Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"

"Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"

Item# 24779
"This Remington Electric Pole Saw extends your capacity to reach overhead branches up to 15ft. high with an adjustable telescoping pole. The 8 Amp motor drives the saw with 10in. Oregon low-kickback bar and chain. Tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw. Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations. Chain Length in. 10, Cutting Thickness in. up to 9 dia., Operating Height ft. Up to 15, Amps 8, Bar Length in. 10, Switch Type Trigger, Shaft Length in. 57 to 96, Shaft Type Telescoping, Common Usage Pruning, cutting. 8 Amp motor is powerful enough to handle most jobs 10in. low-kickback bar is big enough for most trimming jobs Extends your reach to up to 15 ft.H. to reach high branches without a ladder 96in.L when fully extended Safely prune and trim with your feet on the ground Convenient tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations Saw head can be removed from pole to be used as a chain saw The push button oiler easily and accurately applies oil when needed Locking trigger prevents accidental starts 10in. lead power cord"
Average Customer Rating:
4.507 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (75 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
72 of 75(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Review 21 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cuts good

,
October 19, 2014
By RHF148
from south central Georgia
" I've used it with a drop cord run from my shop to trim pecan limbs up to 5" and it cut them easily and fast. The real reason I bought it was to trim shooting lanes from different deer stands on my property. The reach is great, easy to handle. the top end weight is not as bad as I was worried about. With a 1250 watt generator it worked like a charm. I'm extremely pleased with it. Even with the low kick back chain it cuts fairly fast. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect detachable chainsaw / pole saw

,
October 19, 2014
By eddingeorgia
from georgia
" perfect saw for around the house use but capapable of sawing logs ( limited to blade length) into splittable firewood "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great tool.

,
October 18, 2014
By JackOATrades
from Charleston, SC
" This is a great tool. I cut some really large limbs. Probably larger than recommended and it did the trick. Plenty of power and not too heavy to use while standing on an 8' ladder. I would recommend it to anyone that needs to trim trees around the house. Much better than trying to use loppers with a pruning saw blade on the end. Ten times as fast and ten times easier. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

telescoping pole saw

,
October 18, 2014
By Greenone
from Upstate NY
" Works as intended. Not too heavy. Easily done with portable generator. I wish it had an automatic oiler. And you are supposed to empty the oil after use or it will leak out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the Saturday squire...

,
October 18, 2014
By DLW52
from Waterford, MI
" I purchased this for the occasional just-out-of-reach branch that needs to be trimmed, and it turned out to be the perfect tool for my purposes.
The first challenge was a number of 10-15' high oak limbs that were several-years-dead and needed removal. I was impressed by both the power and ease of use when taking these 3"+ limbs down, including the ability to under cut the limb to prevent stripping.
It did exactly what it was advertised to do and I'm very pleased with its performance. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

New owner

,
October 17, 2014
By flatt8
from Az
" Comes with easy to use instruction/assembly. The pole does not lock together easily - needs a lot of muscle. And it is necessarily top heavy. But it works well - cutting up to 2" branches and it keeps me out of the thorns. Will use it to trim agave as well as mesquite. Have had it only a few weeks. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain Saw

,
October 17, 2014
By Gnuts
from Pittsburgh, PA.
" Price is more than reasonable. Great tool I used it right away. Overhead extension works wonderfully. No flaws in this tool in my opinion!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 9, 2014
By Uglyest
from Salt Lake City, Utah
" It may not be as strong as a gas powered unit but it does a very good job of taking out the dead branches in our trees. The larger the branch the longer it will take to cut it off but the average sized branch comes off very quickly. Out of the box the unit needs to have the chain saw attached to the pole but my grandmother could do that. Add the chain oil and your off trimming. The adjustable pole works great and the overall reach is very good. This unit is a great buy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the Job

