Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator - 40in.W, Model# SA-400BH"

"Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator - 40in.W, Model# SA-400BH"

Item# 24240
"40in.W Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator uses ten 8in. dia. spike wheels to create 2in. deep holes that protect seed and fertilizer from getting washed away and allow your lawn to breathe. Product Type Aerator, Spike Length in. 8, Overall Width in. 40, Spike Penetration Depth in. 2, Spikes qty. 10, Weight Capacity lbs. 110, Working Width in. 40. Ten 8in. dia. spike wheels create 2in. deep holes 20 total spike tips, made of 12-gauge steel Open tray design with 10 weight tie-down points for flexibility when adding extra weight, up to 110 lbs."
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator - 40in.W, Model# SA-400BH"
Review 1 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator - 40in.W, Model# SA-400BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works just fine

,
April 22, 2016
By
from Clarksville, VA
Item came in a easy to carry container with all the parts in place. I was a little concerned when I ordered that the tines would be puny, but they hold up to some pretty hard soil real well. I'm using it to break up soil and force fertilizer and limestone down into the groves to improve the soil chemistry. It works well for that but even with two concrete blocks on the aerator it does take a few times going over the area to get it where I want it. I haven't any grass to see how it works on a real lawn, but this will help be get there. For the money its hard to beat.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator - 40in.W, Model# SA-400BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy tool

,
April 3, 2016
By
from Utah
This Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator has sharp spikes and works very nice.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator - 40in.W, Model# SA-400BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

spike aerator

,
July 14, 2014
By
from bluffton sc
Great product for the average yard easy enough to put together small enough for shed or garage storage
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator - 40in.W, Model# SA-400BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aeriator, spike

,
June 22, 2014
By
from Argyle, NY
Easy to assemble, instructions are clear and easy to follow. Works well on the lawn and I've seen improvement to the lawn. Pulls behind the tractor just fine. Needed to manually pull around my inside the yard lawn and it was easy to pull. Only issue I have is the sides already bent, but it does not hurt it ability to work.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator - 40in.W, Model# SA-400BH"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great buy

,
May 19, 2014
By
from Indianapolis IN
This product was well worth the money, inexpensive and works very well for my yard and the size of mower I have. its a little flimsy if you back up but overall it was a great buy
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator - 40in.W, Model# SA-400BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Buy For Your Money!

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Washington, VA
Well I Bought This Item A Few Months Back And Have Used It For 3 Acres Of Land And Works Very Well Im Very Happy With It, I Was Missing A Few Parts When I Got It But That Was Easy I Just Called The Company That Made It And Got Them Sent Right Away, Another Satisfied Customer.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator - 40in.W, Model# SA-400BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

arerator

,
August 13, 2012
By
from North Carolina
I purchased this about 6 weeks ago and used it twice. It works perfectly. I laid two 8" cement blocks on it for added weight and pulled it with my lawn mower. Great Job! Highly recommend.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator - 40in.W, Model# SA-400BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

seeding

,
August 13, 2012
By
from wi
worked great on newly cleared dirt for seed bed also on food plot areas rocks did not bother it
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Brinly-Hardy Tow-Behind Spike Aerator - 40in.W, Model# SA-400BH"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works for me

,
May 7, 2012
By
from Sugar Hill, GA
this is the first aireator that I have ever owned and am very happy with it. The tines are sharp and one run over my yard did the trick.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
16out of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.