Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"

Item# 24289
"This 6in. Bench Grinder performs heavy-duty grinding tasks, thanks to its 1/2 HP UL-listed motor operating at 3560 RPM. Comes with two aluminum oxide wheels for coarse and medium grinding action. Each wheel has a tool rest with eye shield for safe operation. Amps 2.1, Case Included No, Cord Length ft. 8, Dimensions L x W x H in. 15 x 7 x 8, HP 1/2, Length in. 15, Product Type Bench, Speed RPM 3560, Spindle Lock No, Spindle Thread Size 1/2, Switch Type On/off, Variable Speed No, Wheel Diameter in. 6, Wheel Included Yes, 2, Wrench Included Yes. 120V, 60 Hz, 1/2 HP motor 3560 no-load RPM 3/4in. wide wheels Adjustable tool rest and eye shield 1/2in. arbor Aluminum oxide wheels with flanges one coarse and one medium grit UL listed"
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench Grinder — 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM

,
February 13, 2015
By Poppyron
from Florida
" Being a home handyman bought this for occasional use. It has sharpened a few knives and plane blades. Does as I expected, I just set it on the bench when needed with little to no vibration. Have not had to permanently mount to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

bench grinder

,
February 12, 2015
By Arnie23
from Mesa Az.
" both grinding stones are out of balance and nuts are loose, once the stones are tightened balanced and surfaced it runs smooth, haven't used it much otherwise. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Weld Clean up

,
February 11, 2015
By Jweld
from Atlanta Ga
" I have used this grinder for only small stock removal or washers for clearance to to grind down some welds on small pieces.
The tool rests have a lot of play in the mounting holes so make sure to use the lock washers to prevent them from vibrating loose or the tool rest could slam into the grinding wheel during use.
For the money it has served its purpose. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great function, great price

,
February 8, 2015
By MRHIGHSPEED
from Edge of Nowhere, MN
" This bench grinder does a great job of sharpening my tungsten electrodes for TIG welding. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

bench grinder

,
February 1, 2015
By JW870
from IN
" should do fine for home/garage work (mower blades, etc...), the tool rests could defiantly be made stronger, as I feel the ones that came with it are a little too flimsy for my taste. I will make some new ones out of 1/4" stock in the future. all in all a good deal for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
January 31, 2015
By wuzslo
from Mariposa, CA
" I was looking for a no-frills grinder and this one fits the bill just fine. No complaints. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bench grinder

,
January 29, 2015
By redoak1
from huntsville, tn
" Great product, performs as good as a higher priced brand name that I have. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bench Grinder

,
January 29, 2015
By 47model
from Georgia
" Wheels had some shimmy when first started up. When I took the cover plates off to check, I found that both wheels were loose. After tightening both wheels, it ran smooth and quiet. I like it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice grinder

,
January 28, 2015
By ron63
from tn
" i like this grinder alot, it has a lot of power, does what i want it too. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GRINDER LIFESAVER

,
January 23, 2015
By CATDADDY1
from WEST VIRGINA
" I WORK A LOT AROUND THE HOUSE WITH WOOD AND QUITE A BIT WITH METAL BLADES LIKE LAWN MOWER BLADES AND ALL SORTS OF METAL ANGLES AND FLANGES. THE FIRST TIME I FIRED IT UP I WAS SO HAPPY HOW SMOOTH AND QUIET IT IS. ITS A VERY WELL MADE PRODUCT AT A VERY AFFORDABLE PRICE. I WAS ALSO PLEASED ON HOW FAST I RECEIVED MY NEW GRINDER. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

6" BENCH GRINDER

,
January 14, 2015
By yankeemc
from SEBASTIAN, FL
" WORKS GREAT--
FOR THE PRICE- A REALLY GOOD DEAL. SAME PRICE I PAID FOR ANOTHER ONE I STILL USE- BOUGHT BACK IN 2001.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench Grinder

,
December 15, 2014
By Dennis53
from Quinton, AL
" Works very well on grinding objects. Mounted on my work bench and ready to grind. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool for the money!

,
April 23, 2013
By Phil70
from Hampton, VA
" I don't do heavy work with it, but it more than suits my needs of sharpening my personal use tools. Comes up to speed immediately. If it broke tomorrow, I'd buy the same one again! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

,
December 26, 2012
By GeeBee
from Northfield, MN
" Bought one of these for general stuff. Great price and value. Love it for sharpening drill bits "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Bench Grinder - 6in. Wheel, 1/2 HP, 3650 RPM"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for the money

,
October 15, 2012
By DGB111
from Fort worth, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Bought this grinder to replace a very old 4" mainly for rust removal and tool sharpening. Changed one of the grinding wheels to a steel wire wheel - a bit of a tight fit, but works just fine after several of the steel wires flew off after hitting the side walls - be sure to wear goggles and definitely use the safety shield! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.