Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System

NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System

Item# 24928
The NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter system with air compressor is an innovative power station that allows you to add your own battery. No need to throw the whole unit away just because the battery goes bad Simply add a U1 or similar sized 12V battery of your choice to get started, then replace only the battery if needed. Unit will accommodate batteries up to 7.32in.L x 5.16in.D x 6.65in.H sold separately, and because the battery can easily be replaced, you can even keep a spare on hand to change when necessary. NPower 12V, AGM-type sealed lead-acid batteries, Item#s 82942 & 829421 sold separately, are designed especially for use with this unit. This versatile unit does it all, from jumpstarting a vehicle, to inflating a tire or other inflatables, to providing AC or DC portable power on the go. Features a built-in LED light so you'll never have to work in the dark. Adapters Included qty. 1, Amps 500, Built in Inverter 450 Watt, Cable Gauge 4, Display Type LED, Handle Included Yes, Includes Air Compressor Yes, Internal Battery Type U1 or AGM sold separately, Cable Length in. 48, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 1/4 x 7 1/8 x 16 5/8, Outlets qty. 1, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Reverse-Polarity Detector Yes, USB Ports qty. 1, LED Indicators Yes, Max. PSI 250, Works With U1 and AGM batteries, Item#s 82942 & 829421 designed especially for use w/this unit, Volts 110, Watts 450. Jumpstarter will jumpstart a car engine with 500-800 CCA depending on battery size in normal temperatures Integrated extra-long 48in. 4-ga. heavy-duty booster cables Reverse polarity connection protection with indicator and safety alarm 450 Watt AC inverter powers your AC electrical devices wherever you are 12V DC power outlet for use with most 12V appliances 5V USB port to charge your cell phone, iPad or other USB devices Onboard superbright LED work light 250 PSI heavy-duty air compressor accelerates inflation time and includes 30 in. hose and 3 inflation tips for versatility Battery not included
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 15(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Review 1 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way too big

,
July 12, 2014
By Bill556
from NJ
"This jump box is a lot of case and handle. Much larger then necessary for the battery size. Don't be confused by the access door to the battery. Not an easy task to change out. The idea of having an extra battery ready to go is not practical. The "use your choice of group U1 batteries" is also misleading. Only a few U1 batteries will fit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NPower Flex-Powerpack – 24928

,
June 10, 2014
By Shinbone
from Whittier, CA
"Like Reviewer Mike 735, I was also hesitant to purchase this item becasue of reviews that said the unit would not accept a standard 35ah U1 battery. But thanks to Mike's review along with Northern's thread response on May 16, 2013, indicating that the UB12350 U1 batteries did in fact fit in the compartment after the black box is removed, I purchased both the Flex and the UB12350 battery. After removing the black box, the battery fit snugly. Both items were shipped the day following the order; however, the battery took about 10 days to be delivered. Have not used the product so I will write a followup review in a few weeks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything works.....so far

,
April 1, 2014
By Jim3638
from Akron
"I thought the battery hook up was quite easy, even for me. Once charged everything on the unit worked as claimed. I will have more of a chance to use it this summer but so far so good."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backup power

,
March 13, 2014
By Brian1976
from High Point, NC
"My wife purchased me a Black & Decker battery booster for Christmas one year. The only thing it didn't have was the power plug. This was a feature that I really wanted. After doing lots of online searching I found the NPower pack XL 6 in 1. It is heavier and I got the higher rated battery. The battery was difficult to get in but I was able to install it. I have used it to power the fan on our gas fireplace, powered the pump on an Aerobed and powered our tankless hotwater heater. The power last for a long time on smaller devices. It does take 10 to 12 hours to fully recharge. The light is very bright and the USB charger works great. I haven't used the air pump that much but seems to have a lot of power too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack

,
February 21, 2014
By WD52
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Don't buy this product. The compressor broke the first time it was used straight out of the box. Northern tool refunded my money after getting an return authorization and driving to deliver the unit to the closes store which took 2 hrs out of my day.
The Battery was difficult to install. This unit was also heavy, cumbersome using the compressor feature, and to large to standup in my truck toolbox.
Don't Buy!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
February 4, 2014
By PM33
from Minneapolis, MN
"This is a great product. I especially like the removable battery. I installed a backup camera on my truck and was able to interface it with my OEM navigation screen. Without realizing it, I used a lot of battery power flashing the nav unit and couldn't get my truck started. I hooked up the jump starter and went from a moron in my wife's eyes to one prepared man!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very versatile and competent powerpack

