Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188

Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188

Item# 250500
The Agri-Fab Mow-N-Vac with 205cc Brigs & Stratton engine comes complete with a cart, tractor cutting deck adapter, powerful engine and vacuum. Built to fit over 40 different cutting decks, the Mow-N-Vac features a hard top design that reduces dust, a 26-bushel / 32 cu. ft. capacity and 80 MPH suction. The Mow-N-Vac is delivered 75 assembled, making it quick and easy to put to work. Walk or Pull Pull, Engine Type OHV Intek, Vacuum Hose Diameter in. 6, Housing Material Vented poly hardtop, Air Velocity MPH 80, Approx Capacity cu.ft. 32, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 96 x 33 x 62, Tire Size 15-6.00, Engine Briggs & Stratton, Engine Displacement cc 205, Application Vacuum, Bagger Volume bushels 26. Deck adaptor comes with templates to customize it to fit over 40 different tractor decks up to 54in. wide deck must be right hand discharge The hard top design is the most durable on the market and dramatically cuts down on the dust emitted while in use Soft top vacuums emit a tremendous amount of potentially harmful dust that is inevitably inhaled by the operator The hard top also reduces the amount of dust inhaled by the engine, reducing engine wear and eventual failure 26 bushels / 32 cu. ft. collection capacity makes short work of large yards, picking up leaves, grass clippings, pine needles and other lawn debris with powerful suction up to 80 MPH The safety shutoff immediately shuts the engine down if the impeller blades are exposed to prevent accidents The 205cc Briggs & Stratton engine will provide years of dependable performance Optional hose kit sold separately lets you vacuum debris around shrubs, on patios, under decks and in other hard-to-reach areas
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188
Review 1 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but needs improverment

,
November 23, 2013
By Rip12
from Indiana
"This is my second purchase of the Lawn vac. The first lasted 10 years. Very helpful for picking up leaves as I have many to pick up on my 2.5 acres of lawn. Problems are rear door is too flexible and upper clamps bend the metal that they are attached to. The rubber bungy cords streach too much and the door is blown open. The bungy cord in the flexible connection between blower shoot and the trailer is too weak. I had to add another bungy cord over the flexible connection to keep from being dirt blasted while picking up the leaves. These are the same problems that I had with the 1st vac. and hoped that they would have been corrected by now but if anything they are worse as the 1st unit took a few years before the problems showed up. This unit the problems appear on the 1st load."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the investment...and then some!

,
June 3, 2013
By OldCarKook
from Sheldonville, MA
"I've had the AgriFab mow'n-vac cart for about 10 years. It has held up extremely well and I've had to replace a few consumable items on it; the impeller, the snorkle cuff, and the metal impeller housing which was damaged in a rock suck up mishap. Spare parts are readily available from AgriFab and this cart is just great. Extremely happy and if this were struck by an asteroid, I would replace it with the same model tomorrow morning without hesitation.
The advantages of the mow-n-vac approach are:
1) suction assist by the onboard engine which is strong enough that it never clogs on grass cutting.
2) the impeller also mulches and chews up what you cut, so in fall when I suck up leaves, I'm getting 5 times the volume of leaves in the cart that the cart would hold if they were not all chewed up by the impeller - so that's a big plus in compost pile size reduction.
3) It is well balanced and handles a full load well.
Disadvantages:
There are few if any but one thing that I found that helps a great deal is that I use a pair of car ramps and elevate the cart when I dump it. This gets the back high enough that it will self-unload when tipped. If you tip it just on ground level, it only goes up at a very slight angle which forces you to use a hoe or steel rake to pull the cuttings out of the cart.
Overall:
Overall this cart is a godsend for me on my property. I have a pool and this ended all cut grass and debris that was being tracked into the pool area as it vacuums and cleans the lawn like a carpet.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeds my expectations

,
May 14, 2012
By SailorJim
from Eastern Shore of Maryland
"This powerful lawn vacuume cleanly picks up pine needles and cones. After mulching by the built-in chopper, the mulch is so well compressed in the hard body trailer, that unloading is not a constant and major time consumer. The remote hose kit makes the spring clean up of flower bed a cinch. I love it!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lawn Vac

