Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544

Item# 2500262
This Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower attaches easily to an ATV or lawn tractor and cuts a 44'W path through grass, weeds and trees up to 2in. in diameter. 16in. pneumatic tires let you traverse rugged terrain with dense foliage. U.S.A. Deck Construction Steel, Tire Size in. 16 x 4 x 8, Blade Brake Yes, Cutting Height in. 2 1/2-6, HP 12 1/2, Hitch Type Universal articulating, Engine Briggs & Stratton, Offset Left or right, Blades qty. 2, Start Type Recoil, Dimensions L x W x H in. 60 x 55 x 28, Discharge Rear, Stems Cutting Capacity in. 2, Cutting Width in. 44. 2 1/2in. to 6in. single-lever height adjustment Remote operator control panel Heavy-duty stump jumper and break-away blades Steel bumpers
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
23 of 30(77%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Review 1 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beast

,
January 16, 2012
By Joe3004
from Long Island, NY
"This machine is a beast! The mower itself is really amazing with what it will cut! The only complaint I have about this mower is the tow bar. It is way too light. If you are going to use this mower in rough conditions a modification needs to be made to put a 2" square tube tow bar and ball hitch coupler. After that mod it will go through almost anything! Bottom line it a great mower! I use this to mow over grown meadows, sapplings, trails and food plots and it does a great job on all!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little machine

,
January 16, 2012
By WyomingHouseHandywife
from Wyoming
"Easy to hook up
Easy to use
I suggest the lift as an additional purchase for maintenance and cleaning.
I use the heck out of this machine and it never fails me!
Use this behind my Rzr to keep my ditches and tree farm clear and works great.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCEEDS expectation

,
January 16, 2012
By emcnally
from Kansas
"We used this behind an Arctic cat 500 TBX on our duck club that had become really overgrown over the course of the year, including significant stands of birch and willows. This mower has not trouble handling heavy grass, small trees and even heavy stands of cat tails. How often does a product significantly exceed expectations? This did."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mini brush hog

,
August 30, 2010
By Anonymous
"used mine to cut overgrown pasture and well locations. I followed the instructions on breaking in the belts and have had no problems there. The recommended 5mph speed limit means a lot. I put 12 ounces of Slime brand tire sealant in the tires and use a low tire pressure and have had no flats. It will mow anything I can ride over with the atv. My son, all 125 lbs of him, was in multiflora rose and blackberries so thick the atv basically high centered, but the trailcutter cut all he pulled it over. Does not cut as low as a finish mower , but that's not what it's designed for. However, if I set my riding mower as high as it will go , and the trailcutter as low as it will go they are pretty even. Leaves a relatively clean cut in that there are not a lot of big stems left behind. I am quite pleased with mine"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very dissapointed

,
December 9, 2009
By ManitobaHunter
from Winnipeg, Canada
"I purchased this mower from Fargo, ND, because they are overpriced because of the multi-level distribution network in Canada. (almost double) Northern Tool Fargo was excellent to deal with! I had chronic problems with this unit. The belts kept snapping, and bearings kept blowing. The main bearing on the final cut is over $100. in Canada. If I hit bale twine or barb wire I wiped out the expensive bearing. Belts are over $40 and kept wearing out (because the bearings were sloppy). Spent $700 on repairs last year on it so I then dumped it in the newspaper and sold it. It would be good for cutting light stuff but if you want it for making trails look for something else because the bearings, belt, or the draw bar won't handle the hard work. I had to weld mine solid where it pivots because it kept spreading open. Swisher was very nice to deal with during the warranty period. They replaced my entire drawbar and receiver assembly. Once the warranty period was up I did not get that warm & fuzzy feeling. The deck & wheels are very durable. If all you have is light stuff to cut and you don't want to wreck your lawnmower buy this otherwise look for something else. If you expect that it is a trailcutter for cutting established trails you will not be disappointed. Don't put it through the rough stuff. I am going to buy a tractor rought cut from Northern Tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst product I ever bought from Northern

,
October 19, 2009
By Gator99
from Missouri
"This is easily the worst product I have ever purchased from Northern. The welds came apart at that junction in the middle of the tongue. Then they started coming apart where the tongue attaches to the mower. But that's minor. I've made darn sure the blades always swing free (I have *never* found them locked up), yet the wimpy frame metal where the spindle goes through to the blades almost completely cracked off, and I had to really reinforce it with strong steel. Then the lower bearing on the spindle just broke off while I was mowing. I have to go so slow with this unit that it's overly hard to get my 4-wheeler to pull it that slow. I use a lawn tractor to pull it. Seriously!! What an embarrassment. And this is a TRAIL mower? I complained to Swisher and they gave me half off a BIG bill for repair parts, but pretty much implied that I abused the machine or let the blades get out of balance for a long time. Wrong. This would be great if you just want to mow tall weeds on a flat, even lawn but don't kid yourself into believing that this is any sort of a "brush" cutter or that you should take it over a rough "trail."."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Money Hog, not bush hog

