Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134

2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134

Item# 252208
Use the 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit to easily create a comfortable chair, bench or loveseat. Simply cut 2x4s to length and screw them onto the rugged, all-weather frames. Specially designed seat and back provide comfort you never thought possible from patio furniture. Lumber not included. U.S.A. Pieces qty. 2, Color Sand, Assembly Required Yes, Recommended Lumber Size 2 x 4s not included, Material Type Resin. Use with 2x4s to build a sturdy bench, loveseat or chair of any length up to 6 feet Straight 90 cuts only, no miter or angle saw required Ergonomic design creates a comfortable seat Step-by-step assembly instructions Hardware to make one bench or chair Each arm includes a built-in cup holder 32in. assembled seat back height, 17in. assembled seat height
Average Customer Rating:
4.788 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (33 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 33(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Review 1 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model#

,
June 13, 2013
By DUMBO
from CASA GRANDE,Az.
"very WELL MADE'... easy to follow direction that come with it...I plan on buying two more... for chair's... I also reinforced it with more wood screw's - even though it has places for the srew's that come with it to be placed at...comes with every thing you need to get the job down..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

just what i was looking for

,
April 28, 2013
By ron4x4
from va
"i was looking for a chair that would hold my weight and not break, it does the job, easy to put together my wife and i put two sets together in about 1hr"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench kit

,
August 26, 2012
By JERRY10
from NC
"Good instructions, easy to assemble, met/exceeded all my expectation and is attractive to look at when finished."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will Buy More!

,
August 20, 2012
By mrob6868
from Macon, Ga
"Bought 2 sets 6 months ago they are very easy to assemble. Made 1 chair and 1 bench that were surprisingly sturdy and I'm 6'1 320lbs...Great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Benches

,
August 13, 2012
By BuckmasterB50
from South Georgia
"This is the 2nd set of bench kits that I bought. Great product and very easy to assemble. Good quality. I made my benches 5 foot and they have held up to the wear and abuse."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench kit

,
August 13, 2012
By 1Artie
from Miami, Fl.
"Even for a beginner, simple instructions, very easy to put together, just add the 2 x 4's, is just what I needed for a bench for the backyard to rest while doing yard work,
good addition and the wife thinks that is attractive and functional, so she also approves!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

product 252208 GREAT

,
October 19, 2011
By tomgef
from Jamestown, ND
"This product is a GREAT product. We love the way we can make the benches any size we want. We are using them for an outdoor garden we are constructing at a nursing home. The are easy to put together...we like the neutral color so we can use any color boards. The won't rust and they are weather proof... All-in-all an excellent product that I will recommend to anyone seeking benches. TG"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

,
October 10, 2011
By Rob76
from PC., FL
"made a very sturdy 6 foot bench for the front of my "Man Cave" to enjoy the great fall weather ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

,
June 16, 2011
By JoeMI
"I got these about 4 years ago and built a 6' long bench. After staying outside through 4 Michigan winters, the ends still look and perform as new.
I'll be grabbing another couple of sets for another bench and a chair."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the money but.....

,
June 14, 2011
By Michael1947
from Kenosha, Wisconsin
"I bought this kit to replace an old wooden bench that sat outside my garage where I would just sit and watch the world go by. I used 2x4 Cedar lumber and cut nine pieces, 32 inches long as that was the available space it had to fit in. Assembly was pretty straightforward based on experience, not on the "step-by-step instructions" which are only a couple pictures on the outside of the box. The pictures are of the bench but the written note is for a footstool which is where the confusion about cutting the lumber all the same length or cutting some pieces shorter comes in. If you are not handy or don't have access to someone who is, don't buy this kit as without foreknowledge, the assembly, sans real instructions, can be confusing. I used the supplied screws which were adequate for the job, don't lose one though, there are exactly the number of screws required, there are no spares. It took an hour or so to measure, cut, pre-drill and assemble all the parts. The result was a heavy duty wide chair (or short bench) which can support 400 pounds. The cup-holders are more like coasters, they do not have enough depth to really hold any drink container securely. But......I bought this kit to make a sturdy bench and it met those expectations very well. Some reviewers mention the color, if you get close it has some tan in it, therefore the "Sand" color designation. If you look at it again, there is a lot of gray too, so don't expect a real light brown coloration. With these few limitations, I would recommend this to a friend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy and quick

