Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"

"Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"

Item# 250628
"This Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan spreads more cool throughout warehouses, workshops or garages with oscillating action at three speeds. Maintenance-free, energy-efficient PSC type motor is permanently lubricated and enclosed for long service life. Durably built with heavy-duty aluminum, statically balanced blades and corrosion-resistant powder-coated fan guard. Two comfort control settings. On/off oscillating feature allows fixed and wide spread operation. Durable oscillating mechanism prevents jamming. Fan head tilt angle adjustment. Rigid motor fan mount for easy installation. UL/ETL listed. Air Delivery CFM 5,950, Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 1/2 x 19 x 23, Amps 1.5, Fan Diameter in. 20, Product Style Oscillating, Power Cord ft. 6, Watts 165, Speeds qty. 3, Volts 110, HP 1/5. Maintenance-free, energy-efficient PSC type motor is permanently lubricated and enclosed for long service life Durably built with heavy-duty aluminum, statically balanced blades and a corrosion-resistant powder-coated fan guard Two comfort control settings On/off oscillating feature allows fixed and wide spread operation Durable oscillating mechanism prevents jamming Fan head tilt angle adjustment Rigid motor fan mount for easy installation UL/ETL listed 1/5 HP, 110V electric motor delivers 5,950 CFM for plenty of airflow"
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
25 of 31(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Review 1 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Moves a lot of air, makes a lot of noise

,
July 5, 2015
By CSL4
from Houston, TX
" This fan works great in my garage, and blows a lot of air around. It doesn't cool the air, but the air movement helps a lot.
If you buy this, you should know that it is loud. Especially on the highest setting. It's not painful, but it is something to be considered. I don't know if there are quieter fans available or not.
Second, the mounting hardware is not included. Not really significant, unless you don't have it, in which case you will need to make another trip back to the store for the bolts and washers.
I'd buy it again, though - does a good job of cooling. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Fan!

,
July 2, 2015
By Doubsman
from Doubs, Md.
" Needed a fan to move hot air around and out of my roofed chicken coop. This fan served the job perfectly. Easy to put together & install. With the 3 speeds and oscillating feature one can direct air as fast as needed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for home garage

,
June 28, 2015
By RogNY
from Western New York State
" I purchased this fan to allow me to cool my garage. It was easy to assemble and mount.
I mounted the fan high and out of the way along a side wall. It did a great job by covering a large area.
It has proven to be a fan well worth the price and ease of mounting. I think this fan has the power to work well in a commercial application, too.
Good value for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Oscillating Fan

,
June 23, 2015
By WaxawGuy
from Charlotte, NC
" I bought this fan for installation in my home garage. Installation was relatively easy - mounted the fan to a block of wood and mounted that to the wall at a stud.
At first, the fan started making a creaking noise that I could not isolate. I thought it was the mount binding when the fan turned. I finally sprayed the oscillation mechanism with WD-40 and that eliminated the noise.
The fan speeds are good - I can typically run it on low and it makes acceptable air movement. I would like to be able to turn off the oscillation. The cord has to be routed/positioned so that it does not rub on the frame during the oscillation. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible

,
June 19, 2015
By WT2015
from Lilburn
" I purchased this product in 2014 for my shop and was very disappointed. Not sure if it would blow out a candle if the candle was placed 3 inches in front of it. It blows almost no air towards the front. It does move a little air on the sides but who wants that. A total waste of money. I replaced it with the 30 inch model this year. Buy the 30 inch. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't move very much Air!

,
June 17, 2015
By Josue
from Miami, FL
" Save your money and go for an Airking! I purchased this fan 2 weeks ago for my garage and once installed i come to realize that it doesn't mover very much air. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good fan

,
June 15, 2015
By Bob628
from Jax fl
" this is no. 2 works well noise is a bit on the high side would be a problem in a small space "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fan

,
June 12, 2015
By shrub
from knox. TN
" This fan is fairly well made, it has a simple design . It is just the right size for many industrial applications and would be great around the home stead ! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fan!

