Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control

Item# 250859
The KuulAire Evaporative Cooler delivers cool, clean air from an economical evaporative cooler that uses a high-efficiency rigid media system. With 3 speed settings, a timer and remote control, plus automatic swing louvers and wheels, this cooler gives you cool air where and when you need it. Speeds qty. 3, Water Reservoir gal. 5.3, Garden Hose Attachment No, Dimensions W x D x H in. 19 x 15 x 33, Watts 230, Cooling Capacity sq. ft. 350, Power Cord ft. 6, Volts 115, Amps 2, Air Delivery CFM 470. Cools up to 350 sq. ft. Adjustable horizontal louvers and automatic swing vertical louvers Easy-roll casters for portability Three speed settings low, medium and high Automatic timer can be set for 1 to 8 hours Includes remote control Adjustable water flow for optimal cooling in dry or humid climates 5.3-gallon water tank No assembly required just add tap water and plug into any standard 110V outlet
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control
Review 1 for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

water carrier

,
October 8, 2012
By ineyac
from atl
"need to freeze drinking water bottles froze in order to keep the water cold. Plus had to keep a gallon of water near in order keep the rooms cool. but all in all the condenser kept the rooms cool"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Cont

,
August 19, 2012
By DrRick
from Carbondale CO
"Product works great once you figure out how to use it. It was bought to cool a guest house in CO during an unusually hot summer. Relative humidity generally 10-20%. Daytime temp 90-95 degrees. Thought I would need max water flow and continuous running to get to comfortable temp. All I did was supersaturate the hot air. Like many other reviews I was ready to send it back. When I adjusted the water flow rate to minimum and and set the machine to run every 45 minutes I got the desired cooling effect an humidity control. I gave it four stars because the directions did not cover how to modify use based on conditions and results. It worked great once I figured it out and my guests were comfortable and contented."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great way to cool

,
August 15, 2012
By ColoradoKen
from Glenwood Springs, CO
"I bought this for my non-air conditioned home in the Colorado mountains. This summer has been unusually hot and dry and this evaporative cooler worked exactly as expected. It is key to follow the intructions and keep a window open/cracked behind the unit so air can flow through. I neglected to do this the first time and thought the unit wasn't working right. It cools great when a window is open. I've already recommended this product to two other people."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool Cooler

,
August 13, 2012
By mk001
from Marion, IN
"We have a family room that our A/C doesn't cool enough. It is usually 5 to 10 degrees warmer than the rest of the house. The Kuulaire Evaporative Cooler quietly and efficiently cool this room to a comfortable temperature in a few minutes. Ive been considering a portable A/C for years, but trying to find a way to vent it, made it impractical.. The Kuulaire Evaporative Cooler soved this problem. No venting. Just add water, pluf it in, and turn it on. Simple! And it works!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Portable coolness

,
August 13, 2012
By jerry43
from Northern Arizona
"I've been dealing with coolers of various sizes, portable and otherwise, for decades. This one is very well designed. It is light enough to move to various locations when the water tank is empty, thanks to durable non-metal construction. No seams to leak, well thought out filling and emptying arrangements. Excellent electronic controls that do what they say. The laws of physics cannot be overcome, so this is not a refrigerated air conditioner but for its physical size it does a very good job of evaporative cooling.
So why 4 stars instead of 5? Well, I'm pretty fussy about things, so take that into consideration. Two aspects could be improved. The 3-speed motor offers very little difference among the speeds. Especially, I think "low" should be much lower, and therefore quieter, such as for night time usage in or near a bedroom. Also, the thoughtful emptying spigot should have a standard male garden hose structure so as to be able to attach a garden hose and direct the water somewhere instead of lugging what may be a fairly heavy object (when containing, say, 5 gallons of left over water) to a place where it can drain out on the surface or floor.
One hint for anyone not familiar with evaporative coolers: these don't do well when recirculating air, and pretty much don't work at all except as a fan if the air is very humid. They work far better when sucking in fresh air from the rear and blowing the cooler air into an area that is vented in another direction, to allow for constant flow and replacement of air. For example, I put this one immediately inside the exterior screen door of a small cabin and opened a window on the downwind side of the cabin. It worked well. The low wattage draw is helpful for solar powered off-grid cabins and such, but I'd still like to see lower "low" speed so the speed control would be more meaningful.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

,
August 13, 2012
By Coach62
from FL
"I measured a 5 degree temperature drop coming out with pretty good air volume. The TD you see will of course vary with humidity. Fairly quiet and works well. Pretty happy overall.
Water does not last as long as advertised, but that shouldn't be a surprise.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right Machine Right Place

,
August 30, 2011
By Manumet
from Sage, CA
"An excellent machine if your humidity is usually below 40%. Evaporative cooling will not work in high humidity but works well in Riverside County CA.
Convenient water fill and drain. Excellent cooling, strong airflow. At 20% humidity it uses 3-4 gal in a 12 hour period. Tank holds 5gal. Cooling is through running water down a cooling pad not by a belt driven cloth. Remote has elevated buttons so you don't need to try and read them in the dark.
Some may find the unit to be some what loud. Odors can be corrected by 1oz of bleach added to full water resevervoir. I only had to do it once. Don't know if it effects warrenty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy owner of this product

,
March 14, 2011
By Sweetie
from San Antonio, Texcas
"This is works great!! Easy to use..no problem to take with us. Got this to use on the show days in Texas heat..way more affordable than the port-a-cooler, but use smaller. Liked the 1st one I got, ordered another to use, one for me & one for the kids.."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
10out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works great

,
August 30, 2010
By hector2010
from Kelowna,BC. Canada
"For help your self to bear the summer you have to get it. I did and was so great and very helpful."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-10points
3out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cooler Room!

,
August 30, 2010
By Boommers
from Tampa, Florida
"This saved me allot of money when I didn't have to go spend big $'s on a portable Air Conditioner! This dropped the temp in my workshop from 82* down to 79* which makes it so I can use my workshop all throught the summer! The only drawback was when I tried to use it in a back bedroom/ TV room, it gave off a very bad odor. Too bad to keep inthat room, so you'll have to follow the sq fotage they they reccomend it for. Otherr than that, this works great! When you just need it slightly cooler this is the way to go. Just keep in mind this isn't an air conditioner and it will not act like one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for KuulAire Evaporative Cooler - 470 CFM, Remote Control
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent !!!

,
August 26, 2010
By ROBN
from Brooklyn, NY
"It is not an Air-Conditioner; So dont expect the performance like an AC. As an Air Cooler it is definitely great. Great air power as a fan!!!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
12out of 21found this review helpful.