Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"

"Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"

Item# 23310
"This rugged Ironton Drywall and Panel Hoist holds up to 150 lbs. The hoist with tilting action lets one person handle the work all alone. Load Capacity lbs. 150, Lift Height ft. 11, Power Source Manual, Product Type Lift/hoist. Apply numerous drywall panels up to 4ft. x 16ft Lifts drywall up to 11 feet Add the Telescoping Extension Bar Item# 23667, sold separately to increase lift height to 15 feet Multi-positioning design Locking outriggers provide added stability Easy to assemble and disassemble - no tools required Easy to transport and store Rugged steel frame construction with powder-coat finish Includes 3 casters"
Average Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (81 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
78 of 81(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Review 1 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drywall lift

,
April 19, 2016
By
from Nashville tn
Very easy to use, works as hoped, and just as sturdy as the ones you would rent from improvement stores. Worth buying !
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice

,
April 15, 2016
By
from Indiana
Very nice product for the weekend worker. If I was a full time drywall hanger may want one that is built a little heavier.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

By my self

,
April 10, 2016
By
from Texas
It does a good job for the ceiling panels and if you tilt the wall panels on to the wall and attach the top side then it's good for walls
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great helper

,
April 8, 2016
By
from Goodwater, AL
This lift is like having a third helper on the job when installing drywall or panels. Makes life easier.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lift

,
March 12, 2016
By
from Madison, wi
Debated on buying a lift for years until I found this one......debate over. Works great, set up was easy and just like any other lift I have used. Rolls nice. Sure beats holding drywall above your head or paying a guy to help you hanging ceiling. Quit thinking about buying one and get this. You and your friends will be happy you did!
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money

,
March 7, 2016
By
from KY
I purchased this lift to put drywall on the ceiling of my garage. My ceiling has a slope. This lift worked perfectly. My son and I used it effortlessly. As we cranked it up, there is a jerk, so we cranked it slow to be sure not to drop a sheet on us. The ceiling was 9 feet on one side and 13 feet on the other. We had a concrete floor, so it was easy to roll the sheet into position when we got it to the ceiling. Saved us a ton of back work. Great time and back saver.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Panel lifter

,
February 21, 2016
By
from Texas
Great product. Saved us a great deal of labor. Easy to assemble and use. Customer service was very nice to work with also when we mistakenly (bad me) didn't seat the base correctly all the way down.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Panel lift

,
December 27, 2015
By
from Atlanta, Georgia
Easy to use. Works great. Allows raising panel in place to mark cut outs then bring down easily. Cut out for lights excerpts and put back in place while you stew panels in place.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
December 5, 2015
By
from Tulsa,OK
Good product, works well, light weight, could see in everyday commercial applications, may not last, but for occasional use, according to instructions, does an excellent job.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A hand up Hoist

,
October 29, 2015
By
from Grayling, Mi
Delivered quickly, easy to assemble, Works like a champ.
Putting a hard new ceiling in my 1200 sq ft garage. Much more difficult to move all the stuff around to get access than to put the 4X8 sheets of OSB. Cannot image trying to do this project without the hoist. Very satisfied & the price was right
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Helpfull but Lacking

,
September 16, 2015
By
from Red Wing MN
Used this lift to hang a garage and a few ceilings inside. After 40 sheets of 4x12 5/8" rock the crank just about quit working. There is too much pressure while winding the wheel it caused the bracket to bend allowing the wheel to come into contact with the cable making it almost impossible to operate by yourself. A little more time designing a crank that would last and i would give it 5 stars.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal/Great Lift

,
September 14, 2015
By
from Tyler,TX
Got mine on sale and used $20.00 off coupon and free shipping, ended up being 40% off, Lift went together with ease, pretty heavy which is good, put up 20 sheets in lake house, no problems.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine, Super Extra Pair of Hands

,
August 25, 2015
By
from Gladys, VA
One man can load the hoist with 8'-1/2" drywall. Machine easily lifts drywall to proper ceiling level. Easily moves to right position to screw or nail drywall in place. The hoist works just as easily to place drywall for wall installation. When loading 16'-1/2" drywall it takes two people to load drywall onto hoist because of the weight of the drywall. My wife and I are finishing a lower level in our house with 8' ceilings. The hoist has saved money on drywall because there is no breakage while installing the drywall with this hoist. We could not do the job without it. The directions for putting the hoist together are easy to understand. It takes about 20 minutes to complete.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flimsy

,
July 1, 2015
By
from Pittsburgh, PA
If you use nothing but 1/2" 8' drywall and do not need to get production this lift may work for you. If you are a serious drywall contractor spend the money on a better lift it will save you money in the long run.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

keep looking

,
May 27, 2015
By
from oklahoma
this thing was junk right out of the box the spring locking pin was bent and i couldnt get the legs to extend after i removed it and put a nail in there to hold legs in place could not crank it up because the cable was off to the side of the pulley fixed that and was ready to try it out could hardly crank a 4z12x5/8 piece up thought the wheel was going to twist off keep looking there are better ones for less money then this piece of junk
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJuly 7, 2015
We take great pride in our Ironton product and stand behind it with a one year warranty. This is to allow you, the customer, to have confidence in your tools. Our Customer Service Team is available at 800-222-5381 and will provide you with assistance on this product as well as any parts that you may need.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist

,
May 27, 2015
By
from Newport, VA
I bought this lift to finish up some work on my garage. This lift has done exactly what I bought it to do. It was easy to assemble and the directions for assembly were precise and clear. I don't have a helper and this lift enables me to hang drywall without anyone else there. I would recommend it because it does the job and the price was right for me.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

drywall lift

,
May 7, 2015
By
from green bay wi
This lift performed as advertised with a good value
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drywall lift

,
April 19, 2015
By
from Hope Mills, NC
So far so good! Remodeling and tearing down old walls. Using the lift for new drywall. No problems so far. Northern Tools personnel were helpful. The hoist was not available in the store. I ordered it online and picked it up from the store with no problems. Thanks for the help!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built Well, Easy Assembly, Works Well

,
March 18, 2015
By
from Florida
Easy to assemble, no parts missing, directions were clear. Lifts drywall as well as any I've used, rolls easy. No reason to pay more!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellet tool

,
March 16, 2015
By
from Wisconsin
Getting kind of old to "lift drywall and use T bars" and have a lot of ceilings to do. It took a couple of sheets to figure out I could "flip up" the stop feet in middle of unit to move it easier and how to then snug it up and shift it into position, but after that, even over 60 I was able to do my 22x32 shop ceiling, with LOT's of light / outlet cut outs in probably 5 hours. I have a couple thousand more square feet to do this year and was WELL worth the price. I see no problems with the unit at all and it will break down easily when I am done.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.