Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt

NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt

Item# 2287181
Powered by a high-performance, continuous-duty NorthStar NSQ Series pump, the sturdily constructed NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer breezes through big jobs and spot spraying, with a 40-ft. spray pattern and a handheld spray gun. The high-performance NSQ Series pump combines innovative components and engineering for superior spraying. Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 13 1/2 x 28, Spray Height ft. 22, Flow GPM 5.5, Broadcast Width ft. 35, Pressure PSI 60, Hose in. x ft. 3/8 x 15, Pump Type NorthStar NSQ Series, Spray Gun Type Spot, Tank Size gal. 26, Power Supply 12V DC, Spray Pattern Cone, stream. 12V 5.5 GPM open flow NorthStar NSQ Series on-demand pump provides faster priming and longer life 60 PSI max. 100 continuous duty rating Honeywell MICRO SWITCH for enhanced durability and efficiency Patent-pending DXS-3 valves are made with chemical-resistant Viton for faster priming, better performance and longer life Santoprene diaphragm has superior reliability and chemical resistance Unique pressure switch design slowly cycles the pump for reduced wear on the switch and motor Quick connect ports for easy changes Large 26-gallon proprietary tank design features extra-thick walls made with a special polymer known for its superior chemical and UV resistance Broadcast nozzles spray a wide 40-ft. pattern with no boom arms to break Large droplet size for minimal drift Left/right nozzle control for perimeter spraying Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide Spray gun nozzle adjusts from cone to stream stream shoots up to 35 feet horizontally and 22 feet vertically 15-ft. reinforced poly vinyl chloride hose Clear hose makes monitoring flow easy 6in. dia. tank lid for easy filling Tank-bottom drain for easy emptying Includes remote switch with battery clips and tie-down straps
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
32 of 37(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Review 1 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

retiredfarmowner

,
February 4, 2014
By Martunie
from Nunda,NY
"sprayer unit is as advertised. Works Great for weed control. Nozzle mount is a bit flimsy , with a little reinforcements, it works fine. A thirty foot spray would be more accurate. All in all sprayer is a good investment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent sprayer for small area use

,
February 4, 2014
By drjeckles
from Cheyenne, WY
"I have been regularly using this sprayer for weed control on 6 to 10 acres. I have had to replace one spray head and one tubing connector due to hitting gates or fences, but these were readily available at the local feed store and easy to replace.
The sprayer has bee reliable and easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Atv boomless spray rig

,
February 4, 2014
By Sivartspellbackwards
from Memphis, tn
"Very light easy to maneuver and pump has power behind it that covers large area."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorthStar ATV 26 gal Sprayer

,
October 17, 2013
By ArcticDude1
from Indiana
"Just received the NorthStar ATV Boomless 26 gal 12 volt Sprayer with 5.5 gpm pump. Assembly was easy, the instructions were clear and it works great. Keep in mind that almost every part is plastic so use caution when tightening the parts. Another thing to be aware of is, if you have an ATV with a receiver hitch, the supplied mount will not work. I had to make an adapter. If it wasn't for this I would have given it 5 stars."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great sprayer

,
September 17, 2013
By growlybear
from Northern Illinois
"I purchased this unit to apply chemicals to my 5 acre wooded property. I mounted it to my zero turn mower, so the wide spray pattern and lack of a boom were a big plus for my situation. I first used the unit to spray for mosquitoes... it was easy to use and took a bit longer to mount the unit (had to build a platform) than to actually do the spraying. I also added the agitation kit to help mix the chemicals... a very good investment. I love the whole setup!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

boomless sprayer

,
September 3, 2013
By mudober
from Mt. Vernon,il
"I found it easy to assemble and I had no leaks or broken parts. I like the 5.5 gpm pump you can travel much faster than say a 2.2 gpm pump expect to spray same aera only get done alot faster on fence rows I know this because i have used both. The boomless sprayer will be fun to use come spring i tested it with water only on the road so I could see the pattern and it looks real good. I sprayed the whole tank out with the hand wand and I can still hold my hand on the motor. I thought it would be hot as hec. Get this one for shure you be happy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sprayer

,
July 19, 2013
By 55555
from South Alabama
"Not really commercial grade,but, good enough.
Be sure to remove yellow tape on black tank screw on top. It covers the vent hole."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
June 29, 2013
By Zona4x4
from Phoenix, AZ
"Worked as expected. The wand is a great feature...ride the quad up to the area you need to spray. Couldn't be easier. Easy assembly, no problem with plastic parts. Spray a little WD-40 on the connections which makes sliding the hoses on much easier."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sprayer for different applications

,
May 21, 2013
By DrWhom
from WA
"This is a great sprayer. Easy setup, and it works great! After assembly, I just tightened the clamps a bit, then it was good to go.
I can use this for multiple applications by adjusting the nozzle tilt from 12' or so and all the way out to ~40', as well some finer adjustment via the height setting.
I did replace the straps with ratcheting, but, overall, very satisfied with the performance and price.
Thanks, NT!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good coverage

,
May 11, 2013
By FDretired
from Montana
"Well made. Easy assembly. Was able to cover 2.5 acres at about 10 mph with a full tank. Much faster and better coverage than the boom sprayer that I had used previously."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer

