Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"

"Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"

Item# 228869
"The Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak is a convenient, easy way to carry enough fluid to handle larger jobs. Its high-performance, rechargeable battery-powered pump sprays for 10 continuous hours on a single charge. The long spray wand has a curved tip for greater accuracy. Chemical-resistant shoulder straps with adjustable pads make it more comfortable to carry. The large tank opening for easy filling has a built-in filter for keeping dirt and debris out of tank to reduce clogging. Viton seals and gaskets allow you to spray a wide variety of chemicals. Battery Charging Time hrs. 9, Flow oz./min. 25, Hose Length in. 72, Pressure PSI 60, Pump Type 12V, Broadcast Width ft. 4-5, Dimensions L x W x H in. 15 x 7 x 20 1/2, Spray Pattern Cone, double cone, fan, shower, Sprayer Type Backpack, Tank Size gal. 4, Wand Length in. 20, Seal Type Viton, Spray Height ft. 25-30. Large comfortable locking thumb-operated poly control valve 20in.L poly spray wand Bonus nozzle system includes 4 different nozzles Lead-acid battery sprays for over 10 hours on a single charge UL listed charger shuts off automatically to protect battery Extra-large fill opening prevents spills Wide-mouth screen filter PVC braided power washer-style hose stands up to harsh chemicals and resists kinking and clogging Filler filter Viton seals AC adapter recharges battery in 9 hours"
Average Customer Rating:
4.101 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (138 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
34
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
11
115 of 138(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Review 1 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

PUmp sprayer

,
September 3, 2014
By toolmen1
from Green bay,wi
"a little to heavy to put on your back, and the shoulder straps are not very user friendly as far as how they attach to the sprayer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but heavy

,
August 17, 2014
By Sprayerbob1
from Oregon
"I liked the sprayer and it does work well but it is heavy to carry.
It weights about as much empty as a gallon or two of liquid would weigh.
Having said that I do like it because I do not have to keep pumping it.
Yes I would buy it again.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor machine

,
August 17, 2014
By dn1937
from opelika,al
"I have only used twice and now it works is spurts will not throw a continuous out put have to keep letting up and getting a short spurt and quits motor runs nothing comes out except a very very small stream and goes less than 18 inches"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

OWNER/OPERATOR

,
August 17, 2014
By EEDOGG1
from CLEVE
"WORKS WELL HOWEVER, EVEN EMPTY IT IS HEAVIER THAN I HAD ANTICIPATED AND I DO NOT LIKE THE STRAPS ARE ATTACHED, THEY SOMETIMES COME DISCONNECTED WHICH MAKES IT SOMEWHAT DIFFICULT TO RE-ATTACH. BATTERY LIFE IS VERY GOOD, MULTIPLE SPRAYING HEADS ARE ALSO A PLUS."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hudson Bak Pac Power Sprayer

,
August 16, 2014
By OLDTIREGUY
from FAYETTEVILLE,GA
"Product was as I thought and great quality. Took little time to charge and was ready to go. Would recommend to anyone that has a need for a back pack sprayer. Made my job easier and I didn't get tired "pumping" like my old one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sprayer

,
August 15, 2014
By Superdutydave1
from Baker City, Or.
"I think this is the best sprayer I have ever had. The only ONE thing I don't like is the weight. But I don't have a solution so I am happy to live with it. I used it for almost 5hrs straight only stopping to mix more spray. Finished the job with perfect results. It is a great overall sprayer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hudson NON Pump Sprayer

,
August 15, 2014
By Rich339
from Media Pa
"Well, after trying quite a few hand pumps over the years, I thought I would try this one.
Although quite pricy compared to the others, it does the job very efficiently. Once you have it charged and filled you can go quite a distance. I used it for several hours and next I knew I was in the next town LOL.
It is heavy with the weight of the battery and the fluid contained but with the strap system it hangs just right
and you just press the button and you are off.
It might be a challenge for a petite woman to carry around so maybe less fluid in the tank may be a good idea. Like all your equipment keep it charged. Oh, and please remember to read the instruction, several times.
You don't need a "bigger boat' with this baby.
regards from Dr Tax
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

,
July 31, 2014
By Katie504
from Marrero, la
"This backpack sprayer works awesome! It gets the job done and very convenient with the rechargeable battery. Never have to pump a sprayer again!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Leaks at base

