Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI

General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI

Item# 2260
The General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit blasts out up to 750 lbs. of abrasive per hour for fast cleaning and rust removal at up to 8 GPM and up to a max. of 3500 PSI. Steel nozzle, 18in. probe, 20in. lance and 13 1/2 hose. Hooks up to your pressure washer. Max. PSI 3,500, Color White, Application Abrasive blasting, Hose Length ft. 13 1/2, Diameter in. 1/4. Uses fine silica sand, medium to coarse grit, 20/40 Nonadjustable 5.0 steel nozzle 20in. lance 18in. sand probe 13.5ft. sand hose 1/4in. I.D. pipe Male 1/4in. quick-connect fitting on the inlet Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Customer Service
Average Customer Rating:
4.061 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (33 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
29 of 33(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Review 1 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for serious work.

,
March 3, 2014
By P123T
from S'ville SC
"This device could only be recommended if you have plenty of money for media, don't plan on recovering the media for future use, and have a concern about dust and have a pressure washer sitting around.
If you need to reduce dust while sandblasting invest in a misting sprinkler which will more efficiently and cheaply take care of dust.
Choosing the wrong media will result in clogs and even good media will result in inefficiency because the abrasive nature of the media is not enhanced by the water pressure in this particular system.
Watch the included video and you will see that the hose must be held very close to the object and the efficiency of cleaning is minimal. The same media used with a dry system would strip the surface 3x faster and more effective."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

,
September 17, 2013
By tb25
from dixon il
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"i bought this unit to use with my brute 3000 psi 2.7 gpm washer and it worked awesome. so much better then air i would for sure buy one again and would recomend this to someone else"
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

less than pleased

,
August 4, 2013
By kreiz
from missouri
"product NEVER worked, am returning item. Could never get sand to draw through pickup tube without getting wet. Once that happens your dead in the water. Kind of an expensive two foot extension on your wand at this point."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased with purchase

,
July 15, 2013
By leroythumper
from Michigan
"I bought this to use on my 2400 psi unit with 2.5gpm rating, [lower then recommended] but thought I would take a chance. It works very very good on paint and typical heavy rust on frame of trailer. On the extreme rusty parts, with multiple layers of flaking rust, not quite as good but still I am pleased, all things considered. I found the black grit none silica blasting media which I got at Menards to clump quite a bit but it did continue to work. I then switched to Quikrete commercial grade fine sand which I found to work much better. Very little clumping, no clogs, works very good. The quikrete does not "wet" as well so I experienced a little more bounce of the blasting media but no dust cloud."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work well

,
July 7, 2013
By Phil977
from Ct
"Bought this to try and keep down on the dust when blasting. Took a long time to get it to work and when it did , it was subpar. Went through 50 lbs of sand in about 8 minutes with only a small amount of rust removed.  Going to return it"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works pretty good, uses lot of media 50lb in 10min

,
July 5, 2013
By Josh123456
from Cleveland oh
"First try 3000 psi 2.7 gpm. A+on cast iron. Used 30-70 crushed glass on a flat 22ga steel plate 8"x8". From 10" away for 10 sec in a 5" circle, the panel bowed towards the nozzle about 0.5 " hope find a way to use on car, but maybe to harsh"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Orifice Clogs Often

,
June 24, 2013
By prhea1st
from Oregon
"The nozzle would clog often and render it useless and it will only allow certain size to pas through. After half hour of use it seemed to stop working all together."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wet sand blasting kit

,
April 25, 2013
By gregmb
from Australia
"Recently purchased this kit & couldnt be happier. Arrived in good time & proved to be a good solid unit.
It pumps plenty of dry builders sand through the tip and easily removed the rust & paint from my old ride-on mower cutting decks. Within minutes the deck was back to nice clean white metal & once dry I was able to stick weld straight on to it & make repairs! I only needed one 20 kg bag of sand to do the whole job.
It is one of the cheapest complete kits on the market but it is excellent quality.
No instruction is required to use this tool. just stick the pickup tube in the sand & pull the pressure lance trigger! I will recomend this kit to friends.
Gregb.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Abrasive Blasting Kit

,
April 23, 2013
By AdamP
from Pugetopolis
"Even with all its faults, this unit works so well that I will never go back to blasting with compressed air. My pressure washer is 2700psi & 3.7gpm, and that was plenty to get good results. I managed to strip a set of rusty steel truck wheels using one tank of gas and one bag of sand. Based on previous reviews I was worried about sand clogging in the feed tube because of the dampness in the air up here in the Pacific NW, but even though it was misting out when I used the blaster the sand kept flowing well, EXCEPT when chunks bigger than the nozzle orifice got sucked up [my fault for not sifting cheap sand], at which point the backpressure from the washer flowed out the suction tube and blew it loose from the wand, which answered my question why the hose attachment doesn't have a barb. One other annoyance is that the unit I received uses a quick connect for the water inlet, unlike the photo on the website. Seems like a good idea, but it means that its hard to keep the sand suction hose rotated above the nozzle, which is important for keeping the sand dry, and those brass quick connect fittings don't appear to be designed to take much side loading. One reviewer noted that the replacement nozzle was expensive; after 3 bags of sand all I notice is that the black oxide in the bore is gone, I don't expect nozzle wear would be an issue for non-commercial users."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

no more dust.

