Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag

Item# 250550
Premium-grade wood pellets feature high BTU output, low ash and no bark. Capacity lbs. 40, Material Type Wood, Common Usage Stove fuel, Includes 1 Bag of pellets.
Average Customer Rating:
2.583 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
5 of 12(42%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Review 1 for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Pellets

,
August 13, 2012
By Joe30519
from Buford, GA
"I made a basket to burn these is the firepace. It works good and is a lot cheaper that log or buying firewood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
6out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wood pellets

,
January 23, 2012
By tpb34669
from hudson,florida
"I bought these wood pellets, they seam to perform like other wood pellets I had purchased in the past. In my experience all wood pellets create a great deal of ash, these are no different !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Jammed Up

,
June 9, 2011
By dbizz
"Being a newer pellet stove owner I did not realize there was such a great difference in the quality of pellets out there. I soon figured out why these were so cheap. They breakdown while in the hopper jamming up the auger. You can only load one bag at a time due to having to constantly clean the sawdust from the auger. Spend the extra money and buy a better quality pellet."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cold in Tennessee

,
January 24, 2011
By Brrrrrr
from TN
"I used these pellets last years and found them acceptable, although they created a great deal of ash. For this winter I bought 3 tons of pellets. I've been able to burn only about 1/2 ton. Pellets from other sources will burn fine, but for some reason, these pellets jam up my auger. Northen Tool may find themselves with a return of 120 bags if Spring ever comes."
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Heat Fuel Pellets

,
August 23, 2010
By tgillette
from Allendale, SC
"Just came accross this doing some other shopping. My brother in law up in delaware recommended these pellets to me as the best , hottest and cleanest he had ever used. when shortages in 2008, i tried Penningtons and the Natures earth and both were awful. Then I tried Bg Heat and had problems like you describe to. I called all 3 companies and Big Heat was the only ones to call me back. They really took care of me. App. during the 2008 season, some of these guys used contract packaging and had trouble with a plant in Georgia. Turns out my brother in law used the Big Heat pellets out of Virginia. The people at the office said they had dropped the Georgia manfacturer and ever since I have been really happy with them. Seem like people who care and really helpful. I recommend the now like my BIL best ones I've ever used ( now)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

big heat pellets

,
December 28, 2009
By alllen
from HICKORY NORTH CAROLINA
"i bought a ton of the pellets last year 08 because there was none to be found any where else these pellets are the worse ones i have ever used full of dust and other junk the heat out put is poor i had to turn up my feed a lot just to get the stove to run so i used more than i should have i would not recommend these to any it would of have been cheeper to use oil than the pellets i hope HTS gets a nother suppler i know what i am talking about when it comes to useing pellets i be useing a pellet stove for 10 years and have used many different kinds of pellets and these are no good"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

money wasted

,
October 19, 2009
By 28906
"Horrible pellets. My neighbor & I split 5 tons of these. By far the worst pellets either of us have ever used. Everything that has been posted in other reviews is true! Save your money, & stay away from these!!!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big Heat or Big Disappointment?

,
December 8, 2008
By Geronimo
from Bristow, VA
"I have been burning pellets as my primary source of heat for years. These pellets are by far the worst I have ever seen. They are very inefficient and extremely dirty. The bag has all sorts of random trash in it....peices of grass, wood splinters, and who knows what else. I wouldn't burn these in my stove again if they were free. They produce so much soot and ash the stove is a mess after just a couple bags and we're going through them at probably twice the rate of good pellets."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wood Pellets

,
November 24, 2008
By Anonymous
from Cold Spring Mn
"I bought one ton of these wood pellets. I found them to be of poor quality. Approximately 1/8 of the 40 lb. bag was wood dust. I had to sain the dust from pellets to get to the good pellets. I contacted NTE and explained my concern.
I have been using a pellet stove for three years with no problems until now. Quality is important and so is the heat . A word of advice" Look around and try them before you buy pellets. NTE struck out with these wood pellets. I have no complaints on other product that I have purchased from NTE.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Price Great! Pellets Lasting Power Could Be Better

,
November 14, 2008
By Kia1
from Elizabeth City, NC
"Purchased one bag of these pellets to see how long one bag would last before I purchases more. Good thing I did, they only lasted about 6-8 hours total. I burned the stove about three times at 1.5-2 hours each time. Good for a romantic night...not really great for burning to heat a house and/or room for more than a couple of hours... you would go broke long before you ever heated the house/room for one winter. I would purchase them again just knowing that they wont last long, and knowing that I would never use them as a primary source of heat...not even for one room."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok - but lots of fines/dust

,
November 3, 2008
By MNguy
from Otsego, MN
"I purchased just over 1 ton of these pellets earlier this year. The price was better than anyplace else - but I guess I got what I paid for.
Now with few chilly nights I fired up the stove to start using them. I've used 5 bags so far and every bag has had a lot of fines and dust in it. My style of stove drops the pellets down a tube into the burn pot (the auger doesn't push them directly in). This causes the dust to float all over the inside of the stove. The heat exchanger tubes are covered with a lot more ash & soot than normal.
The pellets are a lot shorter than other brands I've used. They also seem to crumble easier. I would guess that the type of wood they use or the pressure/heat in the pellet mill isn't as good.
I won't be buying this brand of pellets ever again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Heat Wood Pellets 40-Lb. Bag

,
November 11, 2007
By cheesehead
from Erie, PA
"Great Price and a great way to heat your house. They delivered it right to our door-step. We didn't have to borrow a truck load it ourselves.
I would recommend this to everyone!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.