Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Generac LP3250 Portable Propane Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 6000

FREE SHIPPING - Generac LP3250 Portable Propane Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 6000

Item# 21951
This Generac LP3250 Portable Propane Generator uses clean-burning propane to deliver steady, reliable power wherever you need it. Not for sale in CA. Battery Included No, Battery Required No, Engine Generac OHV, Engine Displacement cc 212, Fuel Capacity gal. 20-lb. tank sold separately, Fuel Type Propane, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Rated Watts 3,250, Rated Watts LP 3,250, Receptacles qty. 5, Surge Watts 3,750, Surge Watts LP 3,750, Dimensions L x W x H in. 39 1/2 x 23 1/2 x 24 3/4, Start Type Recoil, Run Time 9 hrs. on 20-lb. tank, 13 3/5 hrs. on 30-lb. tank. Built-in tank holder eliminates awkward stand-alone tanks and fuel lines Four 20 Amp 120V receptacles, one 20 Amp 120/240V locking plug receptacle Easy to maneuver with a sturdy, dolly-style handle and low grab bar Hardened steel tube cradle
Average Customer Rating:
4.644 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (59 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
56 of 59(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Generac LP3250 Portable Propane Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 6000
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac LP3250 Portable Propane Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 6000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Impact

,
July 4, 2014
By Yachtshots
from Washington State
"Haven't started it yet since I'm trying to install an hour meter I bought separate. However, I can't get the top panel off to work on the engine. I'll need to do that to check the plug and whatnot later on, so I thought now was a good time. The two front bolts loosen easily with a 6mm hex wrench because there are rubber gaskets there. The rest of the bolts would not loosen. I suppose I'll have to find an impact socket of that size (or perhaps 7mm, the 6mm seems just a tad loose) to break them free. You can be sure I'll put rubber gaskets under the rest of them so access to the engine is not so difficult in the future.
I bought this unit because of the propane fuel feature and because our business has a large propane powered Generac generator. I've had gasoline generators that wouldn't start because of foul gas in the carburetor. I'm told propane won't do that.
I bought a poly storage chest (probably made for two garbage cans) that works perfect for a generator shed. The wheeled unit is easy to angle into the shed where I lift it a bit and slide it all the way in."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac LP3250 Portable Propane Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 6000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy To Assemble - Extra Nice Generator

,
June 5, 2014
By Denny2014
from North Carolina
"The generator arrived yesterday. I am mechanically disabled, but was able to easily assemble within one hour. The generator started on the third pull. Much quieter than my gas generator. Very easy to move about. My wife can easily start this generator. No more hassles with long term gasoline storage. 5 STARS !"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac LP3250 Portable Propane Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 6000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Propane Generator

,
August 13, 2012
By Roperaz
from Fredonia, AZ
"Excellent machine, easy starting so far, would reccomend to anyone. we are a long way from Town and any power source other than the Generator and it has preformed perfectly!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac LP3250 Portable Propane Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 6000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

electricians impressions

,
May 14, 2012
By incaseofemergency
from wisconsin
"bought the generac propane generator and had an electrician over to hook up a transfer switch and outside plug. He said it was very nice and exactly what i needed for what i wanted to use it for, to run my submersible water pump. He also said that it was less expensive then the ones he sold. we started it up, it started beautifully, and he tested it and the work he did for me and said it was perfect. haven't had an emegency yet but am confident after the comments and testing the electrician did."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac LP3250 Portable Propane Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 6000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
May 10, 2012
By Jayz69
from stratton, maine
"Great portable generator. Very quiet and powerful for the size. Smart design. i recommend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac LP3250 Portable Propane Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 6000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane Generator++++

,
January 12, 2012
By bigTvik
from Alexandria,MN
"I recently picked up a Generac portable propane generator at my local Northern Tool store to use with my fish house and I love it.I have a 100lb propane tank to run my heater and the generator and it works great.The Generac I find to be way more economical running on propane versus gasoline considering propane is much cheaper, and having 3250watts its more than enough to run my electronics. Setup and operating the unit is a breeze.Simply hook up the propane supply and away you go.Only thing i dont find so great about it, is the size of the wheels,i wish they could be a little larger. But with all said thumbs up to Northern Tool and Generac!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac LP3250 Portable Propane Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 6000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great generator

,
October 14, 2011
By FloodedNJ
from New Jersey
"My home got flooded and subsequently lost power. This generator was able to handle both sump pumps, two refrigerators, small lamp and tv. The best advantage is the propane. Where my neighbors have to keep gallons of gasoline on hand, i keep an extra propane tank around and can easily exchange it when it runs out. This thing is great. It sits around for most of the year and I never have to worry about gas going bad in the tank etc. I would definitely recommend it if you're not using a generator on a regular basis. The only thing I would do differently (if I had the room and the money) would be to tie it directly to the electric service so I didn't have to run all the extension cords around..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Generac LP3250 Portable Propane Generator - 3750 Surge Watts, 3250 Rated Watts, Model# 6000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs great!

,
October 10, 2011
By Bem9964
from Galloway, NJ
"Finally had chance to use when power went out for few hours. Generator started on 2nd pull, after sitting for month with no use at all. After all was set up and running, I was able to power all lighting and small appliances with no strain at all. Does have wattage rating more towards the low side so bigger appliances have to be run separately, if at all. Main up side is not having to worry about maintaining fuel after shut down, simply turn off, disconnect and then shut fuel tank knob off, you are done until needed next time. LP doesn't gum up or tarnish the carb. As Ethanol treated gasoline does. Very clean burning, no smoke at all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+35points
37out of 39found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.