Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"

"Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"

Item# 250628
"This Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan spreads more cool throughout warehouses, workshops or garages with oscillating action at three speeds. Maintenance-free, energy-efficient PSC type motor is permanently lubricated and enclosed for long service life. Durably built with heavy-duty aluminum, statically balanced blades and corrosion-resistant powder-coated fan guard. Two comfort control settings. On/off oscillating feature allows fixed and wide spread operation. Durable oscillating mechanism prevents jamming. Fan head tilt angle adjustment. Rigid motor fan mount for easy installation. UL/ETL listed. Air Delivery CFM 5,950, Fan Diameter in. 20, Power Cord ft. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 1/2 x 19 x 23, Product Style Oscillating, Watts 165, Amps 1.5, HP 1/5, Speeds qty. 3, Volts 110. Maintenance-free, energy-efficient PSC type motor is permanently lubricated and enclosed for long service life Durably built with heavy-duty aluminum, statically balanced blades and a corrosion-resistant powder-coated fan guard Two comfort control settings On/off oscillating feature allows fixed and wide spread operation Durable oscillating mechanism prevents jamming Fan head tilt angle adjustment Rigid motor fan mount for easy installation UL/ETL listed 1/5 HP, 110V electric motor delivers 5,950 CFM for plenty of airflow"
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (44 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
36 of 43(84%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Review 1 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan Mod#10236

,
September 2, 2015
By
from South of San Antonio
" Fan came as advertised, easy to assemble. It's been in operation a little over three weeks 24/7.Not to noisey.I'll probably buy another one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied customer

,
August 27, 2015
By
from San Angelo, TX
" I ordered 2 of these fans for my workshop. They were easy to install. The fans perform as expected. I am very satisfied with the product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fan

,
August 19, 2015
By
from Rolla, MO
" Fan was easy to assemble and mount and move a LOT of air even at the lowest speed. Great addition to my shop. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oscillating Wall-mount fan

,
August 18, 2015
By
from South Central PA
" Fan makes large 600 sq.ft.garage/ workshop comfortable to work when outside temperature is 90. On high speed noise makes it hard to carry on conversation, but since I work alone, that is not a problem. Mount surface area of 5 inches by 5 inches, required opening up drywall to add to stud. If garage not finished, mounting to an exposed stud is not a problem. Cost of fan is a very economical compared to trying to air condition. I am very pleased with the fan. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

20 inch ocelating fan modle #10236

,
August 18, 2015
By
from colorado springs,co
" works great, moves lots of air but makes some noise,it is OK because there in the shop helps keep everyone cool.
best purchase ever. we ordered 2 more for the other end of the shop a few days later.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wall Fan

,
August 15, 2015
By
from Punta Gorda, FL
" Fan itself does a great job in my garage but the noise level is rather high. While it's running the noise level can be a bit overwelming but on the bright side it does the job. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wind tunnel

,
August 10, 2015
By
from ohio
" Fan was easy to put together and works great. The 3 speed fan is awsome "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

totally cool

,
August 10, 2015
By
from North Jersey
" This fan is awesome for the garage all summer long. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This a very good fan!

,
July 20, 2015
By
from Minnesota
" This is a very good fan! It is easy to install. It blows lots of air. I just bought a second fan! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Below average

,
July 16, 2015
By
from VA
" Purchased this fan yesterday and returned it today. I mounted it in two different places in my garage and I was very disappointed with the fans minimal volume of air output. If stood any further than 5' from the fan, forget about it. I feel like the highest fan speed doesn't move any more air versus the lowest speed setting. The fan doesn't put any air out the middle, only the sides of the unit, barely. I have a cheap $20 box fan that puts out more air than this unit. I really wanted to like it, had my neighbor over to give me his opinion, my wife and my father in law. All told me to take it back. So took it back today, picked up a 22" Ironton pedestal fan and man this 22" fan on its lowest setting puts out twice the airflow of the 20" Q standard fan on its highest setting. I see some are happy with this fan, certainly didn't cut it for me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful and Quiet

,
July 16, 2015
By
from Ohio
" I own two of these (bought one last year and was so impressed I ordered another this year). I use them in an unheated 30x40 barn/garage. They work fabulously. I like that they have three speeds, can adjust the head angle, and are beefy [they can be a chore mounting up above one's head - two people should be used].
I have used these in the steel structure in 90+ degree weather and have been fine (without the fans it can get to 120 degrees in that 'box'). Once the air is moving these units really help draw the cool air from the concrete up through the eves.
I would recommend these to anyone
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Fans!

,
July 10, 2015
By
from Saint Louis, MO
" Multiple fans were purchased for individual work stations in a manufacturing facility. The fans are very high quality at a competitive price and were quick and easy to install. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Moves a lot of air, makes a lot of noise

,
July 5, 2015
By
from Houston, TX
" This fan works great in my garage, and blows a lot of air around. It doesn't cool the air, but the air movement helps a lot.
If you buy this, you should know that it is loud. Especially on the highest setting. It's not painful, but it is something to be considered. I don't know if there are quieter fans available or not.
Second, the mounting hardware is not included. Not really significant, unless you don't have it, in which case you will need to make another trip back to the store for the bolts and washers.
I'd buy it again, though - does a good job of cooling. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Fan!

,
July 2, 2015
By
from Doubs, Md.
" Needed a fan to move hot air around and out of my roofed chicken coop. This fan served the job perfectly. Easy to put together & install. With the 3 speeds and oscillating feature one can direct air as fast as needed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for home garage

,
June 28, 2015
By
from Western New York State
" I purchased this fan to allow me to cool my garage. It was easy to assemble and mount.
I mounted the fan high and out of the way along a side wall. It did a great job by covering a large area.
It has proven to be a fan well worth the price and ease of mounting. I think this fan has the power to work well in a commercial application, too.
Good value for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Oscillating Fan

,
June 23, 2015
By
from Charlotte, NC
" I bought this fan for installation in my home garage. Installation was relatively easy - mounted the fan to a block of wood and mounted that to the wall at a stud.
At first, the fan started making a creaking noise that I could not isolate. I thought it was the mount binding when the fan turned. I finally sprayed the oscillation mechanism with WD-40 and that eliminated the noise.
The fan speeds are good - I can typically run it on low and it makes acceptable air movement. I would like to be able to turn off the oscillation. The cord has to be routed/positioned so that it does not rub on the frame during the oscillation. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible

,
June 19, 2015
By
from Lilburn
" I purchased this product in 2014 for my shop and was very disappointed. Not sure if it would blow out a candle if the candle was placed 3 inches in front of it. It blows almost no air towards the front. It does move a little air on the sides but who wants that. A total waste of money. I replaced it with the 30 inch model this year. Buy the 30 inch. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't move very much Air!

,
June 17, 2015
By
from Miami, FL
" Save your money and go for an Airking! I purchased this fan 2 weeks ago for my garage and once installed i come to realize that it doesn't mover very much air. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good fan

,
June 15, 2015
By
from Jax fl
" this is no. 2 works well noise is a bit on the high side would be a problem in a small space "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., 1/5 HP, 5,950 CFM, 110 Volt, Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fan

,
June 12, 2015
By
from knox. TN
" This fan is fairly well made, it has a simple design . It is just the right size for many industrial applications and would be great around the home stead ! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.