Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923

Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923

Item# 250630
This wall-mounted Q Standard Garage Fan keeps garages cool and well ventilated. 3-speed 1/5 HP motor generates 4,145 CFM of airflow. Three balanced blades for quiet operation. Features durable all-steel construction with scratch-resistant finish. Swing-arm design with tilting allows for easy positioning. Pull-string switch lets user easily change fan speeds. Power Cord ft. 10, Fan Diameter in. 18, HP 1/5, Dimensions L x W x H in. 23 x 7 1/2 x 22 1/2, Air Delivery CFM 4,145, Amps 1.15, Speeds qty. 3, Product Style Tilting, Volts 120, Watts 145, Material Steel. 3-speed 1/5 HP motor produces 4,145 CFM of airflow Durable all-steel construction with scratch-resistant finish mounts to wall Swing-arm design with tilting allows for easy positioning Pull-string switch lets user easily change fan speeds 10-ft. power cord
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
7 of 11(64%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923
Review 1 for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wall Fan

,
September 17, 2013
By AchieveFitness
from Florida
"Bought five of these to push air around in a fitness center. Easy to install and work like little champs.
A great buy!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is worth buying

,
September 8, 2013
By Texirish
from Texas
"I have had this in my garage for about 2 Months now and it has helped keep my shop about 7 degrees cooler on average. In Texas 7 degrees is a big deal. The trick to this fan is to make sure it has enough room on the wall side so it can draw more air. I made a brace across the corner of my shop to give it about 2ft between the wall and fan. One more thing have a helper, I did this by myself and I sure could have used an extra hand."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

,
June 10, 2013
By Stubb444
from Ft. Worth, Tx
"I bought this fan for my home garage 22x24. On high this fan is loud and doesn't move a lot of air. My work bench is 8' away from the fan and I can't feel it.
If I could feel the fan blowing then I could live with the noise level.
If you buy this fan make sure you "test" it before modifying it and cutting up the box."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly what I needed

,
October 15, 2012
By ChopinWood2
from Southeast Michigan
"I was looking for a fan to circulate air between two rooms, and within a room. Having the ability to adjust the angle in any direction... left/right, up/down is great. Plus, unlike other wall fans, this is reversible by simply turning the fan 180 degrees. I can either draw air in or force air out of the room it is hung in. The pull chain is nice because the fan is hung over my head.
I'd have given 5 stars, but the mounting bracket parts interfere with each other a little bit.
Definitely good for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Priceless

,
August 13, 2012
By asapmedic
from Lumberton,Ms
"On a hot day in the shop this fan is priceless and it is up out of your way."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what I needed.

,
August 13, 2012
By OF501208
from Canaan NH
"Easy to install. Keeps me cool in my shop with no AC. I can swivel it to either area of my shop and the long cord is great to reach an outlet not so close by. On low it keeps me cool and I would recommend it. Good value for the money spent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

folded paper moves more air.

,
July 2, 2012
By 229Mick
from SE, PA
"I'm with the other reviewers (that I WISH I had seen before buying and installing) that this thing just doesn't move much air. It it's right in front of you you can feel it, more than a couple feet away, even pointed right at you and you get nothing. Complete waste of money. Can't imagine it's really 4145 CFM."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good construction, so-so performance

,
June 28, 2012
By Anonymous
from Twin Cities, MN
"The price was right and the specs seemed good. Hardware is solid, although the assembly and mounting instructions were not the greatest. I'm not super impressed with the effectiveness of the fan, though. If I were to do it again I would definitely buy something else. It's better than nothing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Garage Fan

,
June 4, 2012
By Sodaman
from Anderson, SC
"I bought this fan for my new garage 20' X25'. I loved the way it mounts on the wall out of the way. It's ability to position is endless. But, it does not move much air on any of the 3 speeds. The blade rpm is sufficient it jusy will not move enough air. Would like to get a blade with more pitch"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heat mover

,
January 9, 2012
By mikeybuilds
from Upstate NY
"Had large vol. of air to move from stove room to rest of house. This fan did the trick. Was able to mount high on stove room wall to push heat to remainder of house. The fan was just the right ticket!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Q Standard Garage Fan - 18in., Model# 18923
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Filled my need perfectly

,
October 10, 2011
By Eprom
from Downers Grove, IL
"Installed in my garage to provide circulation when I'm working on cars/projects. Folds nicely against the wall during winter months when not needed. Long power cord if you don't want to install a new outlet. Airflow is adequate but not over ovewhelming. Quiet and I don't notice any vibration noise inside the house (fan mounted on inside wall)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.