Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"

"2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"

Item# 252204
"Build a workbench up to 36in. high and any length or width up to 8 feet by 4 feet depending on the size of your 2 x 4s and plywood top. Build to fit your needs & available space. Use ShelfLinks to make a 2-shelf unit to put on top of your workbench. Each shelf will hold up to 1000 lbs. Simple to assemble in less than an hour with only a powered screwdriver and saw. Only straight 90 cuts - no miters or angles. Made of durable, strong structural resin, better than steel. All hardware & instructions are included. Lumber not included. U.S.A. Material Heavy ga. resin, Capacity lbs. 1,000 per shelf, Includes 6-pk. shelflinks and hardware, Finish Type Black plastic. Makes a 2-shelf unit for your workbench Use your 2 x 4s and plywood Up to 1000-lb. shelf capacity Simple to assemble Requires only straight cuts - no miters or angles Made of durable heavy gauge structural resin Recommended lumber 2x4s not included Assembly required"
Average Customer Rating:
4.868 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (159 reviews)
5 stars
138
4 stars
21
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
159 of 159(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 139 Answers
Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Review 1 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bench kit offers possibilities

,
November 19, 2014
By kennedygd
from chesapeake, va
"Sturdy ,easy to assemble, cost effective for larger benches, weather proof safe for outdoor use with pressure treated lumber"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Solid Bench

,
October 24, 2014
By David739
from Northern CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a great bench that is easy to build. Having 2 people makes the job easier. I used redwood 2x4 and maple 3/4 plywood. I put numerous coats of polyurethane on everything. Since I am going to use it for reloading, I added extra support under the top plywood piece and added a metal plate to the top and bottom surfaces for mounting my press. The bench and press are rock solid."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great table

,
October 13, 2014
By BIGO1228
from shelby nc
"This is a great table for my rc hobby builds. Its goes together fairly fast and is sturdy enough to handle even some of my biggest projects."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wood table

,
September 20, 2014
By RHF148
from south central Georgia
"the resin legs and shelf supports are very sturdy and will support more weight then I will ever put on the table. was fast and easy to assemble. I used wood screws so a drill and skill saw was about all the tools needed. I plan to buy another when on sale again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super easy

,
September 12, 2014
By NoSkils
from Houston
"Very easy to assemble once you cut all your lumber and looks nice."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome and Easy!

,
September 2, 2014
By hcl1963
from Marblehead, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Description sales pitch of "minutes to assemble" really means a few, focussed hours, but very easy, nonetheless.
As an FYI, it takes "minutes" to unpack the box, inventory all of the parts and pre-read the directions.
Anyway, it was easy, directions were clear and the entire project was fairly simple.
End result: AWESOME!
Just what I was hoping for and more importantly, what I expected.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is what it says it is.

,
July 21, 2014
By Binary
from Hanover Pa
"Everything was in the package. Went together with ease. I had three people standing on it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for a quick assembly

,
July 18, 2014
By bbfire
from Massachusetts
"I needed to put together a quick, wide and deep workbench for ammunition reloading and found this product on Northern Tools. My first thought was it was a little pricey but after deciding to purchase and receiving the product I was totally satisfied with what I received for what I paid.
Assembly is easy and fast, and it allows for different configurations of the top shelves and the various widths and depths of the assemblers choice.
Highly recommend it if you don't have the time to build up a nice leg set or, as in my case, the floor in my cellar often gets wet and didn't want to chance rot over the next ten years of using this bench. May buy another to make a twin to it soon!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Bench

