Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Steel Dump Cart - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 17 Cu. Ft., Model# SP22125

Steel Dump Cart - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 17 Cu. Ft., Model# SP22125

Item# 23317
Heavy-duty Steel Dump Cart with 17 cu. ft. capacity works well in agricultural and residential capacities. Easy to use, with foot pedal dump mechanism and a removable tailgate. Axle Diameter in. 3/4, Deck Material Steel, Frame Material Steel, Load Capacity lbs. 1,200, Application Trailer, Steering Type Hitch tongue, Wheel Size in. 16 x 5, Wheel Type Pneumatic, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 81 7/16 x 33 7/16 x 38 3/8, Side Rails Included Yes. Steel frame and bed Rust-resistant, UV-protected powder coat finish Easy-to-use foot pedal dump mechanism Tailgate is removed with little effort R-pin hitch works with lawn tractors, garden tractors and ATVs Easily assembled 60in.L x 31in.W x 13 1/3in.H bed
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Steel Dump Cart - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 17 Cu. Ft., Model# SP22125
Review 1 for Steel Dump Cart - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 17 Cu. Ft., Model# SP22125
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dump Cart

,
October 3, 2014
By 2786
from NY
"It arrived OK by UPS. Took about an hour to assemble. I use it to take brush out to the road. I also load all my tools and equipment in it when working in the back of the lot. It saves a lot of carrying."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Steel Dump Cart - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 17 Cu. Ft., Model# SP22125
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could us a redesign

,
August 11, 2014
By Jp47
from Woodlawn, va
"The back and front gates are backwards. They need to be reversed, and that could be done with some extra holes in the bottom to allow the handle to be on the other end if the owner desires."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Steel Dump Cart - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 17 Cu. Ft., Model# SP22125
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Recommend with cautions

,
May 19, 2014
By beph
from Ewen, MI
"Once we got it together (instructions are less than clear) we've been finding the trailer very useful. I'm sure we will be using it for a long time. The reason we are giving it such a low rating is the design. There is a drop panel in the front! The back panel is a liftout (obviously, we did not look at the video before purchasing). If you are loading brush or other long items that you intend to dump, you either leave the tailgate behind or make sure it is not covered. When dumping, the back of the trailer goes all the way to the ground which means you have to pull forward to dump completely."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Steel Dump Cart - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 17 Cu. Ft., Model# SP22125
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

cheap but works

,
May 10, 2014
By Andy9182
from prior lake, mn
"It is a very flimsy trailer, I drilled a few extra holes and added some bolts to help make it more rigid. It does the trick but it will probably need some reinforcement. The dump latch should have a heavier duty spring on it so you dont need to put the pin in, if you dont put the pin in it can dump at random on bumpy terrain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Steel Dump Cart - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 17 Cu. Ft., Model# SP22125
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boy was I surprised!

,
March 15, 2014
By Ken1961
from Greenville, SC
"I bought this cart simply because I had a lot of leaves in a pile in the backyard. First of all, this thing is HEAVY when in the box, be careful moving it. Second, I found it helpful to use a socket wrench while assembling to save your wrist and hand twisting a screwdriver. When I assembled mine, and it was really VERY easy, I discovered that the front rail was not in the box. I checked everywhere but I had not misplaced it, it wasn't packed. I called the store and spoke with Mark who told me to come on in and he would make sure I got one. He opened another box and got the rail for me, and they didn't even want to see my receipt. Talk about easy, that was the best. I went home and installed the front rail in a flash, then took it in the backyard. I kept putting leaves in it and thought that I would NEVER fill it up. I threw some limbs on top and took it to the trashpile. When you dump it, it's going to work just like a dump truck where you have to pull forward a bit after getting most of the debris out. The one thing I don't like is removing the tailgate. It's a little bit awkward putting it back on but by no means a deal breaker. I still can't believe just how much this holds. I do believe that this cart and I are going to be best friends by the end of the year. GET IT! You won't regret it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Steel Dump Cart - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 17 Cu. Ft., Model# SP22125
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great item

,
October 15, 2012
By jbiker
from Raleigh, NC
"If i could have bought this assembled, i would have bought all of them!
GREAT PRODUCT!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Steel Dump Cart - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 17 Cu. Ft., Model# SP22125
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flimsy

,
October 11, 2012
By opie5678
from B.C. Mi.
"Product was very flimsy & flexable. Foot release for the dump bed would not stay latched . The first time I loaded it , it came undone & dumped everything I had just loaded on the ground. Pulling it across the yard with my golf car it was so flexable that every contoure in the yard caused the tail gate to fall out. The online video of the product is very deceiveing as it appears to be very rigid & sturdy which is far from the actual product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
14out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Steel Dump Cart - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 17 Cu. Ft., Model# SP22125
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

trailer

,
October 8, 2012
By JHH2
from Bear Gulch MT
"I purchased this trailer use on my MT acreage. It was delivered in good shape and on schedule. Assembly took 1/2 hour. The instructions are spare but this product doesn't need much in that regard. I like the fold down features which give me lots of flex for handling brush, fire wood, gravel etc. I haven't loaded it with anything really heavy, but so far it's just what I needed. I may add a sheet of 1/2 ply on the bed for some added protection when I haul rocks; other wise for a light to medium duty trailer for your ATV/UTV give this one a look."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Steel Dump Cart - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 17 Cu. Ft., Model# SP22125
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

,
August 13, 2012
By RHG48
from Albany, NY
"Easy to assemble.Excellent material with heavy duty axil and tires. Unique assembly with minimal tools.Detailed instructions for assemby.Dump Feature works well. Larger than most carts but very easy to move when disconnected from the tractor. Strongly recommended. Have not found any other cart of this size for the price with these features."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.