Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164

2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164

Item# 252204
Build a workbench up to 36in. high and any length or width up to 8 feet by 4 feet depending on the size of your 2 x 4s and plywood top. Build to fit your needs & available space. Use ShelfLinks to make a 2-shelf unit to put on top of your workbench. Each shelf will hold up to 1000 lbs. Simple to assemble in less than an hour with only a powered screwdriver and saw. Only straight 90 cuts - no miters or angles. Made of durable, strong structural resin, better than steel. All hardware & instructions are included. Lumber not included. U.S.A. Finish Type Black plastic, Includes 6-pk. shelflinks and hardware, Material Heavy ga. resin, Capacity lbs. 1,000 per shelf. Makes a 2-shelf unit for your workbench Use your 2 x 4s and plywood Up to 1000-lb. shelf capacity Simple to assemble Requires only straight cuts - no miters or angles Made of durable heavy gauge structural resin Recommended lumber 2x4s not included Assembly required
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(143 Reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (143 reviews)
5 stars
124
4 stars
19
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
143 of 143(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 136 Answers
Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Review 1 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work bench kit

,
February 10, 2014
By Bullsbay
from Awendaw,SC
"Great product - exactly what I needed. Used 2 X 6 for top shelve for extra height and strength for my vise."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bench kit

,
February 4, 2014
By MBARJ61
from Kingwood, TX
"This was a great kit to build a work bench, it was easy to understand the instructions, easy to build and fun."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reloading bench

,
February 4, 2014
By Recroomrenovator
from Oconomowoc, WI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The kit itself was straight forward and easy to work with despite the instructions being little more than a list of materials and didn't show how to built the shelves. That said, now that I have it together, wood stained, and sealer applied, I have to believe it's because there are so many different ways the shelves can be put together.
I have to recommend using 3/4 in. plywood, at least, for the table top. I now have a loading bench that's the envy of my brother!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I ordered some more!

,
February 4, 2014
By smot
from Sunburst, MT
"I love these! I was a little sceptical at first...plastic legs? But I have gotten SO MUCH use out of my workbench. I just built a new garage and ordered another set, plan on ordering 3 or 4 more in he near future too!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 Word to Describe...

,
January 20, 2014
By GSMJr
from Chino Valley, Arizona
"Impressive, Easy, and when you're done, BEEFY!! If I had to critizie something, it would be the instructions. No text, just pictures. But, all in all, GREAT!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Server Build Room

,
January 14, 2014
By Scubawes
from Carmel, IN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We were looking for a workbench to program servers. All of the premade ones were either too expensive or just not the right size we needed. I happened across these when i was looking, and they are perfect. I can work on up to 8 servers at one time!! I made them 2 foot by 8 foot and put the shelves at 2 foot and 3 foot high from the table top. I would say that i have about $250 to $300 in hardware total to build these. Totally customizable for your needs. Built one to see how it was and then purchased 2 more. Build Room Complete!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bench

,
September 17, 2013
By ARBOR
from Alabama
"good bench for the price. easy to put up, I like the bench so I order one more."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
September 17, 2013
By bjh28
from Grand Forks
"I initially purchased one kit for my garage after reading the reviews. I did as someone had suggested and upgraded the long 2x4's with 4x4's and the 1/2" plywood to 3/4" plywood for the top. I did the bottom shelf as described in the directions. The top stayed very straight, even with the weight of a couple of healthy sized tool boxes and other tools, while the bottom started to sag with about half the weight. I didn't utilize the middle shelf as I had taller items I wanted to put on the bottom. When I purchased my second and third kits, used the the thicker lumber for all of the tops and shelves. One of my additional kits was built to the same specs as the first one and the other one used the middle shelf and kept the bottom open. If you have a removeable mower deck for a tractor, it will fit under the shelves, if the bottom shelf is left open. I used 2x4's on the back and sides of the bottom to keep the unit sturdy. These kits will save time and hassle over building a workbench from scratch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Wrkbnch

,
April 27, 2013
By Buffalo4
from Salt Lake
"I think this is a very good product and well worth the money. It is quite easy to assemble even by yourself. I did have a problem which I believe was my own fault. I transferred two tool boxes from my old workbench and then attempted to slide the new bench into position. One of the legs buckled and broke. I think I had too much weight on it to try to slide it. I did reinforce each leg with an additional 2 X 4 and it is fine. Probably contibuting to my problem was leaving the lower shelf off so I could have storage under the bench."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Basics Any Size Workbench Kit

