Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Powerhouse Portable Inverter Generator - 3100 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Remote Start, Model# PH3100Ri

Powerhouse Portable Inverter Generator - 3100 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Remote Start, Model# PH3100Ri

Item# 23031
This Powerhouse Portable 3100 Watt Inverter Generator is powerful enough to run a 13,500 BTU RV air conditioner. Stable, pure sine wave AC output safely powers even the most sensitive electronic equipment. Rated Watts 3,000, HP 6.8, Engine Single-cylinder, 4-stroke OCV, air-cooled, Receptacles qty. 1 120V, 20A 5-20R duplex, 1 120V, 30A L5-30R, Fuel Capacity gal. 4 3/8, Noise Level dB 56/65, Fuel Type Gasoline, Start Type Electric, recoil, Surge Watts 3,100, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Engine Displacement cc 270, Dimensions L x W x H in. 23 5/8 x 17 3/4 x 20 1/2, Parallel Ready No, Run Time 17 4/5 hrs. @ 1/4 load. Produces 120v 60Hz current at various engine speeds to save fuel and meet power demands Fuel economy switch extends run time Engine reset buttons eliminates need to restart engine if unit overloads Low oil shutdown protects the engine High-efficiency combustion system produces exceptionally low emissions Remote electric start Emergency stop control Padded pull handle and swivel wheels Hour meter Fuel gauge Automatic choke Certifications EPA, CARB, CSA and ISO 9001 Accessory kit includes oil jug, 12V charge cable, spare spark plug, spark plug wrench and handle, manual, keys and remote, oil drain extension, spare 10A glass tube fuse
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Powerhouse Portable Inverter Generator - 3100 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Remote Start, Model# PH3100Ri
Review 1 for Powerhouse Portable Inverter Generator - 3100 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Remote Start, Model# PH3100Ri
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
April 10, 2014
By Retired65
from New Mexico
"Bought for travel trailer. Bought because of features. Heavier than I thought. Takes two to lift onto rack or into back of truck. Remote start is nice. Hours meter is nice feature. Not as quiet as a Honda but quieter than a regular generator. Used at high altitude campgrounds with no problem. At 150 hours, it started making a high pitched whinning sound and started running roughly. I'm thinking a bearing is going out. No idle air screw to adjust and carb. is next to impossible to get to. Case is very difficult to get off to service. Took to Northern Tool for service. Awaiting warranty work or replacement."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powerhouse Portable Inverter Generator - 3100 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Remote Start, Model# PH3100Ri
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

One Way Convenient Generator

,
September 17, 2013
By StealthVanDweller
from Duluth MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is one well engineered generator designed especially well for use with RV's. You can't beat the convenience of the remote start. Two clicks of the button and this beauty is purring away. Ready for bed and another click shuts her down without going out in the rain. It runs a 13K air conditioner but that's about the max load it will handle. I was able to overload it which requires pushing the reset button. Noise level could be better under full load but I'll trade that off for the remote control any day. Compared to the price of a Honda this generator is the better deal. Plus it comes from the factory with the remote start. It's an add on feature with the Honda. I haven't had my generator very long, but if it continues as it is, I'm a very happy camper!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powerhouse Portable Inverter Generator - 3100 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Remote Start, Model# PH3100Ri
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Value and Product

,
September 17, 2013
By omagicfan
from FL
"This was a fantastic buy. Far less costly than the Honda, very quiet, runs my RV, A/C and everything. Of course you have to turn off the A/C to use a hair dryer, or both the Coffee maker and Microwave, but will run the A/C and Fridge and Coffee Maker at the same time. Remote Electric Start is fantastic, HUGE fuel tank and run time. Can only hear it if the A/C and TV are both off. I am going to buy one of the small ones as well for our Festival tent!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powerhouse Portable Inverter Generator - 3100 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Remote Start, Model# PH3100Ri
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Handy but VERY hard starting

,
April 23, 2013
By PastorPaul
from North Carolina
"I've had this generator for a few seasons now and have used it in a variety of settings. It works well and serves my needs. It is relatively quiet, but not as quiet as I would prefer. My only major complaint is how hard it is to get started. It takes WAY TOO MANY attempts to get this running. I "exercise" it at least once a month if I'm not using it for anything and have cared for it properly so this hard starting does not make sense. It can sometimes take 10-12 crank attempts before it will remain running. Once it starts it runs like a champ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
13out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powerhouse Portable Inverter Generator - 3100 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Remote Start, Model# PH3100Ri
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhouse Portable Inverter-great little machine

,
October 19, 2012
By odessachuck
from Odessa, TX
"I have mine mounted on a rack on the back of my travel trailer. I bought the 30 amp pigtail adapter to plug my cord into the generator. This little unit is great when traveling and dry camping. I use it to run my air conditioner/heater and my microwave when needed. It is quieter than my old generator. The remote is wonderful for starting or shutting down the unit, especially during the night. When ready to shut off the generator, no need to go outside, I just shut off the air conditioner/heater, and then with the remote, I shut the generator off from inside my RV. Love mine and you can't go wrong buying this unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+35points
38out of 41found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powerhouse Portable Inverter Generator - 3100 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Remote Start, Model# PH3100Ri
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhouse

,
October 15, 2012
By NDEFD
from Notre Dame, In
"Very quiet, compact, nice handle, wheels are a bit small, but overall a nice machine. Don't loose the spark plug tool, a regular socket doesn't fit in the confined space easily."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
22out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powerhouse Portable Inverter Generator - 3100 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Remote Start, Model# PH3100Ri
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhouse Portable Inverter Generator PH3100 Ri

,
July 5, 2012
By jim1304
from Sioux Falls SD
"We use this generator for dry camping when we can't get a electric hookup. It powers everything in our travel trailer even our 13500 BTU air conditoner. Its a little noiser than a honda, but not bad. And its well worth the price different!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+26points
33out of 40found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powerhouse Portable Inverter Generator - 3100 Surge Watts, 3000 Rated Watts, Remote Start, Model# PH3100Ri
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

have power

,
October 11, 2011
By elhunter1947
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
"Great item, out in the woods. Power to spare, even when its cold. Fun to watch your DVD , make popcorn."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-77points
38out of 153found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
1Murdy
Medford,WI 
 
Please wait while more information about 1Murdy is loaded.
Additional information about 1Murdy could not be loaded.
RV usage
July 3, 2012
"Works great, will power AC plus other other big wattage users at the same time. Reasonably quiet. The remote start & shutoff is a nice feature. Engine starts in one turn when cold,but a little harder starting when hot."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
roadster
saskatchewan canada 
 
Please wait while more information about roadster is loaded.
Additional information about roadster could not be loaded.
3000 watt generator
March 1, 2012
"I am excited about getting my new 3000 watt powerhouse generator. Anybody who wants tech support should go right to powerhouse products home page. Telemarketers are there to assist in selling the product. Not give tech advise."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)