Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"

"Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"

Item# 24383
"This Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly features a three-wheel design, making maneuvering large or heavy trailers easier than with a two-wheel dolly. Capacity lbs. 1,000, Tire Type Flat-free. Great for moving tandem axle and larger trailers Includes two 16in. flat-free tires and one 10in. flat-free swivel wheel 2in. trailer ball adjusts from 21in. to 35in. 1000-lb. tongue weight accommodates heavier trailers"
Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
16 of 17(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Review 1 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work on a heavy dual axle trailer

,
October 9, 2014
By wub85020
from Phoenix, AZ
"Works okay when you are pulling or pushing in a perfectly straight line. I attempted to use it on my dual axle boat trailer, with the boat on it. Total boat and trailer weight is around 3700 pounds. Doesn't turn the loaded trailer at all! Too heavy to ship back and pay the fees, so off to Craigslist it goes. Should do okay on single axle trailers."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

trailer dolly,heavy duty

,
October 8, 2014
By rjkeel
from Long Island New York
"Moves 650lb log splitter with ease, Glade I got this product, load off my back....
highly recommend for use in moving anything heavy with wheels"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

,
September 19, 2014
By wolfman1962
from arkansas
"exceeds my expectations in everyway. wish I would have bought a lot sooner."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dolly

,
August 19, 2014
By Camper54
from Illinois
"Got this dolly to move my boat and camper around the driveway. Was able to put it together right out of the box in a manner of minutes. This thing is really sturdy. It's pretty heavy for me to pick up and store away in the garage, but I'd rather have sturdy and strong any day. Great item!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

back saver

,
July 24, 2014
By crazybear
from NM
"moving my three trailers was hard on my back , but when I started to use my tow dolly made my life a lot easier and safer as I have dropped a trailer on my foot a few times. I wish I had this along time ago and anyone who has trailers to move needs this one for sure ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ultra Tow Trailer Dolly Meets Need

,
July 6, 2014
By Doryman2
from Oregon
"I have an extremely narrow, two-strip driveway and am waiting to accept delivery on a new wood and resin 17-foot dory. Rather than back the trailer 80 feet to a garage bay behind my house, I ordered this extra strong and wide dolly to avoid future accidents to my house and garage. I believe it will easily and safely move my boat in an area with little room for error. It rolls easily and is as tough as I expected. My only advice is that the manufacturer place the instructions at the top of the box in which it was delivered rather than under the packing materials or that buyers remove everything from the box until they find instructions. I made the mistake of spending time guessing how to put the sucker together before I accidentally found the instructions, which contained an image of the completed product tied to a series of easy-to-follow steps. Either action could have saved me a good bit of time. Once I found the hidden instructions, though, I put the dolly together in a half an hour sitting in a lounge chair on my front porch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

trailer dolly

,
May 11, 2014
By 107perdue
from Yorktown
"Love it. Always had a trailer dolly but after purchasing a new heavier trailer I need something heavy duty. This gives you that advantage. Love it. Well built."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fair quality

,
May 11, 2014
By Geezizin
from Lancaster NY
"Like everything else the steel is thin and of poor quality. Only made for flat smooth surface, bent the center wheel and bracket trying to move a 24' empty enclosed trailer. If you have good concrete or pavement this should work fine, anything else it will bend and drop your trailer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A 'must have' if you own a trailer

,
May 9, 2014
By JWaz
from Vestal, NY
"Sturdy, well-constructed dolly. Makes maneuvering a trailer into and out-of tight spaces a lot easier than with a vehicle. Adjustable ball height real handy for trailers of different sizes."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more stress to your back!!!

,
May 4, 2014
By JAHGA
from Georgia
"Most weekends I am moving one of my trailers around to hook up to the truck for some fun - up to this point it's been all me and my back - not anymore! This great product makes moving trailers (pulling or pushing) easy! No stress to the back as the trailer ball is levered up and in to the trailer hitch receiver. This is a must have if you've got big trailers that need to be moved around your garage or property! Very happy with this new TOOL!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The "Beast" !!!

,
February 5, 2014
By Binford2000
from New Jersey
"I purchased this to move around my 2007 16 foot Bass Tracker Deep V w/ a 90HP Mercury Engine. The Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Trailer Dolly doesn't even flinch. Handles the boat and trailer with ease. The caster makes maneuverability a breeze. Took me about 15-20 minutes to put together. Fantastic product ! Every product I've ever purchased from Northern Tool has always been a winner. Northern Tool never disappoints. Their S & H are reasonable, and I always receive the products in a timely fashion. My "go to" tool supplier. Thanks again Northern !!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!!

,
February 5, 2014
By bgreer007
from Pacolet, SC
"This is an excellent heavy duty trailer dolly. I use it to maneuver my 19 1/2 foot boat in and out of my garage. Being a very heavy boat, this is the only dolly I have found that can handle that kind of a load and allow me to maintain complete control of the load. Thanks for another excellent product!!
bgreer007
Pacolet, SC
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trailer Dolly that works

,
April 23, 2013
By gr1234
from New Berlin, WI
"I put the dolly together with no problems and I like the no inner tube tires. I have used the dolly three times and I can move my 18 foot fiberglass boats around in the garage very well. The adjustable height for the hitch ball is very convenient. This was worth the purchase and long wait for shipment to the store."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tool

,
October 8, 2012
By fcat
from Hunt, TX
"The pivot wheel on this tool makes it a pleasure to use. Very simple to assemble. No need to balance the trailer with the handle while manuvering.. Wide wheel base makes it even easier to turn in tight areas. The long handle could be a little longer and doesn't make a tight fit into the top handle or the axle assembly so there is a bit of loose movement when manuvering the trailer. Overall very pleased with this trailer dolly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Trailer Dolly

,
August 15, 2012
By Kevin2429
from Isanti County, Minnesota
"I ordered this product to help move around a heavy utility trailer with a Polaris Ranger 6x6. Assembly was a snap and moving the trailer around is effortless. I have used other trailer dollys in the past but this one far exceeds my expectations. The Ranger is used by our local Safety & Rescue Unit. This trailer dolly makes moving the trailer with the Ranger 6x6 easy from the smallest to the larger members on our roster."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handiest piece of equipment so far.

,
August 14, 2012
By NLTUNE
from Rock Springs, WY
"Bought this for my Husband for his birthday. We had been having difficulties getting our 18.5 foot boat in and out of the garage. This has made that so much easier. Don't know why we waited so long to get it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Ultra-Tow Extreme-Duty Adjustable Trailer Dolly, Model# TMD-1000C"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This One IS Heavy Duty

,
August 1, 2012
By MacCamper1
from IL
"I have a 3,500lb camping trailer with 500lb tongue weight and have had problems moving my trailer on my driveway which has a slight decline. This dolly has very heavy duty "no flat" wheels and wider spread base which makes all the difference in the world.
Highly recommend this dolly. I tried hydraulic lifts, other dollies and they did not work with the weight."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.