Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164

2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164

Item# 252204
Build a workbench up to 36in. high and any length or width up to 8 feet by 4 feet depending on the size of your 2 x 4s and plywood top. Build to fit your needs & available space. Use ShelfLinks to make a 2-shelf unit to put on top of your workbench. Each shelf will hold up to 1000 lbs. Simple to assemble in less than an hour with only a powered screwdriver and saw. Only straight 90 cuts - no miters or angles. Made of durable, strong structural resin, better than steel. All hardware & instructions are included. Lumber not included. U.S.A. Material Heavy ga. resin, Capacity lbs. 1,000 per shelf, Includes 6-pk. shelflinks and hardware, Finish Type Black plastic. Makes a 2-shelf unit for your workbench Use your 2 x 4s and plywood Up to 1000-lb. shelf capacity Simple to assemble Requires only straight cuts - no miters or angles Made of durable heavy gauge structural resin Recommended lumber 2x4s not included Assembly required
Average Customer Rating:
4.869 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (153 reviews)
5 stars
133
4 stars
20
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
153 of 153(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 139 Answers
Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Review 1 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is what it says it is.

,
July 21, 2014
By Binary
from Hanover Pa
"Everything was in the package. Went together with ease. I had three people standing on it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for a quick assembly

,
July 18, 2014
By bbfire
from Massachusetts
"I needed to put together a quick, wide and deep workbench for ammunition reloading and found this product on Northern Tools. My first thought was it was a little pricey but after deciding to purchase and receiving the product I was totally satisfied with what I received for what I paid.
Assembly is easy and fast, and it allows for different configurations of the top shelves and the various widths and depths of the assemblers choice.
Highly recommend it if you don't have the time to build up a nice leg set or, as in my case, the floor in my cellar often gets wet and didn't want to chance rot over the next ten years of using this bench. May buy another to make a twin to it soon!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Bench

,
July 8, 2014
By EdEdEd999
from Florida
"Materials and Build - 2x4's, 3/4 plywood, double 3/4 plywood top, full back made from 3/4 plywood, mounted against 2x4 studs anchored in concrete wall. One coat primer, and three top coats of Rustoleum Industrial paint. You could run a tank over this thing!
I built this bench to be a tool chest stand. I made it 42 inches long, by 24 inches deep. I didn't put the middle shelf on it, but did use a 2x4 along the back where the middle shelf would go for extra support. I used premium grade 2x4's, and used 3/4 plywood. For the top, I used two pieces of 3/4 plywood screwed together for a total of a 1-1/2 top. Then a single piece of 3/4 plywood for the bottom shelf. I had a large section of the plywood left after cutting the three pieces for the shelves, so I cut a full back for the bench out of 3/4 plywood. Then I installed two strips of 2/4 studs to the concrete wall with redhead concrete anchors. Then screwed the entire back of the bench to the anchored 2/4's in the wall.
I have a large 600 pound loaded tool chest on the top, and I put a smaller 200 pound loaded tool chest on the bottom shelf for a counter weight, so the bench wouldn't be top heavy. Then added sledge hammers and pry bars to the remaining places.
Between the tool chests, tools, and wood, this thing has got to be tipping the scales at over 1,000 pounds. But this thing is still rock solid and straight as an arrow, doesn't bow or budge one millimeter. This thing is so strong I bet I could even throw another 1,000 pounds on it with no worries. You could drop an engine block on top of this for a rebuild with no problem.
My other store bought work bench is rated at 6,000 pounds, and this one I made blows that one away as far as being a solid build and strong as a tank. And this cost about 1/4th what I paid for the store bought bench.
I bought this kit, five 2x4's, and a 4x8 sheet of 3/4 plywood. I had leftover Rustoleum Industrial Grey paint. Put one coat primer, and three top-coats of the Industrial paint. Tough as nails."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench Kit

,
June 10, 2014
By apan56
from Menomonie, WI
"I was looking to get a work bench for my garage but I could not find the right size I needed, but with this kit you can make the bench just the size you need. And it is very sturdy and very easy to assemble ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff

,
May 31, 2014
By Brizow
from Spartanburg, SC
"I borrowed a skill saw from a friend, bought 8 foot 2x4s, got a sheet of subfloor, a sheet of mdf, and loaded all this up in my little Honda hatch back.
This is the first workbench I've ever built. I bought this kit because of a recommendation from the guy I borrowed the skill saw from.
Instructions are clear, hardware was plentiful, and the legs are quite sturdy. I would definitely recommend this kit to someone looking to built a custom/standard workbench. It's like Legos, you can add or remove pieces as you wish."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Bench Kit

,
May 26, 2014
By Astroram71
from Oregon
"The bench went together very quickly and easliy. The shelf kit parts give the ability to make any size shelf on or off the bench. It's sturdy enough for any project. It's a great addition to any workshop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is good to get benched.

