Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"

Item# 2260
"The General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit blasts out up to 750 lbs. of abrasive per hour for fast cleaning and rust removal from 3.5 GPM up to 8 GPM and up to a max. of 3,500 PSI. Steel nozzle, 18in. probe, 20in. lance and 13 1/2 hose. Hooks up to your pressure washer. Recommended Media Fine silica sand, medium/coarse grit, Diameter in. 1/4, Application Blasting kit, Max. PSI 3,500, Body Material Polyurethane, Hose Length ft. 13 1/2, Nozzle Size in. 5.0, Temperature Range F 200. Uses fine silica sand, medium to coarse grit, 20/40 Nonadjustable 5.0 steel nozzle 20in. lance 18in. sand probe 13.5ft. sand hose 1/4in. I.D. pipe Male 1/4in. quick-connect fitting on the inlet Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Customer Service"
Average Customer Rating:
3.914 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (58 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
7
50 of 58(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Review 1 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

"General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit

,
November 22, 2015
By
from so. cal.
The picture in the catalog does not depict whats in the box. The description is accurate. The fitting used to attach the wand is not a 22mm male fitting but a male quick disconnect type.
The unit works well, just keep the abrasive elevated. I used 30 grit silica sand.
Play sand did not work very well in my pressure sand blaster so I didn't try it with the wet blaster.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

,
September 4, 2015
By
from Twin Cities, MN
Works great for small jobs. Can be a little messy but I've swept up the sand and reused it... If using sand it's critical that the media be dry and sifted. I made a small frame with metal window screen and it works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice!

,
August 18, 2015
By
from Sandusky, OH
Used this to blast rust from my 16' flatbed trailer before painting and it worked great. Far less work and mess than using my high pressure dry sandblaster! I used black garnet/coal slag sand because I already had an open bucket of it, but am going to mix it with regular screened sand in the future. Just keep the bucket a few feet higher than the pressure washer and you should have no problem with water backflow. For the price and ease of use, you can't beat it!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit -

,
July 30, 2015
By
from Jackson, GA
Was not impressed at all with the product. It stayed stopped up most of the time because it would not pull the media all the way to the nozzle before sliding back down into the hose creating a clog up.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use, Worth the price

,
July 8, 2015
By
from Plant City Fl.
I read all the reviews and decided to give it a try. Overall it did a great job. As mentioned in another review, the one feature that would add to the function of this blaster is a ball valve in on the pick up tube to restrict and control the amount of sand that is siphoned. I used a 2800 PSI pressure washer @ 3.0 GPM and the system worked great. But I went thru 500lbs of 20/30 medium sand in a hour and a half! I used it on a 6x10 trailer that I was rebuilding and there were several coats of old paint on it. I think if there was a way to regulate the amount of sand it would go a lot farther. I'll be making this change before I use it again. You will notice that the steel will flash rust in a matter of minute after you blast it. The one thing that no one covered in all the reviews is, you need to protect your skin,eyes, breathing when using the blaster. You will get sand in places you didn't know you had! I recommend a full hood. My pressure washer handle had a disconnect at the handle and the fitting that came with the wand fit great. One thing i did from reading the other reviews was use duct tape on the wand and handle to keep the hose on the top side to prevent water from back flowing into the siphon hose. This proved to work perfect. I also kept the 5 gal pail I used for the sand in the back of my Polaris Ranger so the siphon process didn't have to over come the added lift of it being on the ground. I think this prevented the siphon hose from collapsing like other had a problem with. I was able to blast the trailer and spray paint the trailer Gloss black all in about 6 hours.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pressure washer sandblasting

,
June 7, 2015
By
from Mocksville,NC
this item works good providing you keep moisture out of the sand line.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keep sand dry

,
May 23, 2015
By
from Wyoming, RI
Great product for smaller projects but you need to keep sand very dry.They all behave in this way.I like the product.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 8 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chemical free paint and rust removal

