Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"

"NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"

Item# 2287181
"Powered by a high-performance, continuous-duty NorthStar NSQ Series pump, the sturdily constructed NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer breezes through big jobs and spot spraying, with a 40-ft. spray pattern and a handheld spray gun. The high-performance NSQ Series pump combines innovative components and engineering for superior spraying. Power Supply 12V DC, Spray Pattern Cone, stream, Pressure PSI 60, Spray Gun Type Spot, Flow GPM 5.5, Pump Type NorthStar NSQ Series, Tank Size gal. 26, Broadcast Width ft. 35, Spray Height ft. 22, Hose in. x ft. 3/8 x 15, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 13 1/2 x 28. 12V 5.5 GPM open flow NorthStar NSQ Series on-demand pump provides faster priming and longer life 60 PSI max. 100 continuous duty rating Honeywell MICRO SWITCH for enhanced durability and efficiency Patent-pending DXS-3 valves are made with chemical-resistant Viton for faster priming, better performance and longer life Santoprene diaphragm has superior reliability and chemical resistance Unique pressure switch design slowly cycles the pump for reduced wear on the switch and motor Quick connect ports for easy changes Large 26-gallon proprietary tank design features extra-thick walls made with a special polymer known for its superior chemical and UV resistance Broadcast nozzles spray a wide 40-ft. pattern with no boom arms to break Large droplet size for minimal drift Left/right nozzle control for perimeter spraying Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide Spray gun nozzle adjusts from cone to stream stream shoots up to 35 feet horizontally and 22 feet vertically 15-ft. reinforced poly vinyl chloride hose Clear hose makes monitoring flow easy 6in. dia. tank lid for easy filling Tank-bottom drain for easy emptying Includes remote switch with battery clips and tie-down straps"
Average Customer Rating:
4.18 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (61 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
52 of 61(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Review 1 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
This review is from: NorthStar ATV Sprayer with Boomless Spray System - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ATV Sprayer

,
March 21, 2011
By PhragmitesHunter
from Clay Township, MI
" Great spraying system! The translucent tank makes it easy to track how much liquid is left and it has graduation marks molded in to help with mix rates. Big fill opening helps prevent spills. The mini boom spray nozzles work fantastic. You can cover a lot of ground relatively quickly. Also very easy to swap in new line and valves to custom fit your application. We used this to spray herbicide in the early fall on about 15 acres of phragmites australis (an invasive species). Had to make a boom extension since these plants grrow up to 15 feet tall. Plan to use it for weed and feed during the spring/summer, it will do great being towed behind a lawn tractor with the supplied boom.
Cons: Molded graduations could use highlighting for easier reading. Pressure switch tends to cycle a lot when just using the spot spray wand, so that may become an issue if that's all you use it for. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor sprayer

,
May 21, 2015
By Dill21
from Memphis
" I have owned 3 ATV sprayers to spray beans, milo, etc at my hunting farm on about 12-15 acres for 3 years until I could afford a tractor. I had 2 boom sprayers from Tractor supply, one being a fimco. I would recommend those highly over this one. I bought this one due to the large spray ban and thought it would save me time over the boom. However, a boom is much more controlled and effective than this one and had poor/spotty results with it. *also many of the parts are very cheaply made and I had to "rig it" after 2 uses. I tried everything and cannot get the bracket to stay securely on the atv hitch and it swivels around everywhere, and eventually had to zip tie it tightly on the atv rack. and this is after multiple times of it spraying the chemical on myself which is dangerous. Also with the spray wand when you turn it on, your spray starts leaking highly out of the handle for some reason. I replaced it and still had to zip tie the hose to get it cut off from the wand. And lastly the spray tips are not uniform and very hard to control the drop size after messing hours with it. the drop sizes over 10 ft out were large but ones closer to the nozzle were too fine of particle. The boom sprayers might be a much smaller spray path, but your spraying will be much more effective than this piece of junk. that being said, years ago I did buy a smaller regular boomless NT sprayer and it did fine for the most part. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good except:

,
April 17, 2015
By 7cows
from WA
" This sprayer has been in use for about six years. It has performed satisfactorily. The tank, pump/motor, wiring and switch are all original. The cheap plastic Y fittings cracked and were all replaced the first year.
The wand lasted a couple years and was replaced.
In summary: Good sprayer lousy fittings.
I'd recommend it to a friend with the advice to buy some good metal Y fittings be before assembling it.
I'm about to order another wand.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sprayer

,
April 17, 2015
By Missouri
from Pacific, MO
" I mounted the sprayer on the back of my 4-wheeler and was concerned how the added water weight would affect the ATV stability. With the tank half full, it is not a problem at all. I have not filled it to the top as of yet. I highly recommend this model due the extra pressure this model provides (5 plus gallons per minute) over the others. It sprays extremely well.. provides a large amount of product quickly and easily with great precision. Very easy to use "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Reviewed

,
December 30, 2014
By Mjt6903
from San Mateo,Fl.
" This product works as described. The boomless sprayer gives me the 40 feet as described. I would Recommend this product to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

boom less sprayer

,
October 21, 2014
By gmu141
from aldie, virginia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I have used the sprayer 3 times now, and am very impressed with the boom less sprayer.The boom less sprayer is very handy in the 4acre field I spray. I agree with another reviewer (emorg) that some of the connections are flimsy plastic. I replaced the plastic splitter (which leaked) with a brass valve splitter (see pic). I also had to modify the mount to fit the hitch on my side by side (see pic). I had some square stock and mounted it to that. I also plan to tack weld the mount so it is a permanent 90 degree angle. Overall I am very pleased with the performance. Few more applications should figure out speed/spray rate/coverage. Great product for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

,
September 24, 2014
By Domelid
from Blue Ridge, Ga
" After assembly I used it right away. Filled up and went to work just as advertised. Saved a tremendous amount of time to get the same work done with the previous sprayer I own. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SPRAYER

,
September 12, 2014
By ctmpk
from LOUISIANA
" Just received sprayer, works great, spray pattern is about 35 ft wide plenty of constant pressure from pump. Great Bang for the Buck "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeds expectations

,
August 5, 2014
By Chooknon
from New Mexico
" Delivery was timely and assembly was straight forward. The sprayer was mounted on my ATV and the broadcast sprayer worked very well on an acre of young willows. It was very effective, good coverage. The spray wand met my needs for some spot spraying. Have used it twice and am happy with the purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor functionality

,
August 4, 2014
By emorg
from nashville, tn
" It pains me to have a negative experience with a Northern Tool product as I think they generally sell higher quality items than their competition. Also, given the high number of outstanding ratings this same product has rec'd, I assumed I'd have nothing but years of enjoyment from this sprayer. However, the plastic used in the component parts is low grade and cannot withstand the pressure from the pump. I've experienced multiple situations where during normal operation plastic components are literally breaking apart with the potential to cause injury to the user. As recent as today I called asking for another replacement part which Northern Tool is glad to provide at no charge. Like I told them, I will use the sprayer one last time but if another issue arises, I'm be forced to seek a full refund. My message overall, the plastic components manufactured for this sprayer do not appear to be manufactured to handle the intended functionality. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked like a charm.

,
July 30, 2014
By HappyHunter2
from New Orleans, La
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I needed a sprayer to broadcast roundup on appoximately five acres spread over 9 food plots all of different shapes and sizes. The adjustable boom spray tips made this a simple job from a wide pattern on the 35 yard by 200 yard wide open fields to a 6 foot narrow trail with a simple twist of the tip. The variable spray rate also allowed for more spray on the thicker waste high fields and less spray for the thinner trails. The tank mounted perfectly on my 300 Honda Four Trax and presented no problems. I had to modify the hitch mount for the boom however. And had to stop to tighten the small bolt numerous times. The bolt hole should be drilled to fit a standard 3/4 ball hole and shipped with locking washers to keep it from shifting. Other than than it did a great job and I completed the acres including drive time in a couple hours on three fills. Thanks "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good sprayer

