Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt

NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt

Item# 2287181
Powered by a high-performance, continuous-duty NorthStar NSQ Series pump, the sturdily constructed NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer breezes through big jobs and spot spraying, with a 40-ft. spray pattern and a handheld spray gun. The high-performance NSQ Series pump combines innovative components and engineering for superior spraying. Flow GPM 5.5, Pressure PSI 60, Broadcast Width ft. 35, Spray Pattern Cone, stream, Tank Size gal. 26, Spray Height ft. 22, Hose in. x ft. 3/8 x 15, Power Supply 12V DC, Pump Type NorthStar NSQ Series, Spray Gun Type Spot, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 13 1/2 x 28. 12V 5.5 GPM open flow NorthStar NSQ Series on-demand pump provides faster priming and longer life 60 PSI max. 100 continuous duty rating Honeywell MICRO SWITCH for enhanced durability and efficiency Patent-pending DXS-3 valves are made with chemical-resistant Viton for faster priming, better performance and longer life Santoprene diaphragm has superior reliability and chemical resistance Unique pressure switch design slowly cycles the pump for reduced wear on the switch and motor Quick connect ports for easy changes Large 26-gallon proprietary tank design features extra-thick walls made with a special polymer known for its superior chemical and UV resistance Broadcast nozzles spray a wide 40-ft. pattern with no boom arms to break Large droplet size for minimal drift Left/right nozzle control for perimeter spraying Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide Spray gun nozzle adjusts from cone to stream stream shoots up to 35 feet horizontally and 22 feet vertically 15-ft. reinforced poly vinyl chloride hose Clear hose makes monitoring flow easy 6in. dia. tank lid for easy filling Tank-bottom drain for easy emptying Includes remote switch with battery clips and tie-down straps
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (51 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
44 of 51(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Review 1 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good sprayer

,
July 24, 2014
By H2Y2
from TX
"We used this where our boomed tractor sprayer couldn't get on 500 acres. Extended hoses, rerouted and mounted boom control behind the cab of the Ranger so can control on the fly: works great. Lightly reinforced boomless mount: sufficient.
We live in rural Central TX and it did an excellent job of killing nightshade (Grazon); spot spraying small mesquites (Remedy + Reclaim); and Bahia and stickers (MSMA) in & around the yard.
It is far superior to my Moultrie 10'? boomless sprayer, which really broadcast sprays an excessive amount. The Moultrie was fine until buying this beast of a UTV sprayer.
Bottom line: this is a no-brainer to buy this sprayer if you are maintaining land.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

spot sprayer

,
July 22, 2014
By Dillonmt
from Dillon, MT
"I purchased this item off of reviews and the video that was shown after researching other items too. Upon receiving the item I had to put it together- was simple enough. I was very disappointed when trying to use it. Most all the plastic cheap fittings leaked - a lot- even after tightening- the spaying was very erratic from the pump. I felt the ability to control the pattern was poor. The way the hitch hookup for the spray assembly works is rather cheap. All in all I was not happy and hate to even think about trying to use it again unless I change out all the fittings for better quality fittings."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good sprayer

,
July 19, 2014
By Minorfamilyfarmsllc
from Kingston ohio
"Tank and the rest of the accessories attached to the tank are well built. Pump works well and delivers good pressure. The kit that is attached to you vehicle is worthless. We use an atv and modified it so that it mounted directly to the four wheelers rear rack. Works great now. It will spray a good 30' pattern."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

weed spraying

,
July 18, 2014
By Oneta
from Western Colorado
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I used the sprayer for weed control on private mountain range land. I used it for 6 days, spraying in excess of 650 gallons, I lost count. It was a real time saver since past years a hand held wand was used. Ever try to drive a 4 wheeler with one hand over rough terrain.
The mounting wouldn't work so I made a holder on the rear to mount the spray bracket to. Also the hold down straps may be fine for general light use but I found they could not hold the tank in place in the terrain had to spray. I resorted to using ratchet straps.
I also had to purchase a wye since the new one sent as part of the purchase package wouldn't shut off on one side.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty decent for what it is

,
July 15, 2014
By Wyomingweedsprayer
from Wyoming
"A fairly decent product. Some fittings and hoses need a bit of retrofitting. The broadcast nozzles continue to syphon chemical from the tank even when the pump is turned off. You can turn off the individual nozzles, but are required to dismount your ATV when doing so. I installed a simple ball valve immediately behind the pump, but this still requires turning off the pump and the ball valve. It also does not allow you to run the sprayer independant of the broadcast nozzles without further custom plumbing. Overall a good sprayer, but could be a great sprayer with a few simple upgrades."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost 5 Stars!

