Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"

"2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"

Item# 252208
"Use the 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit to easily create a comfortable chair, bench or loveseat. Simply cut 2x4s to length and screw them onto the rugged, all-weather frames. Specially designed seat and back provide comfort you never thought possible from patio furniture. Lumber not included. U.S.A. Color Sand, Recommended Lumber Size 2 x 4s not included, Pieces qty. 2, Assembly Required Yes, Material Type Resin. Use with 2x4s to build a sturdy bench, loveseat or chair of any length up to 6 feet Straight 90 cuts only, no miter or angle saw required Ergonomic design creates a comfortable seat Step-by-step assembly instructions Hardware to make one bench or chair Each arm includes a built-in cup holder 32in. assembled seat back height, 17in. assembled seat height"
Average Customer Rating:
4.741 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (54 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
53 of 54(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Review 1 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2X4 ANY SIZE BENCH

,
August 20, 2015
By
from NEBRASKA
" I WAS REAL HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE IT WENT TOGATHER REAL EASY I NOW HAVE A NICE BENCH TO SIT IN ON THE DECK.THANK YOU FOR THE GOOD SERVICE. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Park bench

,
July 26, 2015
By
from Lubbock, TX
" Great product and good instructions and I would recommend it to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 basics anysize Bench/Chair

,
June 28, 2015
By
from Ludington
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" These benches and chair kits are easy to put together. We used water proofing on the wood after we were done. They look great and are really comfortable to sit and read or just sitting and enjoying the view. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple Good Bench Kit

,
May 5, 2015
By
from SWVA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" It worked Great, Was not hard at all to put together. And will last for years with couple coats of Sealer on the 2x4. I made mine 6ft. , It sets good and I think if a Man was to throw a pillow or two on it, be good place to take a nap...... :-) "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Alternate use

,
April 30, 2015
By
from Mass.
" I replaced the seat and back 2X4's with old skies to give the seat a winter look. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Time Saver

,
January 28, 2015
By
from North Fort Myers FL
" Product worked as expected. It came with all the necessary hardware and instructions. Saved time building a bench. Just fit the 2x4's in place and lock them with the supplied screws. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and Easy!

,
January 5, 2015
By
from Central Kentucky
" We needed some incidental seating in the yard. Using these kits made creating a bench and a chair so quick and easy that I ordered a 2nd set! They are heavy duty, don't have to worry about the wind blowing them around the yard or off the deck and they look great with gray stained treated 2X4's! Great seating you can customize to the size you need! I would recommend and will probably purchase again!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Garden bench pointers

,
December 29, 2014
By
from Long beach NY
" Good product BUT...
1) make absolutely sure your 2X4s are exactly the same size or else the side pieces won't line up.
2). You have to attach the boards with the unit upside down. Makes screwing the boards easier.
3). With the unit inside down you need to hold the boards with wood clamps.
4). Pre-drill all the screw holes.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great solution for company project

,
October 20, 2014
By
from houston, tx
" This item was an easy and quick solution for a build my company sponsored. It didn't take long to build and install. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bench/Chair Kit

,
September 17, 2014
By
from Wichita, KS
" We had been looking for a couple of benches to put in the back yard. Everything we looked at was more than we wanted to spend. We thought we would try these kits & see how they turned out. The only additional material we had to buy was the 2x4's. They went together quickly & easily. We've had a lot of compliments on them already. Next time we might paint the wood & kits contrasting colors to give the backyard a pop of color. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the pier

,
July 3, 2014
By
from Middle River, MD
" Bought two of them and created side-by-side four-ft benches for our pier on Seneca Creek. They assembled quite easily and I will probably apply stain to the lumber once it cures. Very comfortable as well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench Kit

,
June 18, 2014
By
from DeWitt, MI
" Great idea. Better price from Northern Tool. Easy order
on line, quick delivery. Bought lumber and easy assembly.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy

,
June 3, 2014
By
from Palmetto, GA
" I made the bench 4 ft wide. It is solid and heavy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Outside Product

,
May 13, 2014
By
from Dallas, TX
" bought this to use outside and whatever the weather might bring and hopefully will get some longevity... i do not think there will be any problems for my intent!! i am using this as a 40" bench, i am glad i have a short length cause i think if you are going any longer it just is not stable enough? it is best/stronger at shorter cuts such as for a chair or wide seat, but longer runs are not recommended?? all in all a good buy and if on sale i will buy another!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid & Sturdy

,
May 12, 2014
By
from MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Have gotten tired of hauling lawn furniture inside in the fall and back out in the spring, tired of having it blown across the concrete and lawn in every big wind. So we purchased 8 of these. Carefully cut equal (it will show if you don't cut carefully) length 2x4's and painted them for looks and long life. Took a while to assemble as each chair has 60 screws (included) but we are very happy with the results. They are sturdy and weather resistant. If I don't have to replace the wood in 3 years I will rate them a 6! ... I am a little concerned the screws may work loose in time, but I may order a few more I am so initially impressed with these. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 Basic Any Size Chair/Bench Kit

,
May 11, 2014
By
from Gaylord, Kansas
" I liked the fact that you could make any size chair. We made two benches for a patio that fit the allowed space perfectly, and a longer bench to sit by the front door. It took my husband and me thirty-five minutes to put the first bench together with pre-cut timbers, and by the time we put the third bench together, we had it down to a little more than 20 minutes!!!!!!!!!! If I were to do this again, I would paint the water repellent on the boards first and let them dry a day before assembling the benches. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best dollars spent

,
May 11, 2014
By
from outer banks N.C.
" This is my fourth 2x4 basics product, and love them all. These chairs and benches that convert to a table are one of the best ideas for outside furniture. They are very easy to assemble, and you have many options as to what kind of wood, and what size chair or table you want. In my opinion, I think 6' is as big as you should build without having to reinforce to prevent sagging. GREAT PRODUCT! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 10, 2014
By
from Georgia
" This is the 5th set that I have purchased. I use them at the hunting and fishing camp work great. Leave them out in weather no problems(pressure treated). Would suggest making benches no longer than 5 foot, tend to sag if they are longer than 5 feet. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench

,
May 10, 2014
By
from St. Louis, MO
" Made the kit into a deck bench. The kit was complete with all parts, assembled easily, and appears to be quite sturdy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

AnySize Bench - Cheap and Easy

,
May 8, 2014
By
from Virginia
" This is the 2nd and 3rd anysize bench I've bought. Last year, I bought one and made a 4' bench, not knowing how sturdy it would be if I made it larger. After building it and placing it at the neighborhood park, I rec'd a lot of thank you's and compliments on how good it looked. This year, I decided to make 2 more, only this time, I decided to go the full 6'. I have to say, they are equally as sturdy and I've already gotten feedback from many who have used and love them. I just put them at the park on either side of the baseball field for the parents to watch their kids practice.
Great produce @ a pretty low price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.