Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001

Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001

Item# 221550
Eliminator shop heater burns up to 4/5 of a gallon of waste or vegetable oil per hour. Ideal for garage, fleet maintenance and other facilities. Easy to maintain. Truck Ship. U.S.A. Fuel Capacity gal. 15, Fuel Consumption gal./hr. 80, Fuel Type Waste Oil, Igniter Manual, Thermostat Included Yes, Volts 115, Amps 3.8, BTU Output 120,000, Chimney Pipe Size in. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 30 x 23 x 42. Burns waste oil, new oil, vegetable oil and transmission fluid Generates clean, affordable heat Control box has integrated circuit board and indicator lights for easy operation Remote thermostat Dependable stainless steel fuel pump Note user needs to light unit before operation Model AENH-001
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001
Review 1 for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

waste oir burner

,
February 4, 2014
By gary91455
from Indiana
"This waste oil burner is simple and easy to operate. It is a self contained unit and does an excellent job of heating my repair shop. There is a little maintenance required but not bad."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto Shop Owner

,
January 16, 2014
By 18436572
from Berks County, Pa
"This is the third heating season with this heater. Previously had a Lanair 110 =, this unit is easier to service, uses less fuel and keeps the shop warmer. It is undersized for our shop, but mostly keeps it warm, we do have to use fans to move air around but we are completely satisfied with this unit. Buy an extra pan, keep one clean for service every night, can be done in 5 minutes. 30 day service in less than 30 minutes."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

user

,
April 24, 2013
By testbuck
from nc
"this serves the title , it is very good , I have a shop
60x30 and the heater will keep it around 55 to 65 degrees during the coldest months , I highly
recommend this heater for someone
who wants cheep heat
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lighting Tip and Troubleshooting Advice

,
February 23, 2012
By MetricMan
from Tennessee
"I've owned this heater about 4 years now and have been very satisfied with the performance. It has the expected maintenance requirements of a waste oil heater, such as the cleaning the burning pan and the ash accumulation of the burning chamber interior. Adding a 1/4 to 1/2 inch of waste oil to the burn pan, with the addition of a cup of kerosene/diesel on top of the waste oil, will make starting the unit fairly easy. I use a self igniting propane/mapp torch to light the oil in the pan bottom and then let it burn for a few minutes before closing the burn chamber door.
I did fabricate a steel box with a screen bottom for the wide open oil tank inlet since you never know what may fall into your oil drain pan or barrel. The steel box is the length and width of the heaters rectangular oil tank opening and about 4" deep with aluminum door screen in the bottom to catch anything that may contaminate the waste oil tank. I folded a lip forward so when I slide the box into the opening the lip will hold the box level at the top of the tank opening. And the waste oil tank lid will still close over it. When I pour the oil into the screen box, it separates any items larger than my screen mesh. When crud accumulates, I pull the box out, wash it out in my parts cleaner and put it back in the heater.
I want to add some troubleshooting information for other users since I have encountered these problems through heater use.. There is a fine mesh screen on the oil pump feed inlet. If you start hearing a clicking noise in the unit, open the top of the electrical control box where the oil feed pump is located. There is a motor with an arm (item 14 on page 21 of the manual) pushing and pulling a piston in a pump (item 10 on page 21 of the manual). Watch the pump arm movement. If the clicking occurs at the top of the pump shaft movement (when the shaft is coming out of the pump) the oil screen inlet is clogged. If the clicking occurs at the bottom of the pump shaft movement ( when the shaft is being pressed back into the pump), the outlet nozzle of the burn pan is clogged. Cleaning the oil pump inlet screen requires pump removal from the unit. Same with the drip nozzle. Effective cleaning requires removal.
Another point to make on potential oil drip nozzle clogging is that you can become accustomed to where the oil drip point is on the burning pan of your unit if you pay attention. Watch for the drip point to be close to the center of the pedestal in the middle of the burn pan. Do this when you are cleaning the burn pan before each use. You can tell that the nozzle may be getting ready to clog because the oil will be drifting off of the center of the pedestal to burn. The center of the drip point can be identified as a build up of ash and reminds you of a volcano when looking at it. I remove the line and clean it with tip cleaners and carburettor cleaner.
As always use any advise at your own risk. Never perform any repairs on the heater unit while the unit is plugged in or operating. REMEMBER: SAFETY FIRST!
My final words are that I really like the heater and it has saved me a fortune in heating fuel bills. My hat is off to the ELIMINATOR HEATER company and my thanks to Northern for offering the product in their heater lineup,."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
43out of 81found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best investment in the last year.

