Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"

"NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"

Item# 2287181
"Powered by a high-performance, continuous-duty NorthStar NSQ Series pump, the sturdily constructed NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer breezes through big jobs and spot spraying, with a 40-ft. spray pattern and a handheld spray gun. The high-performance NSQ Series pump combines innovative components and engineering for superior spraying. Power Supply 12V DC, Spray Pattern Cone, stream, Flow GPM 5.5, Spray Gun Type Spot, Pump Type NorthStar NSQ Series, Pressure PSI 60, Tank Size gal. 26, Hose in. x ft. 3/8 x 15, Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 13 1/2 x 28, Spray Height ft. 22, Broadcast Width ft. 35. 12V 5.5 GPM open flow NorthStar NSQ Series on-demand pump provides faster priming and longer life 60 PSI max. 100 continuous duty rating Honeywell MICRO SWITCH for enhanced durability and efficiency Patent-pending DXS-3 valves are made with chemical-resistant Viton for faster priming, better performance and longer life Santoprene diaphragm has superior reliability and chemical resistance Unique pressure switch design slowly cycles the pump for reduced wear on the switch and motor Quick connect ports for easy changes Large 26-gallon proprietary tank design features extra-thick walls made with a special polymer known for its superior chemical and UV resistance Broadcast nozzles spray a wide 40-ft. pattern with no boom arms to break Large droplet size for minimal drift Left/right nozzle control for perimeter spraying Approved for use with Roundup agricultural herbicide Spray gun nozzle adjusts from cone to stream stream shoots up to 35 feet horizontally and 22 feet vertically 15-ft. reinforced poly vinyl chloride hose Clear hose makes monitoring flow easy 6in. dia. tank lid for easy filling Tank-bottom drain for easy emptying Includes remote switch with battery clips and tie-down straps"
Average Customer Rating:
4.225 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (71 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
61 of 71(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Review 1 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sprayer

,
September 2, 2015
By
from PA
" Bought this sprayer to prepare 3 acres for a deer food plot. Sprayer worked great as advertised. Really nice not to have to deal with booms. The hand sprayer is a great tool for spot spraying. Only criticism is there was mounting hardware missing which was very inconvenient . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What We Needed

,
August 21, 2015
By
from New Waverly, TX
" We live in the country and have fence line to keep clean. This is a practical sprayer for us. Small enough for us to get on our golf cart (4-wheeler for old folks) and thus get into small areas. Would have liked to have gotten a little larger capacity but that was our fault. Easy to use and broadcast is not too large for our purpose. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sprayer

,
July 27, 2015
By
from Monte Vista, CO
" Sprayer was easy to assemble and does a great job. Be prepared to fill up often because it covers a lot of ground and pumps a lot of water at 5.5 gpm. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

,
July 20, 2015
By
from WV
" It does an excellent job, doing all that was advertised. The spray distance is actually a bit over 30' instead of the 40' advertised. I am very happy with this sprayer. I've used it about a dozen times so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SPRAYER

,
July 15, 2015
By
from Minnesota
" I am very happy with the product just not very happy with the pieces I put together last weekend as I have been busy and the Y fitting has a leak in it. So now will need to repair that before I can use it with to many other things. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

,
June 20, 2015
By
from West Virginia
" I was looking for a broadcast sprayer I could put on the back of my ATV to spray weeks and fertilize. I wanted one that would be easy to convert broadcast when needed. I was skeptical this model would have the 30' spray as advertised, but it does the job and sprays very well. I just got done weeding and feeding 2 acres in less than 45 minutes. The spray gun works well and is great for fence rows for moving while spraying. The unit is quiet and runs well, plus the on/off switch makes it easy to turn the unit on and off during applications. I am very impressed with this sprayer and to date, have had no leaks at any of the fittings. I did use extra pipe tape and took my time to assemble. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sprayer

,
June 12, 2015
By
from Ohio
" I was very impressed with the performance of the sprayer. It covers an area of around 30 ft. and was very easy to mount to my ATV. I have not used it a lot, but its great so far. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

26-gallon boomless sprayer

,
June 11, 2015
By
from Mississippi
" Main use: farm
Pro: qucik assembly with easy-to-follow instructions
Con: 1) clips holding wand are weak - will have to find something else that has a stronger hold
2) cam buckle straps will have a difficult time securing tank during use on uneven ground - these will be replaced with ratcheting tie down straps
3) boomless attachment is comprised of two (2) parts: a horizontal bar and a vertical bar. The horizontal bar is supposed to be secured to the vehicle using a 5/16" bolt. This may work on turf and around buildings but not for farm work. I would have had to drill a 1/2" hole and use the ball hitch to secure to replace the smaller bolt. The vertical bar was too low using the horizontal bar so I attached it to the ATV's rear rack which gives more options on spray height.
Jury is still out on the remote switch. Using tape/Velcro to secure switch to the tank may not be suitable for rough terrain. May have to find an alternative for that also. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sprayer

,
June 6, 2015
By
from Oskaloosa
" Good product but it could use a finer spray ite drops are way too big and it does not cover that well without a second pass "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unit needs pressure regulator

,
June 6, 2015
By
from Georiga
" Very satisfied overall with the product. The wand is sufficient to control PSI, however, a pressure regulator should have been included for the boomless sprayer. The operators manual refers to using PSI's of 20 to 40 for specific applications, but there is no way to adjust the pressure at the pump. Do not understand why a pressure gauge is included if you cannot adjust it at the pump. At this price point the regulator should have been included rather than offered as an accessory. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor sprayer

