Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"

"2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"

Item# 252208
"Use the 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit to easily create a comfortable chair, bench or loveseat. Simply cut 2x4s to length and screw them onto the rugged, all-weather frames. Specially designed seat and back provide comfort you never thought possible from patio furniture. Lumber not included. U.S.A. Recommended Lumber Size 2 x 4s not included, Assembly Required Yes, Material Type Resin, Color Sand, Pieces qty. 2. Use with 2x4s to build a sturdy bench, loveseat or chair of any length up to 6 feet Straight 90 cuts only, no miter or angle saw required Ergonomic design creates a comfortable seat Step-by-step assembly instructions Hardware to make one bench or chair Each arm includes a built-in cup holder 32in. assembled seat back height, 17in. assembled seat height"
Average Customer Rating:
4.746 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (59 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
58 of 59(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Review 1 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong and Awesome Bench Legs

,
May 27, 2016
By
from Illinois
I purchased 2 bench kits and built the benches 6 feet long. I painted the legs gloss black and used a high grade deck stain on the wood in a reddish brown color. Turned out very nice. Perfect for use by the lake when the grand kids are fishing. Comfortable to relax on too, out on the front porch. Very happy that I purchased and built them.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench Project

,
May 27, 2016
By
from Maine
Very happy with this item. Ease of assembly was super easy. The only suggestion would be not to use the full 6 feet. 5 feet seems to be a better length. It took about 45 minutes total to cut the lumber and assemble the bench. It does take two people for assembly. The time between the ordering and receiving the bench was about 5 days. Very speedy service. I have zero complaints except a few extra screws would be nice.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm Benched & loving it

,
May 26, 2016
By
from The First State
I'm 84 yrs young & thought I might never be able to take on such a project. However I did, it coulden't have been easier, I chose white cedar because it will hold up best. and is insect repellent. I also thougth 6' was a little too long so I made it 5', and that proved correct. Simple ( it would take a genius to do it wrong) all you have to do is follow the easy instructions. I'ld do it again but who needs two benches.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Assembly

,
May 11, 2016
By
from Somers, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I bought 2 of these benches & 9 2x4x8' cedar lumber cut in 1/2 put on 3 coats of clear poly and everyone loves them.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

2X4 Basics Bench/Chair Kit

,
May 11, 2016
By
from Iowa
Fast delivery, easy instructions and assembly. I am already considering purchasing two more kits for the acreage. A great comfortable bench seat that I will recommend to anyone.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2X4 ANY SIZE BENCH

,
August 20, 2015
By
from NEBRASKA
I WAS REAL HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE IT WENT TOGATHER REAL EASY I NOW HAVE A NICE BENCH TO SIT IN ON THE DECK.THANK YOU FOR THE GOOD SERVICE.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Park bench

,
July 26, 2015
By
from Lubbock, TX
Great product and good instructions and I would recommend it to anyone.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 basics anysize Bench/Chair

,
June 28, 2015
By
from Ludington
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
These benches and chair kits are easy to put together. We used water proofing on the wood after we were done. They look great and are really comfortable to sit and read or just sitting and enjoying the view.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple Good Bench Kit

,
May 5, 2015
By
from SWVA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
It worked Great, Was not hard at all to put together. And will last for years with couple coats of Sealer on the 2x4. I made mine 6ft. , It sets good and I think if a Man was to throw a pillow or two on it, be good place to take a nap...... :-)
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Alternate use

,
April 30, 2015
By
from Mass.
I replaced the seat and back 2X4's with old skies to give the seat a winter look.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Time Saver

,
January 28, 2015
By
from North Fort Myers FL
Product worked as expected. It came with all the necessary hardware and instructions. Saved time building a bench. Just fit the 2x4's in place and lock them with the supplied screws.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and Easy!

,
January 5, 2015
By
from Central Kentucky
We needed some incidental seating in the yard. Using these kits made creating a bench and a chair so quick and easy that I ordered a 2nd set! They are heavy duty, don't have to worry about the wind blowing them around the yard or off the deck and they look great with gray stained treated 2X4's! Great seating you can customize to the size you need! I would recommend and will probably purchase again!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Garden bench pointers

,
December 29, 2014
By
from Long beach NY
Good product BUT...
1) make absolutely sure your 2X4s are exactly the same size or else the side pieces won't line up.
2). You have to attach the boards with the unit upside down. Makes screwing the boards easier.
3). With the unit inside down you need to hold the boards with wood clamps.
4). Pre-drill all the screw holes.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great solution for company project

,
October 20, 2014
By
from houston, tx
This item was an easy and quick solution for a build my company sponsored. It didn't take long to build and install.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bench/Chair Kit

,
September 17, 2014
By
from Wichita, KS
We had been looking for a couple of benches to put in the back yard. Everything we looked at was more than we wanted to spend. We thought we would try these kits & see how they turned out. The only additional material we had to buy was the 2x4's. They went together quickly & easily. We've had a lot of compliments on them already. Next time we might paint the wood & kits contrasting colors to give the backyard a pop of color.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the pier

,
July 3, 2014
By
from Middle River, MD
Bought two of them and created side-by-side four-ft benches for our pier on Seneca Creek. They assembled quite easily and I will probably apply stain to the lumber once it cures. Very comfortable as well.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench Kit

,
June 18, 2014
By
from DeWitt, MI
Great idea. Better price from Northern Tool. Easy order
on line, quick delivery. Bought lumber and easy assembly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy

,
June 3, 2014
By
from Palmetto, GA
I made the bench 4 ft wide. It is solid and heavy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Outside Product

,
May 13, 2014
By
from Dallas, TX
bought this to use outside and whatever the weather might bring and hopefully will get some longevity... i do not think there will be any problems for my intent!! i am using this as a 40" bench, i am glad i have a short length cause i think if you are going any longer it just is not stable enough? it is best/stronger at shorter cuts such as for a chair or wide seat, but longer runs are not recommended?? all in all a good buy and if on sale i will buy another!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid & Sturdy

,
May 12, 2014
By
from MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Have gotten tired of hauling lawn furniture inside in the fall and back out in the spring, tired of having it blown across the concrete and lawn in every big wind. So we purchased 8 of these. Carefully cut equal (it will show if you don't cut carefully) length 2x4's and painted them for looks and long life. Took a while to assemble as each chair has 60 screws (included) but we are very happy with the results. They are sturdy and weather resistant. If I don't have to replace the wood in 3 years I will rate them a 6! ... I am a little concerned the screws may work loose in time, but I may order a few more I am so initially impressed with these.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.