Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift

Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift

Item# 23310
This rugged Ironton drywall and panel hoist holds up to 150 lbs Hoist with tilting action lets one person handle the work all alone. Load Capacity lbs. 150, Lift Height ft. 11. Apply numerous drywall panels up to 4ft. x 16ft Lifts drywall up to 11 feet Add the Telescoping Extension Bar Item# 23667, sold separately to increase lift height to 15 feet Multi-positioning design Locking outriggers provide added stability Easy to assemble and disassemble - no tools required Easy to transport and store Rugged steel frame construction with powder-coat finish Includes 3 casters
Average Customer Rating:
4.82 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (61 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
61 of 61(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Review 1 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist

,
May 16, 2014
By BHEATH
from GREENBELT, MARYLAND
"I purchased the Ironton Drywall Hoist for my constuction team at NASA-Goodard Space Flight Center. They loved it !! The area has high ceilings that were being divided up into offices. The Ironton hoist made hanging drywall easy...it is much more efficient than scaffolding and a lot easier to move around."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

perfect for DIYer.

,
April 29, 2014
By btims2
from West Central Ohio
"Used this to finish a garage and will use it in my pole building when I get to it. Raises panels easily and works as you would expect. Definitely makes the job easier and is worth every penny.
My only complaint, albeit a minor one, is the casters don't swivel very easily even on a smooth concrete floor.
Overall I am very happy with this panel lift with the casters being the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drywall Lift

,
February 4, 2014
By Yellowyj
from Warrior, AL
"I have used this drywall lift for several years installing 4'x12' sheets of 1/2" sheetrock on walls and ceilings up to 12' high. Works pretty good and is a cost effective way to get the job done without having to rent a similar lift for small and odd jobs. Has easily paid for itself. May not be as nice as the professional models, but definitely gets the job done."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have!!!

,
February 4, 2014
By mc44
from Northern California
"If you need to handle full sheets of drywall or siding on your own you have to have this. Paid for itself on the first day of use. I'm doing a remodel and addition on our house and I have hung drywall, soffit and siding with ease!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drywall Lift

,
February 4, 2014
By BigKent
from From The East Bay Area, No. Cal.
"As you all know drywall is a young mans sport but this tool will level the playing field. Use on the ceiling and walls both. You'll get to the ice chest much faster"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Must have

,
February 4, 2014
By CommercialMower
from St. Louis, MO
"If you are hanging more than a couple sheets this is worth the money. You can barely rent one for the price. My only complaint is that the fingers that hold the sheet are too light."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drywall hoist is a good value

,
February 4, 2014
By komn
from Central, MN
"I am pleased with the function & value of this drywall lift. It easily handled 12' sheets of 5/8" drywall for the ceilings.
Would give it 5 stars, but one of the support arms had the holes drilled in the wrong side when I unpacked it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good...

,
December 17, 2013
By phsva1
from Va
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this lift today to install 11, 12' boards on a 9' ceiling job I acquired. I usually rent them from our local building supply store, but figured I may as well buy one as much as I've been renting them lately. This product is not as sturdy as the more professional ones I rent, but it did the job. I'm thinking this will last a lifetime on my jobs, and glad I don't have to stress about getting rented equipment back on time rather than lose more money on a job."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

One man dream come true

,
April 23, 2013
By ColoradoRZ
from Berthoud CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"If you are planning on hanging sheet rock by yourself, this lift is indispensable. I rocked my shop ceiling by myself using this lift and it was worth every penny. It assembles and disassembles easily for storage or transport. My only issue when rocking the ceiling was the play in the lift column would allow the sheet to move relative to the edges of the sheet of drywall it was butting up against. It would take a little finessing to get a sheet up against another sheet. Having a helper would reduce the trips up and down a ladder. Overall, a good product that works. Can't say much more than that. 4-1/2 stars."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good tool

,
October 15, 2012
By Riggymortis
from Georgetown, DE
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Used the dry wall lift to do ceiling on my sun porch hung 10 sheets this weekend with no assistance. All my buddies were busy. This lift made it possible to also complete my garage ceiling. This lift really worked great. Held the sheets tight while I sized them cut in lights and then lowered them to apply adhesive.
well worth the cost.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
11out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helped get the job done!

,
October 8, 2012
By Kalan
from SW NY
"The product worked well. We used it to completely re-do all of the drywall in the house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easier than expected

,
August 22, 2012
By COLOnative
from Colorado
"The product arrived in a box that was pretty much in shambles. I expected something to be missing, but everything was there. It was easy to setup and after a few ups and downs, I figured out how to get going into a rhythm. I even used it to lift and hold the attic stairs I was putting up. I did the ceiling on a 3-car shop/garage in one day even with all the odd shapes and cutting necessary to hang around the garage door supports. Paid for itself in the first 30 minutes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drywall lift

,
August 13, 2012
By J9kl
from Greer, SC
"Used this thing on 8 foot ceiling in a bedroom. Put up eight panels. Worked like a champ. Beats a live helper. It is heavy but tears down to two or three pieces. Paid for itself the first time out."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

panel lifter

,
August 13, 2012
By johnb7453
from bedford,mass
"I'm very pleased with this product. It is well made, easy to set up and use, and what a back saver! Thank you."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One man operation

,
August 13, 2012
By saigonfred
from tn
"Wow, one of the best purchases I have ever made. easy assemble and break down. Easy to use, even with one person installing 5/8 inch drywall on ceiling. Nothing confusing in operation. I really thought this would not do as well on holding drywall up for the walls, but again was a one man operation. really happy with this quality tool. I installed ceilings quicker by myself than a four man team without this tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Drywall & Panel Hoist

,
May 14, 2012
By Anonymous
from Blountville, TN
"Being in the U.S. Military, I have very little time to spend at home and did not feel comfortable having contractors in my home while I was away, decided to tackle a drywall job myself. I purchased the Wel-Bilt Drywall & Panel Hoist from Northern Tool. The installer was a breeze to assemble and in no time flat, I was using the tool without any assistance. The ceiling was 10, I aligned the panels and using a cordless drill and drywall screws, I had the entire ceiling completed in 4 hours. Part of the ceiling was angled and the tilting feature allowed me to hang the panels perfectly making the taping and finishing a snap. The tool more than paid for itself the first time I used it and have since remodeled the house and built a workshop. I highly reccomend the Wel-Built Drywall & Panel hoist for the do-it-yourselfer and professional alike."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wel-bilt drywall & panel hoist

,
May 8, 2012
By brookszoo5
from punxsutawney,pa.
"i have recently purchased the wel-bilt drywall &panel hoist. and i like it . it makes the headache of putting drywall on the ceiling a one man operation. because there is usually no one around to help lend a hand when i need one. its a little tricky for hanging the walls but it still works for that just takes a little practice."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
January 16, 2012
By Countryman58
from Indiana
"I used this lift to put up drywall ceiling, a metal ceiling in my wood shop and hold up light fixtures. Has good control and lifts easy. Makes it easy for one person to do the job. Good value for the money. Could use a latch to keep the panel from tipping once it is loaded on to the frame and laid flat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sheet rock jack

,
January 16, 2012
By NormanJ
from South Dakota
"Works geat. Only thing I had to build shorter cross arms for a narrow hall way."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11-Ft. Lift
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good

,
January 11, 2012
By sheetroker
from Engadine,MI
"The lift worked great better than I thought it would."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.