Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI

2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI

Item# 252209
Add your own 2 x 4s and create a sturdy picnic table and 2 matching benches - any length up to 8 feet Assembly is so easy, you'll make only straight, 90 cuts no miters or angles required. Legs are Sand in color, and you can stain or paint the lumber to fit your own style. Lumber not included. U.S.A. Assembly Required Yes, Color Sand, UV Inhibitors Yes, Material Type Resin, Recommended Lumber Size 2 x 4s not included. Simple assembly with only a screwdriver and a saw If you prefer rounded corners, a handy cutting template is included Made of durable, maintenance-free structural resin for long-lasting durability Assembled unit stands 29in. tall and 30in. wide You choose the length up to 8 feet
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Review 1 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy

,
June 3, 2014
By Kahlua
from Palmetto, GA
"I made the set 6 ft long. I did not realize the it was going to be sooo heavy. Having 8 boards on the table top makes it very heavy. I cannot move it easily by myself. The benches each have 4 boards on top.
This is a very strong & sturdy set. I would have preferred a lighter weight - 3 boards on benches and no more than 5 on the table.
This is a good product and it should last a long time not having any wood touching the ground.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great buy

,
May 19, 2014
By agoodyear
from Indianapolis IN
"Made building a picnic table very easy, went together quick, sturdy, at 8ft some extra braces had to be made to support the middle. Great buy"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Picnic Table Kit

,
February 3, 2014
By gda12
from Butler, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The picnic table set leg kits arrived quickly and in good shape. I have purchased a total of 4 sets so far, might buy a couple more. Easy assembly. I used untreated douglas fir and hem fir lumber to build 6' tables, and added table and bench cross members and diagonals as is suggested by some other reviewers. I coated all lumber surfaces with a good quality solid stain prior to assembly. These kits make a light weight, attractive, sturdy, and comfortable picnic table set. I like the detached benches. Picture attached."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Picknic table

,
August 14, 2012
By Oops
from Kent Wa
"I purchased this product and used a "trex" type of 2x4 because of where I live and it can be really damp and rainy for a long time and with a quick spray with a pressure washer it'll be all clean and ready to go. Yes that material is more expensive but the continuing maintenance will be considerably less saving me time and money in the long haul."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Picnic Table/bench

,
November 23, 2010
By TeeDee
from Afton, MN
"We first saw one of these table/bench combinations at a family picnic. Everyone remarked what a great item this was and how it was nice to be able to use it as a bench after the food was gone. I bought two of the sets, It takes two to build a whole table) for my husband for the following Christmas. Having to buy two is kind of a downside, but all in all the product is great! We built it and used it over the summer. Many friends remarked at what a great table/bench this is. Very versitile. One time, we even set one unit at the end of another picnic table to make a "T" shaped table for more seating. It worked great that we were all part of one big table. I know we will continue to use this product for many, many years and get a lot of enjoyment from using it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy & Good Looking - Picnic Table & Benches set

,
November 17, 2010
By NToolcustomer
from North East Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I was able to take my time building this Picnic Table and 2 Benches so the finished product looks good and is very sturdy. I carefully selected the best 2x4's I could find at the locaI home center, staright and without a lot of knots, etc. Then I cut, wood-puttied, light-sanded and treated all 2x4 sides & ends with a name brand 2 in 1 weatherproofing, sealer and Cedar stain product and it's water based for easy cleanup. Then I assembled the units on sawhorses using 1/4" wood spacers and two 5 foot pipe clamps for the table 2x4's. I added two 1/2 inch EMT conduits as stability supports on each bench and the table that were not really needed but, I like a bit of overkill when it comes to strength & stability. I also added some lateral tie-in 2x4's. I screwed one 2x4 support beneath each of the benches and 2 on the table to spread the load across multiple 2x4's. I made the length of the set 5 feet-6 inches. I am still able to lift the table to move it short distances at this length and weight. (I'm 6ft 185lbs) I look forward to many years of use from this great picinc table set."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So. Maryland

,
September 18, 2010
By rolohe
from Southern Maryland
"Made two sets -both at six feet. One for myself and one for my son and his family. both six foot sets fit in the 61/2 foot bed of my pickup. Spacing for table boards (1/2 in gap) was too large - some boards had only one screw /screw would fall between some boards. The 1/4 in gap for the seats worked great on the table as well. I made a couple of modifications.
I added cross braces at about 20 inches apart and from the legs to link all boards together. This made the seat and table much sturdier as loads are distributed across all boards not just those on which the load is sitting. Also used a belt sander to even tops and break edges.
At six feet we have set the tables side by side and used the four benches around to make a 6ft square table for a more social setting.
Plan to make another - probably 8 ft - for use as a work bench. The extra benches can be used as additonal seating on my 32 ft long deck.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Picnicking in Paradise

