Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS

Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS

Item# 24779
This Remington Electric Pole Saw extends your capacity to reach overhead branches up to 15ft. high with an adjustable telescoping pole. The 8 Amp motor drives the saw with 10in. Oregon low-kickback bar and chain. Tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw. Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations. Chain Length in. 10, Cutting Thickness in. up to 9 dia., Operating Height ft. Up to 15, Amps 8, Bar Length in. 10, Switch Type Trigger, Shaft Length in. 57 to 96, Shaft Type Telescoping, Common Usage Pruning, cutting. 8 Amp motor is powerful enough to handle most jobs 10in. low-kickback bar is big enough for most trimming jobs Extends your reach to up to 15 ft.H. to reach high branches without a ladder 96in.L when fully extended Safely prune and trim with your feet on the ground Convenient tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations Saw head can be removed from pole to be used as a chain saw The push button oiler easily and accurately applies oil when needed Locking trigger prevents accidental starts 10in. lead power cord
Average Customer Rating:
4.532 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (62 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
59 of 62(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Review 21 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington electric pole saw

,
September 16, 2014
By Berr
from WA state
"I bought his saw to prune some huge limbs from 80+ year old fir trees lining our pasture as well as large limbs from very old maple trees in our driveway. I put a Yamaha generator in the trailer towed by my CJ5 and made the circuit cutting limbs. The saw performed amazingly well. I especially like the double extension handle. When you need a little more extension the part by the handle extends for more distance. I will use it to prune some limbs out of old apple trees too that need to go. It's a bit heavy but works really well. Ber"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
September 15, 2014
By LadybugPayne
from Bremerton, WA
"I bought the pole chainsaw because I didn't want to play around with a regular chainsaw while standing on a ladder. I thought the weight of the saw would be too much.
Although this pole chainsaw is heavy and awkward when the pole is fully extended, it is much safer to use then a saw on a ladder. I've managed to cut lots of low handing branches with ease.
Yes, I would recommend this item to a friend.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not sure what a "review Title' is?

,
September 2, 2014
By Wagie
from Michigan
"Pretty good little unit, sufficiently powerful to cut everything I have done so far. With a 10" blade you can really cut something 20" in diameter (I guess). Cut 8-10' Locust (tough stuff) with not a problem. One thing nice about electric, when you get off the switch, it’s quiet! The 15' extension is a little heavy and somewhat awkward, but I haven't worked enough with it to conquer any shortcomings. jlw"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remington Electric Pole Saw

,
August 30, 2014
By LLODDS1
from Sussex County, NJ
"Easy assembly. Cut 2 inch branches quickly, as would be expected with a brand new chain. Not too top heavy, but I would have liked the handle to extend another foot or so.
Very easy handle length adjustment.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very helpful tool

,
August 30, 2014
By Thisby
from NC
"The pole saw was easy to set up, and I was able to start cutting limbs almost immediately. I love the feature that I can remove the chain part to have a typical chain saw when needed. I also love the reach of the pole saw. The size of the cutting portion is more generous that most other pole saws, so that's a plus. I'm a weakling, so my hubby will have to do most of the long reach cutting, as it is heavy when extended (as all other pole saws I've tried). I can easily manage the chain saw portion. We're very glad that we bought this tool!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington pole saw

,
August 12, 2014
By Bilbbq
from Brooks,ga
"When I got this pole saw it was very easy to assemble and used it right away to trim limbs around deer stands.Works great easy to use,good buy for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked like a charm

,
July 19, 2014
By Jrap
from Cumberland, RI
"Arrived quickly, went together easily, and worked great right out of the box. Had a few branches of a neighbor's tree resting on my shed roof... not any more.
Well worth it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
June 17, 2014
By Squeakyblue
from Texas
"Some 15 trees needed maintenance Texas Ash, Lacebark Elms, Crepe Myrtles, and some shrubs Texas Sage and others. Remington was no problem fast work of the shrubs and low hanging branches of the Crepe Myrtles. Installed the pole for the higher larger branches of the trees no ladder needed. Excellent tool"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Mot