,
April 26, 2013
By Anonymous
from Stuart, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I needed a workbench.... looked on online... & everyone wanted alot of $$$ for something that was either to big for my use or beat up!! So went to youtube for how to build your own!!! as I was watching online video how too's and Basics Anysize Kit came up.. alot of good videos on this product.. watch them.. it will give you ideas... It went together with ease.. I chose to do 6ft in length and 30"s deep.. everything was included i.e screws and inventory lisT!! I did this by myself within 2 hours.. I spent maybe $86 on the lumber.. Most $$ was the 3/4 plywood BC (sanded on one side) $ 36 that I used on top.. the bottom shelf is 3/4 ply @ $26 and I bought 11 2x4 studs.. had extra!! I already had the light.. Anyway excellent product.. comes together quick and once wood screws in it... it squared right up!! Hope this helps someone"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool and Simple and Functional

,
April 24, 2013
By TheFred
from Northern VA
"This was a 'Festivus' gift for me and my sons and the workshop. Easy to build! Very functional! And lots of layout options."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product!

,
April 22, 2013
By ETAS
from Nacogdoches, TX
"I recently started a Firearms business and needed to get a workbench for my gunsmith work. After looking at several workbenches I decided to go with this one because of the reviews and they were spot on. The instructions were easy to follow and it went together flawlessly. It really is and awesome kit that takes a lot of the guesswork out of it. I couldn't be happier with it, I keeping peeking in to look at it all the time lol. I will be purchasing another one when I start reloading."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kit for Any Shop!

,
October 15, 2012
By turtlefoot1
from Panama City, Fl.
"The 2 x 4 Basics Workbench was a great choice for my new workshop! I purchased 2 of these kits and, with just a small amount bracing, was able to create 16' x 2' of very sturdy work space with ample storage underneath. Hardware was provided and, with a minimum number of tools, I was able to finish the project in a few hours! I would definitely recommend this product to friends will probably purchase another soon for additional space that I am building."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench Kit

,
October 8, 2012
By StacySY
from Denham Springs, LA
"My husband and I put this workbench together for me. I absolutely love it. I can store all my materials on the the two shelves and have the total top surface to work on. This is an awesome workbench!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench Kit, Model# 90164

,
August 21, 2012
By 72369
from Lanett,AL
"This kit made an excellent work staion im my shop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 Basic anysize Work bench

,
August 14, 2012
By nccowboy1966
from Green Mountain NC
"I put this work bench up in my shed to use for a gun amunition reloading station Works great . It went up in about 15 minutes. I used 1/2 in. OSB for the top, it's approx. 5ft long by 4ft. wide, I put two shelves on top with 2x8's to hold books and bullets the top shelf is about 3 in. shorter than the middle shelf.
The only problem I have with the kit is that it does not have enough of the side vices' or hangers."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 basics

,
August 13, 2012
By Mike2349
from Michigan
"This project was a total pleasure to build; It couldn't get any easier. Just moved into a small condo with a basement and didn't need a large bench so I went with a 2 x 4 plan. Picked up the lumber, cut it to the size needed and stained it all. After screwing it all together, I found it was very sturdy. I am completely satisfied with the quality of this unit and would highly recommend it to anyone!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Little Pricey But Great Quality

,
July 30, 2012
By USAF93
from Hampton VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"These are light weight but very sturdy. I used them to build a bench outside my shed so I could refuel my lawn equipment at a comfortable level. I also store bags of potting mix and other stuff on the bottom shelf. I had a few sections left over so I made a canoe stand. Again, great quality and easy to use. I think they are a little over priced but so far I haven't found anything else like them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

,
May 15, 2012
By TxWingnut
from North Texas
"Wanted to build a workbench for the garage and this fit the bill! I only wish there were more examples of possible configurations."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT KIT

,
May 15, 2012
By LOUGROO
from FLORIDA
"EASY TO ASSEMBLE, FLEXABLE DESIGN WHEN COMBINE WITH SHELF KITS"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.