Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544

Item# 2500262
This Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower attaches easily to an ATV or lawn tractor and cuts a 44'W path through grass, weeds and trees up to 2in. in diameter. 16in. pneumatic tires let you traverse rugged terrain with dense foliage. U.S.A. Deck Construction Steel, Tire Size in. 16 x 4 x 8, Blade Brake Yes, Cutting Height in. 2 1/2-6, HP 12 1/2, Hitch Type Universal articulating, Engine Briggs & Stratton, Offset Left or right, Blades qty. 2, Start Type Recoil, Dimensions L x W x H in. 60 x 55 x 28, Discharge Rear, Stems Cutting Capacity in. 2, Cutting Width in. 44. 2 1/2in. to 6in. single-lever height adjustment Remote operator control panel Heavy-duty stump jumper and break-away blades Steel bumpers
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
23 of 30(77%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Review 1 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swisher Trail Cutter

,
November 16, 2006
By rivers
from Carriere, Mississippi
" I purchased this unit to maintain a dam on our lake. I tow the unit behind my 4 wheeler and the service has ben excellent. The machine is used on a slope that would normally give me some concern but with the weight of the unit I have no concern when I am cutting the dam. It is easy to service, change a belt or service the moving parts, normal maintenance, etc.
I would highly recommend the unit to anyone with extreme grass and brush cutting requirements.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough and reliable

,
June 25, 2007
By wyoming
from Cody, WY
" I have used my Swisher 44" for 2 years. This is a great mower; it cuts through really thick grasses and very trough weeds. In the toughest material, from waist to shoulder high and extremely thick (combination of pasture grass and weeds) I run at 1 mph and only require one pass. If I go faster, I have to take a second pass. On a second pass I go about 4 mph and it cuts anything missed on the first pass.
So far, maintenance has been minimal. If I could change anything, it would be to have a larger fuel tank.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swisher Trail Cutter 14.5 HP Model RBT14544

,
July 4, 2007
By Bobbie
from I live at Lake of the Ozarks in Camdenton, Mo.
" After 2 years of hard use I find this is a well engineered trail mower. I also use this to mow the yard grass. I sharpen the blades before mowing the grass. It does a great job on brush and small trees up to 2in in diameter. The only weakness I have found is the tongue, which I had to strengten the connection to the mower. The new pictures look like they have emproved the design of the tongue. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
July 10, 2007
By chiefe9
from Fountain, CO
" The Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44" is the best machine I have ever purchased. It was purchased to maintain approximately 10 acres in the mountains of Colorado. The primary purpose is to keep the grass, weeds, and brush mowed in case of a wild fire. It has worked like a charm and I am extremely pleased with it. I highly recommend it. The property has a lot of cactus which unfortunately flattened the tires; no problem, we purchased tires that won't go flat. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rough Cut Field Mower

,
July 11, 2007
By Jack4Forest
from Applegate Valley, Oregon
" I bought this mower to pull with a UTV, replacing our annual tractor & brushhog rental. It took less than an hour to get comfortable with the handling and it mowed the big field (@ 11 acres) so well my son calls it my "feng shui" mowing! The machine is easy to set up, easy to maintain and does an excellent job. Anyone with trail mowing, clearing skid roads or fields to mow should buy one! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Buy

,
July 20, 2007
By CamC
from La Coste, TX
" I bought this item in hopes of using it for at least 2 - 3 years without too many problems. In the first month, both wheel bearing went out, one almost completely disintegrated. They were under warranty and were replaced. However, in Feb. of '07 the blade belt completely fell apart and I had to replace it at my cost ( wear item ). In Mar. '07 the pull rope also fell apart and I had to have it replaced ( another wear item ). In June I had to replace both tires, these are only 2 ply, and not much on wear. Please keep in mind I keep my equipment under cover and they are NOT weather exposed. As far as the blade drive belt, there was no visible reason why it tore apart. At this point it looks like the hitch point is about to go. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfied

,
October 8, 2007
By Rockbottom
from Cheraw, SC
" I bought this mower to maintain road and a dam. Probably have only used about 10 hours over the last two years. No problems yet. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Weak hitch!

