Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI

General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI

Item# 2260
"The General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit blasts out up to 750 lbs. of abrasive per hour for fast cleaning and rust removal from 3.5 GPM up to 8 GPM and up to a max. of 3500 PSI. Steel nozzle, 18in. probe, 20in. lance and 13 1/2 hose. Hooks up to your pressure washer. Application Abrasive blasting, Hose Length ft. 13 1/2, Max. PSI 3,500, Color White, Diameter in. 1/4. Uses fine silica sand, medium to coarse grit, 20/40 Nonadjustable 5.0 steel nozzle 20in. lance 18in. sand probe 13.5ft. sand hose 1/4in. I.D. pipe Male 1/4in. quick-connect fitting on the inlet Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Customer Service"
Average Customer Rating:
3.907 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (43 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
7
36 of 43(84%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Review 1 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Water sandblaster

,
November 8, 2014
By LennyM
from Great Falls, MT
" This product Works great at removing paint and rust from sheetmetal and minimizes panel warping because of the water pressure cooling the blast sand. It also eliminates the unsafe dust created by dry sand blasting.
Great product at a good price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SAND BLASTING MADE EASY

,
October 23, 2014
By RLW53
from TENNESSEE
" WHAT A GREAT IDEAL, USING YOUR PRESSURE-WASHER. NOT ONLY DO YOU GET A LOT HIGHER PRESSURE THEN A REGULAR AIR ONLY SAND BLASTER, BUT IT ALSO CUTS DOWN ON THE DUST FROM THE SAND. I SAND BLASTED A 5 FT X 10 FT OPEN TRAILER WITH A WIRE METAL FLOOR (TOP AND UNDER ) IN ONLY 2 HOURS
ITS GOING TO MAKE SAND BLASTING A LOT EASIER TO DO. FRIENDS ARE CALLING WANTING ME TO DO THEIR TRAILERS TOO
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good buy for the money

,
October 10, 2014
By htrdsx
from SW Arkansas
" Works great. Have had no problems with it. I read the previous reviews and heeded the advice. Thanks. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best paint removing tool i've ever used.

,
August 20, 2014
By Jbpressurewasher
from Tennessee
" It took me about 2 minutes to completely remove the paint from a trailer fender with this thing. It goes through the media, but it is effective. I used the coal slag from Tractor Supply and it worked great, but I did have some issues with sand. The sand kept getting clogged up in the line, but my pressure washer is only about 2400 psi so I'm not going to remove any stars for that. I have already recommended this to several friends. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great concept, poor performance

,
August 7, 2014
By Gilbo
from NY
" This tool is a great concept but in actuality it doesnt work all that well. The first few minutes it worked great after that the moisture would back feed once you released the trigger on the wand. Water mixes with the media and your done until everything drys out. Wand comes with a quick connect that didn't fit my pressure washer or my friends. Had to change out the male quick connect on the wand. Spent more time screwing around with it than actually sand blasting. Don't waste your money "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sand blaster

,
July 29, 2014
By pckeuper
from ARIZONA
" The actual product does work well and drastically increase the cutting power of the pressure washer.
A note on the hose
The suction hose collapses with suction above 75 Degree. I replaced it with a hose from Parker hose which is clear and has a wire reinforcement. The unit now works great with a 20 ft hose and at 100 degree temperature. The hose cost approximately 1.70/foot.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Defective

,
July 29, 2014
By NoStars
from MS
" This product is basically defective being shipped with a hose that will not work. A customer should not have to spend money for a hose and waste the time and frustration required to get it to work at all. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs stronger hose

,
July 4, 2014
By TallSailor
from Twin Lakes, WI
" As others have stated, figure on getting a firmer hose, then it works great. Bewared, it does makes a big mess everywhere, but it does work. I used glass bead on my fiberglass boat, once the water dries, there is soft glass beads, like sand everywhere. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

High Pressure Abrasive

,
June 14, 2014
By Andys69
from Bear Delaware
" The hose kept collapsing so I had to purchase a seperate Hose from auto parts store Heater Hose and the wand should only be about a few inches long and half the time I spent unclogging the line,solved the problem by elavating the bucket of sand.I would not recommend this to any one it's a waste of money,the product is straight up garbage.Very dissapointed in this product and Northern tool for carrying this . "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

works within limits

,
May 10, 2014
By lrejr
from sac,ca
" First off, the hose was too weak, it collapsed under the vacuum. I bought a better hose and it worked well, but be prepared to use a lot of blast material, no way to meter the flow.
Given the cost option, this worked well for me after the hose was replaced. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for serious work.