,
July 31, 2014
By j2349
from Texas
"This seems to be a great sprayer, but the screws attaching the bottom are too long and can break into the tank. The leak is slow, but even a tiny amount of Round-up or chemical in the bottom compartment will cause the electrical components to corrode over time. All the units I bought, and all that the store had in stock had the same problem. Look inside the tank where the screws are and look for cracks. I have returned mine and will wait until they have corrected this issue."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaks Around the Base

,
July 24, 2014
By arg1980
from Idaho
"Lasted a little over a year. If you read other reviews, you'll find this is common. If you want to buy a new one every spring, then get this one. Otherwise, spend your money on a Shindaiwa or similar pump model that will last for years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
July 20, 2014
By rd10
from Colorado Springs, CO
"Worked wonderful. Charged up in less then 10 hours. Only problem was that the bottom of unit leaked. Sent it back for a replacement. Awaiting arrival of new unit. Am sure that it will fulfill all my needs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!!

,
July 16, 2014
By Pollyg
from Georgia
"Love this sprayer! Wish I had found it years ago and saved on the many "not so hot" sprayers I wasted money on! It's a little heavy for me (I'm 82 years old) so I put it on a small luggage carrier and it works like a charm. It solved all of my insect problems.....so easy to use. The charge holds as advertised as do the other features."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sprayer

,
July 10, 2014
By Pilkington
from (Anna, Ohio)
"We use this sprayer in a commercial field where it is used every day. The battery is long lasting, and great constant pressure. The only issue that we have had is due to the chemicals we use, the wand only last 2 weeks , then we replace it. We have used several other sprayers & I would recommend this sprayer"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Title is good matches item

,
July 2, 2014
By Glickicon
from washington
"Product is easy peasy to use.
It made spraying my yard quick and easy no mess. It was nice to not have to pump.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Model 13854 Sprayer

,
June 15, 2014
By Hardone
from AuGres, Mich
"This is a very good sprayer. This is the second one I have bought. The first one I have changed the battery and it still works great. They can be heavy at times."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK, when it works

,
June 13, 2014
By J296
from California
"great product when it works. only lasts about 3-4 months. This is my 5th one. When it works, it is great. It breaks down a lot. just be sure to get the warranty and they will change it out for you. Takes about 6 weeks to get a replacement, because product is always on "backorder"."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Far So Good

,
May 31, 2014
By GranpaJ
from Jackson, MI
"I have used this product to spray vegetation killer on my trails in the woods in order to make my fall clearing of trails easier. I have only had the product for a month or so and have sprayed approximately 10 gallons from it so far. I charged the sprayer the first night after I got it and then used it. I have probably sprayed for several hours and have not had to recharge. It has worked fine so far. I have found no defects in the product as several other people have complained. No leaks and the switch has worked fine so far. I am concerned about the ability of the battery to maintain a charge after a year or so. The directions say to keep it charged every 3 months or so. I will try to do that. Several complained that it is too heavy. Well, it is quite heavy when filled with solution. I am 72 yr old male and I was able to handle it fine but can understand how an older women might have a problem. I am giving it only 4 stars because I don't yet know how well it will work in the years to come."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for big jobs

,
May 31, 2014
By RPMIL
from Milwaukee
"The product is quite good for large jobs such as spraying a lawn. Used 12 gallons of solution effortlessly - somewhat heavy when the sprayer is filled but beats the constant pumping that goes with conventional sprayers"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Glad I Purchased

,
May 29, 2014
By bohog9
from Green Mountains, Vermont
"This is a wonderful sprayer. Can spray so much more and concentrate on where I'm spraying instead of pumping, pumping, pumping. Wish I'd had one of these years ago. Makes doing the job pleasurable instead of drudgery. Not difficult to master the simple steps; it's all in the clear instructions. Thank you for offering this item."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Hudson NeverPump Bak-Pak DC Pump Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 60 PSI, Model# 13854"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Should have purchased long ago

,
May 29, 2014
By Jdan
from Southern California
"This sprayer is fantastic. Heavy but that should be expected. Only issue I have are the spray nozzles. I would like to see a nozzle that has a spray pattern that is suitable for spot spraying of weed in and around existing planter beds. I would like to see a nozzle that sprays a stream 25' for use on eves for wasp nests. Other than these two complaints, I would highly recommend this product. It not only saves tremendous time, it does a though job"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.