Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"

"Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"

Item# 22676
"This heavy-duty Poulan Pro Chain Saw saw can tackle the big jobs. The 3.1 cu. in. DuraLife extended life engine has Super Clean air filter system, dual counterweight crankshaft and air purge for easier starts. Fuel Capacity oz. 15, Oil Capacity oz. 10 3/8, Tool-Less Chain Tensioning No, Tool Weight lbs. 15 1/2, Noise Level dB 102, Oil Pump Flow Automatic, Chain Brake Yes, GasOil Fuel Mix Ratio 40 1, Chain Pitch in. 3/8, Engine Displacement cc 50, Chain Gauge in. 0.050, Low Vibration Handle Yes, Primer Bulb Yes, Chain Saw Type Gas, Case Included Yes, Bar Length in. 20, Engine Speed RPM 3,000 idle, 9,000 open throttle. Gear-driven automatic chain oiler On-board scrench holder"
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Review 1 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
June 3, 2015
By tpm20406
from Seattle, Wa.
" This chain saw is exactly what I was looking for to help with my wood cutting. I live off the grid and burn about 5 chords of wood a year. I have my own wood splitter , however, I needed a light weight, easy to handle chain saw as age is creeping up on me.
This was the game changer for me. This light weight, easy to start, easy to use saw allows me to cut my fallen trees to the length I need to feed into my splitter.
Great item Thanks "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful

,
May 14, 2015
By SAM64
from Katy, TX, USA
" Unbelievable power with this chain saw. It was very easy to use. The storage case is an added extra. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big Saw Little Money.

,
March 23, 2015
By TDLanders
from CAPITOL HEIGHTS
" This is not the saw for a arborist or for the average home owner its for land owners and wood heat families . It burns gas like an 1980 K25 but pulls just as hard. I started with the leftovers from tree trimming ranging from 10" up to a massive 26" in diameter and all 12 feet long and it turned it all into fire wood rounds in minuets. Out of the box is could use a slight tune to even the top end out but man this this is powerful. YOU CAN NOT GET A SAW FOR BIG WOOD FOR THIS PRICE FROM ANY OTHER BRAND. I burn wood as my primary and in years past I would rent a big saw for the logs to big for my PP3516. Now I look back and see I could have bought 3 of these for the money spent. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Chain Saw

,
March 19, 2015
By Swanny50
from Wisconsin
" This is an excellent chain saw for the money. It's fairly light, powerful enough for most jobs, and easy starting. I would recommend this chain saw to both beginners and professionals. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT

,
January 2, 2015
By JT4411
from MD
" We have several expensive Chain saws and I can say this saw has macthed the Best. I would recomend this product to anyone. Cannot beat this saw for the money! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good saw for the money

,
July 31, 2014
By twfla56
from florida
" I bought the 20 inch to use on my Alaskan sawing attachment with a granberg ripping chain its making lumber out of logs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

chain saws

,
February 4, 2014
By josh22282
from binghamton, new york
" I have always like poulan chain saws, had 1 for over 10 years, it was the first wild thing 18 inch, never had a problem with it, upgraded to the pro 20 inch, still a great saw, very strong, very solid, dont like not having a throttle lock but other then that awsome saw "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Purchasing a Second

,
December 31, 2013
By Montamateur
from Montana
" I am purchasing a second saw now. I was very pleased with the way the first one worked and worked. I need a second because other family members continue to pass it around as we clean up wind damaged timber on their residences and I need the second one for myself. Good investment. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

poulan 20 in chain saw

,
April 23, 2013
By woodsmen
from Modesto,CA
" I have been cutting wood for 35 yrs and have never used this brand of saw.I have 5 saws ( included this one ) The other four are a diff brand . And this saw is well worth the money and almost half the price. I was very happy with the power it has I was cutting around 30 in logs and cut thur them like butter, great saw for the money. Highly recommend this. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Saw

