Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Q Standard Open Motor Belt-Drive Drum Fan - 42in., 1 HP, 17,600 CFM, Model# 10242

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Q Standard Open Motor Belt-Drive Drum Fan - 42in., 1 HP, 17,600 CFM, Model# 10242

Item# 251557
This two-speed Q Standard 42in. Open Motor Belt-Drive Drum Fan features a 4-blade design for even airflow. A belt driven fan runs quieter and creates a lower load, prolonging the life of the motor. Low vibration levels produce smooth and quiet operation for any location. Air Delivery CFM 13,200/17,600, Amps 5.5-6.5, Dimensions L x W x H in. 44 1/2 x 14 1/2 x 45 1/4, Fan Diameter in. 42, Speeds qty. 2, Volts 120, Watts 650-735, HP 1.0, Speed RPM 520-600. Two-speed motor allows user to select desired amount of cooling Belt-drive motor runs quieter and creates a lower load on the motor for longer life Low vibration levels produce smooth and quiet operation A 4-blade design provides even airflow Durable rubber wheels provide portability Antiskid stopper feet keep fan in position when operating Porcelainized safety grille meets OSHA Standard 1910.212 and provides added safety 1 HP 13,200-17,600 CFM motor provides an impressive amount of air circulation
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q Standard Open Motor Belt-Drive Drum Fan - 42in., 1 HP, 17,600 CFM, Model# 10242
Review 1 for Q Standard Open Motor Belt-Drive Drum Fan - 42in., 1 HP, 17,600 CFM, Model# 10242
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

42" drive Fan blows

,
July 31, 2014
By Jaminator
from Gorham, ME
" Fan is what is described in product description. We have 8 of these in a 60,000 sqft warehouse and they keep a great air flow for the space. Worth the asking price. Would suggest the purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Q Standard Open Motor Belt-Drive Drum Fan - 42in., 1 HP, 17,600 CFM, Model# 10242
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great so far!

,
June 6, 2014
By Doodle05
from Nashville, TN
" We received this fan about 4 days ago and we are very satisfied so far. The delivery was scheduled in a very professional way and the driver could not have been more helpful. We are using the fan for a back sitting area and it has made a huge difference in the temperature, as well as the bugs in the evening. We have only used the lowest setting so far and it is plenty for our use and space. It is not super quiet, but neither is it overly loud--probably about what we expected with respect to noise level. We will definitely recommend the fan and Northern Tool to friends and family! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Q Standard Open Motor Belt-Drive Drum Fan - 42in., 1 HP, 17,600 CFM, Model# 10242
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miami's heat and humidity

,
October 15, 2012
By DanintheMiamiheat
from Miami, Florida
" I purchased 5 fans for our 40,000 square foot warehouse. The warehouse staff immediately noticed an improvement in the overall temperature and humidity in the warehouse and the work production increased immediately. Since these are portable, we also use them when they are unloading 40 ft. containers which cools the area tremendously. Finally, when I take visitors into the warehouse they notice that it is not too hot and on more than one occasion they have stated that the fans are very quiet when operating. Overall, I would recommend this fan for anyone looking to cool down a large space. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Q Standard Open Motor Belt-Drive Drum Fan - 42in., 1 HP, 17,600 CFM, Model# 10242
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

On/Off button broken twice, noisy.....

,
June 23, 2012
By FJHS3
from Atlanta
" Bought this about a year ago for our barn (under the brand FlowPro, same fan, same item number, etc.) to help keep the horses cool. PRO: It does move a lot of air. CONS: About 5 months in the 2 speed switch broke. I tried to no avail to find a replacement locally, but they are made by a company in the orient. I contact FlowPro and they did ship me a replacement switch at not cost, but now the switch has broken again. Now, the fan has started to rattle and some of the bolts have come loose and even fallen out. Lastly, the handle on the side if very flimsy and I'm worried every time I use it, it might pull out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Q Standard Open Motor Belt-Drive Drum Fan - 42in., 1 HP, 17,600 CFM, Model# 10242
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great fan

,
June 15, 2011
By robinworks2011
from Ofallon, IL
" working inside a construction house, just put up and no insulation, electric in but no AC and in the hot summer, this product is the best for keeping cool to finish a job that is part time at best. Believe me, working in anything above 75 inside with no air becomes 100 soon. The best. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q Standard Open Motor Belt-Drive Drum Fan - 42in., 1 HP, 17,600 CFM, Model# 10242
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the wait.

,
August 30, 2010
By sas281
from Houston, TX
" I wanted the 48 in. but it was back ordered. I went with this fan because of the specs. This one has has more HP and more cfm. I actually searched all the stores looking for this fan then finally after no avail decided to order. This fan is very quiet and very high quality. I has pneumatic tires and metal ball bearing wheels. Don't settle for the not so good fit and finish of the ones the store probably has in stock. I use it outside and in the garage and very pleased. "
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
See
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Q Standard Open Motor Belt-Drive Drum Fan - 42in., 1 HP, 17,600 CFM, Model# 10242
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

shop fan

,
August 6, 2010
By shopguy101
" We are located in south Texas..it get,s hot here..lately it,s been raining here a lot.. and it,s been like the amazon .( vary Humid ).you could be soaked in sweat .like you jumped into a pool .stand in front of this fan and be dry in about 2 minutes (on low )..set it across the shop about 30 ft away..and put it on high.and hold on..low is good-enough.not too loud on low or high..super sturdy the only thing you here is the blades chopping the air..nice yellow paint..tire are good 30 psi..nothing rattles on high or low..this does what a fan is supposed to do "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Q Standard Open Motor Belt-Drive Drum Fan - 42in., 1 HP, 17,600 CFM, Model# 10242
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good fan

,
May 24, 2010
By MattG4
from Calgary, Canada
" I needed something that could move a lot of air at a reasonably high velocity and this turned out to be a great fan for that purpose. I haven't used it a huge amount so far so I can't speak for it's long term reliability but it runs well and nothing on it appears cheaply built or out of place so I am quite happy with it. Great value for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.