Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"

"Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"

Item# 23310
"This rugged Ironton Drywall and Panel Hoist holds up to 150 lbs. The hoist with tilting action lets one person handle the work all alone. Product Type Lift/hoist, Load Capacity lbs. 150, Lift Height ft. 11, Power Source Manual. Apply numerous drywall panels up to 4ft. x 16ft Lifts drywall up to 11 feet Add the Telescoping Extension Bar Item# 23667, sold separately to increase lift height to 15 feet Multi-positioning design Locking outriggers provide added stability Easy to assemble and disassemble - no tools required Easy to transport and store Rugged steel frame construction with powder-coat finish Includes 3 casters"
Average Customer Rating:
4.689 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (74 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
71 of 74(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Review 1 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Panel lift

,
December 27, 2015
By
from Atlanta, Georgia
Easy to use. Works great. Allows raising panel in place to mark cut outs then bring down easily. Cut out for lights excerpts and put back in place while you stew panels in place.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
December 5, 2015
By
from Tulsa,OK
Good product, works well, light weight, could see in everyday commercial applications, may not last, but for occasional use, according to instructions, does an excellent job.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A hand up Hoist

,
October 29, 2015
By
from Grayling, Mi
Delivered quickly, easy to assemble, Works like a champ.
Putting a hard new ceiling in my 1200 sq ft garage. Much more difficult to move all the stuff around to get access than to put the 4X8 sheets of OSB. Cannot image trying to do this project without the hoist. Very satisfied & the price was right
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Helpfull but Lacking

,
September 16, 2015
By
from Red Wing MN
Used this lift to hang a garage and a few ceilings inside. After 40 sheets of 4x12 5/8" rock the crank just about quit working. There is too much pressure while winding the wheel it caused the bracket to bend allowing the wheel to come into contact with the cable making it almost impossible to operate by yourself. A little more time designing a crank that would last and i would give it 5 stars.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal/Great Lift

,
September 14, 2015
By
from Tyler,TX
Got mine on sale and used $20.00 off coupon and free shipping, ended up being 40% off, Lift went together with ease, pretty heavy which is good, put up 20 sheets in lake house, no problems.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine, Super Extra Pair of Hands

,
August 25, 2015
By
from Gladys, VA
One man can load the hoist with 8'-1/2" drywall. Machine easily lifts drywall to proper ceiling level. Easily moves to right position to screw or nail drywall in place. The hoist works just as easily to place drywall for wall installation. When loading 16'-1/2" drywall it takes two people to load drywall onto hoist because of the weight of the drywall. My wife and I are finishing a lower level in our house with 8' ceilings. The hoist has saved money on drywall because there is no breakage while installing the drywall with this hoist. We could not do the job without it. The directions for putting the hoist together are easy to understand. It takes about 20 minutes to complete.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flimsy

,
July 1, 2015
By
from Pittsburgh, PA
If you use nothing but 1/2" 8' drywall and do not need to get production this lift may work for you. If you are a serious drywall contractor spend the money on a better lift it will save you money in the long run.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

keep looking

,
May 27, 2015
By
from oklahoma
this thing was junk right out of the box the spring locking pin was bent and i couldnt get the legs to extend after i removed it and put a nail in there to hold legs in place could not crank it up because the cable was off to the side of the pulley fixed that and was ready to try it out could hardly crank a 4z12x5/8 piece up thought the wheel was going to twist off keep looking there are better ones for less money then this piece of junk
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJuly 7, 2015
We take great pride in our Ironton product and stand behind it with a one year warranty. This is to allow you, the customer, to have confidence in your tools. Our Customer Service Team is available at 800-222-5381 and will provide you with assistance on this product as well as any parts that you may need.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist

,
May 27, 2015
By
from Newport, VA
I bought this lift to finish up some work on my garage. This lift has done exactly what I bought it to do. It was easy to assemble and the directions for assembly were precise and clear. I don't have a helper and this lift enables me to hang drywall without anyone else there. I would recommend it because it does the job and the price was right for me.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

drywall lift

,
May 7, 2015
By
from green bay wi
This lift performed as advertised with a good value
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drywall lift

,
April 19, 2015
By
from Hope Mills, NC
So far so good! Remodeling and tearing down old walls. Using the lift for new drywall. No problems so far. Northern Tools personnel were helpful. The hoist was not available in the store. I ordered it online and picked it up from the store with no problems. Thanks for the help!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built Well, Easy Assembly, Works Well

,
March 18, 2015
By
from Florida
Easy to assemble, no parts missing, directions were clear. Lifts drywall as well as any I've used, rolls easy. No reason to pay more!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellet tool

,
March 16, 2015
By
from Wisconsin
Getting kind of old to "lift drywall and use T bars" and have a lot of ceilings to do. It took a couple of sheets to figure out I could "flip up" the stop feet in middle of unit to move it easier and how to then snug it up and shift it into position, but after that, even over 60 I was able to do my 22x32 shop ceiling, with LOT's of light / outlet cut outs in probably 5 hours. I have a couple thousand more square feet to do this year and was WELL worth the price. I see no problems with the unit at all and it will break down easily when I am done.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist

,
May 16, 2014
By
from GREENBELT, MARYLAND
I purchased the Ironton Drywall Hoist for my constuction team at NASA-Goodard Space Flight Center. They loved it !! The area has high ceilings that were being divided up into offices. The Ironton hoist made hanging drywall easy...it is much more efficient than scaffolding and a lot easier to move around.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

perfect for DIYer.

,
April 29, 2014
By
from West Central Ohio
Used this to finish a garage and will use it in my pole building when I get to it. Raises panels easily and works as you would expect. Definitely makes the job easier and is worth every penny.
My only complaint, albeit a minor one, is the casters don't swivel very easily even on a smooth concrete floor.
Overall I am very happy with this panel lift with the casters being the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drywall Lift

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Warrior, AL
I have used this drywall lift for several years installing 4'x12' sheets of 1/2" sheetrock on walls and ceilings up to 12' high. Works pretty good and is a cost effective way to get the job done without having to rent a similar lift for small and odd jobs. Has easily paid for itself. May not be as nice as the professional models, but definitely gets the job done.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have!!!

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Northern California
If you need to handle full sheets of drywall or siding on your own you have to have this. Paid for itself on the first day of use. I'm doing a remodel and addition on our house and I have hung drywall, soffit and siding with ease!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drywall Lift

,
February 4, 2014
By
from From The East Bay Area, No. Cal.
As you all know drywall is a young mans sport but this tool will level the playing field. Use on the ceiling and walls both. You'll get to the ice chest much faster
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Must have

,
February 4, 2014
By
from St. Louis, MO
If you are hanging more than a couple sheets this is worth the money. You can barely rent one for the price. My only complaint is that the fingers that hold the sheet are too light.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drywall hoist is a good value

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Central, MN
I am pleased with the function & value of this drywall lift. It easily handled 12' sheets of 5/8" drywall for the ceilings.
Would give it 5 stars, but one of the support arms had the holes drilled in the wrong side when I unpacked it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.