Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249

Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249

Item# 250501
The Agri-Fab Chip-N-Vac with a powerful 205cc Briggs & Stratton engine comes complete with a cart, vacuum/chipper and tractor cutting deck adapter. Built to fit over 40 different cutting decks, the Chip-N-Vac features a hard top design that reduces dust, a 26-bushel / 32 cu. ft. capacity and 80 MPH suction. Chips branches up to 2in. dia. into usable mulch or for easy disposal. The Chip-N-Vac is delivered 75 assembled, making it quick and easy to put to work. Tire Size 15-6.00, Approx Capacity cu.ft. 32, Engine Type OHV Intek, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 96 x 33 x 62, Engine Briggs & Stratton, Walk or Pull Pull, Application Vacuum, Bagger Volume bushels 26, Air Velocity MPH 80, Engine Displacement cc 205, Max. Cutting Capacity - Round in. dia. 2, Vacuum Hose Diameter in. 6, Housing Material Vented poly hardtop, Chipper Yes. 205cc Briggs & Stratton Engine provides years of dependable performance Durable hardtop design keeps dust out of the engine, reducing wear 26 bushel/32 cu. ft. collection capacity makes it easy to clear large yards 80 MPH suction power makes it easy to pick up leaves, grass clippings, pine needles and other lawn debris Chips branches up to 2in. diameter for mulch or disposal Safety shutoff prevents accidents by immediately turning the engine off when the impeller blades are exposed Deck adapter comes with templates to customize it for use with over 40 different right hand discharge tractors up to 54in.W Optional hose kit lets you vacuum debris around shrubs, on patios and in other hard-to-reach areas
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249
Review 1 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

agrifab lawn vacuum critique.

,
March 20, 2012
By pandan
from Arlington,tn
"Have owned this for eight years. The motor and vacuum system are excellent. the weaknesses are the fabric connection to the hopper, the plastic attachment to the mower and the plastic discharge chute. these things should be made of metal. They eventually disintegrate. Keep plenty of duct tape available. Also the dumping works only with dry leaves. You cannot dump heavy grass. I had to build a platform on casters to pull out of the hopper after digging half out with a rake. It works most effectively with the hose on the ground while you rake leaves up to it. To be such a wonderful machine, it seems like a few short-cuts were taken in design."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ag Fab shredder,Leaf vac

,
August 30, 2010
By jfiecke
from Cold Spring,Mn
"I recently purchased this unit in May 2010 and found it to be very usefull.
I have shreded brush up to 2inchs and from my garden I have shrededall the corn stocks and some sunflower stocks and turn them into compost.
I am very pleased with the way it worksand the diferents it has made in my lawn.I have always left my grass clippings on the lawn and it seem to always look dead it seems to be much greener and less debre laying around.I would recomed this product if you have a large area more than a half acre to maintain.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Power house of a tool

,
June 3, 2010
By Beverly
from North Central Texas
"I have owned this unit for almost 8 years and have learned the good, bad and ugly quirks of using it. First off don't bother to use the dump feature, unless you like removing and replacing the chute attachment connecting the box to the chute. If you use a large hoe you can pull the debris out of the back without dumping. If you dump without removing the chute it will tear at the corners and after replacing it twice I learned to rake. Under extremly heavy use that I have put mine through, I made a tough cow hide box chute attachment and bolted it to the box . Since I live and vacumn 4 acres of sand, rocks and oak trees the unit gets a work out. After 5 years I had to weld on extra metal to the impellar housing due to the sand/gravel pitting and making holes. The metal box on this unit is the only container to purchase as soft sides will tear easily..
Under regular lawn maintanece it is awesome, with the heavy, heavy use I have put mine through I would still buy another unit tomorrow.
I purchased a 20' long x 8" hose as the smaller hose sold as an attachment tended to jam with even small pieces of branches and the handle broke. I use the long hose to vacumn the pompass grass and large piles I blow into heaps. I have learned it is easy to lay the hose down and rake to it and it will suck up leaves and small twigs like a champ.
* Make sure you check the oil regularly, every time you empty/dump is best as the unit will burn oil with heavy use and could burn up the motor. Cleaning the air filter before each use and making sure tires are inflated will make using this unit a true pleasure.
If you want a true Ranch Work Horse this is the only unit to purchase.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT FOR YARD WORK

,
March 16, 2009
By BobTheHomeowner
from Maryland
"I would recommend this unit for the average homeowner. It is well built & easy to use. I have 3/4 of an acre of mostly wooded property & the fall provides many bushels of leaves to be disposed of. With the exception of the two week period when every leaf seems to drop at the same time the unit handles the volume very well. The chipper is great for yard pickup. Reasonably it will handle up to about 1". Anything over that it just grinds away slowly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac

,
November 18, 2008
By clint123
from Lancaster, PA
"Overall I like my Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac it works very well to pick up leaves. The only dislikes that I have are it is very hard to feed branches into the chipper because of the long narrow chute. And it is hard to tell when the trailer is getting full. If you over fill it the leaves and grass get packed in and are hard to remove. But overall it saves me a Lot of time and works well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

grounds

,
November 18, 2008
By darr
from aberdeen idaho
"I just got my vac-chipper. it has good vac power and the chipper works nice
Just the 7' hose did not reach when i turned to the left.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pasture Vac/Chipper Shredder

