Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS

FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS

Item# 24779
This Remington Electric Pole Saw extends your capacity to reach overhead branches up to 15ft. high with an adjustable telescoping pole. The 8 Amp motor drives the saw with 10in. Oregon low-kickback bar and chain. Tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw. Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations. Chain Length in. 10, Cutting Thickness in. up to 9 dia., Operating Height ft. Up to 15, Amps 8, Bar Length in. 10, Switch Type Trigger, Shaft Length in. 57 to 96, Shaft Type Telescoping, Common Usage Pruning, cutting. 8 Amp motor is powerful enough to handle most jobs 10in. low-kickback bar is big enough for most trimming jobs Extends your reach to up to 15 ft.H. to reach high branches without a ladder 96in.L when fully extended Safely prune and trim with your feet on the ground Convenient tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations Saw head can be removed from pole to be used as a chain saw The push button oiler easily and accurately applies oil when needed Locking trigger prevents accidental starts 10in. lead power cord
Average Customer Rating:
4.535 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (43 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
41 of 43(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Review 21 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two saws in one-Great

,
April 23, 2013
By rutrow
from Grand Prairie, Tx
"This saw gets the job done!! Easy to use on the pole and on the ground. Great saw and great value. Don't leave oil in the oilier, it will leak out. Read the instructions.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington Electric Pole Saw 10" Bar Mod# 1015DPS

,
November 7, 2012
By DJ02
from Green Valley, Arizona
"I used this pole saw to trim Queen Ann Palm fronds. It works like a bomb. Lots of reach without having to get on a ladder. Not too hard to handle at full extension but certainly not a light little toy.
Good instruction booklet and safety articles. Only complaint is that the oiler dribbles and leaks when the saw is turned off and waiting to be used again. Not just a drop or two, like a 1/8 cup of oil. Messy. This saw is very aggressive and certainly does the job with ease.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy!

,
October 28, 2012
By CG14
from San Antonio, TX
"Great saw! Bought this to clear a new lot where we intend to build. Went through mesquite and oak with ease! Automatic oiler would be nice but otherwise a great tool. Highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough & Inexpensive

,
October 26, 2012
By TCAT4
from Houston, TX
"Great pole saw...does more than expected for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

chainsaw, telescoping

,
October 26, 2012
By Crashf6
from Buckeye, AZ
"Bought product to trim Mesquite tree. It accomplished task in relatively short time satisfactorily. Of note, in lower
branch environments, one has to cut more laterally
vs vertically. With the weight of the chain saw, at the end, this can be quite challenging from weight and angle.
Found that bracing handle on hip/thigh for additional support afforded some benefit.
Given that, it did accomplish task and was much more efficient then pruners as obviously some branches were much too large to prune
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two Thumbs Up!!

,
October 22, 2012
By MikeyD22
from Palmerton,PA
"I spent two hours one day on an older pine tree cleaning up the bottom branches with a manual pole trimmer . I thought there has to be a better way! Here it is! I used this unit once so far and in ten minutes I accomplished what would have taken me over two hours with a manual pole trimmer. The unit is well constructed for normal homeowner use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool, great price

,
October 15, 2012
By Polar59
from Dallas
"I bought this tool to trim pecan trees around our lake house. It works great for that. The bonus is the fact that the chainsaw can be removed to do small trimming that I would otherwise have to get the big chainsaw out for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remington pole saw

,
October 12, 2012
By Markuda
from Chisholm, Mn.
"I have a lot of trees in my yard and I purchased this mostly for general trimming. I like the fact that its just not a pole saw because you can use the saw by itself for cutting small logs. I would have given it five stars, but I would've liked an automatic oiler on the saw. The manual oiler works fine, but an automatic would be preferred. It does get A bit heavy after a while but it works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth your time

,
October 9, 2012
By JimA65
from Maryland
"Constantly breaks down, frustrating, very poorly designed. Dont waste your hard earned money. Buy Stihl or something made well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-10points
4out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good tool for minor tree work