,
October 15, 2013
By CloudlessDay
from Long Island, NY
"This is a very versatile starter pack. I particularly like the fact that you can put in a battery of your own at any time. Hooking up the battery is quite tedious but no big deal as you don’t have to do it very often. You can also add an extra external battery by connecting through the cigarette lighter port.
The construction is sturdy and feels solid. The tire inflator works well but the pressure gauge reading is off, so you need a separate meter to get the correct reading. The noise of the air compressor is pretty loud but I have not used any other before, so I don’t know if this is common or not.
In terms of charging the battery, you have 3 options without taking the battery out
1. Charge with the included AC adapter
2. Charge through the cigarette lighter of your car (you need to buy an adapter for this from Northern Tool)
3. Charge through the cigarette lighter output on the unit itself (here you need to buy an adapter somewhere else to hook up to an external charger and the charging current should not exceed 15A of the internal fuse).
The customer service of Northern Tool is also great. When I first received the unit, I accidentally hooked up a battery with reversed polarity and damaged the inverter in the AC output. Northern Tool gladly replaced the unit with no charge even though it was my fault.
In view of the replaceable and expandable battery option and flexibility in charging, this is definitely a winner."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

U1 battery WILL NOT FIT!!!

,
October 2, 2013
By Hogasm
from TEXAS
"Even though there are several reviews that state that a U1 battery will fit if the black spacer is removed. This is NOT correct in my experience. I tried many u1 ub12350 agm, gel, lead acid. the 35 Ah battery is to wide for the unit I recieved. I would like to know where I can get a 35 aH U1 battery for this product. For now I tolerate the 22aH battery..... would have given 5 stars if larger battery worked as stated in reviews."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolJanuary 23, 2014
Unit will accommodate batteries up to 7.32in.L x 5.16in.D x 6.65in.H (sold separately)”
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome resource!!!

,
September 24, 2013
By RVU1
from Southern CA
"I have used several different self contained chargers over the years and am most pleased to have found this one that has the replaceable battery.
I'm glad that I can utilize the same tool for filling a low tire as well as providing some light as well as being able to utilize the available USB port for charging any number of devices we might have in the car at the time.
I like the idea of pulling this out of my trunk as opposed to leaving my vehicle vulnerable to potential electrical damage if the other vehicle were to have a malfunction that could adversely effect my vehicle. And I can secure my car while helping someone out and not leave the contents of my vehicle exposed to possible theft while distracted helping the other party.
It's a wonderful resource and I'm glad I made the purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

emergency charger

,
September 17, 2013
By booda
from North Georgia
"Use it in RV as backup. It is the best one I have owned. I like the fact you can replace the battery and not the whole unit. This is a replacement for one that went bad it is the 3rd one I have purchased. It is by far the best one of all of them. It has the power needed and the accessories are just right."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A 35ah U1 Battery DOES fit

,
August 4, 2013
By Mike735
from PA USA
"I was hesitant to purchase this item becasue of reviews that said the unit would not accept a standard 35ah U1 battery. I use UB12350 U1 batteries in many devices so its use was imperative becasue I have so many of them around. A call to customer service assured me it would fit so I purchased one of the units. A 35ah U1 is a PERFECT fit once the black plastic spacer is removed (2 screws to remove) as in instructions on line and included with the unit. I charged the unit with included charger, charge light illuminated red to green after an over night charge and I proceeded to use every feature of the unit to test it. ALL feaures worked well, the 110 vac outlet powered my shop vac with no problem for a quick clean up out side instead of getting out a long extention cord, the compressor topped off many tires out in the lot instead of firing up the shop compressor and getting a hose out (hose still stores just fine in unit even with U1 battery installed), the LED work light illuminated a dark shop area well enough to work in and if pointed at a tire on a vehicle would illuminate it perfectly if changing a flat on a dark road. The jumper cables work well but if they were 5' long instead of 4' would be easier to leave unit on ground and hook to a battery, at 4 ft they only reach a low car battery from sitting on ground level, for a truck you either have to hold it up or put it on the inner fender or some where else as cables don not reach from ground level to battery terminals. USB charger port charged kids phone but you can not use work light and charger at the same time, that could pose an issue for some possibly but no deal breaker for me at least.
Overall a THUMBS UP rating, it works as advertised and is a time saver for quick tasks around the shop. I would recommend and buy another if the need arose. I can see it as a good present for a do it yourselfer freind or family member. A+++++"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product not as described