,
September 30, 2009
By Stonedci
from Greenville, SC
"I bought this 13 months ago, I wish it was 12 months and I would try to return it. I used the mower on a 3 acre field that is usually cut for hay the first day. Both tires went flat. I patched the tires and went out the next day to cut some roads on my hunting land, the tires went flat again. It has sat in the barn for a year now, and I have patched the tires a few times and they will not hold air. Looking to replace them if I can find a place that has something better (will not use a Swisher Tire) I got it out yesterday and spent about an hour and never could get it to start. I'd love to just sell it for scrap at this point. Unless you can fix small engines yourself, and enjoy doing it, or use it on a regular basis, I would not buy this product. And if there are any briars where you plan to cut, plan to have the tires go flat that day."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for brush

,
July 22, 2009
By insurecalh
from Dover, AR
"I have a Swisher I bought five years ago. It will cut anything I can pull the ATV over . The Briggs & Stratton engine always starts-hot or cold. Had to replace the fuel line 2 years ago (rotted). Had no problems with the belts for the first 4 years, but it has started eating belts. Haven't figured out the problem yet. Great for cutting brush. Doesn't like tall thick grass. Have to slow way down and sometimes go back to mow over-especially thick fescue.
I would purchase again. Overall, it is a great item for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent mower

,
July 20, 2009
By Brantley
from Central Wisconsin
"Recomend buy, I bought this mowing deck about 2 months ago, it was very easy to assemble took me 30 minutes to get mowing. I mow a 2 acre parcel with a significant grade. I pull this with my 4 wheeler with no trouble at all. I was able to clear out 4 and 5 ft tall weeds with no problem. The mowing deck is easy to clean and mower has plenty enough power. The break away blades are nice to for the unepected stump or rock. 5 stars"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

trailcutter

,
March 23, 2009
By gramps300
from webster ny
"i have hunting land, have many trails to keep cut, this machine fits the bill. wish it had a bigger gas tank. over all its a great machine, and the price is right."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Swisher Trailcutter

,
March 8, 2009
By colonelK
from Vidor, TX
"I have been so disapointed with the trailcutter. the first thing that went bad was the drive belt, It lasted about 8 hours. Had to buy belt from Swisher and it didnt last three hours. Now the trailcutter sits in the barn not used due to drive belt problems, also have had problems with hitch and control unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Swisher 44 Trail Cutter

,
September 25, 2008
By Bypass
from Thomaston, Georgia
"I bought the mower about 3 years ago to mow the roads and food plots on the 900 acres we lease. I also maintain the roads and power lines on 44 acres I own. The mower works as good as I could expect for one towed with an ATV. Anything my 400 can run over or push down up to a point will be cut, 2" soft or less diameter trees, including rough grass and other things grown in the South. I could not expect it to do more unless I used a large Tractor and large Bush Hog to cut the property.
I noticed some had problems so I will list the things I encountered. Out of the crate my electrical was shorted and would not crank but it wasn't a problem to fix, the wire was shorted when the plates were bolted in front of the motor. Sometimes I have hard cranking if it sets up for several weeks so now I just squirt some starting fluid in before I crank it up, no problem. I have changed 2 belts in the 3 years, the first when I locked the drive up by getting a large limb hung under the deck. The other also melted when an unseen stump locked up the drive. As far as the hitch goes, I took it off after the pin broke and added a 1 7/8 inch regular trailer hitch, works great. The pin breaking also pulled the cable and wiring out of the shifter mounted on the back rack. This problem was fixed by making a 12 inch t-bracket and mounting the start and shifter on the deck, works great. I grease the tire rims each time I use it and have not had any problems with the sleeve bearings. I would prefer to have a more substancial roller bearing wheel assembly for long life.
In the future I plan to get a finishing mower to keep the roads cleaner and mowed lower than I can now. This is a very good product if it can withstand the torture that I put it through.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

brush mower

,
August 19, 2008
By medicchip
from Vienna,GA
"I bought this product to use on cutting heavy brush. When i bought it was in a crate and it was a little agravating putting it together. This product didnt cut as low to the ground as it advertised and the two blades didn't work as well as the one I have seen that had only one blade. But for someone who is just looking for a mower to just cut a path through some woods or something in that nature this product would be a good buy. But I was wanting to something that cut a lot lower to the gound."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent performance

,
August 18, 2008
By wjrae
from Louisiana
"My husband and I purchased the Swisher Trailmower a few years ago. It has definitely been put through the test and passed with a A+. The terrain in which it has been used is quiet rough, but it has gotten the job done beyond our expectations."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disapointed