,
March 3, 2014
By P123T
from S'ville SC
" This device could only be recommended if you have plenty of money for media, don't plan on recovering the media for future use, and have a concern about dust and have a pressure washer sitting around.
If you need to reduce dust while sandblasting invest in a misting sprinkler which will more efficiently and cheaply take care of dust.
Choosing the wrong media will result in clogs and even good media will result in inefficiency because the abrasive nature of the media is not enhanced by the water pressure in this particular system.
Watch the included video and you will see that the hose must be held very close to the object and the efficiency of cleaning is minimal. The same media used with a dry system would strip the surface 3x faster and more effective. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

,
September 17, 2013
By tb25
from dixon il
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" i bought this unit to use with my brute 3000 psi 2.7 gpm washer and it worked awesome. so much better then air i would for sure buy one again and would recomend this to someone else "
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

less than pleased

,
August 4, 2013
By kreiz
from missouri
" product NEVER worked, am returning item. Could never get sand to draw through pickup tube without getting wet. Once that happens your dead in the water. Kind of an expensive two foot extension on your wand at this point. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased with purchase

,
July 15, 2013
By leroythumper
from Michigan
" I bought this to use on my 2400 psi unit with 2.5gpm rating, [lower then recommended] but thought I would take a chance. It works very very good on paint and typical heavy rust on frame of trailer. On the extreme rusty parts, with multiple layers of flaking rust, not quite as good but still I am pleased, all things considered. I found the black grit none silica blasting media which I got at Menards to clump quite a bit but it did continue to work. I then switched to Quikrete commercial grade fine sand which I found to work much better. Very little clumping, no clogs, works very good. The quikrete does not "wet" as well so I experienced a little more bounce of the blasting media but no dust cloud. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work well

,
July 7, 2013
By Phil977
from Ct
" Bought this to try and keep down on the dust when blasting. Took a long time to get it to work and when it did , it was subpar. Went through 50 lbs of sand in about 8 minutes with only a small amount of rust removed.  Going to return it "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works pretty good, uses lot of media 50lb in 10min

,
July 5, 2013
By Josh123456
from Cleveland oh
" First try 3000 psi 2.7 gpm. A+on cast iron. Used 30-70 crushed glass on a flat 22ga steel plate 8"x8". From 10" away for 10 sec in a 5" circle, the panel bowed towards the nozzle about 0.5 " hope find a way to use on car, but maybe to harsh "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Orifice Clogs Often

,
June 24, 2013
By prhea1st
from Oregon
" The nozzle would clog often and render it useless and it will only allow certain size to pas through. After half hour of use it seemed to stop working all together. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wet sand blasting kit

,
April 25, 2013
By gregmb
from Australia
" Recently purchased this kit & couldnt be happier. Arrived in good time & proved to be a good solid unit.
It pumps plenty of dry builders sand through the tip and easily removed the rust & paint from my old ride-on mower cutting decks. Within minutes the deck was back to nice clean white metal & once dry I was able to stick weld straight on to it & make repairs! I only needed one 20 kg bag of sand to do the whole job.
It is one of the cheapest complete kits on the market but it is excellent quality.
No instruction is required to use this tool. just stick the pickup tube in the sand & pull the pressure lance trigger! I will recomend this kit to friends.
Gregb.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Abrasive Blasting Kit

,
April 23, 2013
By AdamP
from Pugetopolis
" Even with all its faults, this unit works so well that I will never go back to blasting with compressed air. My pressure washer is 2700psi & 3.7gpm, and that was plenty to get good results. I managed to strip a set of rusty steel truck wheels using one tank of gas and one bag of sand. Based on previous reviews I was worried about sand clogging in the feed tube because of the dampness in the air up here in the Pacific NW, but even though it was misting out when I used the blaster the sand kept flowing well, EXCEPT when chunks bigger than the nozzle orifice got sucked up [my fault for not sifting cheap sand], at which point the backpressure from the washer flowed out the suction tube and blew it loose from the wand, which answered my question why the hose attachment doesn't have a barb. One other annoyance is that the unit I received uses a quick connect for the water inlet, unlike the photo on the website. Seems like a good idea, but it means that its hard to keep the sand suction hose rotated above the nozzle, which is important for keeping the sand dry, and those brass quick connect fittings don't appear to be designed to take much side loading. One reviewer noted that the replacement nozzle was expensive; after 3 bags of sand all I notice is that the black oxide in the bore is gone, I don't expect nozzle wear would be an issue for non-commercial users. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

no more dust.

,
April 23, 2013
By Pat5
from QC
" Work real good ,even with my 2.3 gpm.I use black diamond media.Will try with regular sand next time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.