Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"

"2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"

Item# 252205
"Add extra seating area on your deck with Deck Bench Brackets and your own lumber 2 x 4s or 2 x 6s. Build a short bench on one side or use as a railing with integrated seating around the entire perimeter. Its easy - very little measuring, cutting or fitting needed. Plus, you use only 7in. of deck space All the hardware you'll need is included. Can be used on new or existing decks. Great for docks, too. Lumber not included. Material Type Resin, Pieces qty. 2, Assembly Required Yes, Color Sand, Recommended Lumber Size 2 x 4s, 2 x 6s not included. Bench Brackets can be used for new installations or retrofitted into existing decks Installation on docks make good use of space and provides seating that will not blow away ACQ treated-lumber resistant Bench brackets should be spaced 20in. to 24in. apart and 4in. to 12in. from the end of a bench The total height of the assembled unit is 36in. from the deck surface The seat is 17in.H"
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Review 1 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super solution for deck seating

,
July 18, 2014
By Rege1
from Washington, DC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"These were a simple and effective solution for creating attractive perimeter deck seating that doesn't eat much into the deck space.
I designed a basic picnic table with benches on two sides to complement the built-in deck seating. If I want to seat a large group around the deck, I just move the table so that its benches are arranged along side the rail on the other end.
The only minor complaint is that there is a fair amount of space between the 2x4s used for the seats. A couple people said it was uncomfortable if they sat a bit slanted on the seat. You can add a third 2x4 to alleviate that issue.
I've never seen a similar product elsewhere. It really came in handy to solve our seating issue on our small deck."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Deck Brackets

,
June 30, 2014
By Maggman
from Collegeville, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Outstanding, easy to install and loads of compliments from neighbors. Great shortcut to nice deck seats that double as railing. Used at RV seasonal site."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Deck bench

,
June 1, 2014
By CDS1972
from Leesburg, Ohio
"It is a nice product . Makes it easy to make a good looking bench . Also it only takes 6" of your deck space . The rest of the bench over hangs the deck and becomes part of your railing . I order it from northerntool.com. They were the cheapest place to buy this product an they always did a good job shipping it ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sturdy Product, a few design flaws

,
April 29, 2013
By johhnyx
from Upstate, NY
"I use these on my dock, and they make a great bench that does not take up hardly any dock space. My dock is an "L" shape and putting the bench on the "L" portion makes an absolutely cool spot to sit and watch the water and sunsets. They should be engineered a bit wider to allow more room for the lag screw heads and tools to access them. I take them on and off each year with my docks, and they are awkward to get on and off due to the alignment. Otherwise, I like them and will probably order another set."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

saved time

,
June 13, 2011
By QT2398
"Used this product on the deck beside my pool, screwed to the decking surface without any problems. saved me tons of time and gave my deck a unique look. Slim design and fact that it puts the bench over the edge, saved valuable space."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Deck Bench

,
July 13, 2009
By hotrodder
from Carlisle, PA
"All you need is some straight lumber and everything else is included. Makes a nice bench for the deck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
November 18, 2008
By rigtender
from Missouri
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"These great products were first used on decks that were built for my mother-in-law.
We all liked them so much that we then added them to our own existing porch, the deck surrounding our hot tub, and finally to a small bridge that goes to an island on our lake. They are one of the best investments that we have made as some of our family really need seating and can't stand for long periods.
These make the decks, hot tub, and even the bridge much more accessible and usable. The grandchildren love to "feed the fish" and the younger ones use the bench to boost them up for dispensing fish food....we all LOVE them!
Great product and easy to install.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bench

,
November 17, 2008
By Handyman60
from Cincinnati, Oh
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"These bench brackets are great, easy to install and make a great bench. I used them to make a bench around my deck , instead of a railing. The bench is sturdy and a great way to build a bench."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Deck brackets

,
November 17, 2008
By oldgreybull
from Sparta, NC
"This is an excellent product and I highly recommend it.
I just built a new house with two large decks. These brackets worked perfectly! They not only add a lot of sitting area without taking up deck floor space, but also serve as a railing to meet code requirements.
I used Trex decking and also used Trex for the benches themselves with no problems at all. Driving some of the screws in tight corners is easier with a swivel adapter and a cordless impact driver.
The directions are easy to follow and basic carpentry skills allow you to miter corners to follow the contours of the deck.
The finished look is clean and functional and draws many favorable comments.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

