Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301

Item# 250723
This Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan is powered by a vented, steel-cased 2-speed 1/3 HP 120V motor that delivers 7,000 to 8,000 CFM. High-temperature resettable thermal cutoff and durable bearings allow operation in high temperatures. Noncorroding aerodynamically balanced blades allow quiet operation. Has 15 fan head tilt and double-locking guard so fan can be aimed where air is needed. 27 1/2in. dia. steel base provides stability. Also adjusts to 76in.H. Three-conductor cord. Meets federal OSHA safety standards. Amps 1.5-2, Fan Diameter in. 30, Height in. Adjusts to 76, HP 1/3, Air Delivery CFM 7,000/8,000, Volts 120, Watts 185-250, Speed RPM 950-1,100, Speeds qty. 2. Motor has steel casing with vents on each end Non-corroding, aerodynamically balanced blades allow for quiet operation 15 fan head tilt lets fan be angled to where air is needed Two-speed motor has speed control knob Double locking guard 27 1/2in. dia. steel base provides stability 3-conductor cord for grounding safety Meets federal OSHA safety standards 1/3 HP 120V motor delivers 7,000-8,000 CFM for ample airflow
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
25 of 27(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Review 1 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent value

,
July 26, 2014
By rz94
from Clearwater, FL
" Six units purchased for mechanical shop and parts warehouse. Easy assembly, everything works, they move tons of air, and aren't as loud as you'd think for a fan of this volume. We'll buy more when the time comes! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shop Fan

,
June 5, 2014
By WM51
from Sam's Valley, Oregon
" Shop Fan. Yep the name says it all. This is not a fan you would want in your living room. Not even if you are single. This fan moves air. Lots of air. It is a bit noisy but in my shop with all the noise from the radio, hammering and sawing who cares. When it is over 100 degrees out and you want to move a lot of air in a working shop this is the fan for you. Goes together well. The pedestal is not tippy at all. Even at top speed the fan is balanced and steady. The fan guard is easy to put on and off for cleaning and not even the smallest of fingers can get through to the rotating blade. I use it on the first setting because the highest setting does not seem to be much more than the first setting. The motor feels and looks pretty hefty. Yep. Shop fan. It moves lots of air in my shop! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your time

,
July 29, 2013
By moneymaven
from NJ
" Received the unit last week, very excited! Heat wave here in NJ. Took 45 mins to set up. Looked great! Plugged it in and turned it on low, expecting to be blown away... NO air movement! Checked manual to make sure it was put together correctly... YES! Turned the unit to high speed. 8000CFM????? NO!!!
Took me 1 hour to take the unit apart and rebox up the unit . The 1 star is for looks. Wish it worked as good as it looks. Don't waste your time. Very noisy, blades are not angled enough to move air.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A LITTLE NOISY BUT WORKS GREAT

,
October 9, 2012
By NASSCO
from SAN DIEGO
" CAME IN HANDY THIS SUMMER 2012 IN SAN DIEGO DURING OUR MANY HEAT WAVES. NOT A BAD PRODUCT. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great fan for the price

,
August 23, 2012
By CHSAWPNER
from Nashvill,TN
" I was really hoping to purchase a round box fan that would sit on the ground. But they were sold out. It was extremely hot so I decided that I would settle for this fan. To my suprise it was better than I could have expected. I love the fact that you can adjust it to whatever level you desire. I did a break job on my step daughters car and it was nice to have it where I could set it at a comfortable level. I would definately recommend this to anyone that needs to stay cool at a good price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Durable product?

,
July 20, 2012
By JGL1
from Florida
" This fan was used only during the hot summer days when I was doing work in my garage. Used June-Sep last year at approx 20 hours/week (high estimate). This year it was used starting in June and unfortunatley burned out last week. If this unit was used in a business 24/7 or at a much higher frequency that my needs, I could possibly understand how this unit would have such a short life span.
Although this unit did move air and I was quite pleased with its performance, its durability has left a bad impression on me.
An extended warrantee was not purchased on this unit. I would avoid this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Fan for the Price

,
June 19, 2011
By Extexcop
from Fort Worth, TX
" This is a pretty good fan...but time will tell how it holds up. I bought it for home and work. I use it at work in the outside shop ( metal building )...needless to say it gets pretty hot out there during the afternoon sun with temps reaching 110 inside. It does move the air pretty good, although the one I got only has 2 blades...not 3 as pictured. It is kind of loud when you are near it...but since it is only me out there I don't have to strian to listen to someone talking to me. I got mine onsale so it was a great bargain for a big fan. Easy to move around the shop, and it comes apart easily when I need to transport it in my car. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Fan!!