,
April 23, 2013
By Pat5
from QC
"Work real good ,even with my 2.3 gpm.I use black diamond media.Will try with regular sand next time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit

,
April 12, 2013
By 1979Adam
from Madison Va
"Works great with common play sand. Just be sure to screen or sift out ANY rocks, pebbles, or trash larger than nozzle outlet. Removed paint and rust with ease.
Just use dry sifted sand. Metal house screen work good to prepare your sand.
Great product!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorthStar High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit

,
August 13, 2012
By McGall
from Millbrook, Al
"This is a great item. It is superior to any other sand blaster I have ever used. Dust residue is non-existent.
The only negative aspect is the expense of the replacement tips.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's the Hose!

,
May 11, 2012
By JimInAz
from Arizona
"It took me a couple of days to figure this out but I finally did. This unit is hooked up to my 3000psi washer and i was using it at full bore. I found that if I didnt scale it back to about 2000 psi, the hose would collapse and stop sand flow. This worked OK but a definate lack of shock and awe to be sure. I then went the other way and got a sand feed hose that woudlnt collapse and this thing took off! I use Quikrete commercial grade medium or fine sand from the local Home Store. Once the hose stopped collapsing the sand flowed up the hose and out the nozzle like a real blaster. I stripped a car frame to bare metal in 15 minutes on 2800psi. It sucked almost half the bag of medium sand but what a job. I would not recommend this for exterior finishes as the pounding from the sand is very hard and will definately stretch the thin steel on car shells. But on other projects, wow."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

,
February 9, 2012
By 6x6Dinosaur
from Aromas,CA
"I bought this to strip the paint of of a 12' flat bed on a vintage truck and it worked great! I used the coarsest sand recommended and I was able to finish it in maybe 20-45 minutes. The only problem was between the pressure washer wand and the sand blaster wand it was a little awkward to get into the little spaces but I was able to work around that."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves lots and lots of time

,
January 29, 2012
By caipira
from Louisiana
"This is the best thing since sliced bread.
I do powder coating and need to blast wheels and motorcycle frames fast. This cuts the time down to 20-30% of what I spent before with a blast cabinet or small pressure pot. Less problems with stopped up hoses and no problem with breathing dust. I am using 3500 or 4000 psi washers. I am guessing that you need at least a 3000 psi machine. Don't know for sure, just guessing.
This is worth 5 times what I paid for it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good tool

,
January 16, 2012
By BG12
from Pa
"Works great. Easier with 2 people one to watch the siphon tube and mix it up so the sand has a constant flow."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfied Customer

,
October 11, 2011
By Toolman56
from Tennessee
"I like this sandblasting attachment for my pressure washer. My only advice would be to pay attention to the size of the sand that you are using. I started out using too large of sand and it clogged up the hose. Once I remoed all of the larger sand and downsized to the appropriate size, the wand worked very good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abrasive Blasting Kit

,
October 10, 2011
By 1sledrider2
from Harrisburg, PA.
"The key to success is using a good blasting sand. It's about $11.00 a 100# bag. I used an old plastic bucket to dispense the sand and to keep it dry. Using a 3800 psi washer, this is an extremely fast way to strip heavy rust, paint,and coating from anything. using water it's nice not to deal with the silica dust. This is a pretty simple concept . It works fast and very well. The sand goes pretty far too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sand blaster

,
August 30, 2010
By Rodder40
from Helotes, Tx
"Bought this to make cleaning up old parts and body panels cleaner. Works great as long as you use clean sand in it, I was using play ground sand and would have to sift it to get the larger pieces out but other than that little problem never had an issue with it at all. One note though is unless you are using it on thick metal you want to stay back off of the part a little ways so as to not warp the metal and let it chew away at the paint and rust.Was using it with a 3gph 2750psi pressure washer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for General Pump High-Pressure Abrasive Blasting Kit - 3500 Max. PSI
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

northstar high presure abrasive blaster

,
August 30, 2010
By clmack
from mass.
"I purchased this blaster to sand blast a tailgate on my dump truck it worked well. It took off most of the rust, the only problem was I couldn't paint the gate for a few hours adding time to the project. It was easy to hook up and use, I am satisfied with it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.