,
September 28, 2014
By Him001
from SC
" Well made, easy to assemble. Only flaw is if you have neck and shoulder pain issues, the weight of this extended saw will be uncomfortable to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
September 22, 2014
By Paul63
from yoder, colorado
" Lots of power. Will cut a 10 inch trunk with ease. I know, as long as the chain is sharp. Nice not having to climb a ladder anymore. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Is Not a Polish Joke

,
September 20, 2014
By nicklename
from tn
" I own a gas powered Husqvarna that is wonderful. I bot this so that I could cut limbs way above my head without climbing. I am getting to old for such activity. I don't ask this saw to do a lot. It has proven very handy off of this pole, as well as on it. I don't think the I would like to limb a large tree with it, but for what I want it for, it has performed superbly. I purchased this about a year or so ago at my local NT store right by the freeway. The only drawback that I can see is that the oiler is not automatic, but I am not so old that I can't remember to push the blub. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

,
September 20, 2014
By Hexa
from Kansas City, MO
" Works well. Does what I expected. Has a good reach. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of Junk

,
September 17, 2014
By AuntieAnnie
from Missouri
" The motor burned up after minor use. Remington would not stand behind it, even though it was under warranty. They made me take it to a repair shop miles away, then refused to fix it because they claimed I owned a landscape business. I don't, so I argued and they backed down. When I went to pick it up, I was told Remington refused to fix it. Do not buy anything manufactured by this company. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington electric pole saw

,
September 16, 2014
By Berr
from WA state
" I bought his saw to prune some huge limbs from 80+ year old fir trees lining our pasture as well as large limbs from very old maple trees in our driveway. I put a Yamaha generator in the trailer towed by my CJ5 and made the circuit cutting limbs. The saw performed amazingly well. I especially like the double extension handle. When you need a little more extension the part by the handle extends for more distance. I will use it to prune some limbs out of old apple trees too that need to go. It's a bit heavy but works really well. Ber "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
September 15, 2014
By LadybugPayne
from Bremerton, WA
" I bought the pole chainsaw because I didn't want to play around with a regular chainsaw while standing on a ladder. I thought the weight of the saw would be too much.
Although this pole chainsaw is heavy and awkward when the pole is fully extended, it is much safer to use then a saw on a ladder. I've managed to cut lots of low handing branches with ease.
Yes, I would recommend this item to a friend.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not sure what a "review Title' is?

,
September 2, 2014
By Wagie
from Michigan
" Pretty good little unit, sufficiently powerful to cut everything I have done so far. With a 10" blade you can really cut something 20" in diameter (I guess). Cut 8-10' Locust (tough stuff) with not a problem. One thing nice about electric, when you get off the switch, it’s quiet! The 15' extension is a little heavy and somewhat awkward, but I haven't worked enough with it to conquer any shortcomings. jlw "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remington Electric Pole Saw

,
August 30, 2014
By LLODDS1
from Sussex County, NJ
" Easy assembly. Cut 2 inch branches quickly, as would be expected with a brand new chain. Not too top heavy, but I would have liked the handle to extend another foot or so.
Very easy handle length adjustment.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very helpful tool

,
August 30, 2014
By Thisby
from NC
" The pole saw was easy to set up, and I was able to start cutting limbs almost immediately. I love the feature that I can remove the chain part to have a typical chain saw when needed. I also love the reach of the pole saw. The size of the cutting portion is more generous that most other pole saws, so that's a plus. I'm a weakling, so my hubby will have to do most of the long reach cutting, as it is heavy when extended (as all other pole saws I've tried). I can easily manage the chain saw portion. We're very glad that we bought this tool! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington pole saw

,
August 12, 2014
By Bilbbq
from Brooks,ga
" When I got this pole saw it was very easy to assemble and used it right away to trim limbs around deer stands.Works great easy to use,good buy for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked like a charm

,
July 19, 2014
By Jrap
from Cumberland, RI
" Arrived quickly, went together easily, and worked great right out of the box. Had a few branches of a neighbor's tree resting on my shed roof... not any more.
Well worth it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.