,
May 25, 2014
By Bigbob73
from Lambertville, NJ
"Good quality and workmanship. Moves a little when I crank on things in the vise. I may be overloading the desk though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

,
May 18, 2014
By Falcon2726
from Connersville, Indiana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Great product. Ease of construction. High quality."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 14, 2014
By jwss
from Siloam Springs, AR
"Excellent product. Easy to put together with circular saw, drill, and cordless screwdriver. I built a workbench 40" X 70" and it turned out great. All of my tools are organized and I have a large space to work."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench Project

,
April 28, 2014
By edchas52
from Iowa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I needed a new workbench for reloading and decided to try Northern tools Bench kit.. This kit is a pleasure to use. It is extremely versital. You can easily make it any length or width simply by adjusting the length of your 2 x 4.s. I made my bench 8' x 30" wide.The instructions are clear and the bench goes together easily working by your self. If I need a second bench, Ill use this kit again. Also it is a very strong bench, able to hold a lot of weight..
edchas52
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work bench kit

,
February 10, 2014
By Bullsbay
from Awendaw,SC
"Great product - exactly what I needed. Used 2 X 6 for top shelve for extra height and strength for my vise."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bench kit

,
February 4, 2014
By MBARJ61
from Kingwood, TX
"This was a great kit to build a work bench, it was easy to understand the instructions, easy to build and fun."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reloading bench

,
February 4, 2014
By Recroomrenovator
from Oconomowoc, WI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The kit itself was straight forward and easy to work with despite the instructions being little more than a list of materials and didn't show how to built the shelves. That said, now that I have it together, wood stained, and sealer applied, I have to believe it's because there are so many different ways the shelves can be put together.
I have to recommend using 3/4 in. plywood, at least, for the table top. I now have a loading bench that's the envy of my brother!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I ordered some more!

,
February 4, 2014
By smot
from Sunburst, MT
"I love these! I was a little sceptical at first...plastic legs? But I have gotten SO MUCH use out of my workbench. I just built a new garage and ordered another set, plan on ordering 3 or 4 more in he near future too!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 Word to Describe...

,
January 20, 2014
By GSMJr
from Chino Valley, Arizona
"Impressive, Easy, and when you're done, BEEFY!! If I had to critizie something, it would be the instructions. No text, just pictures. But, all in all, GREAT!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Server Build Room

,
January 14, 2014
By Scubawes
from Carmel, IN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We were looking for a workbench to program servers. All of the premade ones were either too expensive or just not the right size we needed. I happened across these when i was looking, and they are perfect. I can work on up to 8 servers at one time!! I made them 2 foot by 8 foot and put the shelves at 2 foot and 3 foot high from the table top. I would say that i have about $250 to $300 in hardware total to build these. Totally customizable for your needs. Built one to see how it was and then purchased 2 more. Build Room Complete!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bench

,
September 17, 2013
By ARBOR
from Alabama
"good bench for the price. easy to put up, I like the bench so I order one more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
September 17, 2013
By bjh28
from Grand Forks
"I initially purchased one kit for my garage after reading the reviews. I did as someone had suggested and upgraded the long 2x4's with 4x4's and the 1/2" plywood to 3/4" plywood for the top. I did the bottom shelf as described in the directions. The top stayed very straight, even with the weight of a couple of healthy sized tool boxes and other tools, while the bottom started to sag with about half the weight. I didn't utilize the middle shelf as I had taller items I wanted to put on the bottom. When I purchased my second and third kits, used the the thicker lumber for all of the tops and shelves. One of my additional kits was built to the same specs as the first one and the other one used the middle shelf and kept the bottom open. If you have a removeable mower deck for a tractor, it will fit under the shelves, if the bottom shelf is left open. I used 2x4's on the back and sides of the bottom to keep the unit sturdy. These kits will save time and hassle over building a workbench from scratch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Wrkbnch

,
April 27, 2013
By Buffalo4
from Salt Lake
"I think this is a very good product and well worth the money. It is quite easy to assemble even by yourself. I did have a problem which I believe was my own fault. I transferred two tool boxes from my old workbench and then attempted to slide the new bench into position. One of the legs buckled and broke. I think I had too much weight on it to try to slide it. I did reinforce each leg with an additional 2 X 4 and it is fine. Probably contibuting to my problem was leaving the lower shelf off so I could have storage under the bench."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
13out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Basics Any Size Workbench Kit

,
April 26, 2013
By Anonymous
from Stuart, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I needed a workbench.... looked on online... & everyone wanted alot of $$$ for something that was either to big for my use or beat up!! So went to youtube for how to build your own!!! as I was watching online video how too's and Basics Anysize Kit came up.. alot of good videos on this product.. watch them.. it will give you ideas... It went together with ease.. I chose to do 6ft in length and 30"s deep.. everything was included i.e screws and inventory lisT!! I did this by myself within 2 hours.. I spent maybe $86 on the lumber.. Most $$ was the 3/4 plywood BC (sanded on one side) $ 36 that I used on top.. the bottom shelf is 3/4 ply @ $26 and I bought 11 2x4 studs.. had extra!! I already had the light.. Anyway excellent product.. comes together quick and once wood screws in it... it squared right up!! Hope this helps someone"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.