,
June 13, 2011
By BatonRougeJay
from Baton Rouge, La.
"I am in my fourth year using the lawn vac and it is the best thing on wheels.
It will such leaves and debris and leave your lawn spotless in no time.
What used to take me and my father days and weeks to do, I do in less than a day. I would recommend this to anyone who has lots of leaves to deal with.
Good Luck
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Agri-Fab Mow-N-Vac

,
August 30, 2010
By ben42
from Little Rock AR
"I purchased this item three years ago and I am very well pleased with the product. It saves many hours of raking leaves from the property, as there are at least 40 to 50 trees, mostly oak and some pine. I have it installed on a 15 year old 14.5 hp Murry lawn mower. I would recommend this to any one who has no pleasure in raking a huge amount of leaves. Also the compost from the leaves and twigs is very useful for flower beds. Also the deer like to root in it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mow n Vac 9 years of JOY!

,
June 1, 2010
By wimberleysprayer
from wimberley, tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The MownVac is truly one of the best purchases I have ever made! These Texas Live Oaks have many thousands of leaves that are impossible to rake. With 1.5 acres full of Live Oaks I find that the MownVac is like a shopvac for the yard! The neighbor has many oaks and St. Augustine grass which is impossible to rake ... MownVac to the rescue! My Miracle MownVac sits under the tree in the back yard until it is needed for a week every year. Starts first time every time. I do use a scoop shovel to empty the trailer as it is easier to direct where the debris goes. This would be perfect for those lawns that need a "grass catcher". I love my MownVac! The optional side hose is a must for hard to reach areas."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Mow and Vac

,
April 14, 2008
By Marsh811
from Folsom LA
"This is a good basic product and I recommend it. The Plus side: It does what is advertised. It will suck up leaves, pine needs, and small bits of wood chopped by the mower. The engine and trailer is about the right size, is pretty stable and will fill the wagon in about 1/8th or less on an acer, depending on the thickness of the debris on the gorund. You will know it is near full when it stops drawing the debris effectively. The cart will be nearly full. Assembly was not too difficult, but you had to procede carefully. The instructions were not too clear in certain spots, but by going slowly you will figure them out. The down side. The mower and hose are prone to clogging. This is mostly due to the introduction of larger sticks and debris whcih will hangup in the hose. These are easilly cleared. The other problem is you will not be able to clear the debris at a normal mowing pace. The input will be too great and will bog it down. I am interested in gathering the leaves and needles for mulch which is a good alternative to manufactured fertalizers. The trailer toung is very heavy , when fully assembled because of the power system on the toung. I recommend incorpoarting a swining wheeled support on the toung to ease hookup and tilt out of the way when vacuuming."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Agri-Fab Mow-N-Vac — 6.5 HP, Model# 50188

,
January 14, 2008
By wlress
from Kings Mountain, NC
"Basically a Great Unit. Unit works well for a large 2 acre lot with a lot of trees. It took me approximated 14 loads to clean up the leaves. I decided not to use the latch to dump the loads. The angle is not sufficient to do much. However, you can use a steel rake to pull the mulch out of the unit. The only problem I saw was that
the motor that is mounted to the front moves a little from left to right and I noticed after a few hours that this was tearing the fabric hose that connects the container to the exhaust from the motor. I made a small bracket from a piece of flat iron and bolted from the motor housing to the side of the container and this stabilized any left to right motion. Worked very well. The only problem with this is you can not use the tilt empty container latch which I decided not to use anyway. I would buy this unit again.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

agrifab lawn vac

,
October 30, 2007
By lawnslave
from Saxonburg,Pa
"I bought my lawn vac from Northern tool and equipment about 9 years ago and it has been the best investment of my lifetime. I fill it completely full about 50 times each fall and it makes leaves look like mulch. Mine is a 8 HP with a chipper . I use the chipper shredder very little."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55188
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent Lawn Vac

,
November 7, 2006
By JackBauer24
from Chaska, MN
"I use this on 1.5 acres of land with large trees. May be a little small for the application. The hopper isn't that easy to dump, but probably wouldn't be that big of a deal if I didn't have such a big yard. It actually picked up a decent amount of the acorns, which is impressive."
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.