks good will let you know how it holds up during a storm) I have read alot of reviews when I was looking for a Gen and most aren't too helpful so this is my First review Ever. I've used this Gen every weekend since last Sept (this is end of July) building my truck. While I have never really pulled alot of wattage at once. (had a refrigerator running inside along with a circular saw and used a 1000 watt microwave to see if it could handle it and it did with just a louder jump in power noise level while the micro was running. The reason I didn't give it a 5 star is because it is Obnoxiously LOUD (WHATTTTT CAN YOU HEAR MEEEEE). I had a buddy who had a I Phone with a Decibel reader on it and it read 100 Decibels and that Wasn't even at half load. I bought this with the intention of using it to power my truck when it was up and licensed but I Wouldn't be able to vend anywhere because people would call the cops because it was disturbing the area. So now I have to go out and buy Another Inverter Generator which come in at Wayyyy Lower noise decibels, When I read reviews to the manufacture asking whats the decibel rating the response from them was there is NO industry Standards, HAAAAAA now I see why. If they posted a DBA (decibel rating) they would lose alot of sales. If you look at Most Gens they have DBA's Posted, if they Don't be Assured they will be LOUD. It is a Great Gen if your Not worried about Noise. It started almost every one pull and rarely took more than one pull. Changed oil every 300 hrs (100 hrs is whats recommended) Ran about 20hrs on $18 worth of gas. Wish someone would have posted a review like this one before I purchased, becuase I need a QUIET Gen to operate and Vend. I will use it for side projects as long as it lasts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerful and always ready

,
April 23, 2013
By RobMacDl
from Central New Jersey
"This Generator has served us well during hurricane Irene and Super Storm Sandy. It started and ran non stop for days. A little loud, and uses a lot of fuel.
I am very happy with this purchase and would recommend it to a family member or friend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice generator for the price

,
January 18, 2012
By MrSalty
from Kankakee, IL
"I bought this for a home back up generator and didn't want to overspend. It was easy to set up and started on the second pull. Some of the other reveiwers have said it was louder than expected, I think the sound level is just fine. I wouldn't want to have it running just outside of my tent or anything. But if it is around the corner of the house it was barely noticeable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

replaced my old generator

,
January 18, 2012
By Mick0211
from Southern Illinois
"I live in a rural area and recently needed to replace my old generator during a power outage. I choose the generac, not because it was the cheapest but for the brand name.
It starts so much easier than my old one and the 30 amp circuit powers all the essentials including my fridge and furnace and kept my wife and kids happy watching TV.
It is also much more fuel efficient than my old generator.
all in all I would recommend this product any time
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dan

,
January 9, 2012
By Dan15
from Oxford, MA
"Great Product. Nice that it comes with a wheel kit included. Primary use as a house back up system. I have a 2000 SqFt Colonial and it powers up the entire house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lights the Whole House!

,
October 11, 2011
By HardwoodFloorGuy
from Novi, MI
"I use the 30A hookup and back-feed it into my house's main power panel when the power goes out and I have full use of the fridge, microwave, even the furnace if it's cold outside, along with about 1/2 of the lighting curcuits in my 2000sf house! For the money, you cannot beat the reliability and portability of this generator. Generac will not let you down!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long time run GEN!

,
October 10, 2011
By Beel
from Maryland
"Hurricane, Tree down on power line....Bad News.
My old generator ran for about 2 hours, which meant frequent refuelings.
.
Generac Delivered....GOOD News.
The 10 - 11 hour run time for this generator is really an outstanding feature. If your electric power is out and the generator is filled with fuel at the proper time, it will run all night, keeping your refrigerator cold and your furnace warm and allow you to get a full night rest.
And it is easy to operate and maintain.
An EXCELLENT VALUE for the money.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Ronl10ox
Niantic CT 
 
Please wait while more information about Ronl10ox is loaded.
Additional information about Ronl10ox could not be loaded.
genrac mdl 5939
December 9, 2011
"The info abt run time very helpful. Thanks"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac 5500 generator