,
May 19, 2015
By
from Evanston, IL
I am blasting paint, filler and rust off of classic cars and trucks for restoration.
I built a 3.5 GPM, 6.5 hp gas powered pressure washer. With this attachment, it consumes a 50lb bag of kiln dried medium sand in 15-20 minutes, and the results are great.
I've run 80 grit silicon carbide and medium coal slag through it, but the medium sand does the best job for the money. The carbide costs too much and doesn't do much better than the sand unless you can recover ALL of it. The coal slag just didn't do as good a job, but it did flow nicely without clogs.
I can blast a half ton truck frame in ~2 hours down to bare metal, a cab or a bed in ~3 hours. It will consume a LOT of sand!
The only problem I have with it is that the pickup hose is prone to water back flow. I have to blow stuck sand out of the pickup hose, even though the sand is completely kiln dried and has no clumps in it. I don't know if there's a way to prevent this. It is a vacuum/Venturi pickup with negative pressure in the pickup hose, so some water is bound to get sucked back up the tube from gun. I keep the sand inlet pointing upward on the gun and run the sand hose overhead so that the sand doesn't have to fight gravity as it comes through the hose.
If I could add some positive air pressure to the sand pickup I think the clogs would not be such a problem. BUT, if you use a short hose and keep the sand elevated and dry, the clogs don't happen much.
I noticed the inside of the nozzle taper eroded away pretty quick. I don't notice any difference in performance, but eventually that may start cutting into the brass nozzle, which will at that point need replacing.
This is by far the best way for the money and time involved to remove rust from automotive sheet metal.
After blasting I rinse the bare metal down with Phosphoric prep&etch, and dry as fast as possible with heated air. This prevents flash rusting and once all the cracks and seams are etched and dried, the body is ready for primer.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple and effective

,
May 13, 2015
By
from New Hampshire
Pleasantly surprised. It hooked up easily and worked well. Only used it a little so far but it is doing what I expect of it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 10 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value

,
May 9, 2015
By
from Puyallup, Wa
This is very good little sand blaster, very easy to hook it up to my pressure washer. It works amazingly well right out of the box, or you can throw away the siphon tube and hook it up a inexpensive 100lbs pressure blaster. It works much better than the pressure blaster alone!! I have owned 4-6 different kinds of blasters over the years and this one is the best of them all.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sand/water blasting kit

,
May 6, 2015
By
from St. James, Missouri
I bought this kit to prepare my lawn furniture for a fresh coat of paint. I was pleasantly surprised that it worked really well and with less of a mess than a conventional sand blaster. I am sure that with a 3500psi power washer it would work even better than with my 2500psi washer. It clogged up only once during the entire job and was easily fixed. I would recommend shortening the feed hose to help prevent coiling of the hose which can cause a clog in the abrasive feed line.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

General Pump High Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit

,
April 24, 2015
By
from Louisiana
Worked as described. I used it with a 2800 psi pressure washer and used fine sand.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 13 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
April 13, 2015
By
from Ohio
This is works great for removing rust and old paint. The only issue I had was that occasionally it would clog, but it took no time to clear the clog and get back to blasting. This is great for cleaning up trailers, car parts, farm equipment, etc. I don't think I'll ever use a pneumatic sand blaster for big parts again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Water sand blaster

,
March 10, 2015
By
from Central texas
Very good for small items, you have to have a good pressure washer .
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pressure Blasting

,
February 21, 2015
By
from Northeast Ohio
This product is easy to hook up and start using. I had to install a valve to cut back the amount of abrasive material that I wanted to hit the surface. Otherwise it worked well for my project.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Water sandblaster

,
November 8, 2014
By
from Great Falls, MT
This product Works great at removing paint and rust from sheetmetal and minimizes panel warping because of the water pressure cooling the blast sand. It also eliminates the unsafe dust created by dry sand blasting.
Great product at a good price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SAND BLASTING MADE EASY

,
October 23, 2014
By
from TENNESSEE
WHAT A GREAT IDEAL, USING YOUR PRESSURE-WASHER. NOT ONLY DO YOU GET A LOT HIGHER PRESSURE THEN A REGULAR AIR ONLY SAND BLASTER, BUT IT ALSO CUTS DOWN ON THE DUST FROM THE SAND. I SAND BLASTED A 5 FT X 10 FT OPEN TRAILER WITH A WIRE METAL FLOOR (TOP AND UNDER ) IN ONLY 2 HOURS
ITS GOING TO MAKE SAND BLASTING A LOT EASIER TO DO. FRIENDS ARE CALLING WANTING ME TO DO THEIR TRAILERS TOO
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good buy for the money

,
October 10, 2014
By
from SW Arkansas
Works great. Have had no problems with it. I read the previous reviews and heeded the advice. Thanks.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best paint removing tool i've ever used.

,
August 20, 2014
By
from Tennessee
It took me about 2 minutes to completely remove the paint from a trailer fender with this thing. It goes through the media, but it is effective. I used the coal slag from Tractor Supply and it worked great, but I did have some issues with sand. The sand kept getting clogged up in the line, but my pressure washer is only about 2400 psi so I'm not going to remove any stars for that. I have already recommended this to several friends.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3,500 PSI, 8.0 GPM"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great concept, poor performance

,
August 7, 2014
By
from NY
This tool is a great concept but in actuality it doesnt work all that well. The first few minutes it worked great after that the moisture would back feed once you released the trigger on the wand. Water mixes with the media and your done until everything drys out. Wand comes with a quick connect that didn't fit my pressure washer or my friends. Had to change out the male quick connect on the wand. Spent more time screwing around with it than actually sand blasting. Don't waste your money
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.