Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134

2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134

Item# 252208
Use the 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit to easily create a comfortable chair, bench or loveseat. Simply cut 2x4s to length and screw them onto the rugged, all-weather frames. Specially designed seat and back provide comfort you never thought possible from patio furniture. Lumber not included. U.S.A. Assembly Required Yes, Color Sand, Recommended Lumber Size 2 x 4s not included, Material Type Resin, Pieces qty. 2. Use with 2x4s to build a sturdy bench, loveseat or chair of any length up to 6 feet Straight 90 cuts only, no miter or angle saw required Ergonomic design creates a comfortable seat Step-by-step assembly instructions Hardware to make one bench or chair Each arm includes a built-in cup holder 32in. assembled seat back height, 17in. assembled seat height
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (44 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 of 44(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Review 1 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the pier

,
July 3, 2014
By PierEnhancer
from Middle River, MD
"Bought two of them and created side-by-side four-ft benches for our pier on Seneca Creek. They assembled quite easily and I will probably apply stain to the lumber once it cures. Very comfortable as well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench Kit

,
June 18, 2014
By Jhk48
from DeWitt, MI
"Great idea. Better price from Northern Tool. Easy order
on line, quick delivery. Bought lumber and easy assembly.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy

,
June 3, 2014
By Kahlua
from Palmetto, GA
"I made the bench 4 ft wide. It is solid and heavy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Outside Product

,
May 13, 2014
By MeSeaHunt
from Dallas, TX
"bought this to use outside and whatever the weather might bring and hopefully will get some longevity... i do not think there will be any problems for my intent!! i am using this as a 40" bench, i am glad i have a short length cause i think if you are going any longer it just is not stable enough? it is best/stronger at shorter cuts such as for a chair or wide seat, but longer runs are not recommended?? all in all a good buy and if on sale i will buy another!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid & Sturdy

,
May 12, 2014
By Ironpeddler
from MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Have gotten tired of hauling lawn furniture inside in the fall and back out in the spring, tired of having it blown across the concrete and lawn in every big wind. So we purchased 8 of these. Carefully cut equal (it will show if you don't cut carefully) length 2x4's and painted them for looks and long life. Took a while to assemble as each chair has 60 screws (included) but we are very happy with the results. They are sturdy and weather resistant. If I don't have to replace the wood in 3 years I will rate them a 6! ... I am a little concerned the screws may work loose in time, but I may order a few more I am so initially impressed with these."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 Basic Any Size Chair/Bench Kit

,
May 11, 2014
By ds917
from Gaylord, Kansas
"I liked the fact that you could make any size chair. We made two benches for a patio that fit the allowed space perfectly, and a longer bench to sit by the front door. It took my husband and me thirty-five minutes to put the first bench together with pre-cut timbers, and by the time we put the third bench together, we had it down to a little more than 20 minutes!!!!!!!!!! If I were to do this again, I would paint the water repellent on the boards first and let them dry a day before assembling the benches."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best dollars spent

,
May 11, 2014
By captainnofish
from outer banks N.C.
"This is my fourth 2x4 basics product, and love them all. These chairs and benches that convert to a table are one of the best ideas for outside furniture. They are very easy to assemble, and you have many options as to what kind of wood, and what size chair or table you want. In my opinion, I think 6' is as big as you should build without having to reinforce to prevent sagging. GREAT PRODUCT!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 10, 2014
By Buck50
from Georgia
"This is the 5th set that I have purchased. I use them at the hunting and fishing camp work great. Leave them out in weather no problems(pressure treated). Would suggest making benches no longer than 5 foot, tend to sag if they are longer than 5 feet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench

,
May 10, 2014
By Wen1
from St. Louis, MO
"Made the kit into a deck bench. The kit was complete with all parts, assembled easily, and appears to be quite sturdy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

AnySize Bench - Cheap and Easy

,
May 8, 2014
By Deanoz
from Virginia
"This is the 2nd and 3rd anysize bench I've bought. Last year, I bought one and made a 4' bench, not knowing how sturdy it would be if I made it larger. After building it and placing it at the neighborhood park, I rec'd a lot of thank you's and compliments on how good it looked. This year, I decided to make 2 more, only this time, I decided to go the full 6'. I have to say, they are equally as sturdy and I've already gotten feedback from many who have used and love them. I just put them at the park on either side of the baseball field for the parents to watch their kids practice.
Great produce @ a pretty low price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be better.

,
May 3, 2014
By Axelrose
from Winston-Salem, NC
"It is very solid but the only issue I have is the way it's put together. It has slots for 1" screws. Two on each piece of wood on opposite sides. One of them is really close to the edge of the wood which thereby renders it useless because the wood will split. In my opinion this would last longer and be more solid if it had holes instead of slots. It also would be much better if it were assembled with carriage bolts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model#

,
June 13, 2013
By DUMBO
from CASA GRANDE,Az.
"very WELL MADE'... easy to follow direction that come with it...I plan on buying two more... for chair's... I also reinforced it with more wood screw's - even though it has places for the srew's that come with it to be placed at...comes with every thing you need to get the job down..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

just what i was looking for

,
April 28, 2013
By ron4x4
from va
"i was looking for a chair that would hold my weight and not break, it does the job, easy to put together my wife and i put two sets together in about 1hr"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench kit

,
August 26, 2012
By JERRY10
from NC
"Good instructions, easy to assemble, met/exceeded all my expectation and is attractive to look at when finished."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will Buy More!

,
August 20, 2012
By mrob6868
from Macon, Ga
"Bought 2 sets 6 months ago they are very easy to assemble. Made 1 chair and 1 bench that were surprisingly sturdy and I'm 6'1 320lbs...Great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Benches

,
August 13, 2012
By BuckmasterB50
from South Georgia
"This is the 2nd set of bench kits that I bought. Great product and very easy to assemble. Good quality. I made my benches 5 foot and they have held up to the wear and abuse."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench kit

,
August 13, 2012
By 1Artie
from Miami, Fl.
"Even for a beginner, simple instructions, very easy to put together, just add the 2 x 4's, is just what I needed for a bench for the backyard to rest while doing yard work,
good addition and the wife thinks that is attractive and functional, so she also approves!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

product 252208 GREAT

,
October 19, 2011
By tomgef
from Jamestown, ND
"This product is a GREAT product. We love the way we can make the benches any size we want. We are using them for an outdoor garden we are constructing at a nursing home. The are easy to put together...we like the neutral color so we can use any color boards. The won't rust and they are weather proof... All-in-all an excellent product that I will recommend to anyone seeking benches. TG"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

,
October 10, 2011
By Rob76
from PC., FL
"made a very sturdy 6 foot bench for the front of my "Man Cave" to enjoy the great fall weather ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

,
June 16, 2011
By JoeMI
"I got these about 4 years ago and built a 6' long bench. After staying outside through 4 Michigan winters, the ends still look and perform as new.
I'll be grabbing another couple of sets for another bench and a chair."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.