Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"

"Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"

Item# 23310
"This rugged Ironton Drywall and Panel Hoist holds up to 150 lbs. The hoist with tilting action lets one person handle the work all alone. Product Type Lift/hoist, Lift Height ft. 11, Load Capacity lbs. 150, Power Source Manual. Apply numerous drywall panels up to 4ft. x 16ft Lifts drywall up to 11 feet Add the Telescoping Extension Bar Item# 23667, sold separately to increase lift height to 15 feet Multi-positioning design Locking outriggers provide added stability Easy to assemble and disassemble - no tools required Easy to transport and store Rugged steel frame construction with powder-coat finish Includes 3 casters"
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (68 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
66 of 68(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Review 1 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flimsy

,
July 1, 2015
By ACE21
from Pittsburgh, PA
" If you use nothing but 1/2" 8' drywall and do not need to get production this lift may work for you. If you are a serious drywall contractor spend the money on a better lift it will save you money in the long run. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

keep looking

,
May 27, 2015
By yellowbrama
from oklahoma
" this thing was junk right out of the box the spring locking pin was bent and i couldnt get the legs to extend after i removed it and put a nail in there to hold legs in place could not crank it up because the cable was off to the side of the pulley fixed that and was ready to try it out could hardly crank a 4z12x5/8 piece up thought the wheel was going to twist off keep looking there are better ones for less money then this piece of junk "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJuly 7, 2015
We take great pride in our Ironton product and stand behind it with a one year warranty. This is to allow you, the customer, to have confidence in your tools. Our Customer Service Team is available at 800-222-5381 and will provide you with assistance on this product as well as any parts that you may need.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist

,
May 27, 2015
By lilang
from Newport, VA
" I bought this lift to finish up some work on my garage. This lift has done exactly what I bought it to do. It was easy to assemble and the directions for assembly were precise and clear. I don't have a helper and this lift enables me to hang drywall without anyone else there. I would recommend it because it does the job and the price was right for me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

drywall lift

,
May 7, 2015
By ED1111
from green bay wi
" This lift performed as advertised with a good value "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drywall lift

,
April 19, 2015
By diyteacher
from Hope Mills, NC
" So far so good! Remodeling and tearing down old walls. Using the lift for new drywall. No problems so far. Northern Tools personnel were helpful. The hoist was not available in the store. I ordered it online and picked it up from the store with no problems. Thanks for the help! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built Well, Easy Assembly, Works Well

,
March 18, 2015
By flyboy61
from Florida
" Easy to assemble, no parts missing, directions were clear. Lifts drywall as well as any I've used, rolls easy. No reason to pay more! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellet tool

,
March 16, 2015
By C5Don
from Wisconsin
" Getting kind of old to "lift drywall and use T bars" and have a lot of ceilings to do. It took a couple of sheets to figure out I could "flip up" the stop feet in middle of unit to move it easier and how to then snug it up and shift it into position, but after that, even over 60 I was able to do my 22x32 shop ceiling, with LOT's of light / outlet cut outs in probably 5 hours. I have a couple thousand more square feet to do this year and was WELL worth the price. I see no problems with the unit at all and it will break down easily when I am done. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist

,
May 16, 2014
By BHEATH
from GREENBELT, MARYLAND
" I purchased the Ironton Drywall Hoist for my constuction team at NASA-Goodard Space Flight Center. They loved it !! The area has high ceilings that were being divided up into offices. The Ironton hoist made hanging drywall easy...it is much more efficient than scaffolding and a lot easier to move around. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

perfect for DIYer.

,
April 29, 2014
By btims2
from West Central Ohio
" Used this to finish a garage and will use it in my pole building when I get to it. Raises panels easily and works as you would expect. Definitely makes the job easier and is worth every penny.
My only complaint, albeit a minor one, is the casters don't swivel very easily even on a smooth concrete floor.
Overall I am very happy with this panel lift with the casters being the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drywall Lift

,
February 4, 2014
By Yellowyj
from Warrior, AL
" I have used this drywall lift for several years installing 4'x12' sheets of 1/2" sheetrock on walls and ceilings up to 12' high. Works pretty good and is a cost effective way to get the job done without having to rent a similar lift for small and odd jobs. Has easily paid for itself. May not be as nice as the professional models, but definitely gets the job done. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have!!!

,
February 4, 2014
By mc44
from Northern California
" If you need to handle full sheets of drywall or siding on your own you have to have this. Paid for itself on the first day of use. I'm doing a remodel and addition on our house and I have hung drywall, soffit and siding with ease! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drywall Lift

,
February 4, 2014
By BigKent
from From The East Bay Area, No. Cal.
" As you all know drywall is a young mans sport but this tool will level the playing field. Use on the ceiling and walls both. You'll get to the ice chest much faster "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Must have

,
February 4, 2014
By CommercialMower
from St. Louis, MO
" If you are hanging more than a couple sheets this is worth the money. You can barely rent one for the price. My only complaint is that the fingers that hold the sheet are too light. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drywall hoist is a good value

,
February 4, 2014
By komn
from Central, MN
" I am pleased with the function & value of this drywall lift. It easily handled 12' sheets of 5/8" drywall for the ceilings.
Would give it 5 stars, but one of the support arms had the holes drilled in the wrong side when I unpacked it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good...

,
December 17, 2013
By phsva1
from Va
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I bought this lift today to install 11, 12' boards on a 9' ceiling job I acquired. I usually rent them from our local building supply store, but figured I may as well buy one as much as I've been renting them lately. This product is not as sturdy as the more professional ones I rent, but it did the job. I'm thinking this will last a lifetime on my jobs, and glad I don't have to stress about getting rented equipment back on time rather than lose more money on a job. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

One man dream come true

,
April 23, 2013
By ColoradoRZ
from Berthoud CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" If you are planning on hanging sheet rock by yourself, this lift is indispensable. I rocked my shop ceiling by myself using this lift and it was worth every penny. It assembles and disassembles easily for storage or transport. My only issue when rocking the ceiling was the play in the lift column would allow the sheet to move relative to the edges of the sheet of drywall it was butting up against. It would take a little finessing to get a sheet up against another sheet. Having a helper would reduce the trips up and down a ladder. Overall, a good product that works. Can't say much more than that. 4-1/2 stars. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good tool

,
October 15, 2012
By Riggymortis
from Georgetown, DE
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Used the dry wall lift to do ceiling on my sun porch hung 10 sheets this weekend with no assistance. All my buddies were busy. This lift made it possible to also complete my garage ceiling. This lift really worked great. Held the sheets tight while I sized them cut in lights and then lowered them to apply adhesive.
well worth the cost.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
13out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helped get the job done!

,
October 8, 2012
By Kalan
from SW NY
" The product worked well. We used it to completely re-do all of the drywall in the house. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easier than expected

,
August 22, 2012
By COLOnative
from Colorado
" The product arrived in a box that was pretty much in shambles. I expected something to be missing, but everything was there. It was easy to setup and after a few ups and downs, I figured out how to get going into a rhythm. I even used it to lift and hold the attic stairs I was putting up. I did the ceiling on a 3-car shop/garage in one day even with all the odd shapes and cutting necessary to hang around the garage door supports. Paid for itself in the first 30 minutes. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Ironton Drywall & Panel Hoist - 150-Lb. Capacity, 11 Ft. Lift"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drywall lift

,
August 13, 2012
By J9kl
from Greer, SC
" Used this thing on 8 foot ceiling in a bedroom. Put up eight panels. Worked like a champ. Beats a live helper. It is heavy but tears down to two or three pieces. Paid for itself the first time out. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.