Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"

"Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"

Item# 228869
"The Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak is a convenient, easy way to carry enough fluid to handle larger jobs. Its high-performance, rechargeable battery-powered pump sprays for 10 continuous hours on a single charge. The long spray wand has a curved tip for greater accuracy. Chemical-resistant shoulder straps with adjustable pads make it more comfortable to carry. The large tank opening for easy filling has a built-in filter for keeping dirt and debris out of tank to reduce clogging. Viton seals and gaskets allow you to spray a wide variety of chemicals. Pressure PSI 60, Spray Height ft. 25-30, Seal Type Viton, Broadcast Width ft. 4-5, Hose Length in. 76, Pump Type 12V, Wand Length in. 20, Spray Pattern Cone, double cone, fan, shower, Flow oz./min. 25, Dimensions L x W x H in. 15 x 7 x 20 1/2, Battery Charging Time hrs. 9, Tank Size gal. 4. Large comfortable locking thumb-operated poly control valve 20in.L poly spray wand Bonus nozzle system includes 4 different nozzles Lead-acid battery sprays for over 10 hours on a single charge UL listed charger shuts off automatically to protect battery Extra-large fill opening prevents spills Wide-mouth screen filter PVC braided power washer-style hose stands up to harsh chemicals and resists kinking and clogging Filler filter Viton seals AC adapter recharges battery in 9 hours"
Average Customer Rating:
4.095 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (147 reviews)
5 stars
76
4 stars
38
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
11
124 of 147(84%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Review 1 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

rugged and reliable

,
May 23, 2015
By melonman
from South Texas
" Purchased to do away with pump sprayer. Used to spot spray on commercial turf farm. Carry sprayer on front rack of 4-wheeler. It goes where I go. Hose could be of higher quality. Thumbs up product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hudson Never Pump Bak-Pak

,
May 18, 2015
By Jim1965
from Mount Carroll, Il
" The Never Pump Bak-Pak directions were simple to follow. I used it as soon as I had the battery pak charged up. It lived up to my expectations. I would recommend it to anyone. I'll never have to pump spray again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer

,
May 8, 2015
By Jimmy48
from chesapeake,va
" Charged up pump over night,as instructed filled with grass killer and started spraying. Pump worked Very Well. The down side of using pump is that when full it is very heavy. Recommend some type of hand truck or rolling device to pull around yard. I used my golf cart to transport unit. Outside of the weight, I would recommend it to anybody. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

out of the dark ages

,
April 30, 2015
By 13854
from Washington
" Best purchase I've made in years. I have used it for over 50 gallons of spraying on one charge and it is still charged ready to go! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery Back Pak Sprayer

,
April 30, 2015
By Grubber
from Plain City, Ohio
" Easy to fill with wide opening. A little heavy when full, but you can always mix smaller amounts if 50+ lbs is too much for you. Can run this about 8 full hours without any power / pump pressure reduction before recharge. Pump seems to develop too much pressure, as I've blown a hole in the hose twice in two years, and I have not had any luck finding a reinforced hose with the correct ID to replace the factory hose. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sprayer but...

,
April 22, 2015
By dougystyle
from Los Angeles, CA
" As others have mentioned, this is a great functioning sprayer and as many have also mentioned, the ergonomics leave a little to be desired.
To help alleviate this problem I purchased a trusty used military surplus A.L.I.C.E. pack frame, added the shelf and strapped on the sprayer. Although not any lighter it is much more comfortable and easier to put on and carry. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great sprayer with minor problems

,
February 10, 2015
By Wzawza
from Redlands, California
" An outstanding sprayer, really puts out the spray. Well made and battery life is excellent. What normally took me a day to spray with my old Solo hand pumper was done in a few hours with this Hudson. I would recommend this to anyone. Just be aware of two, what I call, minor problems. First, it is heavy when loaded to the max. Second, the shoulder strap fasteners at the bottom of the tank are a very poor design and I am certain I will be re-engineering them in the new future, bottom line, there going to break. Other than those two issues, I would have given it five stars! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallo

,
January 23, 2015
By FOPR
from San Marcos, TX
" I operate a boarding kennel so two sprayers are used every day. I have purchased at least six of these sprayers over the past several years.
GOOD: 1. It is available and easy to get. 2. Beats the heck out of a hand pumped unit (time vs. money). 3. Generally lasts a fairly long time. 4. Easy to fill. BAD: 1. Two I've bought leaked right out of the box (they asked me not to discuss "Altering of product" but I got around this issue). 2. One pump leaked internally after a short while. No way around this one. 3. Two batteries swelled and cracked over a medium length of time (all sprayers have been treated the same). 4. Voltage regulators go out before the rest of the unit dies (again, can get around this issue but a real pain) 5. "Guts" (electrical switches, battery and pump) located under the tank. This is a bad idea for obvious reasons. Also, I have the sprayers attached to a small hand cart (they are heavy) so the switch is hard to get to. Overall this would be a very good product if they used a little better quality control with the design they have or if they altered the design with the "guts" on the side and switch on side or top. I would love to see someone come out with an easily detachable standard rechargeable battery (like the one used on a drill) with a separate charger so one could swap out the batteries and have access to replacement batteries.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Excellent product within its limitations