,
April 7, 2011
By diemaker
from Muskegon, MI
"I cut all 9 pieces of cedar 2x4 the same length and marked a line 7/8" from each end. This provided a reference point to put each screw. I pre-drilled each hole and used a 1 1/4" zinc hex head screw. This bench sets in sand so I added a 30" 2x4 to the bottom of the legs so they won't sink. Easy, fast and a fun project for father and son."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 Basics is a solid product

,
December 20, 2010
By Penny
"I've made the picnic table and benches, a bench, and shelves for my garage from 2x4 Basics products. I'm a woman who is handy with tools, but not at all a carpenter; mostly crafts. These projects went together so easily, and are VERY solid and comfortable. The only problem I had was with the shelves, and only because I didn't follow the instructions properly.
I've got two more shelves to put together and I'm going to order more bench kits for around my firepit and my front porch. They're heavy enough that our high winds won't blow them over, but light enough two people can easily move them. What great products!!! Get these products: they're inexpensive, and you won't regret your decision.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bench

,
November 16, 2010
By Jagfan
from Jacksonville Fl.
"I have now bought two 2x4 Basics products. This picnic table and now the bench. Very easy to put together. The bench is comfortable and very sturdy. The arms with the cup holder is a nice feature. Looks great in the back yard. I will be buying another bench as a Christmas gift. Only draw back is the picnic table is Green and the bench only comes in Sand. You buy the wood (sand and stain first) and can custon make this to any size. You will not be disappointed."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bench Kit 90134

,
November 16, 2010
By LeeS
from Zimmerman, MN
"We bought 2 bench kits to build resting spots in our wooded lot and are very pleased of the outcome. We were looking for an inexpensive bench and these work perfectly. The frames were easy to work with and we enjoy the resting areas. Thanks for the product. The only negative is the confusing instructions regarding cutting the 2x4's used for the project. Instructions indicate one board to be cut smaller than the rest. After cutting and starting the assembly it was clear they need to be the same length, so I had to cut the others to the shorter length. Only wasted a couple inches...no problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

simple and easy

,
October 15, 2010
By woodchuck1104
from virginia
"I ordered three of these kits and assembled them in a very short amount of time. Very simple to use and no skill required too make a sturdy chair that will last a long time. Very pleased"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Chair

,
August 30, 2010
By oldfool
from Mercersburg, Pa.
"very easy to build. i made mine 24" wide so it gives lots of room. i have a knee problem and it is important that the chair is easy to get out of and not climbing out of a hole."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great For Pontoon

,
August 23, 2010
By AnnAndEd
from Michigan
"We purchased two kits for our pontoon after the seats got too old. They work great and the cupholders are an added advantage. You have to be careful in selecting lumber making sure you buy very straight boards. We made two 6' benches and we are going to make tables out of the left-over 2' boards. Would recommend these to anyone. They're very sturdy and look great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2x4 Bench

,
May 24, 2010
By ozco
from Florida
"Purchased 3 kits, easy to put together. used deck screws rather than those provided,because we live on waterfront. stained them and put them on our dock,and they look great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Basics Bench/Chair Kit

,
February 15, 2010
By Kgrice
from Benson NC
"This Bench/chair kit was great! My husband not being a real handy man made them so easily with my help of course. My mother wanted to have a homemade christmas last year and my husband and I are not all that creative. Didn't know what we could possibly make until I saw these. Everyone loved them and now other family members want us to make some for them. It is very sturdy and looks nice also. I added some wooden flowers to the back rest and painted them. Everyone thought we had the best idea. Thank you Northern Tool!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Bench/Chair Kit - Sand, Model# 90134
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

2x4 bench

,
October 19, 2009
By cem4952
from maine
"screw heads provided are too soft and strip. had to purchase additional screws locally."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.