Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS

Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS

Item# 24779
This Remington Electric Pole Saw extends your capacity to reach overhead branches up to 15ft. high with an adjustable telescoping pole. The 8 Amp motor drives the saw with 10in. Oregon low-kickback bar and chain. Tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw. Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations. Chain Length in. 10, Cutting Thickness in. up to 9 dia., Operating Height ft. Up to 15, Amps 8, Bar Length in. 10, Switch Type Trigger, Shaft Length in. 57 to 96, Shaft Type Telescoping, Common Usage Pruning, cutting. 8 Amp motor is powerful enough to handle most jobs 10in. low-kickback bar is big enough for most trimming jobs Extends your reach to up to 15 ft.H. to reach high branches without a ladder 96in.L when fully extended Safely prune and trim with your feet on the ground Convenient tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations Saw head can be removed from pole to be used as a chain saw The push button oiler easily and accurately applies oil when needed Locking trigger prevents accidental starts 10in. lead power cord
Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (39 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
38 of 39(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Review 1 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remington Electric Pole Saw

,
August 30, 2014
By LLODDS1
from Sussex County, NJ
"Easy assembly. Cut 2 inch branches quickly, as would be expected with a brand new chain. Not too top heavy, but I would have liked the handle to extend another foot or so.
Very easy handle length adjustment.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very helpful tool

,
August 30, 2014
By Thisby
from NC
"The pole saw was easy to set up, and I was able to start cutting limbs almost immediately. I love the feature that I can remove the chain part to have a typical chain saw when needed. I also love the reach of the pole saw. The size of the cutting portion is more generous that most other pole saws, so that's a plus. I'm a weakling, so my hubby will have to do most of the long reach cutting, as it is heavy when extended (as all other pole saws I've tried). I can easily manage the chain saw portion. We're very glad that we bought this tool!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington pole saw

,
August 12, 2014
By Bilbbq
from Brooks,ga
"When I got this pole saw it was very easy to assemble and used it right away to trim limbs around deer stands.Works great easy to use,good buy for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked like a charm

,
July 19, 2014
By Jrap
from Cumberland, RI
"Arrived quickly, went together easily, and worked great right out of the box. Had a few branches of a neighbor's tree resting on my shed roof... not any more.
Well worth it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
June 17, 2014
By Squeakyblue
from Texas
"Some 15 trees needed maintenance Texas Ash, Lacebark Elms, Crepe Myrtles, and some shrubs Texas Sage and others. Remington was no problem fast work of the shrubs and low hanging branches of the Crepe Myrtles. Installed the pole for the higher larger branches of the trees no ladder needed. Excellent tool"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Mot

,
June 16, 2014
By CutUp
from Collinsville, IL
"First time that I've ever used an electric chainsaw and this has performed very well. Have now used it a couple of times and so has my son and it's very powerful and convenient. I would recommend it to everyone. I'm really only interested in trimming trees around my house so when I decided to buy it, I knew that I'd have availability of electric to power it. Sure saves on having to mix gas and worry about getting it started each time. Great value also compared to the $500-600 range for a similar gas powered unit. I'm sold."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trim The Trees With Ease!

,
June 7, 2014
By 1Bigjohn
from New Kent, VA
"The Remington Electric Pole Saw makes it easy to trim those low limbs along the driveway. You can also take it off the pole and use it for cutting down unwanted small trees that have grown.where you do not want them. This is a great tool to have for those hard to reach jobs. For the price and the quality it is a great deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy helper

,
May 3, 2014
By Topgdog
from Ohio
"Works great, just what I needed to prun the trees in my yard. Could have used this years ago! Great product for me, allows me to reach heights that I would normally need to use a ladder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington Pole Saw

,
March 13, 2014
By deanq
from AZ
"Bought this to trim mesquite trees along our drive. The overall reach is perfect for these size tree. (rarely over 20' tall). I was surprised how well it cut. It handled 6" dia. branches with ease. Was rather easy to maneuver with pole fully extended. The pole assembly is VERY sturdy. I would second the other reviewers comment on keeping the chain sharp. Its what makes this so effective IMO."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light Duty Electric Pole Saw

,
February 10, 2014
By PhilMN
from Minnesota
"Overhead work with a manual pole saw is tiring, even with a sharp blade. And professional, powered pole saws are expensive. This electric pole saw fills a nice gap for homeowner use.
I have owned this saw for several years and pruned many trees in the neighborhood with it. All have been within 100' of an outlet, so the electric cord has not been an issue. And the electric motor is convenient, compared to a gas saw. The ability to use it as a hand held saw for branches on the ground is a nice feature, and also breaks the unit down smaller for storage.
But the saw is lightly constructed, compared to most other electric chainsaws. It will not stand up to heavy use or abuse. It is not a firewood saw. If you keep the chain sharp, and let the saw do the work on branches, it can be a good choice for homeowner use.
I gave it 4 stars instead of 3 because it does work well within it's limits."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
February 5, 2014
By Samiamorlando
from Orlando
"this thing is great , i was cutting down 12 inch branches 10 feet up !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lower limbs

,
February 4, 2014
By BigBull
from Alabama
"I bought this to clear lower limbs at new house. It works great just wished for about 3-5 more feet of reach."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power

,
September 30, 2013
By carlv2
from BUSHKILL,PA
"very powerful for a plug in chain saw and its light weight when you take it off the pole."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Investment ...

,
September 23, 2013
By Corkya
from Charleston,SC
"....For Home projects. Has performed flawlessly on several projects. Auto-oiling would be nice but for the money, manual works fine. As with any tool, clean well after use and it'll work well when you need it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little saw

,
April 24, 2013
By 1goodsaw
from Long island
"This is a great saw for the price! It won't replace a gas power pole saw but for a home owner it's a great saw to have. The electric saw is very handy to have its like two saws in one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pole Saw

,
April 23, 2013
By somedude
from Houston
"I had a Poulan electric pole saw before this, and I am much happier with this one. Cuts very proficiently. This saw is much sturdier and less strain to operate. For its price range, I am quite satisfied with its performance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two saws in one-Great

,
April 23, 2013
By rutrow
from Grand Prairie, Tx
"This saw gets the job done!! Easy to use on the pole and on the ground. Great saw and great value. Don't leave oil in the oilier, it will leak out. Read the instructions.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington Electric Pole Saw 10" Bar Mod# 1015DPS

,
November 7, 2012
By DJ02
from Green Valley, Arizona
"I used this pole saw to trim Queen Ann Palm fronds. It works like a bomb. Lots of reach without having to get on a ladder. Not too hard to handle at full extension but certainly not a light little toy.
Good instruction booklet and safety articles. Only complaint is that the oiler dribbles and leaks when the saw is turned off and waiting to be used again. Not just a drop or two, like a 1/8 cup of oil. Messy. This saw is very aggressive and certainly does the job with ease.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy!

,
October 28, 2012
By CG14
from San Antonio, TX
"Great saw! Bought this to clear a new lot where we intend to build. Went through mesquite and oak with ease! Automatic oiler would be nice but otherwise a great tool. Highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough & Inexpensive

,
October 26, 2012
By TCAT4
from Houston, TX
"Great pole saw...does more than expected for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.