Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236

Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236

Item# 250628
This Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan spreads more cool throughout warehouses, workshops or garages with oscillating action at three speeds. Maintenance-free, energy-efficient PSC type motor is permanently lubricated and enclosed for long service life. Durably built with heavy-duty aluminum, statically balanced blades and corrosion-resistant powder-coated fan guard. Two comfort control settings. On/off oscillating feature allows fixed and wide spread operation. Durable oscillating mechanism prevents jamming. Fan head tilt angle adjustment. Rigid motor fan mount for easy installation. Meets OSHA standards. UL/ETL listed. Watts 165, Air Delivery CFM 5,950, Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 1/2 x 19 x 23, Product Style Oscillating, Amps 1.5, HP 1/5, Speeds qty. 3, Power Cord ft. 6, Fan Diameter in. 20, Volts 110. Maintenance-free, energy-efficient PSC type motor is permanently lubricated and enclosed for long service life Durably built with heavy-duty aluminum, statically balanced blades and a corrosion-resistant powder-coated fan guard Two comfort control settings On/off oscillating feature allows fixed and wide spread operation Durable oscillating mechanism prevents jamming Fan head tilt angle adjustment Rigid motor fan mount for easy installation Meets OSHA standards UL/ETL listed 1/5 HP, 110V electric motor delivers 5,950 CFM for plenty of airflow
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
12 of 16(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Review 1 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

LOUD! What? I SAID LOUD!

,
July 22, 2013
By CuseFan
from Sugar Hill, GA
"This fan is awesome, other than it is LOUD! Even on low speed it is LOUD! Install was straight forward, looks great installed, but did I tell you it was LOUD? I am returning tomorrow to Northern Tool and will go back to the Q Standard Garage Fan — 18in., Model# 18923 which we had going pretty much 24/7/365 for over 3 years with no problems before it started making noises, like the bearings were finally going."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Moves some air

,
July 21, 2013
By TGC49
from Liberty Hill, TX
"I am custom home builder and for my personal house I did not want an outdoor ceiling fan for our back patio because they do not push enough air in the Texas heat. I wall mounted this fan and plugged it in to a switched outlet. This fan moves a lot of air even on the lowest setting. The only draw back is that it is a little noisy but the noise is worth it to me..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan

,
July 21, 2013
By Buzz46
from Chattanooga, TN
"I have several good purchases from Northern Tool, but this is not one of them. I assembled and mounted the fan on the wall in my shop. Yes it is extremely noisy, but even worse, I can stand 10 feet away and not hardly feel any air movement. This fan must be the most inefficient fan I've ever seen, and I have numerous fans. I'd like to get my money back, but my 30 days will be up before I can get back in town. I'd have to take it down and disassemble the thing. As it is now, it will make a good base for spider webs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent, kind of noisy

,
July 1, 2013
By ASPVAC
from Massachusetts
"Seems to move a decent amount of air, but very loud on anything other than low. Installation was not an issue. Overall, fairly pleased with what I received for what I paid. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

More noise than air

,
June 1, 2013
By Volley
from Florida
"I have a 25 by 35 foot 4 car garage. I mounted the fan 3 feet from a corner, about 7 feet from the floor and 3 feet from the ceiling. I have the fan tilted down the maximum possible (about 5 degrees) The breeze from the fan is barely adequate about 12 feet from the fan when it is on high. It is noisy. The breeze and noise are about the same on all three settings. The cord is too short (6 feet). The quality of construction is very good. The packaging is odd - all the bolts are installed and must be removed and there is a brace and bolt holding the fan blade that must be removed and discarded. There are no instructions. Overall it is just OK. Probably should have bought the 30 inch model. Am reluctant to put another 20 inch on the opposite wall due to the added noise."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This fan blows, really!!!!

,
August 20, 2012
By orangegeek
from Utah
"I have a fairly small garage, but here in Utah, also known as a desert. It gets very hot and dry. So when working in the garage I need something to move the air around. There was another fan just under $100, but this one was worth the extra money(check the reviews on other fan). I am happy with it. I can adjust when needed. I also wired it to a switch to make it easy to turn on and off. If you need to move some air, and want to cool down, but dont want to spend a lot, I recommend this fan!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FAN

,
August 13, 2012
By bancheek
from Tullahoma , Tennessee
"Great fan hung in garage . Keeps the air moving. great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan

,
August 13, 2012
By drisley
from NC
"Superb design, I like that all hardware is SAE sized and similar in design. Installed completely under 30 minutes, and has been running in my garage here in NC since June 1 non-stop and never missed a beat. Does a great job reducing bugs as it moves so much air so fast! Have since bought 2 more, one for the other side of my garage and the other for a covered porch area where the BBQ is done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavy duty

,
August 13, 2012
By HPIII
from Miami
"Fan is heavy duty and should last for a long time. Is a little noisy, sounds like a low flying cessna. No frills, you need a screw driver to tilt and or oscilate. Best to pick one and stay with it. The only bad thing I would say is that there were no dementions with the directions as far as mounting distances. I had to kind of put it together on the floor to make sure that I did not install the wall bracket to close to the ceiling."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Mod

,
August 13, 2012
By MarshallMI
from Marshall, MI
"This is used in a cattle barn and with the HOT midwest summer we have had it has worked great at keeping cattle cooler and flys off of them. Even the lowest speed is sufficient on average days just to keep air moving and flys away."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fan worked great for 3 weeks then died

,
August 13, 2012
By CNeill
from Fort Worth Texas
"This fan comes unassembled and takes a little bit of skill to put together and mount. But once complete it is pretty sturdy. The fan one day started working intermittently and then died alltogether. Now I will have to try and find out how to get it replaced through Northern."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fan

,
August 13, 2012
By AnytimeFitness
from Indiana
"I have installed 5 of these fans in an Anytime Fitness. They move a lots of air and members are very happy with them. I have another club coming later this year and will be installing these fans in this location.
I have had other Anytime Fitness owners inquire about where to get these fans. I always give them the link to Northern Tool and Equipment. Best price I have found!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says it will

,
August 13, 2012
By JerryB2
from Chapel Hill, NC
"I'm very impressed with this fan. The construction is good, the installation instructions were clear and concise and the fan performance exceeded my expectations. There are no CONS to this fan."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to install

,
June 12, 2012
By marfon
from Houston
"PRO: This fan is easy to assemble and install. Quality is good and made of all metal. Should last a long time.
CON: The fan is noisy if using near an area where people need to have open conversations."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wall Fan

,
January 17, 2012
By hockeyplayer
from Murrells Inlet , SC
"Great Fan easy to install and moves a lot of air. It is big enough to cool the entire garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fan

,
October 10, 2011
By twodogss
from combine,tx
"this is a great fan easy to install and puts out alot of air"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

garage fan

,
August 4, 2011
By kchavis7
from lumberton nc
"excellent fan for a garage or utilty room, produces a excellent volume of wind for such a fan. Would highly recommend this purchase..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.