,
June 13, 2011
By Tallone6
from Hendricks, MN
"I have owned my Generac 5500 for about one year now. Primary bought it to use during emergency situations. Haven't had to use it yet for that purpose, thankfully, but I start it up about every 2 weeks to keep it reliable. It has always started and generated well. I really like it's easy starting capability. It's recoil starter is easy to pull. Being of an older age, that's important. It runs pretty quiet compared to other generators I have heard. When I have had it running it has never missed a beat. Engine runs good. This a very good product and would recommend it any one"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Portable Generator

,
June 13, 2011
By jms2
from Pittsburgh, PA
"This is a great generator. I haven't had the need to use it for a prolonged period but I have fired it up and it starts easily and runs smoothly. It actually came with oil so I didn't have to run out to buy that.
Please do shut off the gas when storing. I had the carb overflow into the air filter and it leaked gasoline onto the garage floor.
The cotter pin on the exhaust side is a bit tricky to get to but that's about as complicated as the assembly gets."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
March 27, 2011
By mrkblr
from Pikeville, KY
"Have used this generator on several occasions at NASCAR Races...it ran two campers, ac and all, with out missing a beat for 54 hours straight. We only shut it down to refuel. Have also used it for power outages and it runs flawlessly every time. Any time any one says they a thinking of purchasing a generator I recomend a GENERAC...Its a lot of bang for your buck...."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Home Generator

,
September 3, 2010
By JMack1
from Chicago, IL
"As products is very realable and starts ever time even after sitting idol for long periods. This is one of the best portable generators we have. It would be tought to go wrong with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Travel Trailer Power

,
September 1, 2010
By Daveg1937
from Bitterroot, Montana
"Purchased based upon very informed friend's recommendation of manufacturer. Wanted to support air conditioner and another appliance - like microwave - at the same time. Since trailer uses 30A power this 5000 W may be overkill but expect to mount in back of towing pickup. May find additional applications, Very good value for watts/dollar and made in USA. Noise level definitely louder than expected and will have to be careful about time of use in campgrounds."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the generator needed

,
August 30, 2010
By homerr
from Brookhaven, MS
"We purchased this generator just after hurricane Katrina in 2005 (wished we had purchased before the hurricane). We have used it several time with power outages and found it to be easy to start and very reliable. It handles most of the key household appliances with steady voltage and dependable efficiency. Just the right size for our needs and would recommend to others that need dependable power until you get regular power back up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERY PLEASED

,
August 5, 2010
By rizmos73
from Guilford, ct
"The free delivery was easy, they arrived when they said they would and called in advance.
Easy assembly, and I swear on all that is holy that it started on the absolute first pull out of the box. THANK YOU GENERAC!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little generator

,
May 31, 2010
By djcaliendo
from Kansas
"I've given up on small gasoline engines that seem to find new ways to give me a headache. I keep the generator in the back of my Gator and plug whichever electric tool I want into it, reach back and push the start button and start to work. (I have an electric weed trimmer, chain saw, and all the other normal shop tools.)
Only things I can think of to make it better would be a bigger and better muffler (although hearing protectors work well...but hot in the summer). The only times I have had it give me trouble starting was in cool weather after it had been rained on (before I got the cover for it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A GREAT GENERATOR

,
May 31, 2010
By RIFFRAFF2008
from Central Pennsylvania
"You can start this generator and run it all day long and have every faith and confidence that you will receive the power needed to complete all of your tasks at hand, this is a quality product top to bottom no complaints from me on this unit,I am well pleased with my purchase.Thank you Generac and Thank you Norhtern Tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

generator

,
February 24, 2010
By Wanted
from Versailles, Kentucky
"I purchased this generator last year. I have had to use it on two occasions, it worked great ,run everything in my house"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
February 22, 2010
By dwdayton
from st louis , MO
"Generator starts very easily. Handles pivot down out of the way with the push of a button on each side. Very fuel efficient. Would recommend for any job where a portable generator is needed.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac GP5500 Portable Generator - 389cc OHV, 6875 Surge Watts, 5500 Rated Watts, Model# 5939
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generac GP Portable Generator

,
February 16, 2010
By Jimmy18
from Bisbee, Arizona
"Generator arrived ready for work! It provides plenty of power to run our monitoring wells! Easy to move around. Purchased the protective cover for it. Looking forward to years of service from this generator."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.