Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity

Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity

Item# 23110
"This Roughneck 4-ton come-along double gear hand cable puller delivers up to 8000 lbs. of pulling power. Features cast aluminum twin drive ratchet wheels to deliver the power you need to handle those tough jobs. Cable Length ft. 12, Single Line Load Capacity tons 4, Load Capacity tons 4, Cable Diameter in. 5/16. Heavy-duty zinc plated steel construction 3 drop-forged steel safety hooks with latches 12ft.L x 6mm dia. aircraft quality cable High tensile swivel and yoke add additional strength and security"
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Review 1 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great little come along

,
March 5, 2015
By notoohandy
from Cornwall, NY
" This little tool is great for pulling cars out of drainage ditches along our snow-filled country road. A great thing to have around. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Heavy Duty-Light Duty

,
February 5, 2015
By farmer111
from South Eastern PA
" The cast aluminum is cast aluminum. This is not a heavy duty tool. The cable is also medium low quality. It is low cost, so it makes sense. If you are looking for something that is going to hold up for 50 years, get something else. I broke it in under an hour. The cast aluminum is the problem. But northern replaced it, and always has good customer service. Im it sure it will break again. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

calong

,
January 8, 2015
By geecee
from nh
" Easy to use and product was as described. Cable needs to be kept tightly wrapped on spool to keep it from binding. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and effective

,
January 5, 2015
By jbru
from Michigan
" Owned for a few weeks now, only used for light duty so far (moving some lumber) and it works as expected. I store this in my truck for emergencies, so it may get heavier use at some point. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Instead of a heavy winch mounted to vehicle.

,
December 11, 2014
By ZebcoKid
from Northern California
" Lots of winches mounted on vehicles go unused (perhaps more for looks than anything practical). I keep this Come Along in my cab in a bag along with a tow strap. Although it's not as effective and convenient as a winch mounted on the front of my truck, for a once in a long, long while, it's an affordable and practical choice. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works

,
September 11, 2014
By Rickker
from E. Texas
" Quality built, simply, effective technology, just what I needed to pull-out a bent bumper. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck 4 ton cable puller

,
August 12, 2014
By Sinolav
from Maine
" After purchasing a cable puller from an automotive store, I was skeptical about the quality of the Roughneck 4 ton cable puller. Besides using the puller to pull engines, I also use it to help dropping large trees.
The one I bought at the auto store failed miserably on the first use. It is made from plates riveted together, and the reel stop is a flimsy metal tab, which folded under with hardly any pull weight on it.
I decided to take a chance on the roughneck, and am very happy. It easily pulled the tree which was hung up off the other tree. This is the same tree the automotive puller broke trying to pull the maple tree sideways.
I am very happy with this unit, and I especially the cast construction of the reel and stops. The large diameter cable is also an added bonus.
Don’t waste your money on cheaper pullers, give this one a try first.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Come-Along

,
May 1, 2014
By Gearpuller
from Mass
" This product worked as expected in pulling a 1.5 ton 1903 castiron letterpress from a basement up a set of stairs. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pull capability

,
April 19, 2014
By crikey
from north bend
" used the come a long for taking down two fir tees. used to keep tension away from house - it did the job and helped to keep stress off the winch & ATV "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pulling power.

,
February 4, 2014
By ThisIsD
from NJ
" This thing can really pull. I had a few large trees on the property that fell up against another tree. This was very dangerous. I used this tool to pull the fallen tree off the living tree and did it while I was far from harm. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real workhorse

,
April 23, 2013
By k3uod
from Maryland
" We use this to guide trees when felling. My wife works the come along and I run the chainsaw. Used with a long 3/4" rope and a couple of nylon slings, it works great. Safer than relying on the tree falling along a notch. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Roughneck

,
October 15, 2012
By wade182
from Big rapids, MI
" Works Great!!! i would recommend this to anyboyd. used to to get my truck unstuck. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Come-Along Double Gear Hand Cable Puller - 4-Ton Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Did the job, easy to use

,
October 8, 2012
By HoosierPondowner
from Northern Indiana
" Used it to pull a boulder from a culvert. It did the trick! Wish the cabling was a little longer, but not a big deal and the price was right. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.