,
October 8, 2012
By LadyRancher
from Mustang, OK
"I purchased this tool for minor "above" tree trimming of minor limbs. For the price - this tool over performed for what I expected. Some folks may complain about the oil requiring to be emptied before storage - but considering the ease of which the chain is oiled during use - I personally do not mind doing this. I would and will recommend purchasing this electric chain saw to friend wanting something to get those pesky smaller dead branches out of their trees."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

BEWARE DECEPTIVE DESCRIPTION

,
October 8, 2012
By STEVIED46
from TUCSON
"THE DEAL ABOUT A 15 FT. EXTENSION DOES NOT MEAN THE LENGTH OF THE POLE. IT IS HOW HIGH A 6 FT PERSON CAN REACH WITH THE SAW ON THE EXTENDED POLE.. OTHERWISE IT IS A CHEAP ELECTRIC CHAINSAW ATACHED TO A POLE. WORKS FINE. JUST DO NOT LIKE THE 15 FT EXTENSION DESCRIPTION.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remington electric pole saw

,
October 8, 2012
By RRmodeler
from Vinton, VA
"This is a very good product, that only has 2 drawbacks, being electric you must drag an extension cord around, and for my use, the extension would be nicer if about 12" longer. Other then these 2 wants it works great and I would reccomend it to anyone who wants a power prunning saw."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT FOR SMALL AND MEDIUM JOBS

,
October 8, 2012
By 1MKYMSE
from ASTORIA N.Y
"This Saw is great for small and medium jobs, cuts lims and branches fast and easy. Great for camping too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Buying another

,
September 26, 2012
By Fraydnot
from TX
"I purchased an earlier version (in 1996) of this brand. The handle on the saw cracked and fell apart. I plan to buy another one. the current model looks to be better designed. Don't leave it attached to pole when not in use I think that is what led to mine breaking."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Trimming Trees

,
August 21, 2012
By loc31
from Tampa, FL
"Purchased this to trim trees around the house and works great. I used to use a saws all with a ladder and this is so much easier and cut the time in half and is probably a lot safer. Guess it helps to use the right tools for the job!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

,
August 20, 2012
By Baj1611
from Terry, Mississippi
"I love the extendable handle and the EZ Grip Handle. It cuts through tree branches with ease and stores easily on the wall.
It does get a little top heavy when fully extended, but I think this should be a common sense thing. This is the second Remington pole saw I have purchased and have been very pleased with both of them.
Great Value for the price!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real cut-up!

,
August 20, 2012
By Mcgee123
from Miami Springs, FL
"This is an excellent product. Very versatile, easy to operate and effective. Will do both big and small jobs with no problems. And best of all, like all products sold by Northern Tool, just ask for help. The staff is outstanding and will help with any question, problem or issue."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tool!!

,
August 20, 2012
By TMR65
from NE Montana
"I have used the saw for several months, and love it! Seven inch ash limbs come down in about 20 seconds. I have not extended the pole all the way yet.. It's heavy, and you had better not be under the limb! I like to be at least 8 ft away from the drop zone, and have the pole saw at a 45 degree angle. You won't have to use any down pressure, and if the saw binds, or runs out of power, you can lift it up a little..
The chain oiler does work OK, but I'm used to saws with a plunger pump. I like to keep a chainsaw chain VERY oiled."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp

,
August 18, 2012
By GaryYMaryland
from Sykesville,. MD
"I bought and used the electric saw in May. I was satisfied with the performance as I was cutting high branches off my tree. It is top heavy when you extend it to the full height, so you had to be prepared when the limb was cut off. I also liked the feature of being able to remove it from the pole and use it separately."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for FREE SHIPPING Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Great

,
August 14, 2012
By MrTerry
from Roanoke, Va
"Worked great for pruning small trees. I was cutting through limbs 4-5 inches with ease. Also worked great for cutting off limbs before cutting down entire tree."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.