Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"

"2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"

Item# 252204
"Build a workbench up to 36in. high and any length or width up to 8 feet by 4 feet depending on the size of your 2 x 4s and plywood top. Build to fit your needs & available space. Use ShelfLinks to make a 2-shelf unit to put on top of your workbench. Each shelf will hold up to 1000 lbs. Simple to assemble in less than an hour with only a powered screwdriver and saw. Only straight 90 cuts - no miters or angles. Made of durable, strong structural resin, better than steel. All hardware & instructions are included. Lumber not included. U.S.A. Includes 6-pk. shelflinks and hardware, Finish Type Black plastic, Capacity lbs. 1,000 per shelf, Material Heavy ga. resin. Makes a 2-shelf unit for your workbench Use your 2 x 4s and plywood Up to 1000-lb. shelf capacity Simple to assemble Requires only straight cuts - no miters or angles Made of durable heavy gauge structural resin Recommended lumber 2x4s not included Assembly required"
Average Customer Rating:
4.855 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(193 Reviews) 193
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (193 reviews)
5 stars
166
4 stars
26
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
192 of 193(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 143 Answers
Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Review 1 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

2X4 Basics Workbench

,
February 4, 2016
By
from Mansfield, TX
I saw the workbench kit and wanted something I could do with my son. This was a perfect choice. It allows for easy customization. I was able to complete the project and have fun with my son as well.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have

,
February 1, 2016
By
from Jacksonville, FL
Quick and easy to install. Is capable of supporting good size projects. You can make this work in multiple space opportunities.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes it Easy to Create A Bench

,
January 31, 2016
By
from Payson, AZ
Using mine as an in the house reloading bench. Real benefit of using this kit is the ability to tailor your bench size to fit your space. Mine was crowded at best, and this kit allowed me to make it my size. Very easy to use. totally as advertised.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very simple assembly

,
December 24, 2015
By
from richmond, va
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
make it most any size. goes together easy and works great. Mine is a reloading bench. Very sturdy. I made mine 8' by 32"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very sturdy

,
December 23, 2015
By
from Virginia
When the bench was ordered, I had questions about how sturdy it would be. After building it using 5/8 plywood, there is no doubt. This bench will take whatever abode I can give it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2X4 Basics Workbench

,
December 16, 2015
By
from Houston, TX
Very versatile. I initially built it too big (4' X 8') so I took it apart, cut the desktop down to 2 1/2' X 4' and put it back together. I bought a second kit and used the left over desktop pieces to build a second bench. Same goes with the included top shelf. Its as sturdy as you want to make it. Mine are built like a tank.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Kit

,
December 13, 2015
By
from Deep East Texas
Nice kit for quick and effortless workbench. Easily modified for any width and length and assembly was a snap. The kit components seem very sturdy and durable. Would recommend to anyone
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My son was looking for a Workbench

,
December 13, 2015
By
from Madisonville, TN
I bought this universal workbench for my son, who was building up a wood working shop. I thought why buy a workbench when he could build his own with the specification that he wanted. He absolutely loved the kit.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy way to get a GREAT workbench

,
November 18, 2015
By
from NH
Well made, rugged easy to assemble and you have the option of making the bench just about any length that you want. I will buy again for other projects. I wonder if they could apply this to making a small shed?
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 Workbench Kit

,
September 29, 2015
By
from St. Louis MO
Decided to purchase this so I could build a table that fit my own shop's dimensions. It is easy to assemble and very strong. It stores lots of shop items on the bottom and has a useful, easily replaceable surface on the top. The holes are in good locations to secure the 2x4's. Just make sure your screws are long enough and fit the holes. Would purchase again as it provides flexibility of design for different work spaces.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2X4 Basic Workbench legs

,
August 20, 2015
By
from Ludington MI
I like having a product that is easy to put together and is sturdy enough for any project that I'm working on.
This bench went together nicely, I didn't realize at the time of order, that I needed to order extra shelf pieces for the top of work bench. But I'd recommend this to my friends.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Workbench

,
August 2, 2015
By
from Jacksonville, FL
I have not finished assembling the bench. The 1" wood screws do not hold. Will go out to buy 1½", I have to use C clamps to hold the wood to the legs for the screws. I will try to write an addendum to this as soon as I complete my bench.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench

,
July 10, 2015
By
from Lexington, NC
Work bench looks great! Easy to assembly. I used 2 4x8 3/4in plywood and made the bench top 32 inches then used 16 in shelves. no waste and 2 shelves. 32 inch top is plenty of room, stained and polyurethane it 4 times. could of used a coupe of more coats of poly, but over all happy with it!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kit

,
April 19, 2015
By
from Lexington, SC
This is a wonderful kit with great directions and easy assembly
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and Clean

,
April 9, 2015
By
from Woodbury, MN
Just set-up a new work bench in my garage. The was simple to do with just 2 x 4's and this kit. I love how it turned out and is extremely sturdy with lots of space on the shelves underneath. You can make it any size you want. Mine is 84" long x 32" deep. Makes for a nice size workbench. I highly recommend the 2x4 Basics products.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great work bench kit

,
April 1, 2015
By
from Washington, MI
So I am about 2/3's finished with my bench. I used 3/4 " plywood for the top and shelves. The table is 2x8 . The legs went together fairly well but the final corner took a slight amount of coaxing. I used a large squeeze clamp to pull it together to make the final connections. The bench is very very sturdy and looks great. I am in the process of putting numerous coats of finish on the bench top. So far I have the kit plus $175 into the bench. I still want to attach a back of peg board for tool storage and a light on the top. I think the bench will be very functional and a good purchase. I would have given it five stars except for the coaxing at the end.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, easy, sturdy.

,
March 30, 2015
By
from TX
The directions were great the build was great it is so simple and sturdy. Waaaaaay easier than designing and building one yourself from scrap. Be careful not to tighten the screws through the uprights. Other than that make sure when designing your dimensions to take into consideration the thickness of the uprights because it will add a little width and depth.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench Kit Review

,
March 30, 2015
By
from Knoxville, TN
Excellent product. Easy assembly and can be used to configure a workbench any way you want it. Great kit for someone wanting to build something custom with the ability to change at will. Thank you.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

,
March 28, 2015
By
from ND
Easy to put together. Can do some net things if you use your imagination.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Build your own Bench

,
March 28, 2015
By
from Gulfport, MS
well built design. easy to build. customize it to your liking. several uses.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.