Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Pellet Stove - 28,000 BTU, Model# QCPS-28000B

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Pellet Stove - 28,000 BTU, Model# QCPS-28000B

Item# 21545
This Pellet Stoves delivers clean, cost-effective heat and classic styling for any home. 44-lb. hopper with automatic feed maintains a steady room temperature for 20 hours on a full load. Full Load Run Time Hours 20, Flue Collar Size in. 3 or 4, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 120, Fire Box/Hopper Capacity lbs. 44, Clearance from Side Wall in. 6, Fuel Type Pellet, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 4, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,500, Igniter Automatic, BTU Output 28,000, Blower CFM 250, Thermostat Included No, Clearance from Corner in. 4, Blower Included Yes, Heat Settings 3, Door Opening W x H in. 16 x 11, Dimensions W x D x H in. 21.6 x 20.6 x 29.5. Easy automatic ignition Three heat settings for customized comfort Handsome design with brass accents Large, removable ash pan Solid steel construction with high-temperature paint
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
5 of 8(62%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pellet Stove - 28,000 BTU, Model# QCPS-28000B
Review 1 for Pellet Stove - 28,000 BTU, Model# QCPS-28000B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Winner in My Book

,
January 3, 2014
By lgross1949
from Huachuca City, AZ
"My first pellet stove. I've had this stove installed for a week and am very pleased with it. I recommend that you take the time to really get to know this stove in the first few days that you use it. The dampers for instance. I would say that they should be left completely closed, but if your burn rate is to fast for the feed rate open them in stages (very small stages) They seem to work in reverse of normal dampers. Opening them exhausts the blower air and slows the burn rate. Another thing that could be owner improved is the abrasive painted surface in the hopper. It is rough enough that the pellets hang on the surface and don't slide into the auger as well as they could if it were smooth.
For the price I doubt you'll find a better stove, but as I said in the start, take the time to understand it completely! And, maintain it well. As with all mechanical equipment it won't last for ever, but if you take care of it will last you a long time.
It does heat well! Much more even heat than my wood stove. Thanks Northern Tool for the well built and very nice looking little stove!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pellet Stove - 28,000 BTU, Model# QCPS-28000B
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

you r on your own with this unit

,
February 6, 2013
By 48hvacman
from bombay ny
"Great price, solid built, operates extremely quiet as compared to other low end pellet stoves. However as an HVAC technician this item has no technical support or assistance for parts replacement. Most all moving parts are replaceable and can be sourced from other pellet stove manufacturers, the control board can as well, if you find another manufacturer that uses the same board. So if you have working knowledge of the stove no problem, If you are a normal homeowner look elsewhere, your money is well spent on a name brand that can be repaired and get some sort of support. I use this model as a trainer for a Heating class. It is cheap and fullfills the needs of the class. However once again I would say you get what you pay for and if it does not operate correctly you are on your own. I would also add the paint smell while in use is annoying, burn or cure the unit outside on high for at least one full bag of pellets, and this unit still smells on high."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+36points
46out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pellet Stove - 28,000 BTU, Model# QCPS-28000B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful little stove

,
January 9, 2012
By garypeaches
from Pennsylvania
"I have had the pellet stove two months now and have had no problems with it. It is very easy to use, except that it does not have a thermostat. But that is not really a problem, because I like to let it go out every couple of days to vacuum it out. One caution. I vent it through the wall with 3" pipe and it sticks outside beyond the wall about 20". At first I had a horizontal outlet on it and it covered the outside of the house in that area with pellet ash. So I directed the vent down, and it seems to be working much better. Overall, it is a good value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+23points
66out of 109found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pellet Stove - 28,000 BTU, Model# QCPS-28000B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pellet Stove Model # QCPS-28000B

,
January 9, 2012
By rich1956
from usa
"I would tell every one that wants to save a lot of money on heating there home this is a great unit..
I looked around alot, And there is NOT a better deal ! Easy to install, took 20 min..Love it ,thanks Northern Tool & Equipment Great Service....
"
+19points
40out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pellet Stove - 28,000 BTU, Model# QCPS-28000B
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not work for me.

,
January 2, 2012
By ColdinMaine
from Bangor, Maine
"The price of this stove is very good. In short I think the stove is a reasonable piece of hardware that seems well built but you should not purchase it because Northern Tool can offer you no technical support directly and even worse cannot provide a contact at the Chinese manufacturer that might be able to help. Moreover, there are currently no replacement parts available for the stove and, as far as I could determine, there are no plans to make them available in the future. All of the folks at Northern Tool were extremely helpful, insofar as they were able, but anyone who is put in a round room and told to stand in the corner will find themselves at a loss very soon. Here is a description of my experience. I ordered it, installed it and ran it for 2 days with constant supervision to be sure that it ran well. It heated well but had a tendency for the pellets to back up into the feeder tube if you did not clear the burner dish with a poker periodically. I reviewed the manual and discovered (with difficulty) that it had dampers and that if these were improperly adjusted pellets could build up. I checked the dampers and they were in the correct position. I checked all my connections for the exhaust and intake to make sure they were secure and everything checked out. As a test I left the stove running without intervention for several hours (2-6 hours) at a time. In every case, no matter what the setting (high, med., low) unburned pellets backed up into the feeder tube and fire was beginning to extend up the feeder tube (this is not good!). In other words they were not being burnt at the rate they were being fed. Having experienced this problem with my pellet boiler, which heats my entire house, I assumed there would be a relatively easy adjustment to fix this problem. It was at this point that I contacted Northern Tool and determined that there was no way of even getting some suggestions of things to try to resolve what is likely a resolvable problem. It is possible that if you tried different pellet brands you might find find a brand that burned successfully and/or if you are willing to only run the stove when you can supervise it and clean the burn dish periodically that the stove could work for you. In my case I decided that I could never trust the stove even if I got it working and that because there was no support and no available parts that the first time something failed I would have to junk it. I requested a return authorization from Northern Tool which they quickly supplied. I am buying a second stove from Northern from a North American manufacturer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+50points
58out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pellet Stove - 28,000 BTU, Model# QCPS-28000B
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

you get what you pay for???

,
October 26, 2011
By vicw2011
from New Hampshire
"This stove worked great for the first month. Now it seems I spend a lot of time emptying the hopper to un jam the auger , thats 3 times in the last week. If you need a laugh call the # in the book ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
29out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pellet Stove - 28,000 BTU, Model# QCPS-28000B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pellet Stove

,
October 18, 2011
By jpdchavNM
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
"This pellet stove is very economical and efficiant to use. It has two setting adjustments which makes it more flexible to accomodate the room setting. Instructions need a little more clarification on where and if it has a damper."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
25out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pellet Stove - 28,000 BTU, Model# QCPS-28000B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Things that are great about it

,
October 10, 2011
By photo357
from NC
"Apearance is great,Heats great, and its so much better then my first pellet stove"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
26out of 43found this review helpful.