,
November 27, 2012
By WPNJ
from New Jersey
"The website and the product manual advertise that the booster can hold up to a U-1 battery and that there is a removable plastic holder inside to allow this. In reality there is no removable box and only the two suggested batteries (18AH and 22AH) will fit; there is no way of enlarging the battery chamber to hold a 35AH U-1 and even if there was, the length of the chamber is less than 7.75 inches which seems to be the standard size of a U-1 battery.
Otherwise the item is well made but it would be nice to be able to use a larger battery.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolMay 16, 2013
Instructions for installing a U1-Type Battery
In order to put the battery in this Powerpack, first open up the back of the pack, and then remove the black battery expansion chamber anchored by 2 small screws. Once this chamber is removed, the U1 fits snugly and securely in the back. This black expansion chamber is included with the Powerpack to make it that more versatile by accommodating much smaller sized batteries.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

N Power Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1

,
October 26, 2012
By Jackfix7
from RI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"In the Spring of 2012 I bought the NPower Flex Powerpack XL and I have already found it very useful for several purposes.
First, I've been ill and not driving very often, which means, in winter months, I end up with a dead car battery. The Powerpack has been great for jump starting the car. It's amazing how easily it gets the engine started. I've got AAA but it's so much simpler to just start the car myself.
When the car tires are low, I don't have to find a gas station that has air and start slugging the machine with quarters. I suppose that's not a big deal but I grew up when air was free. Now I can just go out to the car and fill them from the Powerpack... no more excuses for low tire pressure.
I also use it to power a motor platform for mounted binoculars and telescopes. Since the Powerpack puts out AC and DC I have no trouble plugging it in and running the equipment for hours.
Last year, before I bought it, we lost utility power for three and a half days due to a tropical storm. I wish I had owned it then. Now we're facing another big storm and I'll be able to run a living room lamp or two from it or my wife's laptop computer moderately until the power comes back.
I spent the extra money and bought the XL version of this item for its removable battery, which I think is a great idea. Years from now, if the battery ever goes, I won't have to buy a whole, new unit, just a replacement battery.
It also features an LED work light and an LED battery charge indicator. The indicator takes the guess work out of knowing when to recharge the battery. And it features heavy duty four gauge booster cables, a USB power jack for cell phones, iPads, etc., warning lights and an alarm for avoiding polarity connection issues, an electrical adapter, various nozzles for the air compressor (for inflating footballs, air mattresses, etc.), a DC power outlet and an Edison electrical outlet for AC.
My only, very minor complaint is that it's a bit bigger and heavier than I was expecting. This could be a disadvantage to someone who's small or frail, though at roughly 17 inches tall and 12 pounds plus a 14 pound battery (sold separately), I haven't had any portability issues though some may want to consider a smaller product. As for me, it's not too heavy, it stores well, and size is a small price to pay for all the uses I have for it. I've seen several other brands on the market and smaller versions, but I'm very happy with my purchase. I've got a durable, well made product with an output of 800 amp/450 watts, making it very capable and versatile.
This tool is not something that I use every day but when I need it I've got power, functions, and reliability. I'm very pleased that I didn't go for something cheaper or with less power. I'm confident that I'll get many years of great service from this product and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Pack

,
October 15, 2012
By KF2005
from Austin, TX
"Easy battery installation. Inverter is very handy for small jobs. USB port is great for charging phones.
800 amps is more than enough to start almost anything.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NPower Flex Powerpack XL 6-In-1 Powerpack/Jumpstarter, Air Compressor System
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great multi-purpose Power Pack

,
April 28, 2012
By pbnem
from Charlotte, NC
"The 12v jump cables, 12v lighter socket, 120v/3 AC outlet, USB outlet, LED Light, Charge level and Air Compressor are included in this unit and it all works as advertized with the Item # 82942 AGM-Type, 12V, 22 Amps battery. Quite a bit more cost for the battery & unit combination, but very powerful and easy to change batteries. A nicely constructed unit that looks like it will hold up well. When I first installed the battery, I thought I should enlarge the hole for the hose so that when the battery cover needs to come off, but just pull the hose to allow the compartment cover to be out of the way. Funny, I bought this unit because my previous jump starter battery went dead and it was very difficult to get into for battery replacement. It ended up being the same size battery, but only 12Ah! This will be our emergency power unit for power outages. If it holds up well and after further testing, may be Xmas presents for our grown kids to have for camping and emergency power use. The 12Ah battery unit ran a 19" LED/LCD TV & satellite receiver for 9 hours. With the 22Ah battery, the power should last for 15-16 hours with the same TV and nothing else to give you an idea of what it can do. Use some LED bulbs for extra room lighting, charge cell phones and other rechargeable batteries and you can survive a long time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.