,
October 8, 2007
By Markj
from Houston, TX
" This mower does a great job through heavy brush and 1.5 dia wood. The hitch bar is rather light and the adjustment holes are starting to deform. This is after only 2 days of use. The Fuel tank needs to be larger, I have to stop and refuel every 30 to 45 minutes of use.
Make sure you have grade 8 bolts holding your tow hitch on. A gopher mound stoped the mower and sheered the bolts pulling the blade engaugement cable apart and the kill switch. I have now mounted the blade engaugement assy to the tow bar.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

SWISHER MOWER

,
October 29, 2007
By NEAL
from GARNER, NC
" I BOUGHT THIS MOWER TO CLEAR BRUSH AND MOW FIELDS. HAVE HAD GOOD LUCK WITH IT SO FAR. HAVE OWNED ABOUT TWO YEARS NOW. ONLY PROBLEM I SEE WITH IT SO FAR IS THE SIZE OF THE GAS TANK. HAVE TO REFUEL IT ABOUT EVERY 30 MINUTES. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower — 44in.

,
November 13, 2007
By oceanaut1
from Miami Florida
" I have used the 44 inch trailmower for about a year to mow my citrus orchard. Although it has good power and cuts well I have had to replace the mower belt 3 times out of 5 uses due to wear and tear!! The belt snaps and I have to remove 4 bolts off the engine plate and lift the engine to replace it. The mower needs better design so the mower belt doesn't fray and snap. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Swisher Trailmower

,
January 24, 2008
By Maxx83
from North Carolina
" I purchased the trailmower about seven months ago and have used it to clear about 10 acres of heavily overgrown land. I was quite impressed with it's ability to cut through some really heavy weeds and grass as well as small pine tree saplings up to about 2". Some of the weeded areas were as much as 6' high and the mower handled them with no problems. Weak points are size of the fuel tank, tires and pull arm attachment. I resolved the tire issue after getting 3 flats by the second day of use by filling them with Slime flat repair. I also welded upper and lower bracing plates at the point where the pull arm attaches to the mower to prevent bending. No solution yet for the small fuel tank. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

needs a honda

,
January 29, 2008
By renohio
from Ohio
" Mower does fine w/ brush saplings and heavy grass. Not a finish mower but great for field use. My biggest gripe is the stubborn B&S engine. Its tough to start. Wish it had a honda option. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

one happy customer

,
April 21, 2008
By Anonymous
from Vancleave, MS
" I purchased the swisher rough cut trailmower to clear a spot on some property I just bought for my home. I have used it everyday for the last two weeks with only one problem, the belts wear out, not due to a defect but to my own use. I cut brush up to 2 inches with no problem, but when I get in a hurry I try and cut more than I am suppose to. The engine has enough hp to do the job and the deck is rugged enough. I would recommend this to anyone who is a do it yourselfer and doesn't want to pay someone else to do work that you can do yourself. love this mower and am going to buy the finishing mower once I get my house built on this property. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

TOUGH ROUGH CUT

,
July 6, 2008
By CBR34
from SUSQUEHANNA, PA
" BOUGHT THIS MOWER TO CUT HIGH GRASS AND DENSE WOODY BRUSH AROUND OLD APPLE TREES. I USED IT BEHIND MY ATV WHICH AT TIMES HAD A HARD TIME GETTING OVER TOP OF THE BRUSH WHICH STOOD 5 TO 6 FT. THIS MOWER HANDLED IT WELL AS LONG AS I WENT SLOW AND GAVE IT TIME TO DO ITS JOB. RUN TIME WAS AT LEAST 1.5 HOURS, STARTS VERY EASY HOT OR COLD AND BACKS UP FINE ON A STRAIGHT TOW NOT OFFSET. STUMP JUMPER FEATURE WORKED WELL ON A COUPLE LARGE ROCKS I DID NOT SEE. I HAD NO BELT BREAKAGE AS THE MANUAL TELLS YOU HOW TO AVOID IT BY BREAKING IN THE BELT FIRST. I WOULD RECOMMEND THAT YOU READ THE MANUAL FOR SETUP AND YOU SHOULD HAVE NO PROBLEMS. A GOOD MACHINE FOR THE PRICE. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Swisher trailcutter 44 in.