,
November 13, 2008
By Anonymous
from Bend, Oregon
"I purchased this item in 2003 and it works great. I got the optional hose kit because I use it to pick up llama beans. I had a friend mount a wheel bracket on the end of the hose and now I have an actual "vacuum". No more back pains, I just "vacuum" the pens. I am now in the process of ordering a replacement motor as mine finally gave out. I might have to replace the cloth material on the chute as a result of rocks, but this thing has worked like a champ for me all these years. Would highly recommend this item for any ranch. Great for picking up leaves too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Large Yards

,
January 19, 2008
By CHRIS2008
from Atlanta, GA
"I have owned this product for 4 years and it is a powerhouse! I have a 2 acre yard with two huge150 year old oak trees and several large mature pecan trees. The leaf season can be quite daunting. I attach this unit to my small 12 hp 42” Murray riding mower and it performs perfectly. I recently pruned the oak and pecan trees using a chain saw and bucket lift. The 3 branch piles were 6 feet tall. I cut up the smaller branches with the chain saw and fed the branches in the chipper to create great mulch to use around the garden beds. The trick is to keep the blades sharp on the chipper. The Tecumsa motor is dependable and works well under extreme hot and cold temperatures. If you are an organic gardener, you will love the mulch from your grass clippings, leaf mulch or chipped wood. To empty the cart: place a tarp on the ground at the rear door and use a pitch fork or iron rake to empty the mulch on the tarp, then drag the tarp over to your beds for great landscaping mulch distribution. I love power tools and own larger landscape machines like tractors and bush-hog cutters, but this is a great machine for the DIY homeowner with a large yard."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
October 30, 2007
By rc107
from Roanoke Virginia
"Great machine easy to operate and very powerful. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big Yards, Big Jobs

,
October 19, 2007
By 3acreyardman
from Auburn, CA
"I have owned the MOw-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder for 7.5 years, now, and it is still going strong. I have used it and probably abused it by mowing everything from finished lawns to out-right weedy pastures ~ not to mention the rocks that go with the territory. Rocks, by far have been the biggest problem for me. But besides that, I have just about worn out most of the plastic parts, including 3 hoses, and the entire palstic shoot and intake deck adapter. I will continue replacing parts as needed. The entire trailer has cracked near where the wheels mount (the support frame is pushing up into the steel trailer bed from all the heavy loads, and the tilt-locking mechanism cracked a long time ago. One problem that I always had, was that the dump feature was never that good. The grass would never slide out. I always resorted to pulling it out with a pitch fork. I stopped using the dump feature after the fisrt 1.5 years. The chipper was used rarely, it did OK, but could only handle small branches, and nothing that had too much shape to it. I did not come across straight 1" branches with not too much side shoots that would readily fit down the narrow feed tube very often. So, the chipper was never too handy. I did use the vacuum feature to finish topping of the trailer with wood-ships and multch to then transport and spread on garden walk areas. That was very handy.
Overall, I am pretty pleased with it. It will probably outlast the MTD Garden tractor that I bought at the same time - I should have bought the John-Deere. Taming 6 acres of combined 3 acres of lawn/meadow and the rest in brush and pasture has taken its toll on the unit.
If you are a more regular homeowner, you should be able to enjoy a long service life with this unit. Would I buy again ~ yes, but I would modify the sides and insert a pyramid middle section to be able to swing open the sides for a complete break-apart dumping profile.
* Note: I was raised on a 4,000 acre farm, and used all kinds of equipment, so I do have a relatively higher performance expectation frame of reference.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Chip-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 205cc Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV Engine, 32 Cu. Ft., Model# 55249
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder

,
November 18, 2006
By Sweensr
from Baltimore, MD
"I have been using my Agri-Fab Tow-Behind Mow-N-Vac Chipper/Shredder - 8 HP, Model# 502492 now for several weeks and generally like it. I am a homeowner that is using the product to manage a very large leaf problem on my property. I use backpack blowers and push blowers to creat piles of leaves, then vac and shred the leaves witht the Agri-Fab. I also have a large number of mulched planting beds. The product works great for vacuuming out leaves and debris around shrubs and plants.
The chipper/shredder feature of this product works as you would expect and is consistent with most other low duty products on the market. It works just fine, but you certainly would not use the product for chipping large amounts of debris.
There is one problem with the product that is very annoying. Agri-Fab sends several templates along with the product for attaching the vac hose to the discharge chute of whatever lawn tractor you are using. This allows you vacuume up leaves as you drive your tractor by directing the grass and leaves from your mower's discharge chute into the input hose of the Mow-N-Vac. Good idea but one big problem. The template for my John Deere tractor was terribly wrong. I ended up ruining my Agri-Fab chute attachment because it doesn't even come close to fitting. I will eventually come up with some method for attaching the product to my tractor (maybe this winter) but for now, I am only getting partial value out of my investment.
I will forward a copy of this review to Northern Tool customer service and see if they have had this problem before."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.