Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"

"2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"

Item# 252204
"Build a workbench up to 36in. high and any length or width up to 8 feet by 4 feet depending on the size of your 2 x 4s and plywood top. Build to fit your needs & available space. Use ShelfLinks to make a 2-shelf unit to put on top of your workbench. Each shelf will hold up to 1000 lbs. Simple to assemble in less than an hour with only a powered screwdriver and saw. Only straight 90 cuts - no miters or angles. Made of durable, strong structural resin, better than steel. All hardware & instructions are included. Lumber not included. U.S.A. Finish Type Black plastic, Includes 6-pk. shelflinks and hardware, Capacity lbs. 1,000 per shelf, Material Heavy ga. resin. Makes a 2-shelf unit for your workbench Use your 2 x 4s and plywood Up to 1000-lb. shelf capacity Simple to assemble Requires only straight cuts - no miters or angles Made of durable heavy gauge structural resin Recommended lumber 2x4s not included Assembly required"
Average Customer Rating:
4.858 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (183 reviews)
5 stars
158
4 stars
24
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
182 of 183(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 143 Answers
Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Review 1 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2X4 Basic Workbench legs

,
August 20, 2015
By
from Ludington MI
" I like having a product that is easy to put together and is sturdy enough for any project that I'm working on.
This bench went together nicely, I didn't realize at the time of order, that I needed to order extra shelf pieces for the top of work bench. But I'd recommend this to my friends.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Workbench

,
August 2, 2015
By
from Jacksonville, FL
" I have not finished assembling the bench. The 1" wood screws do not hold. Will go out to buy 1½", I have to use C clamps to hold the wood to the legs for the screws. I will try to write an addendum to this as soon as I complete my bench. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench

,
July 10, 2015
By
from Lexington, NC
" Work bench looks great! Easy to assembly. I used 2 4x8 3/4in plywood and made the bench top 32 inches then used 16 in shelves. no waste and 2 shelves. 32 inch top is plenty of room, stained and polyurethane it 4 times. could of used a coupe of more coats of poly, but over all happy with it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kit

,
April 19, 2015
By
from Lexington, SC
" This is a wonderful kit with great directions and easy assembly "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and Clean

,
April 9, 2015
By
from Woodbury, MN
" Just set-up a new work bench in my garage. The was simple to do with just 2 x 4's and this kit. I love how it turned out and is extremely sturdy with lots of space on the shelves underneath. You can make it any size you want. Mine is 84" long x 32" deep. Makes for a nice size workbench. I highly recommend the 2x4 Basics products. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great work bench kit

,
April 1, 2015
By
from Washington, MI
" So I am about 2/3's finished with my bench. I used 3/4 " plywood for the top and shelves. The table is 2x8 . The legs went together fairly well but the final corner took a slight amount of coaxing. I used a large squeeze clamp to pull it together to make the final connections. The bench is very very sturdy and looks great. I am in the process of putting numerous coats of finish on the bench top. So far I have the kit plus $175 into the bench. I still want to attach a back of peg board for tool storage and a light on the top. I think the bench will be very functional and a good purchase. I would have given it five stars except for the coaxing at the end. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, easy, sturdy.

,
March 30, 2015
By
from TX
" The directions were great the build was great it is so simple and sturdy. Waaaaaay easier than designing and building one yourself from scrap. Be careful not to tighten the screws through the uprights. Other than that make sure when designing your dimensions to take into consideration the thickness of the uprights because it will add a little width and depth. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench Kit Review

,
March 30, 2015
By
from Knoxville, TN
" Excellent product. Easy assembly and can be used to configure a workbench any way you want it. Great kit for someone wanting to build something custom with the ability to change at will. Thank you. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

,
March 28, 2015
By
from ND
" Easy to put together. Can do some net things if you use your imagination. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Build your own Bench

,
March 28, 2015
By
from Gulfport, MS
" well built design. easy to build. customize it to your liking. several uses. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 For 1

,
March 20, 2015
By
from Eden, Md
" After receiving the kit, I decided to use the larger one as a 24 X 72 inch central work bench and the smaller part of the kit as a separate 24 x 48 inch work bench. Both of the work benches have two storage shelves and have provided an outstanding compliment to my work shop storage and work area. Both were extremely easy to assemble with only use of precut material and a power drill screw driver. A great product "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

,
March 5, 2015
By
from Fredericksurg, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I purchased this one to do a test to see if this is what I wanted in my garage. I absolutely love this product. It's very easy to put together and requires a minimal tools. I love it because you can design it the way you want it. I'm working on my garage plan now. My wife want me to build her a top shelf in her sewing room. Yes she loves it too. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 basics workbench

,
February 24, 2015
By
from Dublin, GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" The 2x4 basics workbench was very easy to work with. I built a 4'x8' workbench with two shelves and pegboard on back in about an 1 1/2 hours by myself. There were no angles to cut and very sturdy when I was finished with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workbench Kit

,
February 6, 2015
By
from Canton, NY
" I just reordered another workbench kit for my shop. This kit is very strong and easy to put together as well as it looks professional. I topped my first one with melamine and I have two 250# slabs of maple sitting on it right now. This is a great product "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Work Bench

,
February 3, 2015
By
from Templeton, CA
" Was easy to build, very stable when working on it, handles almost every job I have, easy to clean up after job is done. Love the shelves! HAVE TO GET ADDITION TO YOU SHOP! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
February 2, 2015
By
from California
" This was just what I was looking for. Took two kits and made a reloading bench and small utility bench. Great product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Son inlaw happy

,
February 1, 2015
By
from ma
" Gift to son inlaw. Built a 24"x60" bench in garage. Easy to build an saves time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this kit - easy to do.

,
February 1, 2015
By
from Tampa, FL
" Kit excellent for the homeowner with limited skills. Great flexibility re size of bench/shelf. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Things that are great about it

,
January 31, 2015
By
from Kelseyville, California
" A truly great product. Totally versatile. Many, many uses. What I like most about it is that I can configure it in any way I want. It's sturdy and easy to set up. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Workbench Kit, Model# 90164"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Project

,
January 11, 2015
By
from Palm Harbor, Fl
" Well built and designed kit. Simple to assemble. The only help that I needed was in the handling the 4x8 plywood sheets until cut to size. Everything else was a one man job. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.