,
July 24, 2014
By H2Y2
from TX
" We used this where our boomed tractor sprayer couldn't get on 500 acres. Extended hoses, rerouted and mounted boom control behind the cab of the Ranger so can control on the fly: works great. Lightly reinforced boomless mount: sufficient.
We live in rural Central TX and it did an excellent job of killing nightshade (Grazon); spot spraying small mesquites (Remedy + Reclaim); and Bahia and stickers (MSMA) in & around the yard.
It is far superior to my Moultrie 10'? boomless sprayer, which really broadcast sprays an excessive amount. The Moultrie was fine until buying this beast of a UTV sprayer.
Bottom line: this is a no-brainer to buy this sprayer if you are maintaining land.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

spot sprayer

,
July 22, 2014
By Dillonmt
from Dillon, MT
" I purchased this item off of reviews and the video that was shown after researching other items too. Upon receiving the item I had to put it together- was simple enough. I was very disappointed when trying to use it. Most all the plastic cheap fittings leaked - a lot- even after tightening- the spaying was very erratic from the pump. I felt the ability to control the pattern was poor. The way the hitch hookup for the spray assembly works is rather cheap. All in all I was not happy and hate to even think about trying to use it again unless I change out all the fittings for better quality fittings. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good sprayer

,
July 19, 2014
By Minorfamilyfarmsllc
from Kingston ohio
" Tank and the rest of the accessories attached to the tank are well built. Pump works well and delivers good pressure. The kit that is attached to you vehicle is worthless. We use an atv and modified it so that it mounted directly to the four wheelers rear rack. Works great now. It will spray a good 30' pattern. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

weed spraying

,
July 18, 2014
By Oneta
from Western Colorado
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I used the sprayer for weed control on private mountain range land. I used it for 6 days, spraying in excess of 650 gallons, I lost count. It was a real time saver since past years a hand held wand was used. Ever try to drive a 4 wheeler with one hand over rough terrain.
The mounting wouldn't work so I made a holder on the rear to mount the spray bracket to. Also the hold down straps may be fine for general light use but I found they could not hold the tank in place in the terrain had to spray. I resorted to using ratchet straps.
I also had to purchase a wye since the new one sent as part of the purchase package wouldn't shut off on one side.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty decent for what it is

,
July 15, 2014
By Wyomingweedsprayer
from Wyoming
" A fairly decent product. Some fittings and hoses need a bit of retrofitting. The broadcast nozzles continue to syphon chemical from the tank even when the pump is turned off. You can turn off the individual nozzles, but are required to dismount your ATV when doing so. I installed a simple ball valve immediately behind the pump, but this still requires turning off the pump and the ball valve. It also does not allow you to run the sprayer independant of the broadcast nozzles without further custom plumbing. Overall a good sprayer, but could be a great sprayer with a few simple upgrades. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost 5 Stars!

,
July 6, 2014
By EMont
from MT
" For my purposes (UTV sprayer for fields and yard), I love this package with three personal exceptions -
1 - the boomless sprayer tips empty the tank fast. I will change to reduce their flow.
2 - same for the wand - too much volume. I changed it and it is much more controllable.
3 - fittings to the boomless tips broke before the second use. I've replaced with brass and am doing fine.
I like the extra size (over the 15 gal. I had) and the HO pump. This is a winner! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sprayer for ATV

,
June 30, 2014
By DaBuggyman
from TX
" I have 10 acres to take care of. Too little for a big spray rig and too small for a back pack. I tried a smaller tow behind a mower rig and it was only good for a large yard. This rig works very well and carries enough to let you cover a good amount. It does go through product fast so you have to move when using the nozzles for spraying. The coverage is aprox 30' for how I had them set to prevent drift. The wand makes spot spraying a breeze. Sure saves your back. The pump puts out about 55 psi and is ample enough to keep up. Best money I have spent in a while! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yard Sprayer

,
June 24, 2014
By DJone
from Houston
" This product is excellant to use for the application of liquid lawn fertilizer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26-Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor pressure switch quality

,
June 9, 2014
By Rtr35058
from Alabama
" Have put three pressure switches on this product and it still surges and finally quits spraying. I should have returned the product. I currently have a jumper wire bypassing the switch to maintain constant pressure. Great pump poor switch quality. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.