,
February 16, 2013
By Tim86
from Albia, Iowa
" This is an excellent saw for the money. It easily performs just as well as a comparable Stihl or Echo and for less money. I have used the saw for 2 weekends straight for 8+ hours a day bucking a fallen, large, 200+ (according to growth rings) oak tree. I have also taken down and bucked 15 large, dead pines on my property that bag worms claimed in recent years. The saw has plenty of power to pull the 20" chain. It's also very fast cutting as the chain is not one of those worthless, slow cutting, anti kickback chains. The chain is the real deal just like the pros use in the forests of Washington state and Oregon. The saw is a heavier because there is more metal parts rather than plastic parts. The drive clutch cover for example is not cheap plastic. It's full metal. But the extra weight helps the saw cut faster and does not require down pressure to get the full use of the professional cut chain. When my 8 year old Poulan Wood Shark finally calls it quits I will absolutely purchase another Poulan Pro product. I literally could not be happier! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Poulan Pro 20"

,
October 15, 2012
By JoeKnows
from Wisconsin
" I was a logger for years. We needed good dependable saws and always counted on Poulan as at least a couple of our saws. They are good "cold start" saws and I bought the new Poulan Pro 20" with it's asisted pull start and primer pump, it is always there for you. Power is never a problem when used for what they are made for. The problem when most people say a saw doesn't have enough power probably doesn't know enough to stop sawing when you first notice the chain as getting dull and instead of letting the saw cut on it's own they try and push it through the log. Inexperienced people think that sharpening your saw as soon as it starts to dull is more sharpening and uses up the chain faster but it is the opposite. There is no lack of power or performance with the new Poulan Pro 20" Chainsaw, I would recommend it to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+46points
46out of 46found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Poulan Pro 20 inch chain saw

,
August 26, 2012
By TurboTimmy
from Raleigh, NC
" This chain saw is an animal. It slices through wood like a hot knife through butter. The 50cc engine provides more than enough power and the 20 inch bar provides alot of flexability. It does weigh a bit more than other 20 inch bar saws but the bigger engine reduces the time spent sawing.
Highly recommend as I own other Poulan Pro products that also do their job great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Upgrade over Poulan's Pro 4620AVX

,
August 13, 2012
By Melli
from Sunshine Coast, BC
" Overall, a tighter machine than PP4620 chainsaw, which was similar class machine until this one came out. Plus, the brake housing is now aluminum, a big improvement over plastic. I preferred the older case, as the new one is bulkier, but it is all good (room to store stuff in it).
In terms of power, no comparison, as this machine is a beast, cutting through whatever you give it. I don't like the chain, as you can only sharpen it so many times before you lose depth (unable to lower depth guage) . Like the primer bulb, but I worry about the choke lever and shutoff lever...plastic pieces that stick out are worry for breakage...prefer flat toggle switch of old.
This machine is very similar to the forestry brands you pay double for, and I am very pleased with it so far. Easy starting, and large fill holes make this chainsaw a deal when on sale.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good chainsaw for the money

,
May 14, 2012
By MaintenanceGuy
from Mt. Airy, NC
" I got this saw as a replacement for a saw that was stolen from me. For the money, this is a good saw. I have used it for about a year, and have had no major problems with it.
The only negatives about this saw are the tool-less chain tensioner and the bar oiler seems to leak a little. I have used this saw against a "well-known" brand of saw, and the Poulan holds it's own.
I'm pleased with this saw.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Plus

,
May 7, 2012
By Woody58
from Louisiana
" I'm so glad I chose the Poulan Pro. I had an uprooted tree, 77 feet long and 125 inches around that had to be cut up and stacked to burn. The power and balance of this chain saw made my job a lot easier than expected.
I would definitely recommend this product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 20in. Bar, 50cc, 3/8in. Pitch, Model# PP5020AV"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not for beginners.

,
February 28, 2012
By firerescue
from Zebulon, NC
" This saw is built for those who have operated a saw and are comfortable in doing so. The chain that is factory installed is a professional logging chain and will get out of control quickly if you are a beginner. The 50cc engine is very strong and has a lot of torque to drive the chain through any log it comes in contact with. I am very pleased with my purchase and have already recommeded this saw to other friends in the fire service for a personally owned chainsaw. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+29points
36out of 43found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.