Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115

Item# 21544
This Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater is simple in design yet packed with features and convenience, making it a welcome addition to any room. A built-in thermostat and an automatic timer help to create the optimum comfort level and reduce heating bills. Primary Heating Application: Infrared, BTU Output: 5,200, Heating Capability (sq. ft.): 1,000, Volts: 110, Amps: 12.5, Watts: 1,500, Blower Included: Yes, Heat Settings: Variable, Thermostat Included: Yes, Power Cord (ft.): 6, Plug Type: 3-prong, Remote Included: Yes, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device: Yes, Dimensions W x D x H (in.): 13 1/2 x 20 x 17 1/2 Built-in thermostat adjusts from 55-97°F Produces 5200 BTU, enough to heat a 1000 sq. ft. area with included blower Easy-roll casters for convenience LED display with brightness dimmer Safety thermal cutoff Air purifying function Auto timer function automatically turns off heater Flocked heater grill stays cool to the touch Uses infrared bulb with average lifespan of 50,000 hours Includes remote control Made of oak veneer with a warm caramel oak finish
Average Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(185 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (185 reviews)
5 stars
123
4 stars
47
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
172 of 185(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Review 61 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By J1957
from Coats, NC
"I bought this heater to save money on our gas bill and it has done so. Nice warm heat fills the room quickly. Love the air filter also. Just make sure you keep the filter cleaned out. This heater has not made our electric bill go up significantly.Great heater for the price."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Duraflame Infrared Quartz Heater 10HM1342EPC

,
January 17, 2012
By Robdoered
from NJ
"I had purchased two of these heaters two heating seasons ago and use one in a living room and one in a den. Each room is approx. 350 sq.ft. and can be closed off from other areas of the house while using the heaters. These rooms are the two primary rooms used by us during the evening hours before bedtime. The rooms can also be optionally heated by either the main house heater which is a zoned hot water propane fired baseboard system or a propane fired fireplace in each of these rooms.
The Duraflame heaters do a fine job heating both rooms from late September when heat is first called for through late November and again in late March through early June. Since no other heat is necessary in in the house during these periods, electric space heating saves considerably over the other options. The thermostat settings let the temperatures be set to comfortable levels during these entire periods. I find using these electric heaters in the Fall and Spring of the year over the other heating options does give us an approximate 30 % savings during these periods over the other options. But once it turns colder , below 48 degrees outside, it takes too long ( many hours) to heat up the rooms comfortably ( 72 degrees) with them. It is more efficient and comfortable to turn on the propane fireplace which heats the room comfortably ( 72 degrees) in two to three minutes and use the zoned main house heater to heat the remainder of the house at a much lower temperature ( 55 to 60 degrees ).
These units have performed just fine in these enclosed rooms and they indeed have a proper place in time during the heating period of the year.
We look forward to continue using them for many years to come without any problems. Their quality for safety against fires and workmanship seem to be just fine. They also substitute as end tables all year due to their fine Cherry Veneer finish.
I would recommend them as an attractive and safe space heating option for anyone looking to save money heating over the long term."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame Infrared Heater

,
January 17, 2012
By BeaT
from Swainsboro, GA
"We are very pleased with our heater. We have another quartz heater, but this one seems to put out more heat during the colder periods. Although I am pleased with our other heater as well. I do personally highly recommend this heater to anyone who is looking to help with their electricity. It sure has help us on our electric bill"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

duraflame quartz heater

,
January 16, 2012
By rentawrench
from whiteford md
"I purchased this heater last year to supplement our heat after remodeling our kitchen and removing baseboard heat.We have ordered our second heater to supplement heat in our basement that is normally produced by a pellet stove .We figure that the duraflame costs about $30. per month and the pellet stove costs about $150.-$200 depending on temperature ,so its a no brainer to supplement with quartz heaters .We like the thermostat and and the timer options.We have reccomended this heater to our friends and co workers and look forward to our second heater to arrive on friday"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Mark07
from York, Maine
"Bought one last year for the house. Saves a lot of oil! Planning on buying at least one more!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little heater

,
January 16, 2012
By ashgbmb
from Oxford, MA
"Bought this heater elsewhere and paid a little more.
Puts out a good amount of heat almost immediately, I use this heater in my finished basement about 800 sq ft, it maintains about 65 degrees on low at an outside temp of 20 degrees. Turn to high to warm the room quickly then turn back down to low to keep comfortable. Haven't used my electric baseboards since buying the product (in basement), have noticed a decent drop in my electric bill.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is the real deal

,
January 16, 2012
By mecasa98
from seneca falls ny
"I did alot of looking before i picked this unit and I must say i did good..I live in upstate ny and we got some cold night but this unit keeps my living area quite comfortable.definiitly would recommend this unit"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraflame powerheat Infared Quartz Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By billyrayman
from Syracuse New York
"I am not a professional when it comes tocomputing Heating BTU's but what I am good at is saving money, Brought this heater to save off my power bills. The heat you are getting is completely 100 efficient because it is directly goes into the area you want to heat, whereas my other electric heat source goes through duct work. Upstairs furnance does not come on at all. It seems to hold a steady temp. Need to keep all bedroom doors open, but it works well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesomely warm and part of the furnature

,
January 16, 2012
By Lizard1
from Arlington VA
"This heater is so warm also is beautiful piece of furnature. with the best price on the market for this item, you cannot get a better deal!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
January 16, 2012
By macsplinter
from Bristol, VA
"Great heater for a Den or Family room. Works great and is quiet. A good value for the price compared to other brands."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This heater is great !

