Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector

Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector

Item# 228801
"Allows your pressure washer to spray detergent at high pressure Fits 3/4in. inlet of pressure washer. On/off feature helps prevent pump cavitation. Easy to install, use and maintain. Maximum 160F detergent and 140 intake PSI. Flow GPM 1 1/2-4, Male Outlet in. 3/4, Max. Degree Detergent F 160, Max. PSI 140, Female Inlet in. 3/4, Fits Inlet in. 3/4."
Average Customer Rating:
3.722 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
15 of 18(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Review 1 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

,
June 11, 2014
By balls4077
from HC,MN
"I liked it so much I bought a second one for my brother!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spray Soap

,
June 2, 2014
By redbeard25
from WV
"Easy to put on and take off, cuts down pressure a little but not to much. If you don't stay with the same thickness soap you will have to re adjust the flow every time you change soap."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect-Better than built in Suction

,
February 4, 2014
By BlackCoffee
from Maryland
"Works great. I was unhappy with the high side suction so I thought I would try this. Easy to install, adjustable metering, and works great. Used it with the 25 foot wand to was the soffits of the house. No problem with suction. Recommend it for all uses."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
June 20, 2013
By Anonymous
from new brunswick canada
"Injector was easy to set up and fully adjustable to set how much soap you want injected. When soap is not desired simply turn knob and water freeflows thru valve. Used it in a simoniz 3200psi @ 2.6 gpm gas pressure washer and pressure loss was hardly noticeable maybe lost 1/15 of available pressure. By far the best investment for any pressure washer you can buy you get high pressure soap same as the local car wash! Thank you northern tool for a fabulous product!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyer Beware!!

,
May 26, 2012
By Steverc59
from USA
"If you are looking for a true high pressure soap injector like I was you will be dissapointed. At best it is a medium presure soap injector under high pressures the detergent asplication is spotty at best. Hopefully I can find a way to make it work and overcome the hose pressure. when it works it works great, however most of the time the only high pressure that truly is gaurenteed is my blood pressure when I use it. For Light duty low presure it is probably ok and somewhat better than the down stream."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average

,
December 30, 2010
By ColdasICE
from Davenport, Florida
"I wanted to apply a dilute solution of a product similar to Simple Green. This product attaches easily to the water supply inlet connection. A simple hex screw adjustment to make it work with your particular pump makes it draw a solution from your bucket or bottle. The screw partially blocks the water coming in to the pump, creating a suction on the draw tube. It does draw a solution but with considerable loss in pressure. I would estimate a 60% loss in pressure with the product engaged. It does spray soapy solution, but not at the pressure I had hoped for."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Had to repair it after 4 years.

,
April 17, 2009
By groucho
from Hinckley IL
"I bought this detergent injector many years ago and it wasn't until recently I had a problem with the plunger mechanism. It had sat in my basement for almost 4 years since I had used it and when I tried to get the thing to work it acted so stiff I had use pliers to turn it and get it to seat flush with the housing. I also noticed that there was a "Patent Pending" sticker on it . That was cause for alarm. Anyhow, I managed to get the thing apart with the aid of a moto-tool. I simply ground down the lower lip of adjusting screw and removed the entire part and applied lithium grease at the base after cleaning out the opening on top. The lower lip in my estimation shold have been machined at the factory as the way it''s purchased does not allow for removal of the shaft stem. Anyway,I fixed it and I'm back to pressure washing my fence!! When I look back on it, I do believe this product is a bit overpriced, It doesn't take a lot of work to build one and I wouldn't spend $$ to replace it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Upstream Detergent Injector

,
November 18, 2008
By jgerner
from Myrtle Beach, SC
"I bought this injector several months ago for use around the house on a 1500 PSI 5hp gas powered injector that uses 2-3 gpm. The injector is very easy to install and use. It can be a little finicky to get adjusted for proper flow, but once it is tuned in it seems to perform well for the day. Overall I am very satisfied and it is well worth the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but can be improved

,
November 17, 2008
By DesignEngineer
from Pinedale Wyoming
"This injector is a great product. I have used it on vehicles and buildings with multiple products from degreasers to detergents. For washing cars to trucks it applies the right amount of foam and product where needed. It does however limit the pressure and volume due to a pressure drop at the venturi (small hole where the water goes through creating a vaccum to draw the product into the pressure stream) and the small constriction. This reduced water volume labors the pressure pump and some cavitation of the pump may be occuring. A lever handle should be installed on the on/off position of the plug valve to provided ease of on/off. An adjustable bypass around the venturi should be provided to provide the requsite volume to the pump while still providing the right amount of product in the pressure stream to prevent pump cavitation."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Suttner Upstrem Injector

,
August 11, 2008
By TimV5
from Richmond, Virginia
"I purchased this injector hoping it would solve my problem of getting detergents and chemicals onto my jobs. After a little adjustment, it works great !!! Now I can spray my soaps, cleaners and other chemicals directly onto my work sites and not have to switch tips, climb down the ladder, or use another type of sprayer. I have already reccomended this piece of equipment to others.
Try it yourself. You will really like the convienence it offers
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

bakwards injection

,
August 1, 2008
By Greek
from laurel,mt
"Some time ago i purchased a upstream detergent injector item #228802-1806 I made sure i was only putting out 5 to 6 gpm in water. It worked great for a while, but now it is reversing and putting water back into my soap bucket. I took the injector apart, but i cannot find anything wrong with it. Do you have any suggestions as to why this is happening?"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

injector

,
June 19, 2008
By wootz
from holbrook,az
"this injector works ok but i will be ordering the dial one in the near future i like the ease of adjustment"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Washer Injector

,
April 14, 2008
By philpapaw
from Providence, Ky.
"The injector itself was easy to install. I really liked how it pulls just the right amount of soap through it to get my truck clean. I also like the thought of being able to turn it up when my truck is very dirty. Where I work, I have to go through an extensive amount of mud and grime and my pressure washer alone just wasn't enough to get it off. Especially, if I had to let it sit for a few days before I could get to it. Now that I have the injector to go along with it, I have no problem getting the grime off. Thanks again for the great product. It was a great investment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pressure washer detergent injector

,
January 14, 2008
By bigtonyndeb
from east haven , ct
"I love my injector. I had no doubts that Id love it because I use the pressure washer I got from northern all the time. With the injector I can wash my house, boat, garage, driveway and gazebo. Its better touse the injector rather than feed the draw tube in with a low pressure tip and the solution. For only 30 dollars more I can use the high pressure tip for the ultimate clean."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Item failed to function as advertised.

,
October 8, 2007
By Snickers
from Arizona
"I have tried multiple times to get the injector to work while on the pressure washer. It will only work on an unrestricted flow from the garden hose alone (At about an 8GPM rate. Anyone else have the same problem?"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Upstrean injector works pretty good

,
July 12, 2007
By 1handybob
from New Orleans
"Only item not listed with the instructions is that in order for it to work, the water pressure needed to be turned down so that a suction formed to pull the chemicals in."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pressure Washer high-pressure Injector

,
July 9, 2007
By Gelco
from Summerville, SC
"The product is easy to attach. The other pickup hose does not have to be blocked off. I can spray detergent at high pressure through my telescopic pole and reach about 35-40 feet up. The only recommendation would be an easier to turn on/off knob. Sometimes it is hard to turn when you have wet hands, Other than that, it is something I wish I had many years ago.
Don"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Suttner Upstream Pressure Washer Detergent Injector
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Well.

,
March 7, 2007
By maximus
from Nebraska
"We've used it once so far and it worked as advertised."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.