,
May 18, 2015
By welder2015
from Space Coast, Florida
" Great fan! Easy install on wall. Works well and quiet too! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool breeze

,
September 21, 2014
By Rlastr
from Western NY
" Great fan! I bought two that keeps a large shop cool and air moving well. Only complaint would be the need for a button (rather than a bolt) to turn on and off the oscillation feature. Highly recommend! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fans

,
August 12, 2014
By thedragon
from Illinois
" They blow great volume of air. Noise is expected at that amount of cfm. The horses love them "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fan

,
August 1, 2014
By snatcher
from fishersville va
" fans has a lot of cfm should work fine where i need it "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outdoor fan

,
July 23, 2014
By Rogers1
from boulder creek, ca
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" For the cost, it's perfect. Of course with all fans, I wish it wasn't so loud but when it's on low it moves air and isn't too loud and obnoxious. I have a couple of these; shop, job trailer (18"), and outdoor patio area. So far so good. Easy to put together if you have some common sense. The motor osculates smoothly. It seems like it is a well built product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as described

,
June 4, 2014
By gwwh
from Wichita KS
" just as described Moves alot of air, fast shipping worked just great. Was looking for a wall mount fan at a good price and viola "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Moves Air.

,
May 29, 2014
By Fordman1
from Nebraska
" This is an excellent shop fan. For the money you can't beat it.
Pros-
Inexpensive
Moves alot of air
Easy to install
Cons-
Pivot lock bolt strips easily.
Can not turn oscillation off.
Overall it's a great fan for the shop or garage. Might be a bit noisy for regular home use, but for a shop you would never notice the noise. I plan on putting another one in the shop soon! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

LOUD! What? I SAID LOUD!

,
July 22, 2013
By CuseFan
from Sugar Hill, GA
" This fan is awesome, other than it is LOUD! Even on low speed it is LOUD! Install was straight forward, looks great installed, but did I tell you it was LOUD? I am returning tomorrow to Northern Tool and will go back to the Q Standard Garage Fan — 18in., Model# 18923 which we had going pretty much 24/7/365 for over 3 years with no problems before it started making noises, like the bearings were finally going. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Moves some air

,
July 21, 2013
By TGC49
from Liberty Hill, TX
" I am custom home builder and for my personal house I did not want an outdoor ceiling fan for our back patio because they do not push enough air in the Texas heat. I wall mounted this fan and plugged it in to a switched outlet. This fan moves a lot of air even on the lowest setting. The only draw back is that it is a little noisy but the noise is worth it to me... "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan

,
July 21, 2013
By Buzz46
from Chattanooga, TN
" I have several good purchases from Northern Tool, but this is not one of them. I assembled and mounted the fan on the wall in my shop. Yes it is extremely noisy, but even worse, I can stand 10 feet away and not hardly feel any air movement. This fan must be the most inefficient fan I've ever seen, and I have numerous fans. I'd like to get my money back, but my 30 days will be up before I can get back in town. I'd have to take it down and disassemble the thing. As it is now, it will make a good base for spider webs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent, kind of noisy

,
July 1, 2013
By ASPVAC
from Massachusetts
" Seems to move a decent amount of air, but very loud on anything other than low. Installation was not an issue. Overall, fairly pleased with what I received for what I paid.  "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Q Standard Oscillating Wall-Mount Fan - 20in., Model# 10236"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

More noise than air

,
June 1, 2013
By Volley
from Florida
" I have a 25 by 35 foot 4 car garage. I mounted the fan 3 feet from a corner, about 7 feet from the floor and 3 feet from the ceiling. I have the fan tilted down the maximum possible (about 5 degrees) The breeze from the fan is barely adequate about 12 feet from the fan when it is on high. It is noisy. The breeze and noise are about the same on all three settings. The cord is too short (6 feet). The quality of construction is very good. The packaging is odd - all the bolts are installed and must be removed and there is a brace and bolt holding the fan blade that must be removed and discarded. There are no instructions. Overall it is just OK. Probably should have bought the 30 inch model. Am reluctant to put another 20 inch on the opposite wall due to the added noise. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.