As advertised

,
August 18, 2008
By threefingers
from PA
"Bought and assembled a deck bench using these brackets. I had to make minor modifications to fit an existing deck, but this was easy. The brackets went up fine and are very sturdy. I would like to see some kind of corner brace to help stiffen the corner. I will fabricate some kind of brace for the corner as it seems a little weak, but this should be an easy fix. I used decking lumber to match the rest of the deck and it all worked out just fine. A nice addition with very little lost space."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Deck Bench Brackets

,
August 11, 2008
By beanz325
from RI
"Nice product…does what it is designed to do. Could have been engineered better to allow easier access to screw holes...although I must admit I didn't install them exactly as the directions described. I used composite decking lumber and anchored all the boards from behind and underneath so none of the hardware was exposed. Due to the fact that the composite decking is not as rigid as pressure treated lumber, I also mounted them 14 inches on center instead of the recommended 16. Overall, very useful, convenient item!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Made my dock bench easy to build

,
August 11, 2008
By larrygcmob
from Mobile, AL
"The width of my dock walkway is 5' wide so I needed a bench that was not too wide but was sturdy. These brackets mount at the back of the dock and take up a minimum of space on the walkway. They are very sturdy after the boards are attached. Don't be disappointed by their flexibility before the boards are attached. I did add one 2x4 on the seat to widen it since I found that it was a bit too narrow for me.
Also, the hardware is black oxide steel and will eventually rust so I changed to stainless steel and galvanized fasteners. This is why I give it four stars instead of 5 stars. I believe most benches will be out in the weather so it makes sense to me to put in some type of corrosion resistant fasteners. I used an impact driver for attaching the screws and did not have any problems with the predrilled holes in the brackets.
The instructions are clear and easy to understand. I made the 8' version so there are very few boards that need to be cut. The cutting schedule is easy to follow. I used inexpensive treated SYP, primed and painted to match some other colors at the dock and I get a lot of compliments for a 'job well done'."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
April 21, 2008
By CGizzle
from Salem, OR
"I bought these because I had a 10x12 deck that was already built and I wanted to add a bench and a rail, but due to the size of my deck I was unable to do it while keeping sufficient room to move. I bought these and they were very easy to install. By my self I put the brackets on in one day and the wood on in another. Everything went very smoothly. I would highly recommend these to anyone who wants a rail but is low on space. I would deffinately use these brackets again, and I'm considering getting the work bench model"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Deck bench

,
April 21, 2008
By dcotts42
from Pitman, NJ
"With the exception of being backordered from Northern Tool each time I ordered , this was a great product. It included easy to follow instructions and all the hardware. Just add wood, which will need to be hand picked for the straightest boards. I used Tek on the top and seats."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

overall good

,
April 1, 2008
By cheif
from north georgia
"I bought 16 of these for a bench on my porch. When I first saw them I didn't think they would hold up very well. They are made of some type of plastic. I went ahead and put them up to see how they would do and was surprised at how strong the bench actually is. They are easy to install but It helps to have somebody hold the bracket straight and level while you screw it. All the hardware is included but the screws that hold on the seat boards are hard to install with a power drill because of the tight clearance underneath. I had to put them all in by hand."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench Brackets

,
January 21, 2008
By Stlbtjr
from UT
"I used 10 of the brackets to create a wrap-around bench on my deck, just like the sample picture. The installation was quick and very simple. I would recommend these to anyone wanting to add seating to their deck. It has definitely improved the look and functionality of our deck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench Brackets

,
July 10, 2007
By Carl07
from Long Island, N.Y.
"I used the eight pairs of brackets from Northern Tool to construct two benches on the end of my dock on Long Island. Not only where they easy to use but they look great too. I first saw this product in a boating catalogue and knew i could find it cheaper on line somewhere. Sure enough, Northern Tool had the best price and fastest delivery. what more could you ask for."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "2x4 Basics Deck Bench Brackets - Sand, 2-Pk., Model# 90168"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow

,
July 9, 2007
By petfr
from dixmont ,maine
"i could not believe how easy it was to bliuld these seats and how good they look you dont have to be a carpenter to put them together i did a 5by 24 deck in one day alone looks great you cant miss it up its that easy"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.