Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft

Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft

Item# 24766
This Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine is an easy-to-install solution for small engine needs. With 208cc and 9 ft.-lbs. Gross Torque, it provides enough power to run a wide range of equipment, including log splitters and pressure washers. Its patented design incorporates an industrial-strength cast iron cylinder sleeve, dual ball bearing crankshafts and an internal oil splash enhancement system. Low oil shutdown turns the engine off if it runs low on oil, preventing serious damage or failure. The recoil start has a compression release that helps you get running on the first pull. Combine these features with thorough U.S.-based testing, dedicated customer/tech support and incredible value, and you'll own one of the most reliable engines in the industry. Bolt Circle in. 3 5/8, Bore x Stroke in. 2.78 x 2.13, Carburetor Float/choke, Cooling System Air, Air Cleaner Type Paper/foam, Application General, Dimensions L x W x H in. 15 x 17 x 12 1/2, Displacement cc 208, Engine Type OHV, EPA/CARB Approval California Air Resource Board Yes, Cylinder Bore Cast iron, Cylinders qty. 1, Ignition System Electronic, Low Oil Alert Yes, Lubrication System Splash, Max. RPM 3,800, Fuel Tank Capacity qt. 2.85, Governor System Mechanical, Oil Capacity qt. 1/2, PTO Height in. 4.2, Shaft Dimensions Diameter x L in. 3/4 x 2.4, Mounting Base L x W in. 3.1 x 6.4, Muffler Included Yes, Shaft Rotation From PTO Shaft Side Counterclockwise, Start Type Recoil, Shaft Keyway in. 3/16, Shaft Output Horizontal, Shaft End Tapped Diameter in./Threads per inch 5/16-24. Cast iron cylinder sleeve reduces bore wear to extend engine life and reduces emissions and oil consumption Dual ball bearings reduce friction for prolonged life Forged crankshaft for superior strength in high PTO torque situations Recoil start with compression release helps you start on the first pull Low oil shutdown turns the engine off if it runs low on oil, preventing serious damage or failure Internal oil splash enhancement and delivery system delivers extra lubrication Sound pressure balanced muffler Heavy-duty metal fuel tank with baffles to reduce spalshing Side air ports limit debris entry Pleated paper filter and foam pre-cleaner protect engine from harmful debris
Average Customer Rating:
4.887 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (62 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
62 of 62(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Review 1 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bolts for mounting to Troy Bilt Horse

,
May 1, 2014
By Will555
from NC
"The four bolts that are needed for the 3-5/8" circle of four tapped and threaded holes around the output shaft are 5/16" 24 NF bolts, same as needed in the end of the output shaft.
Note to Northern, you should add this info to the product specs on your website.
As I have not yet installed this engine, I only gave it 3 stars."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great motor for the price

,
April 28, 2014
By jdog6
from blanding, Utah
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had to wait for this motor because it was out of stock but it came in 14 days was all not 15 to 29. This motor bolted on exactly as i needed. The motor has great power. The motor after I added gas and oil started on the first pull just like other Buyers said. The only thing wrong with this motor is the idle lever that connects to the governor linkage and back to the carburetor would get stuck so the motor rpms would not change when i would move the idle lever. I had to manually move the lever on top of the carburetor and after many times of doing this it works again on its own like it should. For the money you can't go wrong.
I would buy again for sure.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Motor

,
April 25, 2013
By TNNeil
from Knoxvegas,TN
"Replaced a Briggs Funpower 5hp with this motor. Its a direct bolt in replacement. Only needs some minor throttle linkage modification to run. Ask the repair desk at your local store, mine had a premade kit of parts that was cheap and worked great. Its a stout motor and never fails to start..well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive

,
October 15, 2012
By SS129
from Middle TN
"Installed on early 80's log splitter. Bolt holes, shaft size and height lined up like it was made to be a direct replacement. Starts with ease and will run quietly until the gas runs out. Now if I could find somebody to help me stack all this wood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse 208cc OHV Horizontal Engine

,
March 10, 2012
By Mercsled
from Amesbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Very good, easy to install, just add oil and it started 2nd pull. Easily replaced my 5hp Briggs with no modifications. Very pleased with the price too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse 208cc OHV Horizontal Engine

,
January 27, 2012
By tirks
from Willis Texas
"I have an old Yard Machine tiller with a Briggs motor. It needed a carburetor and a gas tank. This motor was a direct replacement right down to the bolt pattern. It’s easy to start, smooth running and has plenty of power to do the job. I highly recommend this motor.
B.J.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great motor

,
January 18, 2012
By CBogie
from Kit Carson, CO
"I put this on my old troy built tiller and haven't looked back. It bolted right on and runs like a champ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LITTLE ENGINE

,
January 16, 2012
By GADD
from FULTON, MS
"I BOUGHT THIS ENGINE ABOUT 3 1/2 YRS AGO TO REPLACE ONE ON MY TILLER. BOLTED RIGHT UP TO THE MOUNTS BUT HAD TO PUT IN A SPACER FOR THE PULLEY. THE ORIGINAL ENGINE DIDN'T LAST THIS LONG. THIS ENGINE ALSO SEEMS TO BE MORE ECONOMICAL AS FAR AS FUEL CONSUMPTION."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chipper/Shredder

