Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS

Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS

Item# 24779
This Remington Electric Pole Saw extends your capacity to reach overhead branches up to 15ft. high with an adjustable telescoping pole. The 8 Amp motor drives the saw with 10in. Oregon low-kickback bar and chain. Tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw. Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations. Chain Length in. 10, Cutting Thickness in. up to 9 dia., Operating Height ft. Up to 15, Amps 8, Bar Length in. 10, Switch Type Trigger, Shaft Length in. 57 to 96, Shaft Type Telescoping, Common Usage Pruning, cutting. 8 Amp motor is powerful enough to handle most jobs 10in. low-kickback bar is big enough for most trimming jobs Extends your reach to up to 15 ft.H. to reach high branches without a ladder 96in.L when fully extended Safely prune and trim with your feet on the ground Convenient tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations Saw head can be removed from pole to be used as a chain saw The push button oiler easily and accurately applies oil when needed Locking trigger prevents accidental starts 10in. lead power cord
Average Customer Rating:
4.532 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (62 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
59 of 62(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Review 1 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remington Pole Saw

,
October 27, 2014
By Sylvest
from Black Forest, CO
"I use this pole saw for trimming dead branches off our many pine trees. It cuts very well and has good reach.
Since the full weight of the saw is on the outer end of the pole, I would not recommend it for someone without good arm and hand strength, especially at full extension.
Since it is electric, you are limited to reasonable extension cord distance from an outlet.
A plus is that the saw was obviously designed as a small hand held electric chain saw, then given a pole attachment, so it works very well for cutting up brush and branches when removed from the pole (easily done) if you can keep from cutting the cord in half.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the money

,
October 23, 2014
By Chris2003
from MS
"It has served all my needs with no problems have been using it for a month or so"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tool

,
October 22, 2014
By areotech
from Tishomingo, MS
"i have used my new Remington pole saw for about 2 hrs so far and I am very impressed. It cuts fast, and is simple to use. the only draw back and the reason I did not give it 5 starts, is the fact it is very top heavy when fully extended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

remington saw

,
October 21, 2014
By hihood
from wilkes barre pa.
"priced right,many uses, powerfull, just what I expected from Northern. Keep up the good work. As always great shipping and warranty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Electric pole saw

,
October 20, 2014
By theairportguy
from Houston TX
"I like the product. Works good. I had a challenge assemblying the product. The instructions should have been better.
I had to go the store, take a photo with my Iphone and then go back to finish assembling it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

owner

,
October 19, 2014
By trap115
from spruce pine,nc
"very good product! easy to use and cuts great. would recommend to anyone that has some trimming to do"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay for light work

,
October 19, 2014
By HarmoniousHandyman
from Dallas
"It does what it said it could do and what I needed it for (light tree trimming). I agree with other reviewers that it is 'top' heavy when full extended, but it already feels marginally up to safe cutting (not necessarily flimsy, but I wouldn't want a heavy branch to fall on it).
Keep in mind, it runs on electricity, which keeps the weight down, but branches seem to reach out and grab the cord; so you really want to plan out beforehand where the cord is going to run, somewhere other than under branches and your feet.
Actually, the only reason I wouldn't recommend it to a friend is that most of my friends would likely lose a finger using a chainsaw.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cuts good

,
October 19, 2014
By RHF148
from south central Georgia
"I've used it with a drop cord run from my shop to trim pecan limbs up to 5" and it cut them easily and fast. The real reason I bought it was to trim shooting lanes from different deer stands on my property. The reach is great, easy to handle. the top end weight is not as bad as I was worried about. With a 1250 watt generator it worked like a charm. I'm extremely pleased with it. Even with the low kick back chain it cuts fairly fast."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect detachable chainsaw / pole saw

,
October 19, 2014
By eddingeorgia
from georgia
"perfect saw for around the house use but capapable of sawing logs ( limited to blade length) into splittable firewood"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great tool.

,
October 18, 2014
By JackOATrades
from Charleston, SC
"This is a great tool. I cut some really large limbs. Probably larger than recommended and it did the trick. Plenty of power and not too heavy to use while standing on an 8' ladder. I would recommend it to anyone that needs to trim trees around the house. Much better than trying to use loppers with a pruning saw blade on the end. Ten times as fast and ten times easier."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

telescoping pole saw

,
October 18, 2014
By Greenone
from Upstate NY
"Works as intended. Not too heavy. Easily done with portable generator. I wish it had an automatic oiler. And you are supposed to empty the oil after use or it will leak out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the Saturday squire...

,
October 18, 2014
By DLW52
from Waterford, MI
"I purchased this for the occasional just-out-of-reach branch that needs to be trimmed, and it turned out to be the perfect tool for my purposes.
The first challenge was a number of 10-15' high oak limbs that were several-years-dead and needed removal. I was impressed by both the power and ease of use when taking these 3"+ limbs down, including the ability to under cut the limb to prevent stripping.
It did exactly what it was advertised to do and I'm very pleased with its performance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

New owner

,
October 17, 2014
By flatt8
from Az
"Comes with easy to use instruction/assembly. The pole does not lock together easily - needs a lot of muscle. And it is necessarily top heavy. But it works well - cutting up to 2" branches and it keeps me out of the thorns. Will use it to trim agave as well as mesquite. Have had it only a few weeks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain Saw

,
October 17, 2014
By Gnuts
from Pittsburgh, PA.
"Price is more than reasonable. Great tool I used it right away. Overhead extension works wonderfully. No flaws in this tool in my opinion!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 9, 2014
By Uglyest
from Salt Lake City, Utah
"It may not be as strong as a gas powered unit but it does a very good job of taking out the dead branches in our trees. The larger the branch the longer it will take to cut it off but the average sized branch comes off very quickly. Out of the box the unit needs to have the chain saw attached to the pole but my grandmother could do that. Add the chain oil and your off trimming. The adjustable pole works great and the overall reach is very good. This unit is a great buy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the Job

,
September 28, 2014
By Him001
from SC
"Well made, easy to assemble. Only flaw is if you have neck and shoulder pain issues, the weight of this extended saw will be uncomfortable to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
September 22, 2014
By Paul63
from yoder, colorado
"Lots of power. Will cut a 10 inch trunk with ease. I know, as long as the chain is sharp. Nice not having to climb a ladder anymore."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Is Not a Polish Joke

,
September 20, 2014
By nicklename
from tn
"I own a gas powered Husqvarna that is wonderful. I bot this so that I could cut limbs way above my head without climbing. I am getting to old for such activity. I don't ask this saw to do a lot. It has proven very handy off of this pole, as well as on it. I don't think the I would like to limb a large tree with it, but for what I want it for, it has performed superbly. I purchased this about a year or so ago at my local NT store right by the freeway. The only drawback that I can see is that the oiler is not automatic, but I am not so old that I can't remember to push the blub."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

,
September 20, 2014
By Hexa
from Kansas City, MO
"Works well. Does what I expected. Has a good reach."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of Junk

,
September 17, 2014
By AuntieAnnie
from Missouri
"The motor burned up after minor use. Remington would not stand behind it, even though it was under warranty. They made me take it to a repair shop miles away, then refused to fix it because they claimed I owned a landscape business. I don't, so I argued and they backed down. When I went to pick it up, I was told Remington refused to fix it. Do not buy anything manufactured by this company."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.