Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"

"Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"

Item# 22606
"This Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket is a safer and more versatile choice for transporting a variety of items. Sides can be removed quickly and easily. Application Cargo carrier, Assembly Required Yes, Capacity lbs. 500, Compatible With 2 in. receivers, Material Type Steel, Mount Type Receiver, Platform Size L x W in. 60 x 20, Receiver Size in. 2, Finish Type Powder-coat, Foldable No. Fits standard 2in. receivers Steel construction 500-lb. capacity Powder-coat finish 60in.L x 20in.W platform 20in. high removable sides help hold in cargo"
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Review 1 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Cargo Carrier

,
September 8, 2014
By WCJ2
from Johnson City, TN
" Used this cargo carrier on a trip to the beach with friends. Sandy chairs, umbrellas, coolers, etc... fit without any problem. Used with the Surco 1206 Universal Fold-Up Adapter for 2" Receiver; this allowed the carrier to be folded up when not in use and also provided extra distance that allowed the lift gate on a 2014 RAV 4 to open with the basket up. This was very handy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Cargo Hauler

,
July 27, 2014
By klwheel
from Arizona
" We bought the cargo hauler to transport a scooter from another state - it worked fabulous! We will also be using it for our next camping trip to haul all our extra camping gear. It is very heavy duty and stable! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent carrier

,
July 25, 2014
By Ulako
from Gibsonia Pa.
" Great product can't wait to try it out .love the high sides . I have a 165 quart igloo cooler that fits perfectly in the unit and i no longer need tie downs. I also like the fact you can open all sides. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy camp tool

,
July 23, 2014
By funtrips1
from montana
" worked great for odd-shaped camping items such as inflatable kayak, inflatable SUP, paddles, beach chairs, sport carrier and folding bike "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good But could be much better

,
May 29, 2014
By JD1980
from York, South Carolina
" Easy to assemble. I do recommend a friend or spouse to help as the thing gets cumbersome when installing the center tube. However lift gate hatch SUVs will require a 6-8" receiver extension in order to use the rear area of your vehicle. Manufacturer could easily fix this with a slight longer tube that goes into the receiver hitch. Also the tube is loose as it gets. You will need a anti wobble pin or some shims to quiet it down on your trip otherwise you are going to feel and hear every bump in the road. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this product

,
April 27, 2014
By Shortstop5
from Arizona
" Very easy to assemble. The folding sides make it easy to load & unload. I am very happy with the cargo hauler. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

carrier

,
April 25, 2014
By Fished
from BC Canada
" Ordered from out of country, had no issues getting it. The carrier went together easily in about 10 minutes from starting to open the box to finished product. It does not come with a hitch pin just so you know. We used it on the back of our 19 foot motorhome worked great - didn't block the lights or the license plate, it is the perfect size. We LOADED it up, 30lb propane bottle, 2 - 7 gallon water jugs, a propane fire pit, RV mat, 2 tarps, Coleman lantern folding chair and a few small things. It performed wonderfully. I did use a cargo net to secure everything.
Because of the nature of what we are putting in it and the rough terrain we travel on sometimes to get to the good fishing holes, I welded the wire mesh to the center 2 inch receiver to give it some extra support in the middle where the 2 sides bolt together, for my own piece of mind. other then that no complaints.
I recommend this product to anyone. Performs well and assembles easily. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like Having another Trunk ....

,
February 4, 2014
By RegularFloridaCamper
from Orlando, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Easy to put together, took about 10 minutes. What is really nice about this is the folding sides. They have spring loaded pins/hinges on the bottom that allow them to fold down into the base frame of the cargo hauler or to remove them if needed.. In one case I removed one end for an odd shaped item. It takes only a minute to fold them all down so i can leave it in the hitch and still open the liftgate of my SUV... Also the fact they fold into the bottom makes this a breeze to store in the garage when not in use. Very sturdy, I use one ratchet tie down to secure everything for the trip. this thing is great.. I've used it for several trips over the past 6 months... Highly recommend .. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality product

,
September 17, 2013
By ScubaScott
from NC
" It held all the luggage of a family of 6 for a weeklong vacation, even all the purchased goodies! It handled a load of firewood too. It's quite versatile and the cage easily folds. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cargo carrier

,
September 17, 2013
By Te63
from Ga
" On my first camping trip using the cargo carrier attached to the rear of our RV TRAILER. The basket carrier has proved be just what we needed to haul chairs, hoses, outdoor mat, and a few other items. Works great we are happy about this purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra-Tow Cargo Hauler with Basket

,
October 17, 2012
By TY11
from Thunder Bay, Ontario
" We just installed this on our used RV for carrying all the dog crates and weatherable material we carry to dog shows. This was a far superior method than to carry inside the RV and back out, then in and back out....
Great product, easy to assemble and install. Had some trouble with the rusted hitch but files and hammers...
Great product.!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

the cage

,
October 8, 2012
By fogl69
from Iowa
" It would be nice if the neck was A little stronger so it could hold more waight "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Ultra-Tow Steel Cargo Hauler with Removable Basket - 500-Lb. Capacity, 60in.L x 20in.W x 20in.H"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy assembly

,
May 7, 2012
By cam505
from Spartanburg S.C.
" Works as advertised and was a breeze to assemble and install. Was shipped quickly and well packaged. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.