Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110

2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110

Item# 252200
Patented slide-lock allows a bench to convert instantly to standard picnic table height. Lumber not included. Nine 8ft. 2 x 4s are recommended. Order two kits for a full-size picnic table. U.S.A. Assembly Required Yes, Material Type Polyethylene, Recommended Lumber Size 2 x 4s not included, Color Sand, Pieces qty. 4. Make a comfortable and sturdy bench and table any size up to 8 feet long Patented side lock safely secures your Flip Top BenchTable in the table position in seconds - without tools Simple assembly with a screwdriver, wrench and saw Only straight, 90 cuts are required - no miters or angles Made of durable, weather-resistant structural resin built to last a long time Assembled unit stands 34in.H in the bench position and 31in.H in the table position 17 1/2in. seat height
Average Customer Rating:
4.767 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (43 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 of 43(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Review 1 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply great product

,
November 27, 2013
By Joe5203
from Salisbury, NC
"The versatility of this product makes our deck area neat and ready for lounging or eating. The product goes together perfectly, has been in use for over 2 years now and still works like new! Can't go wrong with this bench/table kit!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great back yard addition

,
April 26, 2013
By Kyote
from Palm Harbor, FL
"The best of both worlds, nice seat until it's time to eat, then it's a table. This was a great idea!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great DIY

,
April 24, 2013
By Cdogg
from Texas
"This is a great product. I love how easy it is. Cut all your boards to the same length and your ready to go. I made mine to the longest specified length, 8ft. I dont recommend this unless you have to have it this long. At this length you have to be careful that you dont sit at the edges of the bench cause it could flip over. Also at this length the bench becomes a littel wobbly. All in all i love my benches/table, i bought two kits so i could have two benches around the yard and i bring them together to make one big picnic table."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 Basics Flip Top Bench Table Model # 90110

,
April 23, 2013
By 1964beginner
from Scranton,PA
"Recived kit; took instructions to lumber facility. they cut the 2x4 to exact measurements and all I had to do was screw it all together. Just follow the instructions, it's that easy. It looks so good I'm buying two more kits."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised

,
April 23, 2013
By Archer99
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Product was great, directions simple. Hardest part was selecting quality lumber at yard. Easy to assemble and the flip table is very handy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

we love ours

,
October 15, 2012
By dan100819
from central IL
"We have had ours for 3 years. We bought 3 sets and made an extra long bench/table. They have held up well in the weather. They assembled easily and flip from table to bench easily. I would by again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
September 3, 2012
By sophiedad
from Spingfield MO
"Had always wanted to try the flip bench/table. Bought one and could not be more pleased. May have to buy another to complete the picnic table."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Idea

,
August 20, 2012
By jimfromnh
from NH
"I built two of these bench/tables so that I could put them together and form a picnic table. The instructions were good so they went togther easy. I have had a lot of compliments. I built them out of cedar 2x4's which were a little expensive but reg 2x4's would do fine. They are very versatile. What a great idea! We will get a lot of use out of them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flip Top Bench Table

,
August 13, 2012
By JimBobby
from Vestavia, Al
"Excellent item and it works great. I have 4 of these and use them frequently. Easy to assemble and convert from bench to table."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!

,
July 10, 2012
By ratb
from PA
"I purchased 2 of these benches for the rare need of a
picnic table. I read the reviews of others before doing so and took several of their suggestions. Such as I used treated lumber and used 2x6s and 2x8s instead of 2x4s to give it more of a sturdy feeling. I also put the legs in 12 inches from the end instead of 5 which gives you more room for seating people when they are in table form. Everything I needed (besides the wood) was included and it took me about 1 hr and 1/2 to put together 2. After purchasing the wood and this kit, I had about $80 per bench. If you are debating on whether or not to get this product, don't, you will absolutely love it. I usually do not write reviews on products I purchased, but this one is so awesome I felt I needed to.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable

