Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"

"General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"

Item# 2260
"The General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit blasts out up to 750 lbs. of abrasive per hour for fast cleaning and rust removal from 3.5 GPM up to 8 GPM and up to a max. of 3,500 PSI. Steel nozzle, 18in. probe, 20in. lance and 13 1/2 hose. Hooks up to your pressure washer. Application Blasting kit, Recommended Media Fine silica sand, medium/coarse grit, Diameter in. 1/4, Body Material Polyurethane, Hose Length ft. 13 1/2, Max. PSI 3,500, Nozzle Size in. 5.0, Temperature Range F 200. Uses fine silica sand, medium to coarse grit, 20/40 Nonadjustable 5.0 steel nozzle 20in. lance 18in. sand probe 13.5ft. sand hose 1/4in. I.D. pipe Male 1/4in. quick-connect fitting on the inlet Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Customer Service"
Average Customer Rating:
3.942 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (52 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
7
45 of 52(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Review 1 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keep sand dry

,
May 23, 2015
By skinny1963
from Wyoming, RI
" Great product for smaller projects but you need to keep sand very dry.They all behave in this way.I like the product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chemical free paint and rust removal

,
May 19, 2015
By toxonix
from Evanston, IL
" I am blasting paint, filler and rust off of classic cars and trucks for restoration.
I built a 3.5 GPM, 6.5 hp gas powered pressure washer. With this attachment, it consumes a 50lb bag of kiln dried medium sand in 15-20 minutes, and the results are great.
I've run 80 grit silicon carbide and medium coal slag through it, but the medium sand does the best job for the money. The carbide costs too much and doesn't do much better than the sand unless you can recover ALL of it. The coal slag just didn't do as good a job, but it did flow nicely without clogs.
I can blast a half ton truck frame in ~2 hours down to bare metal, a cab or a bed in ~3 hours. It will consume a LOT of sand!
The only problem I have with it is that the pickup hose is prone to water back flow. I have to blow stuck sand out of the pickup hose, even though the sand is completely kiln dried and has no clumps in it. I don't know if there's a way to prevent this. It is a vacuum/Venturi pickup with negative pressure in the pickup hose, so some water is bound to get sucked back up the tube from gun. I keep the sand inlet pointing upward on the gun and run the sand hose overhead so that the sand doesn't have to fight gravity as it comes through the hose.
If I could add some positive air pressure to the sand pickup I think the clogs would not be such a problem. BUT, if you use a short hose and keep the sand elevated and dry, the clogs don't happen much.
I noticed the inside of the nozzle taper eroded away pretty quick. I don't notice any difference in performance, but eventually that may start cutting into the brass nozzle, which will at that point need replacing.
This is by far the best way for the money and time involved to remove rust from automotive sheet metal.
After blasting I rinse the bare metal down with Phosphoric prep&etch, and dry as fast as possible with heated air. This prevents flash rusting and once all the cracks and seams are etched and dried, the body is ready for primer.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple and effective

,
May 13, 2015
By DharmaPhoto
from New Hampshire
" Pleasantly surprised. It hooked up easily and worked well. Only used it a little so far but it is doing what I expect of it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value

,
May 9, 2015
By Mike173
from Puyallup, Wa
" This is very good little sand blaster, very easy to hook it up to my pressure washer. It works amazingly well right out of the box, or you can throw away the siphon tube and hook it up a inexpensive 100lbs pressure blaster. It works much better than the pressure blaster alone!! I have owned 4-6 different kinds of blasters over the years and this one is the best of them all. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sand/water blasting kit

,
May 6, 2015
By shomejim
from St. James, Missouri
" I bought this kit to prepare my lawn furniture for a fresh coat of paint. I was pleasantly surprised that it worked really well and with less of a mess than a conventional sand blaster. I am sure that with a 3500psi power washer it would work even better than with my 2500psi washer. It clogged up only once during the entire job and was easily fixed. I would recommend shortening the feed hose to help prevent coiling of the hose which can cause a clog in the abrasive feed line. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

General Pump High Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit

,
April 24, 2015
By Jimbo1970
from Louisiana
" Worked as described. I used it with a 2800 psi pressure washer and used fine sand. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
April 13, 2015
By Bob9584
from Ohio
" This is works great for removing rust and old paint. The only issue I had was that occasionally it would clog, but it took no time to clear the clog and get back to blasting. This is great for cleaning up trailers, car parts, farm equipment, etc. I don't think I'll ever use a pneumatic sand blaster for big parts again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Water sand blaster

,
March 10, 2015
By K1288
from Central texas
" Very good for small items, you have to have a good pressure washer . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pressure Blasting