,
April 27, 2013
By tal51
from Mackay, ID
"Sprayer works great, be sure to adjust the flow to the boom, you will be thru a tank faster than you want"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the price

,
April 24, 2013
By Jared27
from Central UT
"This sprayer works quit well for large jobs. I have sprayed 70 acres of hay with this and it worked great. The only problem I have with it is that it goes through a tank of spray in five minutes. After sitting for a year it now needs some help priming it. Overall for the price it is a great deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good but time will tell

,
November 4, 2012
By hilltopdextercattle
from Lufkin, TX
"My husband bought me this sprayer to mount to the 4 wheeler so I could fertilize our pastures. I have used it several times over the last month and so far I am very pleased with it. The pump puts out a nice spray and the nozzles are easily adjusted. You do have to make sure the nozzles are tight or they will move and you end up spraying straight up in the air or down to the ground. I would most definitely recommend this sprayer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good farm sprayer.

,
October 15, 2012
By skeedefal
from canada
"purchased this sprayer and had it shipped. assembly was easy and added the agitation kit. used mostly for spot spraying on a polaris ranger. easy to tie down in the back of the utv. very powerfull pump and the 40 foot spray width is sweet. had the switch fail on the unit after maybe 10 hrs and had a new one shipped. fast, great customer service. this is best unit for the price i could find."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
This review is from: NorthStar ATV Sprayer with Boomless Spray System - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good sprayer for money

,
August 20, 2012
By chadfgnj6543
from il
"This is a good sprayer for the money. It does have a lot of cheap parts though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
This review is from: NorthStar ATV Sprayer with Boomless Spray System - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boom sprayer performs!

,
August 14, 2012
By Gnibs
from Minnesota
"I bought this sprayer as I started planting multiple food plots this year and need to spray before tilling to knock down weeds. The boomles spray heads were fantastic! I was able to cover a wide path (around 30') and control them to cover smaller path when I needed to. I was also able to attach the 'boom' mount to the hitch on my pickup when I didn't have an ATV handy. It actually worked even better this way. Easy to clean and change to use for spraying for spiders on my house, too. I just ran a couple gallons of warm water through it. Pour in the new chemicals and go. A few weeks later I was able to use it to fertilize the food plots, too!
Best price I could find on a 5.5 GPM flow unit.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
This review is from: NorthStar ATV Sprayer with Boomless Spray System - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Unit

,
August 13, 2012
By Cooperator
from Minnesota
"Easy to mount on ATV. The boom-less nozzle mount needs to be a heavier design because the bracket bends and breaks without some type of support not provided with the unit. Coverage is not 40' as advertised, the unit may spray 40', but the coverage/control area is 30'. The pump produces great pressure for spraying. Would be nice to be able to vary the pressure to vary the gallons/acre application rate. Very good instructions/illustration for application rates and speed required to attain application rates. Hand sprayer is a great option to use when needing to "spot spray". Hand sprayer will spray up to 25' when set to "stream". Would not recommend for a homeowner/handyman with little or no experience with herbicide application. Great unit for experienced herbicide application and areas in excess of 1 acre."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
This review is from: NorthStar ATV Sprayer with Boomless Spray System - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
August 13, 2012
By hammer4
from reedsburg wi
"very easy to assemble and use. 5 stars for the money you spend. 4 wheeler hadles it without any problems and holds up to a lot of use. I have sprayed about 75 acres of food plots with it and no problems what so ever."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
This review is from: NorthStar ATV Sprayer with Boomless Spray System - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as advertised

,
May 9, 2012
By spud8587
from North Carolina
"This product does exactly what it says its supposed to do. No complaints, very pleased!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
This review is from: NorthStar ATV Sprayer with Boomless Spray System - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retired Navy part time Rancher

,
May 3, 2012
By 2barm
from Northeat Oklahoma
"I would have given five stars and would have recommended this unit had it not been for a Northstar Rep by the Name of Dan, I was having trouble adjusting the pressure, the owners manual and the instructions for the nozzles shows pressures down to 20 psi, I called Northstar customer service and was connected to Dan who said they had tried to adjust some of the pumps at the factory and they had the same results as me, my pump would never go below 60 psi, Dan also told me i could adjust the pressure by the height of the nozzle and the speed of my unit and closing the nozzles a little ( i believe if anything by closing the nozzles it would increase the psi) I wanted to drop my pressure to 35-40 psi. I was very close to returning the unit, Northern Tool asked me what i wanted to do and i believe they would have taken it back, I have a Kawasaki Mule that i mounted the Broadcast Nozzle bracket to the two inch ball, by shutting the nozzles off a little i can still spray about twenty feet not the forty feet as advertized, I have sprayed about five of twenty eight acres and weeds are dying. If the pump psi could be adjusted down in psi i would have given five stars. This is my only complaint, tank is of excellent quality, pump will empty the tank in a hurry, ease of assembly is excellent, easy to fill,
I started out saying i wouldn't recommend this unit to a friend but other than my experience with one Northstar represenative I will change that to Recommended.
Unit purchased 04122012
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.