,
June 13, 2011
By alp1223
from North Carolina
" I would recommend this pedestal fan to anyone. It puts out an abundance of air, but doesn't take up a great amount of space. We've used it at our home and business and have absolutely no complaints. If you want to stay cool during this hot and humid summer, this is fan for you! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good fan, well built, moves a lot of air!

,
June 13, 2011
By Hamrhed
" Have used this fan nearly every hot day for two seasons now. It usually runs about 15 hours a day. It's still going strong. I made it easier to reposition by adding some small casters to the base (two of them lock - otherwise this thing would take off like a teen on rollerblades). Very high quality and a great value - even better when you catch it on sale!
One note: if it seems like the height-adjusting knob/bolt is too short, you've probably swapped it with the tilt-adjustment knob/bolt - they look nearly identical, but they're not. What? Me? No, I just *heard* that this can happen. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fan!

,
November 17, 2010
By JHugg
from Ridgeville, SC
" I recently moved to an area that is infamous for it's humid summers and vicious mosquitoes. I needed a REAL fan to provide relief from the humidity and the bugs while working in and around my new garage. This fan does an excellent job and is a powerful air mover! It is well built, but fairly light-weight, making it easy to move and re-position. It was a bit pricey, but I waited until it went on sale. However, sometimes it pays to spend a little more - other, less expensive fans didn't do it for me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

He Loved it!

,
November 16, 2010
By Grumpybear1976
from Clinton, TN
" Looked at tons of fans for his shop with no air and this was the best for the budget we had to work with. It is well built, not cheap as others. I thought the low speed was high, so high is like turbo speed. I went and got another for the shop at home. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

very powerful

,
September 14, 2010
By powerwasherthereviewer
from Houston, TX
" very good for circulating air. enough power for large room or 2....but if you are concerned with noise, it would not be good for you. (its really not loud for the amount of power) "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FlowPro Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in

,
August 30, 2010
By Granpa
from Houston, TX
" This fan is everything everybody says it is. I do woodworking in my garage daily and, in Southeast Texas, this means HOT and humid. This fan not only moves huge volumes of cooling air, it also removes 90% of the sawdust I create, right out the garage door. If you need a serious air-mover, do not even think twice, this fan is worth every penny you will spend to buy it. Very substantial construction, very stable in operation and no-brainer assembly. And, since I'm an airplane buff, I love the sound it makes. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

really helped out in my shop during the heat wave

,
August 30, 2010
By ejphn
from Potosi, Mo.
" I am retired and like to tinker with old tractors. I have one I was refurbishing, and needed to get it finished but the heat this summer was pretty bad so i bought one of these. It works great, moves plenty of air and can be set back a ways and aimed where needed, so you do not have it setting in the way. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because of the amount of noise. I think that if the blades were redesigned some, the noise could be reduced quite a bit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fan

,
August 23, 2010
By Allison
from KY
" It has a pretty good reach, and really helps to circulate the air. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pedestal Fan on Steroids

,
June 13, 2010
By JPRebel
from Memphis, TN
" I've never been much on writing reviews but this product has been everything that I hoped it would be. Our deck is pretty large (60 ft across) and this fan has the power to push a breeze for the vast portion where my family and I gather. I keep it covered and when I need it this fan absolutely performs and has much more power/cpm than other large fans I looked at from major home improvement retailers...along with better reviews! I just bought my 2nd one for Dad for father's day and his cigar smoke is no match for this bad boy. The only knock is it is hard to move when I bring it inside for the winter, which isn't that big of a deal. GREAT product!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Product

,
June 1, 2010
By Calldusj
from Louisiana
" Fan puts out gobs of air, no need for an air condition with this bad boy, purchased this fan for my 30'x40' Shop in my backyard and it does every bit of cool my shop down, Very n ice product and long lasting. 2 Speed motor is Fantastic!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fan

,
February 23, 2010
By SLT3
from Madera Ca
" WE purchased fans to be used in a covered outdoor area and after a few years use, the fans are still working great ! left outdoors year round. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

High Powered Fan

,
February 15, 2010
By Breezer4Island
from Honolulu, HI
" This fan appears to be rugged and provides more than enough air circulation in the shop area. We run outboard motors that have toxic fumes; from epoxy resins and other unhealthy gasses from my co-workers. This one does the trick by eliminating the fumes and providing cooling in our warm and humid environment. The motor drives the fan easily and if it is trouble free in 1, 3 and ultimately 5+ years will be an excellent investment. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Q Standard Industrial Pedestal Fan - 30in., 1/3 HP, 8000 CFM, Model# 10301
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my fan

,
October 19, 2009
By blh1960
from Peculiar, MO
" This product really surprised me. Talk about move some air. Seems well built. I am really enjoying my barn now. Could hardly stand it out there in the summer time. Great product! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.