Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"

"Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"

Item# 24779
"This Remington Electric Pole Saw extends your capacity to reach overhead branches up to 15ft. high with an adjustable telescoping pole. The 8 Amp motor drives the saw with 10in. Oregon low-kickback bar and chain. Tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw. Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations. Chain Length in. 10, Cutting Thickness in. up to 9 dia., Operating Height ft. Up to 15, Amps 8, Bar Length in. 10, Switch Type Trigger, Shaft Length in. 57 to 96, Shaft Type Telescoping, Common Usage Pruning, cutting. 8 Amp motor is powerful enough to handle most jobs 10in. low-kickback bar is big enough for most trimming jobs Extends your reach to up to 15 ft.H. to reach high branches without a ladder 96in.L when fully extended Safely prune and trim with your feet on the ground Convenient tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations Saw head can be removed from pole to be used as a chain saw The push button oiler easily and accurately applies oil when needed Locking trigger prevents accidental starts 10in. lead power cord"
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (69 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
66 of 69(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Review 1 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great unit!!

,
December 4, 2014
By Treeone
from NE
" This is the handiest tool for trimming trees around the house and shop. I wondered about the electric unit but it works great and you never have to worry about it starting.
The extendable handle is great also you don't have to have a ladder to reach most branches! Now, if you have a good enough generator it is total mobile for trimming everywhere.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington Pole Saw

,
November 18, 2014
By Fluff58
from Waverly,Tn
" A great product works as advertised. Very handy to have for branches. I really like the way the saw detaches with no tools and you can use it as a chain saw. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD

,
November 17, 2014
By BGILL
from STILWELL, OK
" I used it on the trees around the house and feel it has already paid for itself. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good stuff

,
November 15, 2014
By gardener2
from houston
" the tool works ok. Extending the rod all the way make.the weight feel a little too heavy. But it is manegeable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent tool for my specific need

,
November 7, 2014
By DB600
from Tinley Park IL
" I have two acres and have numerous trees. This tool has found a spot in my garage to use on the many low hanging limbs that would need a tree trimming service to be hired. I my case this tool will save $$ and has come in very handy. Well balanced, designed well. The instructions on use are very specific and well written. Could have included a cord lock to keep extension attached. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Extenede pole saw

,
November 2, 2014
By macktractor2
from Indiana
" This works nice to reach those high limbs that I cannot reach with a regular chain saw. It cuts nice but did get tangled a few times in the small limbs, but that is just the nature of the business. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Serves the Purpose

,
October 30, 2014
By HowieG
from Olympia, WA
" I bought the electric tree trimmer because I already have a small generator that I can use to run it with. It's less cost than a gas trimmer and makes my generator more useful. I've barely started to use it, but expect it will work out fine. I will be able to move the generator to one spot at a time and will often use the trimmer to take care of limb work on several trees at a time. I will move the generator with a yard trailer attached to a riding lawn mower. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remington Pole Saw

,
October 27, 2014
By Sylvest
from Black Forest, CO
" I use this pole saw for trimming dead branches off our many pine trees. It cuts very well and has good reach.
Since the full weight of the saw is on the outer end of the pole, I would not recommend it for someone without good arm and hand strength, especially at full extension.
Since it is electric, you are limited to reasonable extension cord distance from an outlet.
A plus is that the saw was obviously designed as a small hand held electric chain saw, then given a pole attachment, so it works very well for cutting up brush and branches when removed from the pole (easily done) if you can keep from cutting the cord in half.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the money

,
October 23, 2014
By Chris2003
from MS
" It has served all my needs with no problems have been using it for a month or so "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tool

,
October 22, 2014
By areotech
from Tishomingo, MS
" i have used my new Remington pole saw for about 2 hrs so far and I am very impressed. It cuts fast, and is simple to use. the only draw back and the reason I did not give it 5 starts, is the fact it is very top heavy when fully extended. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

remington saw

,
October 21, 2014
By hihood
from wilkes barre pa.
" priced right,many uses, powerfull, just what I expected from Northern. Keep up the good work. As always great shipping and warranty. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Electric pole saw

,
October 20, 2014
By theairportguy
from Houston TX
" I like the product. Works good. I had a challenge assemblying the product. The instructions should have been better.
I had to go the store, take a photo with my Iphone and then go back to finish assembling it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

owner

,
October 19, 2014
By trap115
from spruce pine,nc
" very good product! easy to use and cuts great. would recommend to anyone that has some trimming to do "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay for light work

,
October 19, 2014
By HarmoniousHandyman
from Dallas
" It does what it said it could do and what I needed it for (light tree trimming). I agree with other reviewers that it is 'top' heavy when full extended, but it already feels marginally up to safe cutting (not necessarily flimsy, but I wouldn't want a heavy branch to fall on it).
Keep in mind, it runs on electricity, which keeps the weight down, but branches seem to reach out and grab the cord; so you really want to plan out beforehand where the cord is going to run, somewhere other than under branches and your feet.
Actually, the only reason I wouldn't recommend it to a friend is that most of my friends would likely lose a finger using a chainsaw.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cuts good

,
October 19, 2014
By RHF148
from south central Georgia
" I've used it with a drop cord run from my shop to trim pecan limbs up to 5" and it cut them easily and fast. The real reason I bought it was to trim shooting lanes from different deer stands on my property. The reach is great, easy to handle. the top end weight is not as bad as I was worried about. With a 1250 watt generator it worked like a charm. I'm extremely pleased with it. Even with the low kick back chain it cuts fairly fast. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect detachable chainsaw / pole saw

,
October 19, 2014
By eddingeorgia
from georgia
" perfect saw for around the house use but capapable of sawing logs ( limited to blade length) into splittable firewood "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great tool.

,
October 18, 2014
By JackOATrades
from Charleston, SC
" This is a great tool. I cut some really large limbs. Probably larger than recommended and it did the trick. Plenty of power and not too heavy to use while standing on an 8' ladder. I would recommend it to anyone that needs to trim trees around the house. Much better than trying to use loppers with a pruning saw blade on the end. Ten times as fast and ten times easier. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

telescoping pole saw

,
October 18, 2014
By Greenone
from Upstate NY
" Works as intended. Not too heavy. Easily done with portable generator. I wish it had an automatic oiler. And you are supposed to empty the oil after use or it will leak out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the Saturday squire...

,
October 18, 2014
By DLW52
from Waterford, MI
" I purchased this for the occasional just-out-of-reach branch that needs to be trimmed, and it turned out to be the perfect tool for my purposes.
The first challenge was a number of 10-15' high oak limbs that were several-years-dead and needed removal. I was impressed by both the power and ease of use when taking these 3"+ limbs down, including the ability to under cut the limb to prevent stripping.
It did exactly what it was advertised to do and I'm very pleased with its performance. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

New owner

,
October 17, 2014
By flatt8
from Az
" Comes with easy to use instruction/assembly. The pole does not lock together easily - needs a lot of muscle. And it is necessarily top heavy. But it works well - cutting up to 2" branches and it keeps me out of the thorns. Will use it to trim agave as well as mesquite. Have had it only a few weeks. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.