,
July 6, 2014
By EMont
from MT
"For my purposes (UTV sprayer for fields and yard), I love this package with three personal exceptions -
1 - the boomless sprayer tips empty the tank fast. I will change to reduce their flow.
2 - same for the wand - too much volume. I changed it and it is much more controllable.
3 - fittings to the boomless tips broke before the second use. I've replaced with brass and am doing fine.
I like the extra size (over the 15 gal. I had) and the HO pump. This is a winner!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sprayer for ATV

,
June 30, 2014
By DaBuggyman
from TX
"I have 10 acres to take care of. Too little for a big spray rig and too small for a back pack. I tried a smaller tow behind a mower rig and it was only good for a large yard. This rig works very well and carries enough to let you cover a good amount. It does go through product fast so you have to move when using the nozzles for spraying. The coverage is aprox 30' for how I had them set to prevent drift. The wand makes spot spraying a breeze. Sure saves your back. The pump puts out about 55 psi and is ample enough to keep up. Best money I have spent in a while!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yard Sprayer

,
June 24, 2014
By DJone
from Houston
"This product is excellant to use for the application of liquid lawn fertilizer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor pressure switch quality

,
June 9, 2014
By Rtr35058
from Alabama
"Have put three pressure switches on this product and it still surges and finally quits spraying. I should have returned the product. I currently have a jumper wire bypassing the switch to maintain constant pressure. Great pump poor switch quality."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

26 Gal Boomless sprayer

,
May 25, 2014
By Txhobbyrnchr
from South Texas
"This is a good product. It works just as well as I hoped it would."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sprayer

,
May 11, 2014
By KingC
from Kansas
"I only gave it 4 stars because I didn't use the broadcast boom it came with yet. I built a 12 nozzle boom and wanted the high output pump that this sprayer offered. Everything worked great on it. My boom is 18 feet wide and it makes spraying my 5 acres a breeze. I have another 2 acres that I let grow wild that I will use the broadcast boom on. It is a lot taller and the broadcast nozzles should work much better since they are higher off the ground."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sprayer

,
May 1, 2014
By Tannermt
from Douglas GA
"Have only used for about 5 hours (3 tanks) but overall impressed by quality of construction and the pump is powerful. Have not used the boomless attachment but it seems in good order."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best electric sprayer I've used

,
April 28, 2014
By LTPdubs
from Hadley ma
"Just got ahold of mine and got it to work excellent power and flow. No wasted time, good dispersal of product
I would buy again
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

spray rig

,
April 23, 2014
By oldmanjeffers
from CA
"Nice little unit, I got this sprayer for spraying under grape vines, the spray tips included in this kit are for a wide broadcasted spray. It is not a line sprayer. I made my own tips out of 1/4 brass fittings for line spraying. Nice pump, nice amount of wiring, don't trust the Velcro to keep your switch in place. Secure it with a few zip ties or a screw or two. Nice rig would buy another. Thanks for reading and God bless."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

retiredfarmowner

,
February 4, 2014
By Martunie
from Nunda,NY
"sprayer unit is as advertised. Works Great for weed control. Nozzle mount is a bit flimsy , with a little reinforcements, it works fine. A thirty foot spray would be more accurate. All in all sprayer is a good investment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent sprayer for small area use

,
February 4, 2014
By drjeckles
from Cheyenne, WY
"I have been regularly using this sprayer for weed control on 6 to 10 acres. I have had to replace one spray head and one tubing connector due to hitting gates or fences, but these were readily available at the local feed store and easy to replace.
The sprayer has bee reliable and easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Atv boomless spray rig

,
February 4, 2014
By Sivartspellbackwards
from Memphis, tn
"Very light easy to maneuver and pump has power behind it that covers large area."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorthStar ATV 26 gal Sprayer

,
October 17, 2013
By ArcticDude1
from Indiana
"Just received the NorthStar ATV Boomless 26 gal 12 volt Sprayer with 5.5 gpm pump. Assembly was easy, the instructions were clear and it works great. Keep in mind that almost every part is plastic so use caution when tightening the parts. Another thing to be aware of is, if you have an ATV with a receiver hitch, the supplied mount will not work. I had to make an adapter. If it wasn't for this I would have given it 5 stars."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great sprayer

,
September 17, 2013
By growlybear
from Northern Illinois
"I purchased this unit to apply chemicals to my 5 acre wooded property. I mounted it to my zero turn mower, so the wide spray pattern and lack of a boom were a big plus for my situation. I first used the unit to spray for mosquitoes... it was easy to use and took a bit longer to mount the unit (had to build a platform) than to actually do the spraying. I also added the agitation kit to help mix the chemicals... a very good investment. I love the whole setup!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallon, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

boomless sprayer

,
September 3, 2013
By mudober
from Mt. Vernon,il
"I found it easy to assemble and I had no leaks or broken parts. I like the 5.5 gpm pump you can travel much faster than say a 2.2 gpm pump expect to spray same aera only get done alot faster on fence rows I know this because i have used both. The boomless sprayer will be fun to use come spring i tested it with water only on the road so I could see the pattern and it looks real good. I sprayed the whole tank out with the hand wand and I can still hold my hand on the motor. I thought it would be hot as hec. Get this one for shure you be happy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.