Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"

"Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"

Item# 25047
"The Peak color back-up camera is the easy way to stay safe and prevent accidents while backing up your vehicle. This water-resistant backup camera system easily installs on your license plate to offer a 110 degree viewing angle of what's behind you. Sensor Range ft. 30, Laser Guide No, Viewing Angle deg. 110, Night Vision No, Auto On/Off Yes, Indicator Light Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 4 7/16 x 3/4 x 3 1/8, Mount Bracket Included Yes, Power Source 12V, Monitor Dimension in. 3 1/2, Weather Resistant Yes, Monitor Included Yes, Color Yes. 12V wireless transmitter 3 1/2in. color LCD monitor Windshield or dashboard suction cup mount for easy viewing 30-ft. sensor range"
Average Customer Rating:
2.867 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
8 of 15(53%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Review 1 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

peak backup camera

,
March 28, 2016
By
from Nebraska
this camera is only good in analog type vehicle. I purchased one for a 2015 ford 250 and come to find out from the Peak company and was told the cause of interference was the SYNC system Ford uses. I did get a refund from Northern after sending back. This should be explained on the product description
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

First one worked perfectly fairly easy to install

,
January 7, 2016
By
from Indiana
Was so happy with first we purchased a second and we are very pleased with it as well great product.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so ok system

,
December 21, 2015
By
from Rhode Island
Easy install, but bad reception on my 2012 Chevy Silverado. ended up getting rid of it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it

,
February 4, 2015
By
from Lehigh Valley PA
Easy to mount and hook up, gives more security when backin up
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Where To Place The Monitor

,
January 3, 2015
By
from MI
Installation is rather easy. Hard part is accessing the taillight from inside the trunk and getting out after securing wires with zip ties. I'm not as limber as I once was. Secured the monitor with velcro.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Low signal from modular

,
August 5, 2014
By
from Cumberland
This product was nice and easy to install, everything went well and only took me about 30min.
I placed the signal modular right outside of my back window on my truck to get it as close as possible to the monitor and it still breaks up when I'm trying to back up. Very poor signal.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor signal strength

,
May 27, 2014
By
from PA
We installed on a 14' box truck with the transmitter inside the box. The signal could not be picked up by the monitor. Called tech support and they told me to hard wire transmitter to the cab of the truck or it would not work. So much for wireless. I would not recommend for this type of install.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy!

,
March 3, 2014
By
from South Carolina
I saw the reviews that said the camera cut out some time but hoped there's were just defects. Mine might be defective to but I don't think so. The camera flashes on and off going down the road and at night it's a big distraction!!!! I have little faith in wireless anything and this thing proved me right.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Camera for the Price

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Texas
I bought this Camera for my mothers car. Hoping to preserve her bumper and the vehicles behind her (due to surviving cancer she can not turn her head as much as needed when backing up anymore). This unit was easy to install, with no drilling. I was able to run the wire behind the bumper and through a rubber grommet into the trunk. All the wires and the remote sensor fit nicely behind the trunk paneling. Installing the monitor was a breeze 12 volt plug and a suction cup and your done. Camera is easy to adjust and only has a minimal delay for the screen to appear when shifting into reverse. Only complaint is that occasionally while driving down the road the screen will turn on and blue then go off, when hitting bumps. Otherwise a great back up camera for the price. I am thinking of putting one on the front of her car with a switch to power on for pulling into parking spaces.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

,
February 4, 2014
By
from newark de
gteat product works great
would buy again great
nice view camra
)bbb=vvc-nnmnb
bbnnnnnnmmnbb
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for the money.

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Illinois
Makes it so easy to hook onto trailers. Can also adjust to see cargo while traveling.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Camera failure

,
January 15, 2014
By
from Kansas
Instructions claimed almost 200 feet of signal. Put camera on license place holder of a 22' enclosed trailer with transmitter inside due to it not being weather proof. No signal to monitor. Called and purchased a 25' extension cord for monitor. Relocated monitor inside trailer in front. No signal. Am I to drill a hole through front of trailer, then mount non-weather proof monitor outside? You might as well have made this a hard wire unit if your transmitter is meant not to work if not inside the cab.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great back up cam.

,
December 27, 2013
By
from gainesboro Tn.
well , out of the package and installed in 15 min. mounted the camera to the plate holder , run the wire over to and up behind the tail light , wired the wire to the backup tail light wire , two screws to put the light assembly back in ( wrap the wires with electrical tape , even tho it is dry in the light cavity) mounted the camera screen to the windshield and plugged it into the cig. lighter socket and was up and running . when I drop it into reverse the cam is on and I am backing up. really I use the cam to back up to my trailer hitch and ball on the truck , , no getting in and out of the cab looking to see where I need to be ,just a slight bend of the bracket that the cam is on and you have it . did not interfere with view either .. this is not a after dark cam, but with the backup light it is more than efficient . like it 100%
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak transmitter

,
November 18, 2013
By
from Alabama
I installed this on a full size Chevy truck. It worked great without the truck running but began to distort and blink with the truck running. I called the MFG for tech help. I told him that I mounted the transmitter under the bed of the truck and he told me I would have to move the transmitter to the top of the truck and cover it with a plastic bag (because it is not weather proof) can you say TACKY. Why make a transmitter that is so weak that it can't transmit 6ft through anything? I was really looking forward to this camera because the price was good and the next camera is around $300.00 (too much). It is not a good deal if it doesn't work or do the job.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+36points
41out of 46found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Peak Color Backup Camera - 3 1/2in. Color Monitor, Water-Resistant, Model# PKCORB"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backup Camera

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Hamburg NY
We bought this for our motor home. Easy to install, works great & a great price. As usual Northern has good service and products.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-18points
72out of 162found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.