,
May 21, 2015
By
from Memphis
" I have owned 3 ATV sprayers to spray beans, milo, etc at my hunting farm on about 12-15 acres for 3 years until I could afford a tractor. I had 2 boom sprayers from Tractor supply, one being a fimco. I would recommend those highly over this one. I bought this one due to the large spray ban and thought it would save me time over the boom. However, a boom is much more controlled and effective than this one and had poor/spotty results with it. *also many of the parts are very cheaply made and I had to "rig it" after 2 uses. I tried everything and cannot get the bracket to stay securely on the atv hitch and it swivels around everywhere, and eventually had to zip tie it tightly on the atv rack. and this is after multiple times of it spraying the chemical on myself which is dangerous. Also with the spray wand when you turn it on, your spray starts leaking highly out of the handle for some reason. I replaced it and still had to zip tie the hose to get it cut off from the wand. And lastly the spray tips are not uniform and very hard to control the drop size after messing hours with it. the drop sizes over 10 ft out were large but ones closer to the nozzle were too fine of particle. The boom sprayers might be a much smaller spray path, but your spraying will be much more effective than this piece of junk. that being said, years ago I did buy a smaller regular boomless NT sprayer and it did fine for the most part. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolMay 27, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our products. We apologize that you had a less than positive experience with this sprayer. If you have any questions or need assistance please contact our Product Support Team at 1-800-222-5381.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good except:

,
April 17, 2015
By
from WA
" This sprayer has been in use for about six years. It has performed satisfactorily. The tank, pump/motor, wiring and switch are all original. The cheap plastic Y fittings cracked and were all replaced the first year.
The wand lasted a couple years and was replaced.
In summary: Good sprayer lousy fittings.
I'd recommend it to a friend with the advice to buy some good metal Y fittings be before assembling it.
I'm about to order another wand.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sprayer

,
April 17, 2015
By
from Pacific, MO
" I mounted the sprayer on the back of my 4-wheeler and was concerned how the added water weight would affect the ATV stability. With the tank half full, it is not a problem at all. I have not filled it to the top as of yet. I highly recommend this model due the extra pressure this model provides (5 plus gallons per minute) over the others. It sprays extremely well.. provides a large amount of product quickly and easily with great precision. Very easy to use "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Reviewed

,
December 30, 2014
By
from San Mateo,Fl.
" This product works as described. The boomless sprayer gives me the 40 feet as described. I would Recommend this product to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

boom less sprayer

,
October 21, 2014
By
from aldie, virginia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I have used the sprayer 3 times now, and am very impressed with the boom less sprayer.The boom less sprayer is very handy in the 4acre field I spray. I agree with another reviewer (emorg) that some of the connections are flimsy plastic. I replaced the plastic splitter (which leaked) with a brass valve splitter (see pic). I also had to modify the mount to fit the hitch on my side by side (see pic). I had some square stock and mounted it to that. I also plan to tack weld the mount so it is a permanent 90 degree angle. Overall I am very pleased with the performance. Few more applications should figure out speed/spray rate/coverage. Great product for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

,
September 24, 2014
By
from Blue Ridge, Ga
" After assembly I used it right away. Filled up and went to work just as advertised. Saved a tremendous amount of time to get the same work done with the previous sprayer I own. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SPRAYER

,
September 12, 2014
By
from LOUISIANA
" Just received sprayer, works great, spray pattern is about 35 ft wide plenty of constant pressure from pump. Great Bang for the Buck "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeds expectations

,
August 5, 2014
By
from New Mexico
" Delivery was timely and assembly was straight forward. The sprayer was mounted on my ATV and the broadcast sprayer worked very well on an acre of young willows. It was very effective, good coverage. The spray wand met my needs for some spot spraying. Have used it twice and am happy with the purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor functionality

,
August 4, 2014
By
from nashville, tn
" It pains me to have a negative experience with a Northern Tool product as I think they generally sell higher quality items than their competition. Also, given the high number of outstanding ratings this same product has rec'd, I assumed I'd have nothing but years of enjoyment from this sprayer. However, the plastic used in the component parts is low grade and cannot withstand the pressure from the pump. I've experienced multiple situations where during normal operation plastic components are literally breaking apart with the potential to cause injury to the user. As recent as today I called asking for another replacement part which Northern Tool is glad to provide at no charge. Like I told them, I will use the sprayer one last time but if another issue arises, I'm be forced to seek a full refund. My message overall, the plastic components manufactured for this sprayer do not appear to be manufactured to handle the intended functionality. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "NorthStar ATV Boomless Broadcast and Spot Sprayer - 26 Gallons, 5.5 GPM, 12 Volts"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked like a charm.

,
July 30, 2014
By
from New Orleans, La
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I needed a sprayer to broadcast roundup on appoximately five acres spread over 9 food plots all of different shapes and sizes. The adjustable boom spray tips made this a simple job from a wide pattern on the 35 yard by 200 yard wide open fields to a 6 foot narrow trail with a simple twist of the tip. The variable spray rate also allowed for more spray on the thicker waste high fields and less spray for the thinner trails. The tank mounted perfectly on my 300 Honda Four Trax and presented no problems. I had to modify the hitch mount for the boom however. And had to stop to tighten the small bolt numerous times. The bolt hole should be drilled to fit a standard 3/4 ball hole and shipped with locking washers to keep it from shifting. Other than than it did a great job and I completed the acres including drive time in a couple hours on three fills. Thanks "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.