Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"

"Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"

Item# 24779
"This Remington Electric Pole Saw extends your capacity to reach overhead branches up to 15ft. high with an adjustable telescoping pole, depending on user height. The 8 Amp motor drives the saw with 10in. Oregon low-kickback bar and chain. Tool-less quick change from pole saw to chainsaw. Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations. Amps 8, Product Type Corded, Shaft Type Telescoping, Operating Height ft. 15, Shaft Length in. 57-96, Cutting Diameter in. 9, Bar Length in. 10. 8 Amp motor is powerful enough to handle most jobs 10in. low-kickback bar is big enough for most trimming jobs Extends your reach to up to 15 ft.H. to reach high branches without a ladder 96in.L when fully extended Safely prune and trim with your feet on the ground Convenient tool-less quick change from pole saw to chainsaw Aluminum inner pole for extra strength and control during extended-reach operations Saw head can be removed from pole to be used as a chain saw The push button oiler easily and accurately applies oil when needed Locking trigger prevents accidental starts 10in. lead power cord"
Average Customer Rating:
4.449 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (118 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
37
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
111 of 118(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Review 1 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very easy to use and you get a chainsaw too.

,
May 5, 2016
By
from San Antonio, TX
This has many advantages over the standard type of pole saw. This combination allows you to attach the chainsaw to the pole very easily and cut down the limbs that you need to reach. The reach is good at about 15 foot for me being six foot. After you cut the limbs down, you can take the chainsaw off the pole and cut the limbs up into smaller more manageable pieces.
The only complaint I have is the chainsaw is wider making it a little more difficult to use than other models that you can't remove the chainsaw from the pole. However, the advantage of being able to have two saws in one makes thus just a minor detail.
I would recommend this to the home user. Make sure you pick up some bar oil as non comes with the saw.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington Trimmer

,
April 23, 2016
By
from Alabama
I needed to trim the Pecan tree next to my workshop. This did the work that was too much for the manual pole trimmer (branches greater than 2"). This trimmer was perfect for those 3" and 4" branches. Plenty of power and cut just fine. I am sure it could have tackled bigger branches. And after the branches were down, I disconnected the saw and cut them down to size using the saw as a chain saw without the pole. I think that was my favorite feature as I didn't have to get my old chain saw out to cut them down for handling. Good product and I would recommend to a friend.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pole saw

,
February 8, 2016
By
from Mich.
At first I was skeptical. It is sturdier and is more powerful than I thought. It is easy to use. The only con, is a slight leakage of oil that I can live with, but I would definitely recommend this to a friend. Good tool to have!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works fine but some criticisms

,
December 29, 2015
By
from Northern Virginia
The pole saw works as advertised and the motor provides plenty of torque to drive the chain through full 10" logs. I've used it mostly as a hand chainsaw for cutting up downed trees. I've used it a few times to trim limbs up high, and it works fine for that purpose. The one problem I have with it is the bar oil leaks out if you leave it sitting in the normal position. INstead, you have to tilt it up or turn it on the left side (motor side) to keep the oil from leaking out. I thought there might be something wrong the first time this happened, so I took it apart to look at the oil reservoir. No, this is just the way it is designed. I will keep it though, since now that I know this, I just won't store it in the normal position, or I'll make sure the reservoir is empty.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple to use

,
December 27, 2015
By
from Charleston SC
I needed a simple chain saw and pole saw to use twice a year. This is it. Not to heavy when attached to the pole extension, easy to detach from pole and use as small chain saw. cut easily on branches a few inch in diameter
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pole Saw

,
December 10, 2015
By
from Portland ND
I have only used the chain saw portion to cut up some firewood indoors and was surprised the the power of the unit. I was apprehensive considering it was electric, but it cut through the logs like a gas chainsaw.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy tool...

,
December 9, 2015
By
from Stamford, CT
Great tool to take care of the trees in my yard. now i can keep my trees pruned the way i like...
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's A beauty.

