Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"

"FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"

Item# 21404
"The 1/2in. Hammer Drill provides hammer action for fast drilling in concrete, masonry, brick, tile and more. Choose between normal drilling and hammer drilling, with variable speed and reverse. Includes depth rod for consistent hole depth. Adjustable side handle for added versatility. Chuck Size in. 1/2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 10 7/16 x 8 7/16 x 2 3/4, Keyless Chuck No, Case Included No, Side Handle Yes, Amps 4.5, Speed RPM 0-2,800, Variable Speed Yes, Cord Length ft. 6. 500 Watt, 4.5 Amp, 120V motor 0-2,800 RPM 0-44,800 BPM reversible Hammer action for drilling concrete, masonry, brick, tile Depth rod 1/2in. keyed chuck 360 side handle"
Average Customer Rating:
3.964 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
24 of 28(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Hammer/Drill

,
February 22, 2015
By ThomasP
from Troy, MI
" I agree with all the "Pro" comments I read in other reviews. It is light but on the Hammer setting, I drilled about 60 3/16" holes approx 2 1/2" deep into a very hard block wall to attach furring strips with no bogging down of the (.7 HP) motor. On average, it took me about 10 - 15 seconds to drill each hole. The speed trigger is a tad sensitive but, after a few holes you get the hang of it. The plastic depth stop that comes with the drill is not a great addition. I used the old painter's tape around the drill bit to gauge my hole depth. Bought it on sale and WOULD have even bought it at the regular price (in retrospect). "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD TOOL FOR THE PRICE

,
February 4, 2015
By PAULITO1943
from TUSCALOOSA, ALABAMA
" Arrived on time in good shape. It seems to be pretty heavy duty and easy to use. It need a 1/2" Drill every once in awhile and love the Hammer Drill function. I was going to purchase a chuck adapter for My 3/8" Drill, but bought this instead and it didn't cost a lot more. Love to watch for Northern Tool's Sale Items. Thanks! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hammer Drill — 1/2in. Chuck, 0–2,800 RPM; 0–44,80

,
January 18, 2015
By Vic7
from Buckeye AZ
" Tools are huge part every technician or electricians trade.
This drill will do it all and its a tool you can rely on.
We love the simplicity of this hammer drill and don't let its light weight fool you, it has the power and dependability when you need it!
Go with the Hammer!
Thank you,
Victor N Caratachea "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old Tecknology But Well Made

,
January 17, 2015
By Roady24
from Mission Tx.
" Occasionally need a hammer drill so for the sale price I felt this would work. Usually drilling concrete takes a while so being a corded drill you can run it for a long time without running out of batteries. It is well made and quite powerful. I have not tested it on concrete yet so I can not rate its performance. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wel Built Hammer Drill

,
January 4, 2015
By ray4713
from Tennessee
" Good for occasional use...If you are using on a daily basis get yourself a better drill. If you are only going to use a few times a year this is the hammer drill for you. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

hammer drill

,
January 1, 2015
By pappy1
from asheboro,nc
" Looks like a great buy for the money. If I used it everyday I might have bought a more expensive unit but for the home owner it is a great drill. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hammer Drill

,
December 28, 2014
By photojoe
from Nort west AR
" Bought on sale. Very nice for the price. Would recommend for medium or light duty jobs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

drive lag scews

,
December 11, 2014
By Stabrose
from Millington ohio
" This is a good all around power-full drill for home projects. it will work well with my recent order of driver bits sockets it will be great to drive lag screws into 4X4's one drill to bore the hole then drive fasteners with hammer drill "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

No power

,
December 11, 2014
By MayberryVolFan
from Conyers, GA
" If you're looking to do any serious drilling in concrete or brick (hammer setting), this drill is not for you. Bogged down terribly while trying to drill 3/16" holes in brick and wasn't much better in mortar joints. Haven't tried wood yet. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hammerdrill

,
September 24, 2014
By AGarcia
from Plantersville TX
" this is a very good product it works well and has been a reliable tool. when using this tool it should be a real plus for any worker "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
September 13, 2014
By smforema
from North Carolina
" I bought this for a backup when my cordless drill gave out on me. I've used it 5 or 6 times now with no issues whatsoever. It is a little more powerful than I expected. I haven't used it on any kind of masonry yet but I am sure it would buzz right through it given its performance on wood and metal thus far. I would definitely recommend this drill. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wel Bilt Hammer drill

,
February 4, 2014
By SRC1
from Texas
" Great for the average homeowner who doesn't use a hammer drill on every project, but when you need one this will get the job done. For the price and quality, a very good deal. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth a dime

,
February 4, 2014
By Devon43
from Crowley
" My old 3/8's drill had more power. Chuck was destroyed drilling first hole. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Works great ~6 times

,
February 3, 2014
By gij0e2
from Bedford, MA
" Did a great job for about the first six uses drilling 1/8" holes in concrete. On the seventh hole, the chuck fell right off. $6/hole is a bit pricey and not the indicator of a quality product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the money

,
May 13, 2013
By brian571
from Milwaukee, WI
" No complaints at all. I didn't need anything special as it's rare that I use a hammer drill, but for the money this one seems pretty nice. The drill seems pretty well built and the grip is sturdy and usable. Plenty of power - does what I need it to. Only issue I noticed is that the chuck doesn't tighten or loosen very smoothly (I have to use the key), but for the price I'm not going to complain. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hammer Drill

,
April 23, 2013
By Kay2
from Raleigh, NC
" Purchased this hammer drill for brother, ended up using it - nice. Good value for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the price

,
April 23, 2013
By Bill212
from Tempe, AZ
" This is a really good buy for the price! I don't use it heavily but when I need a hammer drill, it gets the job done. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
March 20, 2013
By hankster1
from North Fort Myers
" Great drill for the price. Used it to drill 50 holes in a concrete driveway and it worked perfectly. Can't be beat for occonsononal use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good for the price.

,
August 21, 2012
By jo139
from GA
" Don't need it a lot. so far it's been used twice for drilling into concrete. Handled the job well and it didn't cost an arm and a leg. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hammer Drill - 1/2in. Chuck, 0-2,800 RPM; 0-44,800 BPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
August 13, 2012
By clm168
from Valdosta, GA
" Works wonderful and easy to use. I would buy this product again.
Thanks for a wonderful shopping experience.
Your web site is very easy to use. Keep up the good work.
I buy many of my tools from your company.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.