,
February 16, 2012
By rudedog52
from Barto, Pa
"This unit replaced an ancient Lanair 110.
Installed it imediatly upon delivery, runs beuatful, heats better than the Lanair ever did. Stays running at the shop 24/7 and uses less oil than the Lanair did. Also servicing is much simpler, I recomend ordering an extra vaporizer pan so you can have a clean pan ready to go every 24 hour cleaning. Do wish the fill area was a tad larger, that's the only improvement I can think of. I am heating a 3 bay shop, using a portable blower to move the heat to the other end of the shop. Great Unit!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money Well Spent

,
February 22, 2010
By ToolPrince
from Southeastern Part On New Jersey...Cold Winters
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This heater was purchased 4 years ago to replace one that had become outdated from Jenny Waste Oil Company. The unit has performed perfect since the day I first started using it. The oil consumption rating has been right where it is supposed to be for me. I have it set up in a three bay shop and it does the building just fine. I only have it on during the day and I shut it off in the evenings. I use a small propane bottle torch to light it in the morning and that is no problem at all for me. I will mention that my local fire code requires that I have an air gap between the floor and the bottom of the heater so I have the heater set up on cement blocks which actually makes it much easier to light and clean. This heater will pay for itself in no time at all."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paid for it's self the first year

,
October 19, 2009
By Brett58
from Kansas City, Mo
"I built a new shop and installed a propane heater just in case. I’ve only turned it on twice in a year and that was because I only needed the heat on for under an hour.
At first I had some difficulty in lighting until I figured out to put about a ¼ to ½ cup of lamp oil (kerosene) which, by it’s nature, floats on top of the oil. And I use a small propane torch to light the kerosene which lights rather easily and it then lights the oil. Was a little frustrating before I figured that out (oh yeah, that’s in the instructions but who reads those?).
I bought an extra pan so I always have a clean one ready to go. I haven’t had a bit of trouble with it.
Probably the single most talked about piece of equipment in my shop!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
24out of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garage owner

,
January 30, 2009
By Chiun
from Elmira, NY
"Best money I ever spent. I have tried wood stoves and various propane heaters / furnaces. The latter was OK until the price of propane tippled. Plenty of waste oil to feed the furnace. The garage is 7200 cubic feet and the furnace keeps it toasty even on the coldest sub-zero north east winter days. Some oil burners require shop air to work but the ELMINATOR does not. Self contained requiring only 110VAC. (And a 6 inch chimney) They suggest lighting with a torch but some crumpled news papers in the starter pan works fine. Needs to be thoroughly cleaned at the start of each season. Flue ( Chimney) temperatures typically about 110 degrees F. Fail safe temperature sensors protect from over heating and run the fan. Rated oil consumption as stated after the area reaches temperature. Good building insulation helps."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

cheap heat

,
April 21, 2008
By vmack
from sterling ohio
"I found this product very efficent I don't come close to using my yearly oil supply Heats my shop fast. I have a 24x56x16 and I can heat it up in about 30min @ 20 degrees. Recvery is great I open a 14 x 14 door to pull trucks in. As far starting its not hard if you use a little diesel fuel mixed with oil and a propane torch. The drawbacks are the oil feed tube plugs and you have to replace it 2-3 times a year it, it runs all the time, ( ok in cold weather but in fall and spring when cold in morning or mid 40's it gets to hot or you have to shut off and restart thru out day no way really to control heat) All in all its cheap heat for not alot of money with a few minor inconvince I save the price of the oil burner in one year with todays fuel prices."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

waste oil heater

,
December 5, 2007
By Arnie
from South Dakota
"The Eliminator 120 Waste oil heater is a good product. It is used as asupplemental heat source. It has really reduced our heating bills plus we can get rid of our waste oil. It will burn just about any waste oil products except synthetic oils. It puts out a lot of heat. It heats a 30' x 40' shop with some insulation in the ceiling and the walls. It runs from the time you light it until you shut it off or it runs out of fuel. Lighting it can be a chore. If you put a piece of paper in the vaporizing pan and light the paper, it starts a lot easier. A second pan speeds up the process.
I have recommended this product to my friends.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Eliminator Shop and Garage Waste Oil Heater, Model# AENH-001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste oil or waste time

,
March 7, 2007
By gboys
from thornville, oh
"I didnt realize before the purchase that it was not self igniting, I also didnt know lighting used oil could be so difficult. It would be alot easier to just have a wood stove. It sometimes takes me up to 30 minutes to get it to stay lit. I also think that the 4/5 of a gallon per hour is an under statement. Also it cant be 120,000 btu's. because my kerosene heater can warm up my garage in 30 minutes or less and the oil furnace never shuts off. so i still have to use both heaters anyway. I have never been so disappointed with anything i have purchased in my life."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-19points
28out of 75found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
ErnieV
New York 
 
Please wait while more information about ErnieV is loaded.
Additional information about ErnieV could not be loaded.
Not Hard
December 31, 2010
"I bought a 30 year old waste oil heater from a friend 4 years ago. It was never used. It was one of a tractor trailer load of prototypes that never saw production. I don't know why? I saw his in use and was very impressed! First of all, the way to light pot is with about 8 oz. of fuel oil and a couple of sheets of paper. I use the 10'' long fire place matches. The Eliminator list ignition as manual, so I don't know why you thought it was auto ignition? My garage is 30x40x14 and heats very well. It has saved me thousands."
+1point
1out of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)