,
July 8, 2014
By EdEdEd999
from Florida
"Materials and Build - 2x4's, 3/4 plywood, double 3/4 plywood top, full back made from 3/4 plywood, mounted against 2x4 studs anchored in concrete wall. One coat primer, and three top coats of Rustoleum Industrial paint. You could run a tank over this thing!
I built this bench to be a tool chest stand. I made it 42 inches long, by 24 inches deep. I didn't put the middle shelf on it, but did use a 2x4 along the back where the middle shelf would go for extra support. I used premium grade 2x4's, and used 3/4 plywood. For the top, I used two pieces of 3/4 plywood screwed together for a total of a 1-1/2 top. Then a single piece of 3/4 plywood for the bottom shelf. I had a large section of the plywood left after cutting the three pieces for the shelves, so I cut a full back for the bench out of 3/4 plywood. Then I installed two strips of 2/4 studs to the concrete wall with redhead concrete anchors. Then screwed the entire back of the bench to the anchored 2/4's in the wall.
I have a large 600 pound loaded tool chest on the top, and I put a smaller 200 pound loaded tool chest on the bottom shelf for a counter weight, so the bench wouldn't be top heavy. Then added sledge hammers and pry bars to the remaining places.
Between the tool chests, tools, and wood, this thing has got to be tipping the scales at over 1,000 pounds. But this thing is still rock solid and straight as an arrow, doesn't bow or budge one millimeter. This thing is so strong I bet I could even throw another 1,000 pounds on it with no worries. You could drop an engine block on top of this for a rebuild with no problem.
My other store bought work bench is rated at 6,000 pounds, and this one I made blows that one away as far as being a solid build and strong as a tank. And this cost about 1/4th what I paid for the store bought bench.
I bought this kit, five 2x4's, and a 4x8 sheet of 3/4 plywood. I had leftover Rustoleum Industrial Grey paint. Put one coat primer, and three top-coats of the Industrial paint. Tough as nails."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench Kit

,
June 10, 2014
By apan56
from Menomonie, WI
"I was looking to get a work bench for my garage but I could not find the right size I needed, but with this kit you can make the bench just the size you need. And it is very sturdy and very easy to assemble ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff

,
May 31, 2014
By Brizow
from Spartanburg, SC
"I borrowed a skill saw from a friend, bought 8 foot 2x4s, got a sheet of subfloor, a sheet of mdf, and loaded all this up in my little Honda hatch back.
This is the first workbench I've ever built. I bought this kit because of a recommendation from the guy I borrowed the skill saw from.
Instructions are clear, hardware was plentiful, and the legs are quite sturdy. I would definitely recommend this kit to someone looking to built a custom/standard workbench. It's like Legos, you can add or remove pieces as you wish."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Bench Kit

,
May 26, 2014
By Astroram71
from Oregon
"The bench went together very quickly and easliy. The shelf kit parts give the ability to make any size shelf on or off the bench. It's sturdy enough for any project. It's a great addition to any workshop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is good to get benched.

,
May 25, 2014
By Bigbob73
from Lambertville, NJ
"Good quality and workmanship. Moves a little when I crank on things in the vise. I may be overloading the desk though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

,
May 18, 2014
By Falcon2726
from Connersville, Indiana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Great product. Ease of construction. High quality."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 14, 2014
By jwss
from Siloam Springs, AR
"Excellent product. Easy to put together with circular saw, drill, and cordless screwdriver. I built a workbench 40" X 70" and it turned out great. All of my tools are organized and I have a large space to work."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench Project

,
April 28, 2014
By edchas52
from Iowa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I needed a new workbench for reloading and decided to try Northern tools Bench kit.. This kit is a pleasure to use. It is extremely versital. You can easily make it any length or width simply by adjusting the length of your 2 x 4.s. I made my bench 8' x 30" wide.The instructions are clear and the bench goes together easily working by your self. If I need a second bench, Ill use this kit again. Also it is a very strong bench, able to hold a lot of weight..
edchas52
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work bench kit

,
February 10, 2014
By Bullsbay
from Awendaw,SC
"Great product - exactly what I needed. Used 2 X 6 for top shelve for extra height and strength for my vise."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bench kit

,
February 4, 2014
By MBARJ61
from Kingwood, TX
"This was a great kit to build a work bench, it was easy to understand the instructions, easy to build and fun."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reloading bench

,
February 4, 2014
By Recroomrenovator
from Oconomowoc, WI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The kit itself was straight forward and easy to work with despite the instructions being little more than a list of materials and didn't show how to built the shelves. That said, now that I have it together, wood stained, and sealer applied, I have to believe it's because there are so many different ways the shelves can be put together.
I have to recommend using 3/4 in. plywood, at least, for the table top. I now have a loading bench that's the envy of my brother!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I ordered some more!

,
February 4, 2014
By smot
from Sunburst, MT
"I love these! I was a little sceptical at first...plastic legs? But I have gotten SO MUCH use out of my workbench. I just built a new garage and ordered another set, plan on ordering 3 or 4 more in he near future too!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.