,
June 16, 2014
By CutUp
from Collinsville, IL
"First time that I've ever used an electric chainsaw and this has performed very well. Have now used it a couple of times and so has my son and it's very powerful and convenient. I would recommend it to everyone. I'm really only interested in trimming trees around my house so when I decided to buy it, I knew that I'd have availability of electric to power it. Sure saves on having to mix gas and worry about getting it started each time. Great value also compared to the $500-600 range for a similar gas powered unit. I'm sold."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trim The Trees With Ease!

,
June 7, 2014
By 1Bigjohn
from New Kent, VA
"The Remington Electric Pole Saw makes it easy to trim those low limbs along the driveway. You can also take it off the pole and use it for cutting down unwanted small trees that have grown.where you do not want them. This is a great tool to have for those hard to reach jobs. For the price and the quality it is a great deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy helper

,
May 3, 2014
By Topgdog
from Ohio
"Works great, just what I needed to prun the trees in my yard. Could have used this years ago! Great product for me, allows me to reach heights that I would normally need to use a ladder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington Pole Saw

,
March 13, 2014
By deanq
from AZ
"Bought this to trim mesquite trees along our drive. The overall reach is perfect for these size tree. (rarely over 20' tall). I was surprised how well it cut. It handled 6" dia. branches with ease. Was rather easy to maneuver with pole fully extended. The pole assembly is VERY sturdy. I would second the other reviewers comment on keeping the chain sharp. Its what makes this so effective IMO."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light Duty Electric Pole Saw

,
February 10, 2014
By PhilMN
from Minnesota
"Overhead work with a manual pole saw is tiring, even with a sharp blade. And professional, powered pole saws are expensive. This electric pole saw fills a nice gap for homeowner use.
I have owned this saw for several years and pruned many trees in the neighborhood with it. All have been within 100' of an outlet, so the electric cord has not been an issue. And the electric motor is convenient, compared to a gas saw. The ability to use it as a hand held saw for branches on the ground is a nice feature, and also breaks the unit down smaller for storage.
But the saw is lightly constructed, compared to most other electric chainsaws. It will not stand up to heavy use or abuse. It is not a firewood saw. If you keep the chain sharp, and let the saw do the work on branches, it can be a good choice for homeowner use.
I gave it 4 stars instead of 3 because it does work well within it's limits."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
February 5, 2014
By Samiamorlando
from Orlando
"this thing is great , i was cutting down 12 inch branches 10 feet up !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lower limbs

,
February 4, 2014
By BigBull
from Alabama
"I bought this to clear lower limbs at new house. It works great just wished for about 3-5 more feet of reach."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power

,
September 30, 2013
By carlv2
from BUSHKILL,PA
"very powerful for a plug in chain saw and its light weight when you take it off the pole."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Investment ...

,
September 23, 2013
By Corkya
from Charleston,SC
"....For Home projects. Has performed flawlessly on several projects. Auto-oiling would be nice but for the money, manual works fine. As with any tool, clean well after use and it'll work well when you need it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little saw

,
April 24, 2013
By 1goodsaw
from Long island
"This is a great saw for the price! It won't replace a gas power pole saw but for a home owner it's a great saw to have. The electric saw is very handy to have its like two saws in one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pole Saw

,
April 23, 2013
By somedude
from Houston
"I had a Poulan electric pole saw before this, and I am much happier with this one. Cuts very proficiently. This saw is much sturdier and less strain to operate. For its price range, I am quite satisfied with its performance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two saws in one-Great

,
April 23, 2013
By rutrow
from Grand Prairie, Tx
"This saw gets the job done!! Easy to use on the pole and on the ground. Great saw and great value. Don't leave oil in the oilier, it will leak out. Read the instructions.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.