,
July 29, 2008
By CJ1968
from Andover, MN
"I bought the Swisher Trailcutter with hopes to maintain about 5 acres. I only use it to cut weeds and clover. When the weeds get about knee to waist high, I will mow it. I have only used this machine twice. The problems that I have had were with the height adjustment coming completely apart when twisting the knob to adjust it. The machine is very heavy, and it was not easy to put back together again. After using this for about 16 to 20 hours or 2 days worth of use total, the belt already needs to be replaced, because it is so badly worn that the blade won't even engage any longer. It just smokes when I try to engage it. I tow the machine slow and stop occasionally to let the blade digest the material that it is cutting. It is set as high as it will go, and the blade never hits dirt, rock, or wood. So there shouldn't be any reason for a belt to go bad after just a couple times out. I guess I had higher expectations and thought that it was a good running machine up until the belt went out prematurely. It is supposed to have a 1/2" x 50" V-belt. I am going to try a smaller belt to see if that works better, and maybe even belt dressing to prevent it from wearing out so quickly. I couldn't imagine cutting wood or brush with it like they claim that you can, I would expect a belt to last about 4 hours cutting saplings or small tree's with it.... The belt drive seems to be the "weak" link in this machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Swisher trailcutter 44 in.

,
July 16, 2008
By logger1
from Shipman, VA
"Have had this product for one year. Overall, it has been good, but has the following design issues that company should address: 1) point of connection between tow tongue and mover easily deforms. I attached angle iron to top and bottom to cure deformation and prevent in future (Saw same problem noted in an earlier review). 2) Metal at at this connection point is too soft. Holes deformed quickly. 3) Tongue does not adjust high enough to level mower when attached to my ATV. 4) Belt breakage bent mount on tension pulley on belt. I had to bend mount back, but broke two more belts before diagnosing the promlem. 5) Tires are not thick/durable enough. Got flat first time I used it.
On the plus side: Motor starts very easily and mower handles everything I have thrown at it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

TOUGH ROUGH CUT

,
July 6, 2008
By CBR34
from SUSQUEHANNA, PA
"BOUGHT THIS MOWER TO CUT HIGH GRASS AND DENSE WOODY BRUSH AROUND OLD APPLE TREES. I USED IT BEHIND MY ATV WHICH AT TIMES HAD A HARD TIME GETTING OVER TOP OF THE BRUSH WHICH STOOD 5 TO 6 FT. THIS MOWER HANDLED IT WELL AS LONG AS I WENT SLOW AND GAVE IT TIME TO DO ITS JOB. RUN TIME WAS AT LEAST 1.5 HOURS, STARTS VERY EASY HOT OR COLD AND BACKS UP FINE ON A STRAIGHT TOW NOT OFFSET. STUMP JUMPER FEATURE WORKED WELL ON A COUPLE LARGE ROCKS I DID NOT SEE. I HAD NO BELT BREAKAGE AS THE MANUAL TELLS YOU HOW TO AVOID IT BY BREAKING IN THE BELT FIRST. I WOULD RECOMMEND THAT YOU READ THE MANUAL FOR SETUP AND YOU SHOULD HAVE NO PROBLEMS. A GOOD MACHINE FOR THE PRICE."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

one happy customer

,
April 21, 2008
By Anonymous
from Vancleave, MS
"I purchased the swisher rough cut trailmower to clear a spot on some property I just bought for my home. I have used it everyday for the last two weeks with only one problem, the belts wear out, not due to a defect but to my own use. I cut brush up to 2 inches with no problem, but when I get in a hurry I try and cut more than I am suppose to. The engine has enough hp to do the job and the deck is rugged enough. I would recommend this to anyone who is a do it yourselfer and doesn't want to pay someone else to do work that you can do yourself. love this mower and am going to buy the finishing mower once I get my house built on this property."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

needs a honda

,
January 29, 2008
By renohio
from Ohio
"Mower does fine w/ brush saplings and heavy grass. Not a finish mower but great for field use. My biggest gripe is the stubborn B&S engine. Its tough to start. Wish it had a honda option."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Swisher Trailmower

,
January 24, 2008
By Maxx83
from North Carolina
"I purchased the trailmower about seven months ago and have used it to clear about 10 acres of heavily overgrown land. I was quite impressed with it's ability to cut through some really heavy weeds and grass as well as small pine tree saplings up to about 2". Some of the weeded areas were as much as 6' high and the mower handled them with no problems. Weak points are size of the fuel tank, tires and pull arm attachment. I resolved the tire issue after getting 3 flats by the second day of use by filling them with Slime flat repair. I also welded upper and lower bracing plates at the point where the pull arm attaches to the mower to prevent bending. No solution yet for the small fuel tank."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.