Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288

Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288

Item# 250208
The Agri-Fab Ground Drive Drop Spreader is great for seeding a yard due to the consistent metering and distribution pattern of the seed. They are also good for applying granular herbicides near flower beds and shrubs since the distribution is limited to the area between the wheels. This prevents overthrow onto ornamental beds. Load Capacity lbs. 175, Overall Width in. 42, Spreader Type Drop, Spread-able Material Fertilizer, seed, granualr herbicides, Tire Size in. 4.00-6 13 X 4, Walk or Pull Pull, Hopper Material Poly. Rustproof poly hopper for years of use Attaches to your lawn tractor or ATV Holds 175 lbs. 17 gallons dry of fertilizer to cover up to 40,000 sq. ft. 42in. controlled spread width Premium galvanized steel agitator is rust-resistant and easy to clean for a long working life 13in. pneumatic tires are smooth over varying terrain
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Review 1 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Agrifab drop spreader

,
August 13, 2012
By JayND
from Maine
"This is a well made product. It is really easy to put together and very well engineered.I especially like the independant rear drive wheels, allows even spreading even in sharp turns."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

accurate spreader

,
July 15, 2012
By rdjmo
from maryland
"The assembly is a little hard. plan for about 1- 2 hours. The spreader is very accurate and the total capacity is more than enough. My lawn is a little of a 1/2 acre. I use the spreader for spreading seeds,lime and fertilizers. The chart that is printed on the spreader is best for determining the drop rate. The wheels are large enough and light which allows very little rolling resistance. The spreader is wide enough to cover quickly and efficiently. It does need space for storage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
May 7, 2012
By lawntoy
from canada
"Quite a bit to assemble. Pain in the butt to calibrate, can't go by what it says on the rig itself. By the fourth test run i was fairly close to what i needed. But overall very rugged and a good product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent equipment, well made, easy to use

,
October 19, 2009
By Buds27t
from Edenton, NC
"Assembly was easy following the directions. I put it to use right away and had no problems, clean up was simple and I was able to store it in a small space."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drop Spreader

,
July 20, 2009
By Yardman03301
from Concord, NH
"Have had it for several years now and overall am pleased with it. Qaulity of product is very good. Easy to assembly was also very good. The tires are just the right size and type for the work this drop spreader does. The only problem I've had has been the control for the amont to be dropped. It keeps moving on it's own and can be frustating. If you don't keep an eye on it you can drop to much and run a risk of damaging your lawn with to much in on spot..
Even with this small problem I'd still highly recommend it to anyone without
hesitation.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

agri-fab spreader

,
July 13, 2009
By bobrien
from fauquier , va
"i was happy with the product. assembly was very straightforward. Has a large capacity. I use it for spreading fertilizer, lime, grass seed behind a tractor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Agri-Fab 175 lb. Drop Spreader -- ground drive

,
March 23, 2009
By KWL1
from Baltimore, Maryland
"During assembly, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this machine. To my surprise, the assembly instructions also were clear and precise -- obviously written by a literate, English-speaking person. This spreader definitely has its niche. As opposed to starwheel drive aerator-spreaders, this spreader uses large, pneumatic tires for its drive, making it ideal for my intended use: spreading sand on my driveway during the winter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Agri-Fab Ground Drive Drop Spreader

,
October 9, 2008
By BOBBIEBULLDOG
from Bluefield, Va
"Fast shipping, as described and fairly easy to assemble. So much better than my old walk behind scotts. This is a good quality and well put together lawn garden machine. Pulls easily behind my riding lawnmower. No complaints and seems to spread lawn products and grass seeds evenly throughout yard.
No complaints about this machine.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Fertilizer Spreader

,
August 11, 2008
By PMWh
from NY
"Spreader came assembled with wheels. Directions for attaching drawbar and adjustment mechanism were good. Some difficulty interpreting the suggested number of threads to begin with using the adjustment screw. Overall, its lightweight, simplicity and evenness of fertilizer application leads to my rating of excellent."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value priced drop spreader

,
January 23, 2008
By cmthom
from Hastings, Ne
"This is a decent drop spreader at a low price. The quality of construction is decent and should last for year with moderate use and little care. It works well with most grass seeds and all but the finest fertilizers. I experienced problems with metering smaller particles, inherit to the design. If you are in the market for good quality, low end drop spreader this a great deal."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but could be better

,
October 8, 2007
By Rockbottom
from Cheraw, SC
"I have only used this spreader to spread pulverized lime (bags). It worked very well for this purpose even though Agri-Fab customer support says it will not. Lime was spread evenly over the entire area with very little dust in the air. The spreader easily carried 160 pounds of dry lime. This amount filled the hopper to capacity.
The only problem I have is with the tires. They are so thin that I have had to fill them with "Slime" to keep them filled with air while I was using it. This may not be a problem for someone using the spreader around the house. I will have to look for a replacement tire for this unit to keep using it. I have used it twice and I have two or three holes in each tire. You can see the green slime slowly leaking out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Ground Drive Drop Spreader - 175-Lb. Capacity, Model# 45-0288
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well thought out design

,
September 7, 2007
By farmerwannabee
from Rural Pennsylvania
"I prefer the drop type spreader to the broadcast spreader because I can tell where I've spread by following the tire tracks. Drop spreaders also provide a uniform spread rate independent of ground speed. You can slow down in crowded areas without reducing the spread width. They are becoming harder to find however, so mine must be a minority opinion.
This spreader has proven adequate to any task I've put it to. It does do a more uniform job though with higher flow products than with low deposition ones. The only shortcoming (annoyance really) witht his spreader is the somewhat flimsy adjustment stop. The stop tends to creep after repeated flow shutoff cycles. I've learned to be rather gentle when turning off flow so that the setting doesn't change over time.
Two features are very nice on this spreader and they aren't mentioned in the product description. One of those features is a divider in the center of the hopper which allows product interchange between the two sides, but doesn't allow the whole hopper full to shift to the downhill side when spreading on a slope. Other spreaders will begin to "starve" the uphill side. A second feature is that the distrribution tines are divided in the center of the spreader and each half is driven by the wheel on that side. This assures a uniform flow in tight turns where single wheel drive spreaders either over spread or stop spreading in tight turns.
This is a good product and it is atractively priced."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.