Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001

Item# 2507581
The Q Standard Air Curtain maintains environmental separation with a light flow of air, resulting in lowered energy costs. Enhances sanitation by deterring flying insects. Air curtains are perfect in the winter for keeping cold air out and in the summer to keep cold air in. Commonly used for customer entrances, drive-up windows and concession stands. May be mounted up to 8 feet. Easy installation and maintenance with quiet operation. Remote control included. Plugs into standard household outlet. Common Usage Maintains environmental separation w/a light flow of air, Dimensions L x W x H in. 36 x 8 x 8, HP 1/2, Remote Included Yes, Speeds qty. 2, Volts 110/120, Watts 345, Mount Height in. Up to 96, Mounting Type Above window or doorway, Air Delivery CFM 670 / 816 low/high. Enhances sanitation by deterring flying insects Air curtains are perfect in the winter for keeping cold air out and in the summer to keep cold air in Commonly used for customer entrances, drive-up windows and concession stands Easily installation and maintenance with quiet operation May be mounted up to 8 feet Plugs into standard household outlet Remote control
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Review 1 for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machinery

,
August 21, 2014
By Doohickey
from Chester, SC
" Air Curtain was easy to install. Works Great could have a longer cord. Keeps flies and other insects out as well. I was surprised at its ease of installation. I would definitely recommend to others. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep the Mosquitos out

,
August 14, 2014
By Triathlete
from Arkansas prairie
" Works great. Love the remote control...turn the unit on through the storm door before going out. No more bugs flying in. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great unit for the price

,
July 9, 2014
By joeseph11111
from Scottsdale
" Great unit for the price... Purchased the same unit 4 years ago and then again two years ago and had nothing but satisfaction from the air curtains... F-Mars curtains, these are better. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Strength of motor

,
May 23, 2014
By DebKel
from Hot Springs, Ark
" Thought 1/2 horse would be strong enough, but the flies just fly down to the floor and walk in. So we had to put a board up, about 2 ft to keep them out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great bargain on a good air curtain

,
April 12, 2014
By JimBJimB
from Phoenix, AZ
" This seems like an outstanding value in an air curtain. It comes cabled with a 2 prong 110v plug, has a detachable mounting bracket on the back that can be hung first, and then the air curtain unit is attached by hanging it on the top slots and securing the bottom with screws between the housing and the bracket. The motor speed selection is in easy reach on the bottom of the unit, and has a remote control. Overall, the unit has a very nice finish.
Just installed my 36" unit, and I've given it 4 stars based on the overall quality, but noise volume that is still significant (not substantial or overwhelming, just significant). But I think to drop the noise level much further, I'd have to buy a unit that costs 3X to 4X as much as this one. So it is an excellent value in my book.
So more details on that noise level? I live in Phoenix, so I've mounted our unit outside our backdoor. I'll be adding another 60" unit to go next to this one to cover a folding accordion door on our back porch, which is along one wall of our kitchen. With one unit, the noise is significant, and can be heard inside, but it is tolerable. You are certainly not going to hear the birds chirping or the breeze swaying the queen palms, but it is not loud enough to intimidate the cats, or force you to talk loud in the kitchen. On the back porch, it is a little more noticeable/intrusive, but not intolerable. In a nutshell, I'd equate it to the noise from a good sized 24" cheap box fan running on high, but of a different pitch and tonality since this is a blower. If you can live with that, then "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as desired.

,
February 8, 2014
By Dan76705
from Elm Mott, TX
" We needed something to keep flies and hot air out of a cheese production room while moving product in and out of the room. Realizing that many grocery stores and other retail outlets use air curtains at their doors open to the outside, we looked for something small that we could use over our standard sized 36" door. This product works just as we hoped. Installation was easy - you only need a reasonably strong surface for mounting above a door and a 110v power supply nearby. We had it up and operating within 20 minutes. The flexibility of the two-speed settings and the ability to operate it with a remote is very handy. It is not noisy so it is not bothersome when in use. Because of its relatively small size and low power, it might not be powerful enough for an entry that is always open to the elements; but for our purpose of needing our door to be open for periods of about 10-15 minutes at a time, it works great. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Curtain for Florida bugs

,
August 13, 2012
By Sully1234
from Florida
" Bought this product to keep insects from entering the house through the door leading from the kitchen to the garage. Because the door is constantly being open and closed with people in the family running in and out. The house was filling with fly's and insects. Believe me in Fla we have every kind of bug you can describe. I put up the air curtain fan and that did the trick. No bug wants to fly through that turbulance. Works great. easy to install. Easy to hook up just plug it in. Had it shipped to the local store. Free shipping. Would highly recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Curtain

,
August 13, 2012
By randyb1954
from Green Bay, WI
" Shipped fast, easy to install, no surprises. Very good air flow and remote control is a plus. Used to keep most flying insect out of store. Cut down considerably. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flowpro Air Curtain Works!

,
October 10, 2011
By Oneniceguy
from Moses Lake, WA
" I bought this to keep bugs out of my business. It works great with noticable results right from the day of installation. We are near a lake and are plagued by lots of small flying pests. This air curtain has made a big improvement. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

,
August 23, 2010
By Bigboss1
from NY
" Worked better then expected would definately recommend "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for back patio

,
July 20, 2009
By suprchkk
" I just bought a house with a pool, summer came, and no one ever shuts the door to the patio! So I bought the FlowPro, and its just great!
It is inside and above the door, and it is quiet and keeps the bugs out.
"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Q Standard Air Curtain - 36in., 1/2 HP Model# 60001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy

,
August 11, 2008
By comptroller
from Bethesda, Maryland
" Air curtains are musts in foodservice locations to keep the flys out and this air curtain is the best value on the market. Easy to install too. I have already purchased 2 and will purchase a 3rd in the near future. Great air flow for the size, fits over any door frame. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.