Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115

Item# 21544
This Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater is simple in design yet packed with features and convenience, making it a welcome addition to any room. A built-in thermostat and an automatic timer help to create the optimum comfort level and reduce heating bills. Primary Heating Application: Infrared, BTU Output: 5,200, Heating Capability (sq. ft.): 1,000, Volts: 110, Amps: 12.5, Watts: 1,500, Blower Included: Yes, Heat Settings: Variable, Thermostat Included: Yes, Power Cord (ft.): 6, Plug Type: 3-prong, Remote Included: Yes, Thermal Cutoff Safety Device: Yes, Dimensions W x D x H (in.): 13 1/2 x 20 x 17 1/2 Built-in thermostat adjusts from 55-97°F Produces 5200 BTU, enough to heat a 1000 sq. ft. area with included blower Easy-roll casters for convenience LED display with brightness dimmer Safety thermal cutoff Air purifying function Auto timer function automatically turns off heater Flocked heater grill stays cool to the touch Uses infrared bulb with average lifespan of 50,000 hours Includes remote control Made of oak veneer with a warm caramel oak finish
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (68 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
55 of 68(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
Review 61 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

QUARTZ HEATER

,
October 17, 2011
By WOLFERD
from Elmira, Mi
"Recent purchase. Attractive cabinet. Fairly quiet and easy operation. Only used once and I am generally satisfied. I thought it would heat the space a bit quicker; but I have cathedral type ceiling. Overall; good product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Puts out some serious heat for compact unit

,
October 17, 2011
By GarrettK
from Amsterdam, NY
"Have used this so far to keep the furnace off, hate to burn that oil! It has fit the bill thermostat kicks unit on and off as it should, so far so good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
October 17, 2011
By Muin1951
from Oswego, NY
"I bought this heater as a supplement for my kitchen and for my RV. Controls are easy to use and the heater works great. My kitchen stays at the preset temp with no problem. My RV furnace rarely comes on while I have this unit going and the RV temp stays in the 68 to 70 degree range, perfect!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

176 yrs of expertise

,
October 17, 2011
By 176Yrs
from Joanna SC
"Item# 21415, infared quartz heater, Totally awesome!!!!!!! The market is flooded with these type heaters this year, everyone wants to save a buck.This item from Northern far exceeds my expectations for value, comfort, and style. I got this particular item for my parents age 89/87. The both of them are so delighted, they are quick to show it to all visitors.The blower radiats the heat and keeps the entire house (1100 sq ft) comfortable, when the outside temp has dipped into the 40"s,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10HM4126-0107
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater For Great Price!

,
October 11, 2011
By Awesome1
from Lockport,NY
"I looked at many different electric heaters and this one seemed to be the best . Now that being said I am very skeptical about electric heaters I burn wood and use an oil furance and did not believe in electric heat. But we put on a new addition and there was no heat source so I thought I would give it a try. I am amazingly surprised I've got 1600sq ft upstairs and so far the furance has not kicked on while using the heater. Colder months are yet to come we will see, N.Y can be cold. But so far love it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Duraflame heater

,
June 13, 2011
By twhite48
"Sorry to say this heater did not live up to its specifications. Did not heat the size room as stated. Tried it in a smaller room and it did not heat that room either. Don't know if just the one I received was defective as I did not try another one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
12out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not energy efficient

,
February 9, 2011
By FacilityMgmtProfessional
from Colorado
"Finally after ordering this unit and waiting 2 months due to it being backordered I finally was able to use it before the winter was over. We only use it at nights to heat our master bedroom which is about 700 square feet. We used an electric heater previously in our bedroom before we got this unit. I was expecting the electric bill to go down and in fact it did the opposite. It went up $70.00 for the month and the only thing we had changed in our electricity usage was this new "energy efficient" unit. Another thing when it kicks on it dims the lights and I have seen it trip the breaker. I know that this thing is pulling alot of kw and is not efficient at all. There is no way this operates at a low cost like it is advertised.
The only positive thing about this is that it is a little more quiet than the other electric fan I have and it does heat the 700 square feet like it had advertised."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
18out of 29found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Baconater
Indiana,Cedar Lake 
 
Please wait while more information about Baconater is loaded.
Additional information about Baconater could not be loaded.
Master bedroom
November 28, 2011
"Hello,what do you expect foot a 700 square foot Master bedroom,what size is the house,10,000+ square feet,and the rooms probably have cathedral ceilings?So I can see how it would not heat that room,and as for the power consumption,you probably have it on 95 all the time?I think you may need a propane heater or something a little more BTU's.Good luck my friend.HAGD"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 68 for Twin-Star International PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Oak Veneer, Model# 10QH8000-O115
This review is from: Duraflame PowerHeat Infrared Quartz Heater - 5200 BTU, 1500 Watts, Cherry Veneer, Model# 10HM1342EPC
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not much heat

,
November 16, 2010
By Rob4
from Lake Geneva Wisconsin
"The Duraflame looks great, but doesn't heat very well. The temp outside was in the low 40's but the temp inside wouldn't go above 63, when it was set on 72 and this was after more than 12 hours. I switched to a small ceramic heater that only cost me about $35 and brought the room temp up to 70 in a couple hours. I do like how quiet it is, and maybe in a room about 300 or 400 sq. feet it will work well, but not in a room that is 600 sq. feet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
61-68 of 68