Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS

Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS

Item# 24779
This Remington Electric Pole Saw extends your capacity to reach overhead branches up to 15ft. high with an adjustable telescoping pole. The 8 Amp motor drives the saw with 10in. Oregon low-kickback bar and chain. Tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw. Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations. Chain Length in. 10, Cutting Thickness in. up to 9 dia., Operating Height ft. Up to 15, Amps 8, Bar Length in. 10, Switch Type Trigger, Shaft Length in. 57 to 96, Shaft Type Telescoping, Common Usage Pruning, cutting. 8 Amp motor is powerful enough to handle most jobs 10in. low-kickback bar is big enough for most trimming jobs Extends your reach to up to 15 ft.H. to reach high branches without a ladder 96in.L when fully extended Safely prune and trim with your feet on the ground Convenient tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations Saw head can be removed from pole to be used as a chain saw The push button oiler easily and accurately applies oil when needed Locking trigger prevents accidental starts 10in. lead power cord
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (36 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
35 of 36(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Review 21 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remington pole saw

,
October 12, 2012
By Markuda
from Chisholm, Mn.
"I have a lot of trees in my yard and I purchased this mostly for general trimming. I like the fact that its just not a pole saw because you can use the saw by itself for cutting small logs. I would have given it five stars, but I would've liked an automatic oiler on the saw. The manual oiler works fine, but an automatic would be preferred. It does get A bit heavy after a while but it works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth your time

,
October 9, 2012
By JimA65
from Maryland
"Constantly breaks down, frustrating, very poorly designed. Dont waste your hard earned money. Buy Stihl or something made well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-9points
4out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good tool for minor tree work

,
October 8, 2012
By LadyRancher
from Mustang, OK
"I purchased this tool for minor "above" tree trimming of minor limbs. For the price - this tool over performed for what I expected. Some folks may complain about the oil requiring to be emptied before storage - but considering the ease of which the chain is oiled during use - I personally do not mind doing this. I would and will recommend purchasing this electric chain saw to friend wanting something to get those pesky smaller dead branches out of their trees."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

BEWARE DECEPTIVE DESCRIPTION

,
October 8, 2012
By STEVIED46
from TUCSON
"THE DEAL ABOUT A 15 FT. EXTENSION DOES NOT MEAN THE LENGTH OF THE POLE. IT IS HOW HIGH A 6 FT PERSON CAN REACH WITH THE SAW ON THE EXTENDED POLE.. OTHERWISE IT IS A CHEAP ELECTRIC CHAINSAW ATACHED TO A POLE. WORKS FINE. JUST DO NOT LIKE THE 15 FT EXTENSION DESCRIPTION.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remington electric pole saw

,
October 8, 2012
By RRmodeler
from Vinton, VA
"This is a very good product, that only has 2 drawbacks, being electric you must drag an extension cord around, and for my use, the extension would be nicer if about 12" longer. Other then these 2 wants it works great and I would reccomend it to anyone who wants a power prunning saw."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT FOR SMALL AND MEDIUM JOBS

,
October 8, 2012
By 1MKYMSE
from ASTORIA N.Y
"This Saw is great for small and medium jobs, cuts lims and branches fast and easy. Great for camping too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Buying another

,
September 26, 2012
By Fraydnot
from TX
"I purchased an earlier version (in 1996) of this brand. The handle on the saw cracked and fell apart. I plan to buy another one. the current model looks to be better designed. Don't leave it attached to pole when not in use I think that is what led to mine breaking."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Trimming Trees

,
August 21, 2012
By loc31
from Tampa, FL
"Purchased this to trim trees around the house and works great. I used to use a saws all with a ladder and this is so much easier and cut the time in half and is probably a lot safer. Guess it helps to use the right tools for the job!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

,
August 20, 2012
By Baj1611
from Terry, Mississippi
"I love the extendable handle and the EZ Grip Handle. It cuts through tree branches with ease and stores easily on the wall.
It does get a little top heavy when fully extended, but I think this should be a common sense thing. This is the second Remington pole saw I have purchased and have been very pleased with both of them.
Great Value for the price!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real cut-up!

,
August 20, 2012
By Mcgee123
from Miami Springs, FL
"This is an excellent product. Very versatile, easy to operate and effective. Will do both big and small jobs with no problems. And best of all, like all products sold by Northern Tool, just ask for help. The staff is outstanding and will help with any question, problem or issue."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tool!!

,
August 20, 2012
By TMR65
from NE Montana
"I have used the saw for several months, and love it! Seven inch ash limbs come down in about 20 seconds. I have not extended the pole all the way yet.. It's heavy, and you had better not be under the limb! I like to be at least 8 ft away from the drop zone, and have the pole saw at a 45 degree angle. You won't have to use any down pressure, and if the saw binds, or runs out of power, you can lift it up a little..
The chain oiler does work OK, but I'm used to saws with a plunger pump. I like to keep a chainsaw chain VERY oiled."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp

,
August 18, 2012
By GaryYMaryland
from Sykesville,. MD
"I bought and used the electric saw in May. I was satisfied with the performance as I was cutting high branches off my tree. It is top heavy when you extend it to the full height, so you had to be prepared when the limb was cut off. I also liked the feature of being able to remove it from the pole and use it separately."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Great

,
August 14, 2012
By MrTerry
from Roanoke, Va
"Worked great for pruning small trees. I was cutting through limbs 4-5 inches with ease. Also worked great for cutting off limbs before cutting down entire tree."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Workhorse

,
August 13, 2012
By randjo
from Centerville,MN
"This pole saw is quite powerfull and cut throught 3-4" limbs with ease, with the exception of binding at times. But this would be expected cutting from 12 or so feet from the ground. A little heavy, but manageable and it really did the job clearing out several limbs. I enjoy cutting with it and look forward to using it again. Most are in agreement with me and the internet reviews are postitive with good reviews. That's the reason I bought it in the first place."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington electric saw

,
August 13, 2012
By busy
from Cato, Wisconsin
"I am a 59 yr. old female. I tried the saw for the first time after a storm that brought down a huge limb. The push button start made it very easy to start and it stopped as soon as I let go of the lever. It performed much better then either I or my husband expected. I found it to be light weight and powerful. I have not used it with the pole yet as I think it may be a bit too heavy for me once it is at the end of the pole, but I'm sure my husband will use it for those hard to reach limbs. It is safer to use then the gas chain saw for certain circumstances. We found the price resonable. The only drawback that I can find is that the saw will leak oil if it is sitting for any lenght of time, so the manual recommends emptying the oil after use."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1015SPS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile saw

,
August 13, 2012
By Techcmos
from Norfolk, VA
"Performed well on pole and as a hand saw. Wife, who does not feel comfortable with a gas chain saw, liked it and used it.
Only drawback is once the chain oil is added, it will constantly weep, by design, until empty (no manual or automatic pump). So, be sure to empty the resevoir before storing.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-36 of 36