,
February 21, 2015
By YouWantMeToDoIt
from Northeast Ohio
" This product is easy to hook up and start using. I had to install a valve to cut back the amount of abrasive material that I wanted to hit the surface. Otherwise it worked well for my project. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Water sandblaster

,
November 8, 2014
By LennyM
from Great Falls, MT
" This product Works great at removing paint and rust from sheetmetal and minimizes panel warping because of the water pressure cooling the blast sand. It also eliminates the unsafe dust created by dry sand blasting.
Great product at a good price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SAND BLASTING MADE EASY

,
October 23, 2014
By RLW53
from TENNESSEE
" WHAT A GREAT IDEAL, USING YOUR PRESSURE-WASHER. NOT ONLY DO YOU GET A LOT HIGHER PRESSURE THEN A REGULAR AIR ONLY SAND BLASTER, BUT IT ALSO CUTS DOWN ON THE DUST FROM THE SAND. I SAND BLASTED A 5 FT X 10 FT OPEN TRAILER WITH A WIRE METAL FLOOR (TOP AND UNDER ) IN ONLY 2 HOURS
ITS GOING TO MAKE SAND BLASTING A LOT EASIER TO DO. FRIENDS ARE CALLING WANTING ME TO DO THEIR TRAILERS TOO
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good buy for the money

,
October 10, 2014
By htrdsx
from SW Arkansas
" Works great. Have had no problems with it. I read the previous reviews and heeded the advice. Thanks. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best paint removing tool i've ever used.

,
August 20, 2014
By Jbpressurewasher
from Tennessee
" It took me about 2 minutes to completely remove the paint from a trailer fender with this thing. It goes through the media, but it is effective. I used the coal slag from Tractor Supply and it worked great, but I did have some issues with sand. The sand kept getting clogged up in the line, but my pressure washer is only about 2400 psi so I'm not going to remove any stars for that. I have already recommended this to several friends. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great concept, poor performance

,
August 7, 2014
By Gilbo
from NY
" This tool is a great concept but in actuality it doesnt work all that well. The first few minutes it worked great after that the moisture would back feed once you released the trigger on the wand. Water mixes with the media and your done until everything drys out. Wand comes with a quick connect that didn't fit my pressure washer or my friends. Had to change out the male quick connect on the wand. Spent more time screwing around with it than actually sand blasting. Don't waste your money "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sand blaster

,
July 29, 2014
By pckeuper
from ARIZONA
" The actual product does work well and drastically increase the cutting power of the pressure washer.
A note on the hose
The suction hose collapses with suction above 75 Degree. I replaced it with a hose from Parker hose which is clear and has a wire reinforcement. The unit now works great with a 20 ft hose and at 100 degree temperature. The hose cost approximately 1.70/foot.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Defective

,
July 29, 2014
By NoStars
from MS
" This product is basically defective being shipped with a hose that will not work. A customer should not have to spend money for a hose and waste the time and frustration required to get it to work at all. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs stronger hose

,
July 4, 2014
By TallSailor
from Twin Lakes, WI
" As others have stated, figure on getting a firmer hose, then it works great. Bewared, it does makes a big mess everywhere, but it does work. I used glass bead on my fiberglass boat, once the water dries, there is soft glass beads, like sand everywhere. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

High Pressure Abrasive

,
June 14, 2014
By Andys69
from Bear Delaware
" The hose kept collapsing so I had to purchase a seperate Hose from auto parts store Heater Hose and the wand should only be about a few inches long and half the time I spent unclogging the line,solved the problem by elavating the bucket of sand.I would not recommend this to any one it's a waste of money,the product is straight up garbage.Very dissapointed in this product and Northern tool for carrying this . "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

works within limits

,
May 10, 2014
By lrejr
from sac,ca
" First off, the hose was too weak, it collapsed under the vacuum. I bought a better hose and it worked well, but be prepared to use a lot of blast material, no way to meter the flow.
Given the cost option, this worked well for me after the hose was replaced. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 Max. PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for serious work.

,
March 3, 2014
By P123T
from S'ville SC
" This device could only be recommended if you have plenty of money for media, don't plan on recovering the media for future use, and have a concern about dust and have a pressure washer sitting around.
If you need to reduce dust while sandblasting invest in a misting sprinkler which will more efficiently and cheaply take care of dust.
Choosing the wrong media will result in clogs and even good media will result in inefficiency because the abrasive nature of the media is not enhanced by the water pressure in this particular system.
Watch the included video and you will see that the hose must be held very close to the object and the efficiency of cleaning is minimal. The same media used with a dry system would strip the surface 3x faster and more effective. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.