Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"

"Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"

Item# 24779
"This Remington Electric Pole Saw extends your capacity to reach overhead branches up to 15ft. high with an adjustable telescoping pole, depending on user height. The 8 Amp motor drives the saw with 10in. Oregon low-kickback bar and chain. Tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw. Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations. Amps 8, Common Usage Pruning, cutting, Switch Type Trigger, Cutting Thickness in. up to 9 dia., Chain Length in. 10, Shaft Length in. 57 to 96, Operating Height ft. Up to 15, Shaft Type Telescoping, Bar Length in. 10. 8 Amp motor is powerful enough to handle most jobs 10in. low-kickback bar is big enough for most trimming jobs Extends your reach to up to 15 ft.H. to reach high branches without a ladder 96in.L when fully extended Safely prune and trim with your feet on the ground Convenient tool-less quick change from pole saw to chain saw Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations Saw head can be removed from pole to be used as a chain saw The push button oiler easily and accurately applies oil when needed Locking trigger prevents accidental starts 10in. lead power cord"
Average Customer Rating:
4.484 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (91 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
29
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
87 of 91(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Review 1 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Saw

,
July 24, 2015
By 2face
from upstate ny
" Runs well, cuts well. Easy to use. For the price this saw has proven to be a great value. Easy to use as a small chain saw as well as a pole saw. Like the fact that it's electric, can use inside for my sculpting, and cutting small firewood. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Real Sharp Cutter

,
July 13, 2015
By Ro22
from VA
" I bought this to clear limbs from around my powerlines - super saw. Only problem I found was the play with the pole trigger; took it apart and hot clued a small piece of plastic so the contact hits each time - worked great. At 73, I still want to do things, and electric saws are the way for me...along with a Honda 2000 Inverter Gen. I strongly recommend this saw; the ability to use as a hand held and then the pole = priceless! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Moderately impressed

,
July 2, 2015
By Manny222
from Minnesota
" I have only cut about a dozen branches, from 2" up to 8". So far I am quite impressed with the power, rpm, and cutting speed. I expected to have to hold the saw back to keep from stalling, but to my surprise it has enough power to cut through quite quickly without a hint of stalling out! Held back from 5 stars only because I have less than 20 minutes of cutting time on the saw. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
July 1, 2015
By IntheATX
from Austin, TX
" Multipurpose use as a pole saw and a small hand chainsaw. Strong, tough and durable I highly recommend this for the home owner looking to get some work done. I was quoted $1600 to have some oak trees trimmed at my house. I bought this saw and hired two laborers and was able to get the work done in three days at a cost of $650 all in. Join the Hotline Membership Club and save on this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

In Limb-o

,
June 28, 2015
By BoingBoing
from Plano, Tx
" Easy to put together. Don't forget the oil for the chain. Today I used the saw and it worked well on trimming the growth off. Will need some assistance to get the larger 6"-8" branches tomorrow. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Chain Saw

,
June 24, 2015
By trimmer10
from Austin, TX
" I had a small 12" gas powered Remington saw years ago that I finally wore out. I have 15 live oaks in the yard and wanted a small chain saw for routine trimming and keeping limbs away from the house. This saw does a great job and is just the right height to get limbs I would otherwise use a ladder for. Its very convenient to use and I don't need to keep a gas/oil mixture on hand. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

made a wish come true

,
June 23, 2015
By Mikeeusa714
from Louisiana
" Finally got too old to handle the manual limb saw easily and always thought this was the way to go,,,and it is. Remington has been making electric's for a long time so I was confident in the quality. Don't sweat the electric side of as carrying a good extension cord is not that big a deal. When away from a socket I use my portable generator. Yea it's a little more work to pack the power but beats the heck out of putting up with gas saws that are hard to start and will not start when hot. Electrics are a one button and work deal. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

The Leak

,
June 22, 2015
By devils39
from Tomball,TX
" Opened the box. Put chain oil in. Put saw on table and in a few seconds the oil was coming out the bottom. In about 1 minute all the oil came out. Called Remington and they told me that this was normal. They said fill oil and use saw right away. As you use the saw oil will drip out. When finished drain the remaining oil. This what you have to do all the time. If I knew this I would not have ordered this product. I am going to return to store for a refund. I will try to find another product that will not have this problem. It may cut good, but the oil splat all over me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

