Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236

Item# 250628
This Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan spreads more cool throughout warehouses, workshops or garages with oscillating action at three speeds. Maintenance-free, energy-efficient PSC type motor is permanently lubricated and enclosed for long service life. Durably built with heavy-duty aluminum, statically balanced blades and corrosion-resistant powder-coated fan guard. Two comfort control settings. On/off oscillating feature allows fixed and wide spread operation. Durable oscillating mechanism prevents jamming. Fan head tilt angle adjustment. Rigid motor fan mount for easy installation. Meets OSHA standards. UL/ETL listed. Air Delivery CFM 5,950, Amps 1.5, Fan Diameter in. 20, Product Style Oscillating, Volts 110, Watts 165, HP 1/5, Speeds qty. 3, Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 1/2 x 19 x 23, Power Cord ft. 6. Maintenance-free, energy-efficient PSC type motor is permanently lubricated and enclosed for long service life Durably built with heavy-duty aluminum, statically balanced blades and a corrosion-resistant powder-coated fan guard Two comfort control settings On/off oscillating feature allows fixed and wide spread operation Durable oscillating mechanism prevents jamming Fan head tilt angle adjustment Rigid motor fan mount for easy installation Meets OSHA standards UL/ETL listed 1/5 HP, 110V electric motor delivers 5,950 CFM for plenty of airflow
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
18 of 23(78%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Review 1 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool breeze

,
September 21, 2014
By Rlastr
from Western NY
"Great fan! I bought two that keeps a large shop cool and air moving well. Only complaint would be the need for a button (rather than a bolt) to turn on and off the oscillation feature. Highly recommend!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

More noise than air

,
September 12, 2014
By GregRM
from Oregon
"This fan can't possibly be the nearly 6,000 CFM they claim.
I have smaller 18" fans that are rated at half that and they definitely move more air and are not as noisy.
Also, one of the fans I bought makes a clunking sound on the oscillating cam when it's been running for a few minutes. I called the company (Selecture Inc.) twice to get warranty procedures, and the second time they finally sent me this:
"Warranty states you send us just the motor and we will fix or replace you motor. You are out getting it to us, and please in the box with the motor is a piece of paper with your date of purchase, name, address, city, state and zip code.
Thank you
D**** C****
Domestic Operations Administrator
Selecture, Inc"
Pretty unprofessional. Notice that they didn't even provide a shipping address or RMA/incident number. And if you visit their website, you don't get much more. Click "contact" and you get a list of loading errors.
Anyway, I am not impressed with either the fan or the company and would not recommend this fan nor would I keep them if I had a choice."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fans

,
August 12, 2014
By thedragon
from Illinois
"They blow great volume of air. Noise is expected at that amount of cfm. The horses love them"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fan

,
August 1, 2014
By snatcher
from fishersville va
"fans has a lot of cfm should work fine where i need it"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outdoor fan

,
July 23, 2014
By Rogers1
from boulder creek, ca
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"For the cost, it's perfect. Of course with all fans, I wish it wasn't so loud but when it's on low it moves air and isn't too loud and obnoxious. I have a couple of these; shop, job trailer (18"), and outdoor patio area. So far so good. Easy to put together if you have some common sense. The motor osculates smoothly. It seems like it is a well built product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as described

,
June 4, 2014
By gwwh
from Wichita KS
"just as described Moves alot of air, fast shipping worked just great. Was looking for a wall mount fan at a good price and viola"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Moves Air.

,
May 29, 2014
By Fordman1
from Nebraska
"This is an excellent shop fan. For the money you can't beat it.
Pros-
Inexpensive
Moves alot of air
Easy to install
Cons-
Pivot lock bolt strips easily.
Can not turn oscillation off.
Overall it's a great fan for the shop or garage. Might be a bit noisy for regular home use, but for a shop you would never notice the noise. I plan on putting another one in the shop soon!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

LOUD! What? I SAID LOUD!