,
July 13, 2009
By SurferCarGuy
from Honolulu, Hawaii
"Everyone who has ever thought of constructing their own picnic tables should purchase this product. The instructions were easy to follow and very reliable in detailing exact measurements that were needed to complete the tables. It's a well engineered kit and the tables are solid and strong. We are counting on having many years of enjoyment and fun under the Hawaiian sun, barbecuing with family and friends, thanks to your wonderful idea of offering such an excellent product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money!

,
March 23, 2009
By abcdefghifklmnop
from Mercer, Pa.
"Easy to assemble and much stronger than I had imagined. I would highly recommend carefully choosing your 2X4's to get good quality and straight boards. Sanding and painting before assambly is also recommended. All in all a good product at a fair price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kit for a few afternoons' work.

,
November 17, 2008
By Jackslope
from Southwest Kansas
"I was skeptical about buying such a kit for a picnic table. But, this kit was remarkably easy to deal with and provided a very solid table and benches. The longest part of assembling the picnic table and benches was finishing and painting the 2 x 4's. (I sanded, primed and painted two coats using contrasting colors for the middle boards and the leading edge boards of the table and benches.) I made the table 4 feet long for use in an enclosed patio area. It works great and is just right for four people. The table and benckes can be made any length up to eight feet long if desired. The somewhat sparse instructions are printed on the shipping carton, but quite understandable with a little study. Chrome plated screws with broad flat heads are enclosed in the carton, but that is not mentioned in the instructions on the shipping carton. Also, be aware that this item is apparently handled very roughly by the shipping company and may have the carton torn open upon arrival. As such, check for the screws (2 bags) before you accept shipment. Good luck. Have Fun."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

2x4 Basics Any Size Picnic Table Set Model#12291

,
August 11, 2008
By jim203
from Shelton Ct.
"The tables are is sturdy and easy to assemble. I bought 2 kits and chose to make them 8' in length. The 8' benches sag in the middle when 2 or more people sit on them. The kit should come with a 3rd leg to be put in the center of the bench, if you chose to make them 8' long. I called the manufactorer and they sent me the extra legs that I needed. What a difference!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 X 4 Picknic Table Leg Set

,
August 11, 2008
By Anonymous
from Wampum,Pa
"The table is really nice. Real nice wide benches. We put it together before we painted it, where we should have painted it first. So if anyone gets one, which I recommend, paint or stain it first. We made a 8Ft table so it takes 2 people to move it. Very sturdy product,should last for years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Bench/Picnic Table

,
April 14, 2008
By BigBear
from West Virginia
"These are so nice. If there are only two for dinner, just use one side. If more are there to eat, of course you would want to use both sides together.
We love ours and when not in use as picnic tables, they make terriffic benches.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 23, 2008
By Barry7873
from Greer, South Carolina
"For the money, this is a terrific product! After going on line and looking a buying a picnic table which is very pricy, I realized this would be a great way to save money. I am a builder by trade so it took me no time to put this together. I put it in my picnic shelter. After doing one, I bought 3 more and me and my family love it. We made ours 6 foot in length which was plenty big and sturdy. I recommend this product if you want to save money and can do a little handy man work around the house enough to know how to put it together."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Affordable Table

,
July 13, 2007
By jbrowne
from Troy, MO
"This was very easy to build and the instructions (which were actually printed on the box) was clear and easy to follow. I did find that the spacing they called for was a little inaccurate. I found that the table and seat legs was exposed if you followed the directions. I actually resized the spacing so you didn't see the leg frames. I also would not recommend using the full 8 foot boards. It gave the feeling the seat was unstable when you sat on them. So you may need to add some support on the seats for stability if you go the full 8 feet.
Still a great buy and table set!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 2x4 Basics AnySize Picnic Table Set, Model# 90182MI
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

2X4 picnic Table Set

,
July 10, 2007
By Morey
from Whipple, OH
"The table set looks nice. It is easy to put together, make sure you get all the screws in tight. You can make the set any size you want up eight foot. If a 2X4 gets damaged, just replace that 2X4. Nice addition to the back yard."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.