,
June 13, 2015
By JW1973
from St Louis, MO
" Awesome product and when on sale, combined with $20 off coupon, makes this an even better buy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

POLE SAW

,
May 28, 2015
By BABSMITH
from UPSTATE NEW YORK
" I WAS QUITE PLEASED WITH THE POLE SAW THOUGH THE POLE DOES GET HEAVY. THE CHAIN SAW IS A GREAT SMALL CHAINSAW THAT DOES A GREAT JOB EVEN WHEN UNATTACHED TO THE POLE. I TRIMMED A DECENT SIZE JAPANESE MAPLE TREE STARTING WITH THE POLE SAW AND FINISHING WITH JUST THE SAW ITSELF AND I WAS VERY SATISFIED WITH THE WORK DONE. I ONLY GAVE IT FOUR STARS BECAUSE WHEN THE POLE IS FULLY EXTENDED WITH THE SAW ATTACHED IT IS A LITTLE HEAVY AND CUMBERSOME FOR ME, BUT I AM FEMALE AND AVERAGE HEIGHT SO A BIG/TALL GUY MAY NOT FEEL THE SAME WAY.MY BROTHER IN LAW USED IT AND HE LOVED IT. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good

,
May 28, 2015
By davea11
from Lodi, WI
" Works great, handle grip makes control easy and comfortable "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it!

,
April 22, 2015
By Jen25
from Pittsburgh
" Only used it twice. The chain fell off the second time, but put it back on and it's great. I love the fact that I can take it apart and use it as a small chainsaw too! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quick and very sharp and light

,
April 21, 2015
By bulldog555
from AC NJ
" very light to hold up high and sharp to cut quickly, long reach to get too the top of the trees "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done

,
April 18, 2015
By ghnl
from North Carolina
" Works well for small branches & brush. Plus the saw can be removed and used without the extension pole. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very easy to use

,
April 17, 2015
By mlady2131
from ocala, florida
" Very easy to use when cutting tree limbs. It was easier then I thought it was when I tried it' "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar

,
February 20, 2015
By gfree3
from Winder, GA
" Really like the pole saw. Excellent little chain saw. When I first bought it I didn't use it right away, actually 2 months later, and when I went to use the pole saw one of the clamps on it was broke. Figured I would probably have to live with it but went and told Northern about it and what a FIRST CLASS outfit they are. I said I would be happy with a new pole or even a new clamp, but they said bring it back and they would replace saw and pole with a new one! I did and they did! Absolutely no hassle at all. Can't say enough about Northern Tool. What a great Company! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

trimming saw

,
January 7, 2015
By Handymandp
from Tn
" Saw surprised me. So far it has trimmed everything that need to trim. Its not too heavy, The only negative comment would be that the saw has a plug in at the head but it has no locking devise in other words it comes unplugged while trimming "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Electric Pole Saw

,
January 3, 2015
By OB1950
from Herminie, PA
" Great if used with 1" branch thickness; a little more difficult with larger branches. Safe and effective for the price and for general normal trimming of higher trees. Trimmed several trees at a height of approx. 10 feet. Only other experience was with a trimmer that was not electric. Having an electric pole saw allows me to cut more quickly and effectively. For the money, you can't buy a better product! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Bad for an Electric Chain saw

,
December 28, 2014
By JLope
from Louisiana
" This chainsaw fit the need that I intended for it. The fact that it doesn't have a gas engine to keep up, is a plus. For the amount of time that I will use it, I will wrestle a cord and get the job done, rather than dealing with a engine that won't start and getting nothing done. A couple of cons about this chainsaw is, that the weight is on the end of the pole making it harder to control. And I found that the hand guard blocks your view, when cutting overhead. It has served its purpose. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington 10' pole saw

,
December 28, 2014
By aggrge
from Miami, FL
" The pole Is built sturdy, it snaps safely together with a grip that balances the saw, for almost any length of cut within reach of the measurement of the pole. The hand grip and pole are easy to use with just a simple pull of a trigger. A very reliable and commendable product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.