,
January 16, 2012
By Smokies
from Smoky Mountains of Tennessee
"We purchased this heater last fall and now are using it on cold mornings. The description of this heater states "will heat up to 1000 sq. feet". The area that we heat is much larger than 1000 sq. feet. We turn the heater on early in the morning and let it heat the area which includes the great room, kitchen, and dinning areas. this keeps the heat pump from coming on. After heating this area with our "Duraflame power heater" we turn up the heat pump thermostat to maintain that temp and we have saved electricity ! The heat pump uses 220 volt heat strips to heat up a large area and if you can keep the heat strips from coming on you save on your power bill ! This little heater is great and operates on 110 volts ! I can't wait to see our power bill for this period of cold mornings ! We love our "Duraflame Power heater and the price from "Northern Tool " is much lower than the price of the popular brand of a similar heater that is advertised nationally !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HEATER

,
January 16, 2012
By TUCKER12
from chippewa falls wi
"We have this heater in our kitchen. It keeps the area warm and it is cost saving"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats the whole house

,
January 16, 2012
By CaptainS
from Rockaway Beach
"This heater works perfect to heat my whole house (450 sq feet) I used to have to have three heater to heat the house. It is quiet and you don't even know it is on and it is costing a third less on my electric bill compared to running three heater that it used to take to heat the house. I would recommend this to anyone who is trying to heat a small cabin where they have cold weather. I'm planning on ordering two more for my son since it works so well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great space heater

,
January 16, 2012
By sfsgt
from North Carolina
"I have use this product going on the 2nd year and my propane bill has gone down . It's great for heating a space up to 1,000 sq. ft. and I keep my themostat set at 60 in the room in which my heat does not come on there. I would say this portable heater is great use in the sandhills of North Carolina."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Efficient quiet heat

,
January 16, 2012
By BonnieLou
from Dayton Ohio
"I purchased 2 of these last winter and have used them constantly. Nice quiet heat source for any room. I use one in my business to add a little extra comfort in an open area. And in my home it is not ugly like so many space heaters looks like a piece of furniture."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Infrared Heater

,
January 16, 2012
By Oliver26
from Upstate NY
"I have used this heater in our dog kennel for the last year and it has worked great. It's safe around the dogs and keeps the temperature up even when it's frigid outside. It hasn't raised the electric bill noticebly. Great heater for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

,
January 16, 2012
By JT371
from Central NY
"We use this to help warm up the kitchen. Works good so we don't have turn up the furnace."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great looking unit

,
January 15, 2012
By DeanA
from Fairfield County CT.
"This is a beautiful heater. It looks like a fine piece of furniture. When not in use it is a great end table. It works well and is very quiet. You don't even notice it running. The timer feature is my favorite part. Just set the time you want it to run and it does the rest for you. To my amazement after running this for an hour the entire out side of the unit was cool to the touch. It never even gets slightly warm.The exterior stays at room temperature Even the hot air that is discharged is never really hot enough to burn any thing. It is completely safe around kids and pets.
The filter is easy to remove and clean. The very heavy duty power cord is long enough for most uses. The remote control is handy and easy to use. The only change I would make is it should have a stand-by light so you know it is in that mode when it is not running while using the remote but it is not a big deal or a problem. This heater is great for any room that needs some extra warmth.This is a fairly expensive heater but I would buy this heater again. I will recomend this unit to my friends.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Heater for the money

,
January 11, 2012
By CynandJohn
from Florida
"We gave this heater to my parents as a gift. It is very easy for them to use, and has proven to be a wonderful auxillary heater on cold nights! It is very attractive, and doesn't look like a heater at all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Good heater

,
January 11, 2012
By excellotek
from Missouri
"We purchased two of these heaters in an effort to reduce the use of propane this winter. We will know the whole story at the end of the heating season but, for December, electric bill was about $60 higher than last year while propane use dropped an estimated 100 gallons. At $2 per gallon that adds up! They will pay for themselves this winter if these numbers hold.
The main area we are heating is a bit over 1300 square feet with cathedral ceilings and a loft area on the second level. The house is well insulated. We aid the heaters by use of a ceiling fan. The main furnace was lowered to 65 to 68 on a programmable thermostat and the heaters are set to keep the areas we use most at around 71. A secondary electric furnace on the second level seldom runs with these heaters in place on the main floor.
The heaters are very quiet. The only fault ,if you want to call it that, is that we had to spend some time adjusting the built in thermostats. They do not represent the real room temperture but, that would be asking an awful lot of them given that they are located on board the heater. Best advice is to set them by trial and error in your particular location. They are easy to adjust and it didn't take much until we had the room very comfortable. The digital readout is handy for keeping the settings straight and accurate.
We had to return one heater that had a blower problem but the replacement was shipped quickly and the process from Northern Tool was very pleasant.
It is difficult to pick one of these infared heaters with all the claims that are put forward by the different manufacturers. We took a gamble on these based on having had good DuraFlame products in the past and knowing Northern would stand behind them. We won! These have worked as they claim they will."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.