,
November 21, 2014
By CoventryPestControl
from Rhode Island
" I am a professional pest controller so this unit gets a LOT of work. It eliminates the need for continuous pumping, which for me was eight hours a day. Its drawbacks are the plastic parts, too stiff hose, and extremely heavy battery, Professionals would also be better off with a valve that locks OFF as well as on so that it cannot be accidentally sprayed in transit. (Who remembers to turn off the switch?) And the switch SHOULD be located so that it can be operated while the backpack is on the user's back.
All that said, it works flawlessly and I had to charge it only once per week all season, so it gives much longer service per charge than advertised. It is very comfortable to wear except for the weight. A LiON battery would solve that issue.
I swapped out the plastic one-pattern-only nozzle for a brass select-a-spray type. That is a huge improvement. No switching heads every five minutes. I also put duct tape over the hip ends of the shoulder straps as they come off the tank too easily,
All these may seem like I dislike the product, and that is emphatically NOT true. I think it is designed incredibly well for the homeowner but needs some tweaking for the professional market. Nevertheless, all said and done, it is a fantastic time and effort saver. I would absolutely buy another and I DO recommend the product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

PUmp sprayer

,
September 3, 2014
By toolmen1
from Green bay,wi
" a little to heavy to put on your back, and the shoulder straps are not very user friendly as far as how they attach to the sprayer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but heavy

,
August 17, 2014
By Sprayerbob1
from Oregon
" I liked the sprayer and it does work well but it is heavy to carry.
It weights about as much empty as a gallon or two of liquid would weigh.
Having said that I do like it because I do not have to keep pumping it.
Yes I would buy it again.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor machine

,
August 17, 2014
By dn1937
from opelika,al
" I have only used twice and now it works is spurts will not throw a continuous out put have to keep letting up and getting a short spurt and quits motor runs nothing comes out except a very very small stream and goes less than 18 inches "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

OWNER/OPERATOR

,
August 17, 2014
By EEDOGG1
from CLEVE
" WORKS WELL HOWEVER, EVEN EMPTY IT IS HEAVIER THAN I HAD ANTICIPATED AND I DO NOT LIKE THE STRAPS ARE ATTACHED, THEY SOMETIMES COME DISCONNECTED WHICH MAKES IT SOMEWHAT DIFFICULT TO RE-ATTACH. BATTERY LIFE IS VERY GOOD, MULTIPLE SPRAYING HEADS ARE ALSO A PLUS. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hudson Bak Pac Power Sprayer

,
August 16, 2014
By OLDTIREGUY
from FAYETTEVILLE,GA
" Product was as I thought and great quality. Took little time to charge and was ready to go. Would recommend to anyone that has a need for a back pack sprayer. Made my job easier and I didn't get tired "pumping" like my old one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sprayer

,
August 15, 2014
By Superdutydave1
from Baker City, Or.
" I think this is the best sprayer I have ever had. The only ONE thing I don't like is the weight. But I don't have a solution so I am happy to live with it. I used it for almost 5hrs straight only stopping to mix more spray. Finished the job with perfect results. It is a great overall sprayer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hudson NON Pump Sprayer

,
August 15, 2014
By Rich339
from Media Pa
" Well, after trying quite a few hand pumps over the years, I thought I would try this one.
Although quite pricy compared to the others, it does the job very efficiently. Once you have it charged and filled you can go quite a distance. I used it for several hours and next I knew I was in the next town LOL.
It is heavy with the weight of the battery and the fluid contained but with the strap system it hangs just right
and you just press the button and you are off.
It might be a challenge for a petite woman to carry around so maybe less fluid in the tank may be a good idea. Like all your equipment keep it charged. Oh, and please remember to read the instruction, several times.
You don't need a "bigger boat' with this baby.
regards from Dr Tax
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

,
July 31, 2014
By Katie504
from Marrero, la
" This backpack sprayer works awesome! It gets the job done and very convenient with the rechargeable battery. Never have to pump a sprayer again! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Leaks at base

,
July 31, 2014
By j2349
from Texas
" This seems to be a great sprayer, but the screws attaching the bottom are too long and can break into the tank. The leak is slow, but even a tiny amount of Round-up or chemical in the bottom compartment will cause the electrical components to corrode over time. All the units I bought, and all that the store had in stock had the same problem. Look inside the tank where the screws are and look for cracks. I have returned mine and will wait until they have corrected this issue. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaks Around the Base

,
July 24, 2014
By arg1980
from Idaho
" Lasted a little over a year. If you read other reviews, you'll find this is common. If you want to buy a new one every spring, then get this one. Otherwise, spend your money on a Shindaiwa or similar pump model that will last for years. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
July 20, 2014
By rd10
from Colorado Springs, CO
" Worked wonderful. Charged up in less then 10 hours. Only problem was that the bottom of unit leaked. Sent it back for a replacement. Awaiting arrival of new unit. Am sure that it will fulfill all my needs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.