,
November 7, 2015
By
from Leominster MA 01453
Been wanting to cut that limb for A long time,but didn't want to climb A ladder at 67 years .This thing's A beauty. At full extention,it's A little heavy for an old guy,but cut real nice,and like the way i can use it at ground level as A hand saw.Love the slow mo extension, and the easy clamps to hold both ends.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

It's Okay

,
November 6, 2015
By
from PA
It's a good pole saw for cutting small branches but the saw itself isn't very powerful. For the price it's a fair product but I thought it would be a little more powerful to cut larger branches.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolNovember 23, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for your less than positive experience with this product. We appreciate the feedback & value the opportunity to improve our customer’s product experience. If you have any questions or need assistance please feel free to contact us.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pole Chain Saw

,
November 5, 2015
By
from Centennial, Colorado
This extendable pole chain saw is the greatest. I had a dead limn that was 10 feet off ground. standing on a latter with a running chain saw was not my best idea. This pole chain saw did the trick, worked perfectly. This is a great purchase.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric chair saw

,
October 25, 2015
By
from Ashville, Ohio
I reached time where the gasoline saw was difficult to use. I did not want to quit cutting my firewood so tried an electric saw, It worked so good I have ordered a portable generator so I can take my saw into the woods.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best delimber a Zombie fighter could own

,
October 19, 2015
By
from Arrington, VA
Used it to take off tree limbs up to 8" up to 15' with little work. Light weight for the power, and power it has plenty of to use for cutting any low hanging branches, such as clearing for large mower or tractor clearance. And yes, I imagine when the Zombies attack, I will be ready with this great tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Handy Little Tool

,
October 17, 2015
By
from FL
I'm an older fellow who can't take carrying a gas powered saw around for any length of time. And pulling on that start cord just wears me out. This product takes the work and the weight out of using a pole/chain saw. Even back in the woods, I use the converter plugged into my truck cigarette lighter with a 50-100 foot extension cord, and the job gets done.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good review

,
October 17, 2015
By
from Appleton Wi
very durable and easy to use. light weight and complete. oil is easy to put in and runs forever
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gets the job done.

,
October 16, 2015
By
from north jersey
The pole saw does what it is designed to do. I used it to trim branches on trees along my driveway that I could not reach. It worked fine on limbs up to about 5 inches. For an electric saw it had the power I needed. The only problem was my driveway is long and I didn't have enough 12/3 power cord to reach all the way.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Slight Problem with saw

,
October 16, 2015
By
from texas
I received the pole saw promptly. It was several days before I opened it. When I did, I plugged the saw in (at the saw) and it ran fine. I connected the pole, Plugged it in and the saw ran for about 1/4 second and stopped. After an hour or so, I figured out that one of the poles in the pole male plug was no longer connected to the wiring on the inside. Ultimately, I cut off the plug on the pole, and will replace the male plug and all will be fine when i finalize the job. All Above confirmed by volt meter and ohm meter. I feel the saw will be fine, but I have about an hour and a half in it just to get it to go.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolOctober 23, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issues with this product that in turn caused you extra work. We appreciate the feedback & value the opportunity to improve our customer’s product experience. If you have any questions or need assistance please feel free to contact us.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pole Saw

,
October 16, 2015
By
from Dallas
Nice product. Much lighter than a gas pole saw. Bring along a generator or big power inverter for remote sites and you're set.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Remington Polesaw home use

,
October 16, 2015
By
from Parrish, Al
I have used this saw around my home and it works great. I put my Genrac generator in my lawn cart and I can use my saw anywhere. PS I also bought my generator from Northern Tools and have great service out of it also.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington Electric Pole Saw

,
October 16, 2015
By
from Gladewater, TX
Works great for a 69 year old man. Cuts limbs I could not reach safely otherwise. It cuts smooth and quickly. Have only used on the pole but I like the fact that I can remove the chain saw if I wish Price was great,
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Remington Electric Pole Saw - 10in. Bar, 8 Amp Motor, Model# RM1025SPS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric pole saw

,
October 16, 2015
By
from Nesbit, MS
Nice pole saw, I like it better than the gas powered ones as no gas and finicky motors to deal with but you are tethered to a cord. Works for me as I put my generator in the tractor bucket and connect to a extension cord and trim away. Nice to be able to cut limbs when you disconnect saw from the pole, it is light and easy to handle in a downed tree top.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.