Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"

"2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"

Item# 252204
"Build a workbench up to 36in. high and any length or width up to 8 feet by 4 feet depending on the size of your 2 x 4s and plywood top. Build to fit your needs & available space. Use ShelfLinks to make a 2-shelf unit to put on top of your workbench. Each shelf will hold up to 1000 lbs. Simple to assemble in less than an hour with only a powered screwdriver and saw. Only straight 90 cuts - no miters or angles. Made of durable, strong structural resin, better than steel. All hardware & instructions are included. Lumber not included. U.S.A. Capacity lbs. 1,000 per shelf, Material Heavy ga. resin, Finish Type Black plastic, Includes 6-pk. shelflinks and hardware. Makes a 2-shelf unit for your workbench Use your 2 x 4s and plywood Up to 1000-lb. shelf capacity Simple to assemble Requires only straight cuts - no miters or angles Made of durable heavy gauge structural resin Recommended lumber 2x4s not included Assembly required"
Average Customer Rating:
4.865 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(171 Reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (171 reviews)
5 stars
148
4 stars
23
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
171 of 171(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 139 Answers
Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Review 1 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 basics workbench

,
February 24, 2015
By ALGRN
from Dublin, GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" The 2x4 basics workbench was very easy to work with. I built a 4'x8' workbench with two shelves and pegboard on back in about an 1 1/2 hours by myself. There were no angles to cut and very sturdy when I was finished with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench Kit

,
February 6, 2015
By talkthefacts
from Canton, NY
" I just reordered another workbench kit for my shop. This kit is very strong and easy to put together as well as it looks professional. I topped my first one with melamine and I have two 250# slabs of maple sitting on it right now. This is a great product "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Work Bench

,
February 3, 2015
By Hubbsie
from Templeton, CA
" Was easy to build, very stable when working on it, handles almost every job I have, easy to clean up after job is done. Love the shelves! HAVE TO GET ADDITION TO YOU SHOP! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
February 2, 2015
By Dbones369
from California
" This was just what I was looking for. Took two kits and made a reloading bench and small utility bench. Great product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Son inlaw happy

,
February 1, 2015
By dadinmass
from ma
" Gift to son inlaw. Built a 24"x60" bench in garage. Easy to build an saves time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this kit - easy to do.

,
February 1, 2015
By HHart
from Tampa, FL
" Kit excellent for the homeowner with limited skills. Great flexibility re size of bench/shelf. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Things that are great about it

,
January 31, 2015
By Shellbuckz
from Kelseyville, California
" A truly great product. Totally versatile. Many, many uses. What I like most about it is that I can configure it in any way I want. It's sturdy and easy to set up. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Project

,
January 11, 2015
By Techrider
from Palm Harbor, Fl
" Well built and designed kit. Simple to assemble. The only help that I needed was in the handling the 4x8 plywood sheets until cut to size. Everything else was a one man job. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

work bench kit

,
January 6, 2015
By GRTC
from Moyock,Nc
" The materials are high quality, directions were easy to follow. I like that you can customize it . I added a work light and peg board this has really helped me to clean up my garage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Workbench Kit

,
January 1, 2015
By Straz
from Western NY
" A great idea - well executed
Used it to build a 4' X 2' reloading bench. Went together in about an hour. Needed the occasional pair of helping hands. Finished product ended up as sturdy and stable as one could want.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
December 27, 2014
By kaethkaeth
from Stanwood, Wa
" This product is very well built. It is very easy for one person to build because of the design features.
This bench will be a potting bench for my wife. The bench can also be utilized as a hobby center for her other activities.
Very sturdy construction so no concerns about stability. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Workshop Addition

,
December 17, 2014
By Kevlarster
from Pittsburgh PA
" I love the versatility of this unit. I was able to create a sizable work area to which I also attached a bin mounting system purchased at Northern Tool. An additional consideration for this unit is that is can be assembled in a work area and doesn't have to be manhandled through the door. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bench kit offers possibilities

,
November 19, 2014
By kennedygd
from chesapeake, va
" Sturdy ,easy to assemble, cost effective for larger benches, weather proof safe for outdoor use with pressure treated lumber "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Solid Bench

,
October 24, 2014
By David739
from Northern CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This is a great bench that is easy to build. Having 2 people makes the job easier. I used redwood 2x4 and maple 3/4 plywood. I put numerous coats of polyurethane on everything. Since I am going to use it for reloading, I added extra support under the top plywood piece and added a metal plate to the top and bottom surfaces for mounting my press. The bench and press are rock solid. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great table

,
October 13, 2014
By BIGO1228
from shelby nc
" This is a great table for my rc hobby builds. Its goes together fairly fast and is sturdy enough to handle even some of my biggest projects. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wood table

,
September 20, 2014
By RHF148
from south central Georgia
" the resin legs and shelf supports are very sturdy and will support more weight then I will ever put on the table. was fast and easy to assemble. I used wood screws so a drill and skill saw was about all the tools needed. I plan to buy another when on sale again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super easy

,
September 12, 2014
By NoSkils
from Houston
" Very easy to assemble once you cut all your lumber and looks nice. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome and Easy!

,
September 2, 2014
By hcl1963
from Marblehead, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Description sales pitch of "minutes to assemble" really means a few, focussed hours, but very easy, nonetheless.
As an FYI, it takes "minutes" to unpack the box, inventory all of the parts and pre-read the directions.
Anyway, it was easy, directions were clear and the entire project was fairly simple.
End result: AWESOME!
Just what I was hoping for and more importantly, what I expected.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is what it says it is.

,
July 21, 2014
By Binary
from Hanover Pa
" Everything was in the package. Went together with ease. I had three people standing on it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for a quick assembly

,
July 18, 2014
By bbfire
from Massachusetts
" I needed to put together a quick, wide and deep workbench for ammunition reloading and found this product on Northern Tools. My first thought was it was a little pricey but after deciding to purchase and receiving the product I was totally satisfied with what I received for what I paid.
Assembly is easy and fast, and it allows for different configurations of the top shelves and the various widths and depths of the assemblers choice.
Highly recommend it if you don't have the time to build up a nice leg set or, as in my case, the floor in my cellar often gets wet and didn't want to chance rot over the next ten years of using this bench. May buy another to make a twin to it soon!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.