,
July 22, 2013
By CuseFan
from Sugar Hill, GA
"This fan is awesome, other than it is LOUD! Even on low speed it is LOUD! Install was straight forward, looks great installed, but did I tell you it was LOUD? I am returning tomorrow to Northern Tool and will go back to the Q Standard Garage Fan — 18in., Model# 18923 which we had going pretty much 24/7/365 for over 3 years with no problems before it started making noises, like the bearings were finally going."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Moves some air

,
July 21, 2013
By TGC49
from Liberty Hill, TX
"I am custom home builder and for my personal house I did not want an outdoor ceiling fan for our back patio because they do not push enough air in the Texas heat. I wall mounted this fan and plugged it in to a switched outlet. This fan moves a lot of air even on the lowest setting. The only draw back is that it is a little noisy but the noise is worth it to me..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan

,
July 21, 2013
By Buzz46
from Chattanooga, TN
"I have several good purchases from Northern Tool, but this is not one of them. I assembled and mounted the fan on the wall in my shop. Yes it is extremely noisy, but even worse, I can stand 10 feet away and not hardly feel any air movement. This fan must be the most inefficient fan I've ever seen, and I have numerous fans. I'd like to get my money back, but my 30 days will be up before I can get back in town. I'd have to take it down and disassemble the thing. As it is now, it will make a good base for spider webs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent, kind of noisy

,
July 1, 2013
By ASPVAC
from Massachusetts
"Seems to move a decent amount of air, but very loud on anything other than low. Installation was not an issue. Overall, fairly pleased with what I received for what I paid. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

More noise than air

,
June 1, 2013
By Volley
from Florida
"I have a 25 by 35 foot 4 car garage. I mounted the fan 3 feet from a corner, about 7 feet from the floor and 3 feet from the ceiling. I have the fan tilted down the maximum possible (about 5 degrees) The breeze from the fan is barely adequate about 12 feet from the fan when it is on high. It is noisy. The breeze and noise are about the same on all three settings. The cord is too short (6 feet). The quality of construction is very good. The packaging is odd - all the bolts are installed and must be removed and there is a brace and bolt holding the fan blade that must be removed and discarded. There are no instructions. Overall it is just OK. Probably should have bought the 30 inch model. Am reluctant to put another 20 inch on the opposite wall due to the added noise."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This fan blows, really!!!!

,
August 20, 2012
By orangegeek
from Utah
"I have a fairly small garage, but here in Utah, also known as a desert. It gets very hot and dry. So when working in the garage I need something to move the air around. There was another fan just under $100, but this one was worth the extra money(check the reviews on other fan). I am happy with it. I can adjust when needed. I also wired it to a switch to make it easy to turn on and off. If you need to move some air, and want to cool down, but dont want to spend a lot, I recommend this fan!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FAN

,
August 13, 2012
By bancheek
from Tullahoma , Tennessee
"Great fan hung in garage . Keeps the air moving. great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan

,
August 13, 2012
By drisley
from NC
"Superb design, I like that all hardware is SAE sized and similar in design. Installed completely under 30 minutes, and has been running in my garage here in NC since June 1 non-stop and never missed a beat. Does a great job reducing bugs as it moves so much air so fast! Have since bought 2 more, one for the other side of my garage and the other for a covered porch area where the BBQ is done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavy duty

,
August 13, 2012
By HPIII
from Miami
"Fan is heavy duty and should last for a long time. Is a little noisy, sounds like a low flying cessna. No frills, you need a screw driver to tilt and or oscilate. Best to pick one and stay with it. The only bad thing I would say is that there were no dementions with the directions as far as mounting distances. I had to kind of put it together on the floor to make sure that I did not install the wall bracket to close to the ceiling."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Mod

,
August 13, 2012
By MarshallMI
from Marshall, MI
"This is used in a cattle barn and with the HOT midwest summer we have had it has worked great at keeping cattle cooler and flys off of them. Even the lowest speed is sufficient on average days just to keep air moving and flys away."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fan worked great for 3 weeks then died

,
August 13, 2012
By CNeill
from Fort Worth Texas
"This fan comes unassembled and takes a little bit of skill to put together and mount. But once complete it is pretty sturdy. The fan one day started working intermittently and then died alltogether. Now I will have to try and find out how to get it replaced through Northern."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fan

,
August 13, 2012
By AnytimeFitness
from Indiana
"I have installed 5 of these fans in an Anytime Fitness. They move a lots of air and members are very happy with them. I have another club coming later this year and will be installing these fans in this location.
I have had other Anytime Fitness owners inquire about where to get these fans. I always give them the link to Northern Tool and Equipment. Best price I have found!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says it will

,
August 13, 2012
By JerryB2
from Chapel Hill, NC
"I'm very impressed with this fan. The construction is good, the installation instructions were clear and concise and the fan performance exceeded my expectations. There are no CONS to this fan."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.