,
July 16, 2008
By logger1
from Shipman, VA
" Have had this product for one year. Overall, it has been good, but has the following design issues that company should address: 1) point of connection between tow tongue and mover easily deforms. I attached angle iron to top and bottom to cure deformation and prevent in future (Saw same problem noted in an earlier review). 2) Metal at at this connection point is too soft. Holes deformed quickly. 3) Tongue does not adjust high enough to level mower when attached to my ATV. 4) Belt breakage bent mount on tension pulley on belt. I had to bend mount back, but broke two more belts before diagnosing the promlem. 5) Tires are not thick/durable enough. Got flat first time I used it.
On the plus side: Motor starts very easily and mower handles everything I have thrown at it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disapointed

,
July 29, 2008
By CJ1968
from Andover, MN
" I bought the Swisher Trailcutter with hopes to maintain about 5 acres. I only use it to cut weeds and clover. When the weeds get about knee to waist high, I will mow it. I have only used this machine twice. The problems that I have had were with the height adjustment coming completely apart when twisting the knob to adjust it. The machine is very heavy, and it was not easy to put back together again. After using this for about 16 to 20 hours or 2 days worth of use total, the belt already needs to be replaced, because it is so badly worn that the blade won't even engage any longer. It just smokes when I try to engage it. I tow the machine slow and stop occasionally to let the blade digest the material that it is cutting. It is set as high as it will go, and the blade never hits dirt, rock, or wood. So there shouldn't be any reason for a belt to go bad after just a couple times out. I guess I had higher expectations and thought that it was a good running machine up until the belt went out prematurely. It is supposed to have a 1/2" x 50" V-belt. I am going to try a smaller belt to see if that works better, and maybe even belt dressing to prevent it from wearing out so quickly. I couldn't imagine cutting wood or brush with it like they claim that you can, I would expect a belt to last about 4 hours cutting saplings or small tree's with it.... The belt drive seems to be the "weak" link in this machine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent performance

,
August 18, 2008
By wjrae
from Louisiana
" My husband and I purchased the Swisher Trailmower a few years ago. It has definitely been put through the test and passed with a A+. The terrain in which it has been used is quiet rough, but it has gotten the job done beyond our expectations. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

brush mower

,
August 19, 2008
By medicchip
from Vienna,GA
" I bought this product to use on cutting heavy brush. When i bought it was in a crate and it was a little agravating putting it together. This product didnt cut as low to the ground as it advertised and the two blades didn't work as well as the one I have seen that had only one blade. But for someone who is just looking for a mower to just cut a path through some woods or something in that nature this product would be a good buy. But I was wanting to something that cut a lot lower to the gound. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Swisher 44 Trail Cutter

,
September 25, 2008
By Bypass
from Thomaston, Georgia
" I bought the mower about 3 years ago to mow the roads and food plots on the 900 acres we lease. I also maintain the roads and power lines on 44 acres I own. The mower works as good as I could expect for one towed with an ATV. Anything my 400 can run over or push down up to a point will be cut, 2" soft or less diameter trees, including rough grass and other things grown in the South. I could not expect it to do more unless I used a large Tractor and large Bush Hog to cut the property.
I noticed some had problems so I will list the things I encountered. Out of the crate my electrical was shorted and would not crank but it wasn't a problem to fix, the wire was shorted when the plates were bolted in front of the motor. Sometimes I have hard cranking if it sets up for several weeks so now I just squirt some starting fluid in before I crank it up, no problem. I have changed 2 belts in the 3 years, the first when I locked the drive up by getting a large limb hung under the deck. The other also melted when an unseen stump locked up the drive. As far as the hitch goes, I took it off after the pin broke and added a 1 7/8 inch regular trailer hitch, works great. The pin breaking also pulled the cable and wiring out of the shifter mounted on the back rack. This problem was fixed by making a 12 inch t-bracket and mounting the start and shifter on the deck, works great. I grease the tire rims each time I use it and have not had any problems with the sleeve bearings. I would prefer to have a more substancial roller bearing wheel assembly for long life.
In the future I plan to get a finishing mower to keep the roads cleaner and mowed lower than I can now. This is a very good product if it can withstand the torture that I put it through.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Swisher Rough Cut Trailmower - 44in. Cutting Width, 12 1/2 HP, Model# RTB12544
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Swisher Trailcutter

,
March 8, 2009
By colonelK
from Vidor, TX
" I have been so disapointed with the trailcutter. the first thing that went bad was the drive belt, It lasted about 8 hours. Had to buy belt from Swisher and it didnt last three hours. Now the trailcutter sits in the barn not used due to drive belt problems, also have had problems with hitch and control unit. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.