,
January 10, 2012
By Duckie2
from Ledyard, CT
"I replaced an undersized engine on a medium duty chipper/shredder (up to 3" chipping). It was very easy to stall the previous engine (5 Hp) and this one works like a champ. The chipper used to struggle with 2" branches, but now powers through a 3" branch without a stutter. Engine bolted on without any issues and started first time. I've used it for one season now and I am very satisfied with it. Fantastic engine at a great price. I may need a new engine for my log splitter soon and I will not hesitate to purchase another one of these."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best for logsplitters

,
October 19, 2011
By mikeppa60
from stroudsburg,pa
"this engine fit just right and i made no adjustments ...was very,very,very easy to install.and it starts everytime on the first pull.very powerful.my salesman was on point....thanks"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chipper/Mulcher replacement engine

,
October 10, 2011
By Harely79
from Mountain Home, Idaho
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Outstanding replacement engine, replaced worn 3.5 hp techumseh. Bolted in place and started on first pull, and everytime since, its starts on the first pull. It little more pwer for what I needed but for the price/how great it runs you can't beat it!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great motor

,
October 10, 2011
By mercmn
from Duluth, MN
"I purchased this for a home made log splitter. Mounted it to the frame and put on a 4" pump adapter. Fired right up and works great. Hardly has to work even on the larger logs. 5 Stars+ for me!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
country57
Texas 
 
Please wait while more information about country57 is loaded.
Additional information about country57 could not be loaded.
Powerhorse 208cc
March 26, 2012
"I purchased the powerhorse for my troy built tiller. Once installed it would run great until I tilted the engine to till. The engine is equiped with a low oil sencer and each time I tried to till, the engine would shut off. Had to call the manufacturer to find out the problem. I do not recomend this engine for this type of tiller."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse 208cc OHV Horizontal Engine

,
October 10, 2011
By reddh4366
from nebraska
"I put this on a rear tine garden tiller. I was very happy that it bolted right on with no modifications. Even though this engine seemed to be rated about the same as the old engine I replaced it with it seems to pull it much easier. Started on the first pull and has done so ever since. Couldn't be happier."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Initial impression: excellent

,
September 7, 2011
By RobInLangley
from Puget Sound
"Perfect replacement for the blown-out 6HP Tecumseh on my chipper/shredder. I had to find a new drive pulley to match the 3/4" shaft on the engine, since the original engine had a 1" shaft (hint to NT: sell pulleys!). Started on the first pull and works like a charm so far.
My only concern at this point is where do I get replacement air filters? Northern doesn't seem to offer them (hint: they should!)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great engine

,
September 3, 2011
By Hunter5
from SEA
"I am building a small tractor about the size of a riding lawn mower. It will have a front end loader on it. I bought this engine for it, and just tried it out on a go-cart. With 9 pounds of torque and 6.5 horse power, it had the power to move up a hill with great speed. It did this with a centrifugal clutch. I will use a hydrostatic transmission on my tractor, so I can only imagine the amount of power I will have with that. I found that the Low Oil Shut Down was too good, so when the go-cart was in use, the oil would slosh around and it would shut down. However, the device can be turned off. This engine always starts on the first or second pull, regardless of the season. I am so pleased with this product, that I would recommend it to anyone, and already have to a huge amount of people. PowerHorse."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PowerHorse

,
March 21, 2011
By d934
from Wooster, Ohio
"I used the small engine to replace a rear tine tiller engine. I've have nothing but praise for it. Installation was easy and it works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LITTLE ENGINE

,
March 18, 2011
By 67bird
from MD
"I GOT THIS ENGINE FOR A HOMEMADE LOG SPLITTER, I WAS TRYING TO BUILD IT CHEAP SO I GOT THIS ENGINE, NOT SURE HOW GOOD IT WOULD BE BEING CHINESSE MADE BUT THE PRICE GOT ME. THIS THING ALWAYS STARTS ON THE FIRST PULL WITH THE CHOKE ON ,RUNS NICE AND QUIET. I HAVE SPLIT ABOUT 10 CORDS OF WOOD WITH IT SO FAR AND IT HAS WORKED FLAWLESSLY , IT DOESNT EVEN REALLY STRAIN WITH NASTY KNOTTED WOOD WITH A FOURWAY WEDGE. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH IT, IT . I DO HATE THAT IT IS MADE IN CHINA, BUT IT IS A GREAT LITTLE ENGINE"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse engine

,
November 24, 2010
By Anonymous
from Upstate New York
"Price was good, it mounted directly without any modifications starts easily"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

,
November 23, 2010
By wes473
from MT
"Best 6.5hp engine on the market for the price in my opinion, runs strong, great torque perfect for a gokart!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 208cc, 3/4in. x 2 7/16in. Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerhorse 208cc ohv horizontal engine

,
November 23, 2010
By pahranagat
from 100 miles north of Las Vegas Nv.
"This engine was put on a sprayer and it starts 1st pull every time even the first time! the only thing that could be better is oval or elongated mounting holes. And the price is right nowhere else is comparable"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.