,
January 16, 2012
By MikeB54
from East Freedom, PA
"I bought this for my 4th of July party 2011. I couldn't find good 2X4's at my lumber yard so I spent a little more and used 2X6's & 2X8's It came out beautiful. I made 2 and used them seperatly against the railing on my deck. Got lots of compliments."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable — Sand, Model#

,
January 9, 2012
By frankstable
from md
"I have recently purchased the flip top bench and have had a great number of people tell me they like the way it looks and works .It works and looks great as a bench and picnic table in the yard it also works good on the front porch on those rainy days .I used treated 2X4's so it is a little heavy to move around but it give you a solid feeling when you sit on it"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable

,
October 10, 2011
By sanchosj
from Alb.N.M
"This was a great little project.It was very easy to put together and it let me decide what length i wanted.I bought the wood and painted all the parts before assembling then easily put them together."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2X4 BASIC FLIP TOP TABLE

,
October 10, 2011
By Thornville
from thornville, ohio
"VERY NICE USE WEATHER TREATED LUMBER AND THEY CAN STAY OUTSIDE. MY APPLICATION IS BECAUSE I LIVE ON A CANAL OF A MAJOR LAKE MOST OF MY FRIENDS FISH AS BENCHES EVERY ONE CAN HAVE A SEAT WITHOUT HAVING TO PULL OUT LAWN CHAIRS AND ON THE RARE NEED FOR A PIC-NIK TABLE JUST SLIDE THEM TOGETHER."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY

,
June 13, 2011
By Woodyone
from Ohio
"Before i found this i used presure treated lumber for the entire project. lt was a pain to have to pin it when you swivel into position. There was no easy way to do it. I have built four of these for family as gifts and they love them. When the lumber gets bad you still have the frame and you just replace the 2x4 lumber. Great product, you just swivel the top and push in the two wedges."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cost, Fit & Finish

,
November 30, 2010
By RacenJason
"The kit is inexpensive, the materials to build make it an expensive bench. I made 2, 6' wide benches for a total of 9, 12' 2x4s and a high quality outdoor stain. The screw points and frame material of the kit make it slightly wobbly even with 9 2x4's + the suggested cross member stabilizers. The leg cross members are in the way of larger peoples feet when used as a table. All in all it works well if you need the convert to a table feature. The 2 benches facing each other does make a picnic table albeit with 1/2" gaps between planks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice product

,
November 23, 2010
By spoonman
from Va
"I made one of these benches for my dock so I could sit on and watch the sunset. Works great as a bench and as a flat surface when I'm fishing. Took about 3 hours to make and well worth the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
August 30, 2010
By swampthing
"Love the benches, my 7 year old helped me put them together. Made mine 6' long and had to add a cross support on the seat and table so buy 10 2x4's. Bought two kits and have them set up on my front porch as benches, and then we can take them down to the lawn for a cook out and use them as a picnic table. Everybody who has seen them comments on how cool they look and what a great idea."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BenchTableGreen

,
August 25, 2010
By JackTheToolman
from Snohomis, WA
"I bought the green version of this just in time for my wife's 60th birthday. I used 8 ft 5/4 cedar decking with natural cedar stain. Lighter than regular 2X4s and really good looking. Instructions were almost written by an 11th grade English speaking person. It took me about an hour each to put together. Bolts for joining to benches together are definitely too short. Quick trip to hardware store fixes that. I think that with a little effort some easy to clamp version would make this a definite 5 star item.
Even though I used much lighter wood, I only had to add a simple brace in the middle of each bench. My wife bragged during her party under our tall cedars about how great my present to her was."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 2x4 Basics Flip Top BenchTable - Sand, Model# 90110
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great idea, Strong enough

,
August 23, 2010
By Tested
from Northeast PA
"I am using this at a pond near a fire pit. The bonus on this product is the table conversion feature - smores supplies won't be carried off by the ants/beatles/etc.
I did use 8 foot treated wood - was real heavy (I had my doubts) - but, alas, the frame is holding strong even with 3 people on it.
Highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.